Geckos Backpackers Cairns

36 reviews from guests stayed at Geckos Backpackers Cairns


Rating 9 out of 10
187 Bunda Street Parramatta Park, Cairns Central cairns,  queensland, australia 4870
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Truely a gem! Peter runs an outstanding budget travellers' sanctuary; and as others have experienced, he goes above and beyond with his kindness and helpfulness up to a level of service that is very rare indeed! The no alcohol policy here works well at keeping the idiots at bay, making for an exceptionally peaceful and relaxing place to stay! It is no surprise that I am a returning guest.

Tim from Tablelands, Australia
25 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Although my room name was 'shared bathroom', I could take a shower anytime I want. '24h free cofee or tea' and 'free internet' were very helpful for me.

Kimiko from Fujisawa, Japan
13 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Peter the owner is very helpful and accomodating of our needs. The rooms are clean and attractive, the beds comfortable. We've become returning customers :-)

John from Kimberley, Australia
01 November 2017

Thank you John. It is a pleasure to see you returning. Kind Regards Peter.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Geckos is for the discerning backpacker. Peter, the host is always friendly and goes out of his way to help. Always ready with a smile and a cheerful greeting. He ensures the place is always clean. The place is light and airy, painted with beautiful soft pastel colours. The wooden floors are a treat. Geckos is conveniently opposite the Cairns Central Mall, but out of the city noise. Also still within easy walking distance to the Esplanade and Rusty's market. The single room has a bar fridge and very comfy quality matress, ensuring a good night sleep. Bathrooms are always clean with no lack of hot water. The no alcohol policy ensures a friendly, cheerful environment with a guaranteed good nights rest. Children are also welcome. I can highly recommend Geckos and always stay here when I am in Cairns. It is a home from home.

Ulrike from Cairns, Australia
28 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean and quiet.

Anja from Cairns, Australia
23 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Relaxed and great place to stay in the centre.

Vincent from Cairns, Australia
07 April 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and quiet place, well situated. Information available on what to do. Washing machine on site. Possibility to leave luggage for the day. Liked it!

Valerie from Quebec, Canada
25 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice airy hostel. Comfy beds. Good advice on reef tours

Susie from Sydney, Australia
16 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Geckos is a great place to stay the staff are helpful and friendly and it is quiet so great if you want to sleep. Walking distance to all the things you need.

Joshua from Cairns, Australia
04 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The stay at Geckos was quiet and friendly, the guests and the Host were very friendly. Thanks

Felix from Zurich, Switzerland
05 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic place to stay. The concept of no alcohol makes it very liveable. Very chilled out, friendly atmosphere. The only thing that could be changed is just better fans, not much air circulation through the shared room

Ryl from Townsville, Australia
04 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really nice hostel, quiet, fantastic staff and servicr.

Jakob from Vejle, Denmark
27 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

awesome backpacker!!

Eric from Taichung, Taiwan
29 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, clean and quiet hostel and still close to the city center. Excellent service. Thanks!

Marcel from Cairns, Australia
23 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I purposely picked a hostel out of the centre and with no alcohol policy to avoid the party scene and gecko's was a great pick! Beautiful house and spot on for travellers who want quality and peace and comfort for a lower price. So, it is not a boutique hotel, with ensuite bathrooms, but the shared bathroom is spick and span, beds are very comfy and towels, soap etc provided. Peter made i was informed of the after hours procedure and it went all smoothly. Brilliantly close to the supermarket.

Dorothy from Cairns, Australia
01 November 2014

Hi Dorothy. Its always very nice to hear that our guests are satisfied with our facilities and standards. We wish you a great holiday and thanks very much for choosing to stay at Geckos.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A lovely, quaint & simple, clean, converted old Queenslander. The most serene spot for a quiet overnight stay, opposite the rail station - Thankfully not a drinking youth hostel :) Perfectly quiet even (except for one incidence of inconsiderate youth in neighbouring lodgings behind but I guess there's no control over random events) and a glorious bird morning awakening. Easy communication with Peter and key kindly left out as we arrived lateish at night. Helpful assistant greeted us too. We didn't use the pool or kitchen facilities as our stay was so brief, but found the double private room good value for the budget. Note cash only.

Sufiyo from Mullumbimby, Australia
25 October 2014

Hello Sufiyo. Thanks a lot for choosing to stay with us and your great discription of the Geckos property. We hope you may visit again some day. Happy travelling and hope to see you again some day. Take care from Peter and team.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and chilled. A delight to find a hostel devoid of bunks! No deposits for bowls, cutlery etc. You actually feel like a trusted adult rather than a 'backpacker'.

Laura from Cairns, Australia
22 October 2014

Hello Laura. Thanks very much for your excellent comments about our place, it gives us a very nice feeling. Kind regards from Peter and the A team.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, I like every night there

Shane from Darien, Australia
04 October 2014

Hi Shane. Thank you for your great ratings and we wish you all the best from the caretakers and team.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Gecko's backpackers is a great hostel for a busy traveller wanting a decent nights sleep. The place is always very clean and tidy, showers and kitchen area very good. Peter is always happy to help, good location with just a short walk from the centre of Cairns.

Phil from Cairns, Australia
24 September 2014

Hello Phil. Thank you very much for your appreciation for our facilities. Would be nice to see you again. Jolly days from Peter and team.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great experience, great hostel, great price.

Boris from Santiago, Chile
30 August 2014

Hi Boris. Thank you kindly for your review. We hope to see you again someday from Peter and crew.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good location.

Christian from Bavaria, Germany
30 August 2014

Good day Christian. Thanks a lot for your review. We do have lots of extra blankets available at reception during our winter time. Sorry that you had not received one. Take care from the caretakers and crew.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My stay at gecko's backpackers was thoroughly enjoyable, it was quiet, peaceful and the people were lovely. Peter is a great host. I would definitely stay at gecko's again when I next visit Cairns.

Thomas from Cairns, Australia
18 August 2014

Hi Thomas. Thanks very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon from Peter and crew.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is a great hostel - really clean, comfy beds, and very helpful staff. Free wifi, although unfortunately this was extremely slow, but this was the only problem we had - otherwise had a great stay here.

Gemma from Cairns, Australia
06 August 2014

Hello Gemma. Thanks for taking time to write your review. Sorry about the internet, it may of slowed down as there were maximum connections at that time. Its realy nice to know you had a great stay. Safe travelling from the caretakers and team.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very relaxing and easy

Acacia from Cairns, Australia
02 August 2014

Dear Acacia. Thanks a lot for your review. All the best from the caretakers and team.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff is knowledgeable, helpful and provides very useful information. I especially like the cleanliness and the kitchen facilities. Feels like home away from home.

Yeckwah from Singapore, Singapore
31 July 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thanks Pete had a great time and really liked Cairns and the

Glenn from Cairns, Australia
12 June 2014

Thank you Glenn. Your kind words are much appreciated. Good to see you again some day. Can you please do a review on tripadviosor. With many thanks Peter.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Would come again. Enjoyed the not party hostel.

Franziska from Berlin, Germany
05 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great backpack!! I really enjoy staying there!

Gwenola from Bourg En Bresse, France
07 May 2014

Thankyou very much for your review. With best regards Megan, Goerge & Peter.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good place to stay.

Yi-Tai from Scone, Australia
28 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice quiet place to stay and close to all the important services and attractions. Peter is very helpful to improve your stay and direct you to good deals.

Bob from Halifax, Canada
16 April 2014

Thankyou Bob, Your review is much appreciated.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a good time at geckos. Everything is clean, you have free wifi and itīs perfect to relax!!!!!

Markus from Munich, Germany
26 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a really familiar and relaxing atmosphere. I really enjoyed the Time there.

Maya from Cologne, Australia
25 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place, good value for money.

Tina from Cairns, Australia
16 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good backpacker. If you are looking for a good and quite place close by everything you need, Go to Ghecko's

Sebastiaan from Cairns, Australia
02 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice, quiet establishment. Had my meet stolen one night but not hostels fault. Great rooms with comfy beds. My kind of hostel.

Robert from Cairns, Australia
15 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a very pleasant time at Geckos Backpackers. The manager Peter takes good care of the place and the people staying in the hostel. I would definitely stay in Geckos again.

Olga from Melbourne, Australia
16 June 2014

 
   1