Alto Hotel On Bourke

2589 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good. Only caveat is that I booked breakfast but never tried it as it was way too early for me. I work until late at night as I am working with HQ in the US.

Robert from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
26 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect location for starting Melbourne sightseeing

Joerg from Melbourne, Australia
26 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel. New, clean, great staff & very good location.

Gary from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely small hotel and great staff and location

David from Christchurch, New Zealand
21 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A comfortable, well-maintained room with everything we needed. The breakfast selection was amazing and it was hard to choose what to have! All staff were friendly and helpful.

Hazel from Guisborough, United Kingdom
15 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent.

Patricia from San Francisco, United States
14 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have stayed with you many times and appreciate your charm and convenience.

Matt from Sydney, Australia
13 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed at The Alto a few times and it is a beautiful hotel with lovely staff. When we stayed there two days ago we were lucky enough to get upgraded to a three bedroom apartment which was perfect. It is in a great position and would seefjnatley recommend anyone to stay there

Rosalie from Melbourne, Australia
11 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable

Dean from Devonport, Australia
10 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always a comfortable stay in a great little hotel.

Heike from Perth, Australia
09 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very helpful staff, we had a very short stay but everything was fine.

Colleen from Melbourne, Australia
09 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great experience all round ...

Mark from Swan Hill, Australia
08 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good breakfast. Front Desk helpful.

Robert from Melbourne, Australia
08 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location with exceptional service.

Sarah from Brisbane, Australia
06 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my time at the Alto. The staff were fantastic and the service was excellent. I will definitely be staying again next time I am in Melbourne. I really enjoyed the little touches like the umbrella in the wardrobe and having a proper hairdryer instead of one of the little ones on the wall. The bed was super comfortable and I really enjoyed the many different channels on the TV. I would not hesitate to recommend the Alto to anyone traveling to Melbourne. It was the perfect base to come back to each day.

Tanya from Brisbane, Australia
03 February 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location was very convenient to CBD. Free tram rides are right at the door. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had our one-day tour arranged efficiently by one of your staff members. We enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke. We'll definitely stay at Alto when we visit Melbourne in our next visit. Thanks Team!

Lydia from Melbourne, Australia
30 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Been many times - always good.

Christaan from Wollongong, Australia
28 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, convenient, suited our needs, minor confusion over breakfast times - reception staff were out by half an hour with what they told us.

Anne from Quorn, Australia
26 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay, staff were all very helpful

Brenda from Melbourne, Australia
25 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a great experience. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the bed was comfy.

REBECCA from Sydney, Australia
25 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and personal service. Made us feel well at home

Mark from Melbourne, Australia
23 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Amazing bed, amazing shower, amazing room. Hallways a little dated but did not detract from the stay

Tennille from Brisbane, Australia
23 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Everything was nice from the welcoming & friendly staff to the lovely clean and comfortable hotel rooms. Superb , I wish we had stayed longer.

Tonderai from Sydney, Australia
20 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

Kleanthes from Melbourne, Australia
18 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, as usual.

Janet from Perth, Australia
18 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were very friendly. I liked the little touches, the apples at the entrance, salt and pepper shakers, glazed windows. The environmental features such as collection of paper, cardboard, bottles, etc. In the bathroom the usual small bottles of shampoo, etc were replaced by generous containers of soap, shampoo, conditioner and bath/shower gel attached to the wall.

Marea from Adelaide, Australia
17 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

love staying here , the hotel is clean and friendly.

Estelle from Melbourne, Australia
16 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, quiet, well designed rooms! Wonderful, skilled and helpful staff provided great service to us, even after we had checked out (provided luggage storage). Some minor maintenance would be appreciated (for future guests), things like fixtures loose/ not straightened (toilet seat, door handle). The window opened to a brick wall which was uninspiring but glad that we had one and it was quite soundproof. We could tell the king bed was two singles pushed together unfortunately, would be great if staff could figure out a more comfortable solution - better mattress topper, more sheets?? Lovely offering of consumables (for a surcharge) and loved the location of the hotel - perfect spot, close to everything!!

Alison from Adelaide, Australia
16 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, clean room, friendly staff. Close to tourist attractions, shops and the Yarra River.Public transport just outside front door. Easy walking distance to Casino and Southern Cross Station..

Susan from Bacchus Marsh, Australia
12 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent staff and location

Lisa from Seattle, United States
11 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Another comfortable and relaxing stay at Alto - keep up the good work!

Nick from Alvor, Portugal
11 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We booked this for our wedding which was held directly across the street so had a full day or bridal party chaos with hair and make-up artists and bridesmaids filling the room but it never felt as cramped as I would have expected. The staff were super helpful in ensuring we had enough chairs and drinks for everyone. I couldn't be happier with our stay.

Eliza from Melbourne, Australia
03 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Will stay here again when next in Melbourne. Staff were lovely, room very clean and comfortable. Only issue was that we were asked to pay for a beer from the mini bar which we did not take, the staff member did not charge us, but it was a bit odd that we were asked in the first place - we wonder if the cleaner mixed up the rooms?

Holly from Adelaide, Australia
02 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, helpful staff, comfortable room.

Ian from Wellington, New Zealand
02 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Despite closing both windows, still could hear the trains from Outside. Parking code supposed to work for two days but expired after 24 hours and we had to call the hotel reception to get a new code, incurring international call charges as the call was made from a Singapore-based handphone number. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Breakfast was tasty. Excellent idea to have guest laundry facilities provided, which is fairly rare in Melbourne city.

Lester from Singapore, Singapore
31 December 2016

4 of our 50 rooms face Bourke Street where trams run. While all rooms have double glazed windows to minimise sound there may be some minor sounds in these rooms.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. The staff make this hotel. The welcome back choclates are lovely touch. Breakfast is awesome.

Denise from Melbourne, Australia
31 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ideal position as we were in Melbourne to see COLDPLAY at Etihad Stadium. Bed very comfortable.

Angela from Adelaide, Australia
18 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Made to feel welcome, like one of the family. Very clean with friendly and efficient staff. Rooms very quite particularly considering central location. Also having opening window as an alternative to air conditioning, weather permitting, was a plus. Found not able to access food after 9 pm considering daylight saving - not dark until about 9, was only issue. Other eateries close by also did not serve meals after 9 except of course fast food outlets or bar snacks from nearby hotels, When we did eat at the restaurant the food was delicious.

Christopher from Melbourne, Australia
17 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

hotel was perfect, great location, very friendly welcoming staff we will most certainly be staying again ! Thankyou

Dina from Melbourne, Australia
13 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place to stay close to Trams, Etihad stadium, casino and walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

Shirley from Pertrh, Australia
12 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great second stay. Will be staying again our next trip to Melbourne.

Jean from Brisbane, Australia
06 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic as always

David from Sydney, Australia
01 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the room and the soaps etc in the room. Ugh better than little plastic bottles, the staff were kind and helpful. The reading room was beautiful and we loved the tea coffee and hot chocolate in the lounge.

Joanne from Mount Cole Creek, Australia
01 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location for our first visit to Melbourne to see the city and very convenient for arrival by bus from Airport and departure by bus to Hall's Gap.

Sidney from Bend, Oregon, Usa, United States
27 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the location, shame about parking, great staff and first rate service. Will use it again and recommend.

Geoff from Perth Wa, Australia
22 November 2016

 
   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58     NEXT