Hotel Claremont Guesthouse South Yarra

222 reviews from guests stayed at Hotel Claremont Guesthouse South Yarra


Rating 9 out of 10
189 Toorak Road south yarra,  victoria, australia 3141
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely stay at Claremont accommodation. It was clean, comfortable and in the perfect location for us.

Megan from Melbourne, Australia
22 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I frequently stay at the Claremont because of its remarkable value for money. It is clean, friendly and brilliantly located right next to a train station two stops from the CBD and in the heart of up-market South Yarra.

John from Auckland, New Zealand
21 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved my stay at the guesthouse. Value for money and convenient location.

Koh from Singapore, Singapore
18 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall my experience was very good, after the first night and day was over and I changed rooms. If you are sensitive to noise be sure to ask for the quietest room they can give you. Don't assume that if you book well in advance that you will get the best although even the best is probably going to get some noise as it's an old building with wooden floors and so it is what it is. I invested in ear plugs.

Susy from Auckland, New Zealand
07 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient . Safe. Good price

George from Sioux Falls, United States
05 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Great budget hotel, good value for money. Room and bathroom very clean. Location is perfect, right in the heart of South Yarra and easy access to Melbourne City. Loved the bonus of breakfast

Vimbayi from Melbourne, Australia
01 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything else was fine except for the super thin walls, couldn't sleep properly the whole time I was there. I was next to the bathrooms so I could hear every single person going in and out and everyone talking in the hallway.

Sille from Brisbane, Australia
28 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was excellent! Best hotel in AUS! If I have stayed with a friend, the price would be great.

Fumi from Perth, Australia
22 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice building in the centre of South Yarra. Nice twin rooms and good over all facilities. Excellent bath rooms and very clean.

Robert from Berlin, Germany
22 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always love staying at the Claremont whenever I'm in Melbourne. The included breakfast is fantastic, and the location and cleanliness is excellent.

Leah from Hobart, Australia
17 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really happy with our stay. Would definitely stay again.

Catherine from Adelaide, Australia
08 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall it was a good experience. The free breakfast was great and there was free wifi throughout the guesthouse. The room was a decent size, however there were holes in the floor boards that definitely need covering up. The staff were friendly and the reception is open 24/7. There were many bathrooms per floor and most of them were clean, however we did see a bathroom that had lots of ants inside. The guesthouse is very close to a train station so that was great, and there are a few restaurants, shops and convenience stores in the area.

Ieuan from Swansea, United Kingdom
07 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was pleasant as always. I never know if I will have a room with a fridge in it, and was looking forward to keeping cold beverages handy for this hot summer, but found our room had no fridge. And the window and fans don't cool the room down adequately. Everything else was fantastic though. Except the door code changed and we weren't informed of that.

Dayna from Melbourne, Australia
02 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Provided everything that I would have expected especially for the price and superb location!!

Helen from Hobart, Australia
29 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love staying with you.

Ama from Launceston, Australia
27 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable stay, clean shower room, and great breakfast. However, the room is a little bit small. The TV is great especially in the big event such as Australian Open, though the TV location is a weird because the lower bed cannot watch the TV .

Yen-Po from Taipei, Taiwan
25 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

verry good hotel. i was happy feel at claremont.

ILSEOB from Seoul, South Korea
09 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved the cleaning of all bed linen and of all common areas

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
05 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location for access to sports events. Basic, clean, comfortable and affordable guest house.

Matthew from Sydney, Australia
04 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall was good. Very clean with friendly and helpful staff. I wished I realized the rooms didn't have AC before booking, but we got lucky with mild days for our stay so the fan was fine.

Mary from South Yarra, Australia
29 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect for a spontaneous visit to Melb. Just needed a short stay. Perfect location. Lovely clean amenities. This is our 2nd visit. And we'll be back. Thank you.

Paula from Wangaratta, Australia
28 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Haven't stayed in a "backpacker style" accommodation in 25 years. it was the most awesome experience. South Yarra is my favourite location in Melbourne. Stayed in 2 different rooms, both were just excellent. Overall a lot more clean and quiet than expected! Just awesome. Will ditch the hotels, motels and apartments and always stay at Claremont in the future!!!!!

Stefanie from Adelaide, Australia
09 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Hotel Claremont is a gem! Great value & location. A beautiful old building with lots of class

Sy from Melbourne, Australia
08 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

have stayed before ( in 2006) & nothing much has changed - really good, friendly staff, very clean, easy to get into Melbourne. There was a school group staying - they were so quiet that we didn't see/hear them. Impressed that the Claremont had put the group breakfast times up so guests could choose to avoid the busy times if they wished.

Charlotte from Reading, United Kingdom
08 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great experience & service

Chris from Sydney, Australia
01 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

So good! Loved it! Very fun with all the girls in bunk beds in the one room!

Georgie from Geelong, Australia
25 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great time staying at Claremont, sharing with other females was quite a big challenge as some of the other people sharing the room were quite rude and abrupt towards myself.

Kerrie from Melbourne, Australia
23 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good value hotel in a great location for my particular needs.

Alexer from Narrabri, Australia
15 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Beds were incredibly comfortable for a backpackers. Stairs were a bit of an inconvenience with our suitcases and it would have been nice to have a smokers area on the top level. Overall, we had a great stay, complimentary breakfast was amazing as well.

Sacha from Mirboo North, Australia
02 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was certainly value for money with breakfast.Best value in Melbourne.So close to everything that we were visiting.Staff member was still there after we were there 10 years ago. Bathrooms so clean.Breakfast employee couldn't have been more helpful.When you walk in the front door after shopping etc it is so quiet and peaceful. The coffee and tea making facilities at any time of the day we most welcoming as there wasn't any charge. Decor (pictures on the front staircase walls) was very pleasing.

Wendy from Cairns Qld, Australia
28 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The inner city location, along with the charm & character of the Hotel provided a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The complementary breakfast is a most welcome inclusion in the accommodation price.

James from Perth, Australia
25 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed my stay everything was comfortable

Alan from Manchester, United Kingdom
25 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay. Top Place. See you again in December

Anew from Adelaide, Australia
23 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really great base for both work and pleasure. Check in was straight forward and the décor is delightful. Staff were friendly.

Nicole from Mildura, Australia
13 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, clean rooms, good showers and great staff. Needs bar fridge for each room and more power points for phone, laptop, camera etc.

Mark from 6152, Australia
13 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stayed here twice already. My first stay was v good and this time even better. They do value their customers.and they improved their facilities and services. Wifi, home-brewed coffee, etc. It is very clean and comfty. I love they put the radio on at low volumn, I like their morning helper who talked to u as if u are his friend, ... perfect value for money. You just cant ask for more out of a hostel.

Heung from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
07 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Definitely a place that's value for money. Other than the terribly hot nights, the place was pretty comfortable.

Keefe from Sandy Bay, Australia
06 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second stay at the Claremont. In my opinion the hotel, staff, amenities and especially the location make for the perfect stay in Melbourne. Access to public transport is really good, tram at the front door and rail only a short walking distance. I will definitely stay again.

Alexer from Narrabri Nsw, Australia
05 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Tranquil, good service, clean, well-located, I really enjoy staying at this hotel. Thanks a lot.

Luis from Cairns, Australia
25 September 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we had a pleasant stay here.

Ane from Melbourne, Australia
25 September 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a good time!

David from Valdivia, Chile
20 September 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always stay at the Claremont Guest House when visiting Melbourne, it's in a great location, the bathrooms are always kept clean and it's great value for money.

Noel from Hovea, Australia
15 September 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Every aspect was great except there was no hot water for my shower in the nearest bathroom. Very poor water pressure in the second option. The staff sent me to the first floor showers above the office and they were good. The one light in my room was inadequate and not movable.

Sally from Caloundra, Australia
09 September 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A clean, friendly and conveniently located place. I strongly recommend it.

Nicolas from Singapore, Singapore
08 September 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was clean and comfortable. A bit of street noise late at night on weekend but not too disturbing. Plenty of amenities nearby- good restaurants, coffee shops and cafes, excellent transport and walking destinations.Staff friendly and helpful at all times.

Taissa from Adelaide, Australia
02 September 2015

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5     NEXT