Crest on Barkly Hotel & Apartments

76 reviews from guests stayed at Crest on Barkly Hotel & Apartments


Rating 9 out of 10
47 Barkly St st kilda,  victoria, australia 3182
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Online booking was easy and quick, the $500 deposit was not mentioned when booking and it should be... my deposit was not taken off my total when I paid, and I had to wait until Monday to get a refund. Some of the windows in the apartment did not shut tightly - and one window in the dining area is cracked. The TV did not work in the apartment, David from reception came and fixed it. We had requested a top-floor apartment but got a second floor apartment, the person above us was quite noisy as they had showers at 6 am and the pipes squealed really loudly waking all five of us up. David from reception took note of this on our departure. The water pressure in the shower was awful. Overall though our experience was good, we stayed with you at Easter too and loved the apartment upstairs, it had a laundry in it which was handy. The apartment was clean, spacious, well equipped, great location, love ditching the car for the week and taking the very convenient trams, excellent value overall. We will stay with you again.

Antonia from Walla Walla, Australia
03 July 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was a great apartment to stay at, very spacious and worth the money. Would definitely recommend it and go there again.

Kira from Keysborough, Australia
01 July 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return when we visit our son who has moved to Melbourne.

Peter from Brisbane, Australia
26 April 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bbbb

Gittan from Pindimar, Australia
22 April 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our stay at Crest was good, check-in was a bit chaotic with 2 staff serving but no clear queue marking for the long line of customers booking in (Easter rush), there was an older man who tried to jump the queue by 10 people. The staff were both lovely and very efficient. The apartment was very clean, and well set out. We loved the older-style building and the simple decor. Great kitchen. Bath a bit high to clamber over for older people to have a shower, next time I will request a lower-sided bath or just a shower. Parking was a bonus. Loved the little coffee/bottle/grocery shop. Location was absolutely perfect to get into the city by tram or head to the beach on foot. Free WiFi was another bonus.The apartment did smell of cigarette smoke when we arrived back one afternoon, but we realised that one of the lounge room windows was open and that people had been smoking beneath it. The apartment was surprisingly quiet considering it was on a main road.

Antonia from Walla Walla, Australia
05 April 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The reception staff and the waiting staff in the restaurant were excellent and the room was good value and clean. The only issue we had is that the room had a stale smell of cigarette smoke that wasn't overly strong but it was noticeable.

Corry from Melbourne, Australia
08 February 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ideal location for us, very friendly and helpful staff.

Tim from Adelaide, Australia
03 February 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Service and staff were incredible!

Carly from Tatura, Australia
27 January 2021

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed here many times. The hotel is always clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient.

Diana from Melbourne, Australia
22 June 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff went above and beyond for me after an issue during check in. The room was comfortable.

Alyssa from Melbourne, Australia
09 June 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

pretty good

Scott from Kellyville, Australia
18 March 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay at Crest On Barkly. We've stayed there before and were happy to stay again. Location is handy to Albert Park for GP. Rooms clean, service very good and friendly. No complaints. Happy to recommend.

Bruce from Gold Coast, Australia
17 March 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. Very quiet in the rooms with no traffic or other tenant noises. We ate at the restaurant with friends which was top quality for service and food. Beds were comfy, good water pressure and good kitchen. We loved the fresh towels each day. Only downside was the fan in the bathroom didn't work very well so there was a lot of condensation (we just left the door open) and at times getting a carpark was extremely difficult with undercover parking spaces being extremely tight. A oven mitt in the kitchen is needed also. We would definitely stay again as staff were friendly and it was a great spot. Thank you!

Robyn from Townsville, Australia
23 January 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable and handy for the Spirit of Tasmania

Sharon from Goulburn, Australia
08 January 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The day before checking in we requested another bed to our room, and didn't think this would be possible, but to our surprise was no worries and would be sorted. When we arrived to check in we were delighted to find out we had been upgraded from a standard room to an apartment for our stay. Tarun, the lovely man behind the desk, offered us a all a drink on the house while we waited for the apartment.

Remy from St Kilda, Australia
06 January 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay, a little delay getting into our room but we're given drinks to compensate. The underground car park was very tight as we had a big 4wd. We were lucky a park was always available up the top other wise this would have been our only negative

Anew from Albury Wodonga, Australia
05 January 2020

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Damindar from Canberra, Australia
06 December 2019

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location to public transport. Kids loved having there own space then good coming together in lounge/dining. Would definitely stay again:)

Debbie from Ipswich, Australia
07 August 2019

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Keep doing the good work.

Tejas from Toowoomba Qld, Australia
15 June 2019

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Room was clean, staff friendly and attentive. fair value for money

Ben from St Kilda, Australia
11 February 2019

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Amazing service. Exceptional staff. Excellent in everything

Shanthi from Melbourne, Australia
21 January 2019

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The intercom was not working so a wheelchair user would be unable to check in on their own.

David from Sale, Australia
02 January 2019

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff - good parking, nice facilities. Disappointed room service did go later in the evening though! :-)

Rohan from Melbourne, Australia
06 August 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great value for money. Had a lovely stay.

Lisa from Melbourne, Australia
07 May 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy thank you. Next time I will ask for a second chair - to sit and watch the sunset. I loved being able to open the windows. It was quite noisy at night - could hear other guests returning to their rooms + could hear plumbing from other bathrooms

Vicki from Adelaide, Australia
07 May 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service and attentive staff that took good care of the guests needs.

Chi from Sydney, Australia
09 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient where I need to be (near my daughter's family on St Kilda road. Was really just a place to sleep so fitted the bill perfectly.

Richard from Wellington, New Zealand
03 April 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall stay ok.

Rod from Melbourne, Australia
18 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The family room we had booked had 1 queen and 2 single beds on the website. When we arrived the receptionist told us that you are only able to provide 2 queens size beds and you don't have the 1 queen 2 single option at all. Can you please change this on the website, it was not optional for us to stay. Thanks to the night manager he helped us and provided a 2 bedroom apartment!

Tibor from Elizabeth Bay, Australia
13 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback Mr. Balazs, we are in the lengthy process of changing our room configurations, we do now have rooms with that configuration however we did not last week, IT must have prematurely updated the website and I do apologize for that. However thank you for your kind ratings on the apartment you stayed in, I am so glad to hear you did enjoy that aspect. Warm Regards, Ellen Collins Front Office Manager
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay, no issues at all.

Brendan from Geelong, Australia
13 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback Mr. James, we look forward to having you stay with us again. Warm Regards, Ellen Collins
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great holiday

Charlie from Fitzroy Crossing, Australia
23 October 2017

Hi Mr. Moylan, thank you for sharing your holiday with us, I'm so glad to hear you had a great time. Warm Regards, Ellen Collins Front Office Manager
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Can't really find anything wrong. Bathroom had hairs on the ground when we checked in and the kettle needed replacing. Apart from that the rooms were spacious and the staff friendly. Would recommend to friends. Good value for money

Adam from Cooroy, Australia
20 October 2017

Thank you Adam for your kind ratings, I am disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of your room is not up to our usual standard, I will certainly take this feedback as an opportunity to address this with out housekeeping team. Warm Regards, Ellen Collins Front Office Manager
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

When 3 star is done perfectly, it is better than 4/5 star done badly. Good job C on B. The bed was great. The room was a reasonable size. The 24hr reception, free parking and great room rate made this the obvious choice for our late night arrival in Melbourne. Ok, the breakfast was ordinary, but it's Melbourne so there are plenty of places to find breakfast.

Russell from Brisbane, Australia
31 July 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the time of check-in on day 1 until midnight there was continual knocking on doors adjacent and loud voices by other guests which was not conducive to good rest. Night 2 was just as bad being awakened in early hours by doors slamming and load voices. Tour group leaders need to be made aware that other guests require their rest and their group need to be quiet in their activities and respect others.

Elaine from Sydney, Australia
28 April 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good experience , when I needed assistance from reception staff they were most courteous and helpful

Roslyn from Newcastle, Australia
22 April 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I would like to thank the cleaning staff for finding a pair of shoes and taking them to reception who were able to get onto me before we left. I have left things behind in hotel rooms before and when contacting to try and get them returned they've vanished. The courtesy and promptness was greatly appreciated.

Rachael from Tallygaroopna, Australia
22 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we were very pleased to be upgraded to an apartment which was lovely. The girls on the front desk were very friendly and helpful

Frances from Melbourne, Australia
06 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service from staff again. Room was comfortable and equipment was functional. There were some very noisy guests shouting from around 00:20am that went on for a while.

Alan from Melbourne, Australia
14 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Smooth stay. Café at the door help (re mornings :) ) Very calm and nice. Close to Tram is great and this made it very convenient.

Lotti from Gold Coast, Australia
29 August 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great time with friends staying for our university ball. We were given our privacy but knew we could request help if needed.

Laura from Melbourne, Australia
14 August 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good, We were very cold and couldn't get heat running right away but eventually worked it out... could not get warm in the bedroom or the bathroom. enjoyed the room and the stay very much after we got warm.

John from Adelaide, Australia
29 July 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were relaxed and helpful, overall experience at the hotel was easy going and perfect for our situation

Sean from Perth, Australia
18 July 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were great, very accommodating. First time in the motel part, we usually stay in the units next door

Paula from St Andrews Beach, Australia
23 June 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with this hotel. I come to the area often, and it is good to know a great hotel that is affordable, central and has great coffee!

Emma from Melbourne, Australia
13 May 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall great, however there were some younger people whom made a lot of noise all night-the staff tried to get them to quite down unsuccessfully. This can happen any where and not the motels fault. Would stay again no problems

Stacey from Stkilda Melbourne, Australia
03 May 2016

 
   1    2     NEXT