Hotel Claremont Guesthouse South Yarra

231 reviews from guests stayed at Hotel Claremont Guesthouse South Yarra


Rating 9 out of 10
189 Toorak Road south yarra,  victoria, australia 3141
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly and convenient. Nice rooms. Nice building.

Richard from Hobart, Australia
23 April 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean. Pleasant. Good bathrooms. Room a bit small.

Rachel from Melbourne, Australia
16 April 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a pleasant and relaxed stay, perfect after a full day's library research, appreciated being in a quiet and low key place, good value for money.

Melissa from East Gippsland Vic, Australia
08 April 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is what you expect, its nice and very practical

Maria from Melbourne, Australia
31 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, a pleasant and fuss-free experience.

Eric from Canberra, Australia
30 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good experience. Nice location, near Chapel Street and South Yarra train station. Eveything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. I really appreciated having a towel with soap on my bed when I arrived. And nice breakfast too.

Cecile from Bordeaux, France
23 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a verry good hotel

Henk from Melbourne, Australia
22 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, friendly staff, very clean bathrooms and showers, lovely building. Great free breakfast. The is quite a bit of noise however from people waking around on the wooden floorboards as well as the street noise and nearby construction.

Emma from Wellington, New Zealand
22 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bathroom walls a bit dirty, bedroom light and switch poor, toilet a bit cramped and toilet roll location poor but overall a fantastic budget place to stay. Excellent location.

Chris from Melbourne, Australia
22 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely stay at Claremont accommodation. It was clean, comfortable and in the perfect location for us.

Megan from Melbourne, Australia
22 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I frequently stay at the Claremont because of its remarkable value for money. It is clean, friendly and brilliantly located right next to a train station two stops from the CBD and in the heart of up-market South Yarra.

John from Auckland, New Zealand
21 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved my stay at the guesthouse. Value for money and convenient location.

Koh from Singapore, Singapore
18 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall my experience was very good, after the first night and day was over and I changed rooms. If you are sensitive to noise be sure to ask for the quietest room they can give you. Don't assume that if you book well in advance that you will get the best although even the best is probably going to get some noise as it's an old building with wooden floors and so it is what it is. I invested in ear plugs.

Susy from Auckland, New Zealand
07 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient . Safe. Good price

George from Sioux Falls, United States
05 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Great budget hotel, good value for money. Room and bathroom very clean. Location is perfect, right in the heart of South Yarra and easy access to Melbourne City. Loved the bonus of breakfast

Vimbayi from Melbourne, Australia
01 March 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything else was fine except for the super thin walls, couldn't sleep properly the whole time I was there. I was next to the bathrooms so I could hear every single person going in and out and everyone talking in the hallway.

Sille from Brisbane, Australia
28 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was excellent! Best hotel in AUS! If I have stayed with a friend, the price would be great.

Fumi from Perth, Australia
22 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice building in the centre of South Yarra. Nice twin rooms and good over all facilities. Excellent bath rooms and very clean.

Robert from Berlin, Germany
22 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always love staying at the Claremont whenever I'm in Melbourne. The included breakfast is fantastic, and the location and cleanliness is excellent.

Leah from Hobart, Australia
17 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really happy with our stay. Would definitely stay again.

Catherine from Adelaide, Australia
08 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall it was a good experience. The free breakfast was great and there was free wifi throughout the guesthouse. The room was a decent size, however there were holes in the floor boards that definitely need covering up. The staff were friendly and the reception is open 24/7. There were many bathrooms per floor and most of them were clean, however we did see a bathroom that had lots of ants inside. The guesthouse is very close to a train station so that was great, and there are a few restaurants, shops and convenience stores in the area.

Ieuan from Swansea, United Kingdom
07 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was pleasant as always. I never know if I will have a room with a fridge in it, and was looking forward to keeping cold beverages handy for this hot summer, but found our room had no fridge. And the window and fans don't cool the room down adequately. Everything else was fantastic though. Except the door code changed and we weren't informed of that.

Dayna from Melbourne, Australia
02 February 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Provided everything that I would have expected especially for the price and superb location!!

Helen from Hobart, Australia
29 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love staying with you.

Ama from Launceston, Australia
27 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable stay, clean shower room, and great breakfast. However, the room is a little bit small. The TV is great especially in the big event such as Australian Open, though the TV location is a weird because the lower bed cannot watch the TV .

Yen-Po from Taipei, Taiwan
25 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

verry good hotel. i was happy feel at claremont.

ILSEOB from Seoul, South Korea
09 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved the cleaning of all bed linen and of all common areas

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
05 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location for access to sports events. Basic, clean, comfortable and affordable guest house.

Matthew from Sydney, Australia
04 January 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall was good. Very clean with friendly and helpful staff. I wished I realized the rooms didn't have AC before booking, but we got lucky with mild days for our stay so the fan was fine.

Mary from South Yarra, Australia
29 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect for a spontaneous visit to Melb. Just needed a short stay. Perfect location. Lovely clean amenities. This is our 2nd visit. And we'll be back. Thank you.

Paula from Wangaratta, Australia
28 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Haven't stayed in a "backpacker style" accommodation in 25 years. it was the most awesome experience. South Yarra is my favourite location in Melbourne. Stayed in 2 different rooms, both were just excellent. Overall a lot more clean and quiet than expected! Just awesome. Will ditch the hotels, motels and apartments and always stay at Claremont in the future!!!!!

Stefanie from Adelaide, Australia
09 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Hotel Claremont is a gem! Great value & location. A beautiful old building with lots of class

Sy from Melbourne, Australia
08 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

have stayed before ( in 2006) & nothing much has changed - really good, friendly staff, very clean, easy to get into Melbourne. There was a school group staying - they were so quiet that we didn't see/hear them. Impressed that the Claremont had put the group breakfast times up so guests could choose to avoid the busy times if they wished.

Charlotte from Reading, United Kingdom
08 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great experience & service

Chris from Sydney, Australia
01 December 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

So good! Loved it! Very fun with all the girls in bunk beds in the one room!

Georgie from Geelong, Australia
25 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great time staying at Claremont, sharing with other females was quite a big challenge as some of the other people sharing the room were quite rude and abrupt towards myself.

Kerrie from Melbourne, Australia
23 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good value hotel in a great location for my particular needs.

Alexer from Narrabri, Australia
15 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Beds were incredibly comfortable for a backpackers. Stairs were a bit of an inconvenience with our suitcases and it would have been nice to have a smokers area on the top level. Overall, we had a great stay, complimentary breakfast was amazing as well.

Sacha from Mirboo North, Australia
02 November 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was certainly value for money with breakfast.Best value in Melbourne.So close to everything that we were visiting.Staff member was still there after we were there 10 years ago. Bathrooms so clean.Breakfast employee couldn't have been more helpful.When you walk in the front door after shopping etc it is so quiet and peaceful. The coffee and tea making facilities at any time of the day we most welcoming as there wasn't any charge. Decor (pictures on the front staircase walls) was very pleasing.

Wendy from Cairns Qld, Australia
28 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The inner city location, along with the charm & character of the Hotel provided a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The complementary breakfast is a most welcome inclusion in the accommodation price.

James from Perth, Australia
25 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed my stay everything was comfortable

Alan from Manchester, United Kingdom
25 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay. Top Place. See you again in December

Anew from Adelaide, Australia
23 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really great base for both work and pleasure. Check in was straight forward and the décor is delightful. Staff were friendly.

Nicole from Mildura, Australia
13 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, clean rooms, good showers and great staff. Needs bar fridge for each room and more power points for phone, laptop, camera etc.

Mark from 6152, Australia
13 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stayed here twice already. My first stay was v good and this time even better. They do value their customers.and they improved their facilities and services. Wifi, home-brewed coffee, etc. It is very clean and comfty. I love they put the radio on at low volumn, I like their morning helper who talked to u as if u are his friend, ... perfect value for money. You just cant ask for more out of a hostel.

Heung from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
07 October 2015

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6     NEXT