Alto Hotel On Bourke

2749 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel to explore Melbourne and surrounding- great for Solo travelers as well as brining in a group

Alexana from Forchheim, Germany
25 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay once again, great to see Amy's smile when we arrived. See you soon.

Robert from Sydney, Australia
24 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. We stay here every year for a weekend together and everything is perfect. The staff are welcoming, super friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge, the bed is comfy and the spa great. the free coffee is handy and the massage room is fabulous. Thank you so much.

Stephanie from Ballarat, Australia
24 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

have stayed a number of times over past years and will continue to do so

Ian from Adelaide, Australia
17 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fabulous service from front-end staff. A most enjoyable, comfortable stay.

Sharon from Adelaide, Australia
16 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really enjoyed our experience and would definitely stay again

David from Melbourne, Australia
02 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Amy at the front desk was excellent

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
02 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. Coin laundry appreciated - inexpensive - good location within hotel (not in a dark basement!). The location was perfect. For the bus to airport as well as everything else we did. Staff had good suggetions for places to eat and things to do, It was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. Other guests were friendly - which to me says something about the hotel.

Margaret from Melbourne, Australia
28 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Mum and I enjoyed our stay, thank you very much!

Lorraine from Sydney, Australia
27 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Alto Hotel was very quiet and the bed was really comfortable. The location was very handy as it is very close to tram stop on Bourke Street and Spencer Street Station. The room had good amenities such as a microwave and I especially liked the spare umbrella in the wardrobe as Melbourne weather is unpredictable. Staff in the dining room were friendly and welcoming. I had made a special request for soy milk and was pleased that a jug was waiting in the fridge for me so I could enjoy a cup of tea.

Kelly from Melbourne, Australia
26 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Accommodation all as expected: Friendly helpful staff

ALEC from Bull Creek, Australia
25 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A perfect 3 nights where we were made so welcome. Thank you et merci encore

Alan from Bouvsrd, Australia
24 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wish I could have stayed longer! Everyone I met was so helpful and friendly, and the room was so well designed. It’s great to know that an environmentally considerate accommodation option is available so close to public transport in Melbourne- I’ll definitely be back!

Kym from (origin) Brisbane, Australia
23 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great loaction, friendly staff

Brooke from Brisbane, Australia
23 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed there many times now and it has been consistently good. Staff are always friendly and helpful.

Elisabeth from Melbourne, Australia
20 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto Hotel was in a great position, close to trams, shops, restaurants. Staff were excellent and room clean and tidy. Will definitely stay again.

Tracy from Mount Barker, Australia
20 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel is in a very good location close to transport links including the Skybus terminal. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious and well maintained. The breakfasts were very good, freshly cooked and plentiful.

David from Malmesbury, United Kingdom
19 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thank you for a great stay and fantastic service!

Martta from Helsinki, Finland
19 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice overall. Room was clean, well presented and had a great selection of Foxtel channels. Location is second to none, but still quiet enough at night. Breakfast food was also very good.

James from Sydney, Australia
13 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Thomas from Melbourne, Australia
13 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It’s such a lovely and quirky hotel. The lounge with games ands lollies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate and books and the amazing relaxation room were such unusual and lovely touches. My room (101) was a bit noisy with the trams outside, and you could hear people outside the room very clearly, but it wasn’t too bad. I loved the beautiful and comfortable chair in the room and the bed was very soft (apparently you can buy them for your own home!). The staff were all lovely and the location so near the Skybus and Etihad Stafium was perfect for me. I’ll definitely be back.

Caroline from Canberra, Australia
13 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Noisy but everything else was fine

Greg from Melbourne, Australia
09 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. All the staff were accommodating and friendly. I like the fact that the reception is manned at all times. The facilities were great and the room was very clean. The hotel is in a good location near the train station/Skybus terminal. I would definitely stay here again.

Michelle from Brisbane, Australia
09 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location, very good staff, liked the candy bar, and the game room.

Heath from Chilton, United States
02 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our stay in Melbourne couldn't have been better thanks to the Alto. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and very helpful. We booked a 2 bedroom unit at the Alto.The unit was roomy and had all we required. Clean, modern and well equipped. The hotel is located in a good area close to everything, trains, trams, buses, taxis etc. Its an easy walk to the center of the business area but as trams are free in the city area it easy to go most places quickly. We arrived early in Melbourne and the staff stored our bags for us so we could enjoy the day with out worrying about them. When we arrived back at the hotel in the late afternoon our bags were in our room all ready for us.On the day we checked out our flight was late in the afternoon so again the staff stored our bags for us until we were ready to go to the airport. Throughout our stay the staff were at all times helpful, very pleasant to deal with and so friendly. Breakfast was good but it can be a bit busy depending time. Very happy with our stay. If we go back to Melbourne in the future we will definitely stay at The Alto.

Gary from Sydney, Australia
01 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great. Good location and great service.

Daniel from Newcastle, Australia
22 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location. Great staff and comfortable rooms.

Douglas from Cambridge, Canada
12 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staying at the Alto was like staying at home but with staff who went out of their way to take care of you. We have never felt more welcomed and the energy emitted a genuine warmth of care and kindness. Thank you to all the wonderful staff and a special thank you to Gary who is a true gentleman.

Jenny from Brisbane, Australia
11 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really enjoy the convenience of the location. Our favourite treat is the coffee machine, which makes really tasty coffee any time of the night.

Leonie from Mornington, Australia
05 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

Peter from Lavington, Australia
05 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved the thought put into recycling and saving waste (eg no small bottles of shampoo) - great for the environment. The apples were a nice touch, staff very helpful

Skye from Adelaide, Australia
03 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed.. Room was excellent, staff welcoming, polite & helpful. Will be back again soon.

Michael from Burnie, Australia
01 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. I have stayed here many times and I always enjoy my stay. We we given a free upgrade this trip, so that was terrific! Staff are always warm, welcoming and helpful.

Melina from Yolla, Australia
01 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the moment I walked in the door, Brad was absolutely amazing. I had a terrible start to the day but I left the initial interaction smiling. He was extremely accommodating and very helpful. The room was lovely and great value for money in a central location close to everything.

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
29 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed staying at Alto. Made to feel welcome and the happy hour was an excellent feature. Reception staff were excellent. Our entry cards failed a couple of times and on 1 day the room was not serviced until I mentioned it to reception. That was the only glitch we experienced.

Donald from Brisbane, Australia
29 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, big room

Wei-Che from Chiayi, Taiwan
27 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic stay. Exceedingly comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast package outstanding value. Free drink, coffee, apples and candy bar is awesome and using the dining room as a recreation and reading space is brilliant

Donna from Townsville, Australia
20 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great from check-in to check-out. Staff at breakfast were particularly nice and very cheerful. Great start to each day:)

Philip from Brisbane, Australia
16 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay. Room was comfortable and it was great having some kitchen facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. The lady who was in reception the evening I arrived (10 Jan) was very welcoming and personable. Breakfasts were substantial with many choices. I enjoyed reading about the history of the building. Tram stop outside very convenient. Great to be able to open window. My only complaint is aesthetic- the room (311) could have had a bit of brightening up, it looked a bit tired and dreary with the dingy carpet colour, dark furniture. The colourful cushions and bed spread at least gave a bit of a lift. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Inge from Perth, Australia
13 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our 4th stay in 6 months. Our daughter lives in CBD very close to Alto so this is the perfect location for us. The staff and service is exceptional. We very much like the Cafe’ for breakfast. They offer a few parking spots on property which is convent. The wifi could be better. There are no gym facilities but they are partnered with a hotel very close to use their gym. Their rates are very good.

Deborah, from Vancouver, Canada
11 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable stay, lovely, welcoming staff both at front desk and breakfast. Loved the little extra touches - free coffee, tea, chocolate and sweets!

Jane from Melbourne, Australia
10 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

First time staying in Alto Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. hotel was very clean and staff so friendly. Had breakfast every morning and lots of yummy things on offer. Very convenient as home base while exploring Melbourne. Tram just across the road and so is Southern Cross station. Lots of restaurants nearby which was handy. We'll definitely stay at Alto Hotel next time we're in Melbourne cbd.

Jojie from Gold Coast, Australia
08 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very welcoming and comfortable, with great location. Really appreciated the relaxation room and coffee on offer

Jenny from Geelong, Australia
02 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Simply terrific. Great location and the beds are so comfy.

Graeme from Canberra, Australia
27 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable hotel. Warm, friendly and very centrally located. Easy walking distance to trains and trams. Appreciated being able to store our bags for the day before departing Melbourne. The apartment had everything we needed. Loved the soaps and shampoos. The drinks with the manager each weekday afternoon and the complementary lollies in the communal lounge were a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

Liz from Melbourne, Australia
27 December 2017

 
   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62     NEXT