Hotel Claremont Guesthouse South Yarra

237 reviews from guests stayed at Hotel Claremont Guesthouse South Yarra


Rating 9 out of 10
189 Toorak Road south yarra,  victoria, australia 3141
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

What a wonderful old style building that has been refurbished tastefully, functionally, very clean, comfortable, immaculate facilities, great basic breakfast, lovely staff, centrally located, train station and IGA+Liquor/7/11 so close. The Family LOVED staying at Claremont.

Donna from Brisbane, Australia
12 April 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great as usual

Chris from Christchurch, New Zealand
10 April 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, tidy, comfy room. Would stay again.

Maddison from Adelaide, Australia
07 April 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a great stay here! Always return every year if I can!

Graham from Melbourne, Australia
06 April 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall good value for money. Within easy reach of everything.

Ursula from Darwin, Australia
26 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, great price, free breakfast!

Kathryn from Hunters Hill, Australia
24 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The accommodation was quite clean with friendly staff & close to Chapel street. The room itself was a little cramped & stuffy (the bed was against the wall making it hard to roll over in bed) & noisey (close to Toorak Rd & not sure that the windows were double glazed). Overall a pleasant stay for one night.

Jacqueline from Ballarat, Australia
24 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good value for money. Great location. Bit noisy in the morning, but overall very good experience.

Rebecca from Perth, Australia
24 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

enjoyed our visit. They only problem we found was the room lighting. I remembered this from my last visit. We are both avid readers and the lighting was not suitable to read by

Jenni from Melbourne, Australia
22 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was initially the price and location which made me chose claremont guesthouse. But..You always go out of your to make me feel welcome...I really enjoy staying here and that is why I always come back!

Meryka from Melbourne, Australia
22 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

charming place close to many attactions/places of interest

Graham from Melb, Australia
18 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I know with hostel environments, it can get a bit rowdy and thats ok with me but it was Disappointing as a large group drinking kept me up all night disturbing my sleep, knocking on my door, and other doors in my corridor at 4/430 in the morning. eventually I left one night early as I was travelling the next day and needed a reliable good nights sleep

Jessica from Perth, Australia
09 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stay here whenever i can and there is a booking space available. It is a fabulous facility..

Richard from Daylesford, Australia
08 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location. Loved the self serve breakfast. Only complaint was the glass door at the top of the stairs was incredibly loud when closing which it did all the time making it hard to sleep. Otherwise excellent value.

Samantha from Bendigo, Australia
07 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always stay at Hotel Claremont Guesthouse for my frequent visits to Melbourne as it provides excellent value, tremendous location, meticulously clean facilities and helpful staff. Highly recommended!

Noel from Perth Wa, Australia
03 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my second time staying here. The location is excellent and I find the staff to be very friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast included in the room rate is an important consideration as is the wifi, which unfortunately was a bit hit and miss. The bathrooms were very clean and had no cause for complaint.

Mark from Auckland, New Zealand
01 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleased I chose the Claremont when I needed a budget-friendly place to stay whilst in Melbourne for a few days. Delightful old building with real character and some interesting history, bed was comfy too. Proximity to transport, especially the train station, was a huge bonus...the good cinemas and cafes nearby didn't hurt either!

Nicole from Melbourne, Australia
25 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Value for money, budget accomadation that is clean and comfortable, suitable for families who don't want to waste money on accomadation. Most staff were very friendly and helpful (weekend breakfast lady was rude). Bathrooms were kept very clean, and didnt have a problem with having to wait for one to be available. Both train and tram on the doorstep. Was able to get parking nearby at night without much fuss, but would be difficult if wanting to leave the car there during the day. Will stay again.

Kate from Adelaide, Australia
25 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great Location and good clean rooms with excellent facilities nearby.

Neil from South Yarra, Australia
23 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and helpful.

Yvette from Benowa, Australia
23 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I usually stay in the CBD when I visit Melbourne, but my when my preferred place was booked out I chose here and was very happy with my choice. Comfortable and clean, and even though it's a hostel with dorms, it has a bit of a 'posh hotel' feel to it, which was novel. Stones throw from the train station, and easy to get to safely from the city late at night. Nice place to stay if you want somewhere quiet and civilised to come back to. comfy lounge area too. The dress code sign was appreciated (shirts and shoes required). I think it's a good rule, and made for higher standards. Friendly staff.

Jane from Perth, Australia
23 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, super clean, perfect for what we were after.

Sarah from 3940, Australia
23 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed both stays at Hotel Claremont, though it was much quieter late evening/early morning than our first visit due to a school party sharing the floor. Also, the cleanliness in the shared bathroom facilities has improved. We would have no hesitation in recommending this South Yarra gem to family and friends.

Nyk from Sydney, Australia
18 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very clean, tidy and quiet.

Steve from London, United Kingdom
17 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a clean and comfortable stay at 'Claremont'. Thank you for a lovely time.

Emma from Melbourne, Australia
14 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable. Staff were all very pleasant & helpful

Colleen from Southport9, Australia
10 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A wonderful experience. The only difficulty was in sleeping due to the proximity to Toorak Road but curiously it didn't seem to matter as everything else was great! Might try for a room a bit further back next time. Many thanks:)

Kim from Melbourne, Australia
09 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

John from Brisbane, Australia
02 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable rooms; clean bathrooms. Showers in some bathrooms a bit temperamental - water changed temperature a lot. Great character to building. Breakfast a great extra.

Kate from Auckland, New Zealand
01 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall a very enjoyable stay. My only issue was something entirely beyond your control: the construction site opposite my room starting work very early in the morning (6:30 on one day).

Eric from Belconnen, Australia
28 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was good.

Amy from Melbourne, Australia
26 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Ama from Melbourne, Australia
16 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great as usual.

John from Brisbane, Australia
10 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I think the Hotel Claremont an absolute gem. The staff are lovely; the place is beautiful and well sited; transport is a short walk away; the complementary breakfast is good for budget travellers: all in all a genuine bargain.

Edward from Brisbane, Australia
07 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Value for money, impressed with cleanliness and the inclusive continental breakfast is great.

Sheila from Melbourne, Australia
04 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ive travelled quite alot, and an all over rating for all that was offered, is excellent. I would recommend Hotel Claremont to any budget conscience traveller, especially the location, close to the city, and other necessary incidentals

Annette from Caloundra West, Australia
03 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

beds were very comfy, low fuss check in and check out, all the amenities were clean and worked very well, very happy as a whole for the price paid. will probably be back next time im in Melbourne.

Alexer from Newcastle, Australia
30 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great.

Ankit from Mumbai, India
30 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

amazing, friendly staff, great rooms.

Angela from Hobart, Australia
22 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good place to stay in Melbourne. I definitely recommend it to every people who want to stay in a quiet place. The only thing is that I would have appreciate to have stoves to cook, as a microwave is not enough (but I understand the Claremont Hotel is an hotel and not a backpacker).

Aurelie from Melbourne, Australia
21 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Claramont was very fine for me.

Mads from Melbourne, Australia
20 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and nice to see staff who hae been there for a few years. The man in the breakfast venue is very friendly and good to see he's still there.

Christine from Adelaide, Australia
19 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great: great location, very clean hotel. I liked it.

Simon from Melbourne, Australia
10 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very positive experience , as usual. Reception staff very friendly , cleaning staff helpful, room and bathroom exceptionally clean and excellent breakfast and dining area.

Rosemary from Portland, Australia
08 December 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed a few times and I really enjoy it. I feel comfortable and safe when I stay and that is when I am there alone - other times I am with friends or husband.

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
05 December 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6     NEXT