Birches Serviced Apartments

733 reviews from guests stayed at Birches Serviced Apartments


Rating 9 out of 10
160 Simpson Street East Melbourne,  Victoria, Australia 3002
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the third time to stay at Birches. Comfortable, quiet and central. The secure parking is something that motivates us to return.

Margaret from Melbourne, Australia
17 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall it was a good experience

Ian from West Wodonga, Australia
07 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our stay. It was close to the MCG and the bus from the airport taking us straight to the apartments was a bonus.

Jacqueline from Queensland, Australia
06 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A great stay for my business purposes. apartment clean, quiet and bed very comfortable. I liked having a desk to work at. Only down sides were that the couch/es in the lounge room which I noted were sofa beds, are very uncomfortable/hard to sit on for longer than a few minutes. Certainly not very relaxing for an evening watching tv which brings me to my next and only other complaint......that there was no tv in the bedroom which for a solo traveler is very nice at the end of a long, tiring day. I loved having a bath, especially in such a reasonably priced city accommodation. You should make a feature of this as it is rare to find in an accommodation for this price.Personally, I also liked having a window that I could open for fresh air and heaps of natural light, but also liked having effective block out curtains for good sleep in....You should also make a feature of this as lots of people like this..... I HATE air conditioning that goes 24/7!

Christine from Ballarat, Australia
04 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleased, clean and comfortable. In pleasant part of city

Stephen from Perth, Australia
01 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice apartment, very spacious. It had all we expected, although the sofas are a little uncomfortable to sleep on. Parking was a bit of a stress as we had a big car.

Alexer from Sydney, Australia
29 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a very comfortable stay, thank you.

Kate from Darwin, Australia
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

No problems.Suited our needs.

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

well located, comfortable, good service & value for money

Simon from Wellington, New Zealand
20 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

No fuss, clean, good location, efficient staff, well equipped rooms

Jenni from Canberra, Australia
01 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

NICE

Serge from Sydney, Australia
30 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

overall a great experience with staff been very helpful and professional, rooms are tidy. One minor note though, bathroom windows had excessive dust accumulated on mesh sections that doesn't look very attractive and obstructs ventilation.

Sergei from Sydney, Australia
28 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I keep coming to the Birches Serviced Apartments town house for many years now and it only gets better as the place is maintained really nicely. The house is an absolutely gorgeous cottage located in the heart of lovely East Melbourne, close to everything in the city. It is always perfectly clean, with plenty of crispy clean towels available, feels like home - only better, as it is maintained for you beautifully by somebody else. It has everything you might possibly need on your holidays or business trip - from lovely renovated interiors with fire places, polished floors, very comfy huge beds in roomy bedrooms, well equipped kitchen to a lovely little backyard with a barbecue facilities. The staff are always friendly, discreet and helpful. I always recommend it to everybody I know and I will keep coming back. Vukica Habus

Vukica from Adelaide, Australia
22 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Stay at Birches while i was in Melbourne for the Australian Grandprix, found the location good as we were close to woolworths, tram stop and fast food stores, the staff were very helpfull as they recommended and gave us directions to various restaurants and tourist locations and supplied us with new towels, teatowels whenever we asked, our room was also serviced when we were out and it was great coming back to a vacuumed floor and made beds. Bed and sofa was very confortable and all appliances worked. if i come back to Melbourne next year for the f1 i will most likely be staying at birches again because it is a good, secure, clean and overall great place to stay. Would reccomend to anyone.

Brenton from Brisbane, Australia
21 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An unbelievable experience. All staff really friendly and very helpful, well done team. We liked your restaurant selection, Italian and Thai

Philip from Melbourne, Australia
19 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

always love staying here

Kasy from Canberra, Australia
07 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

WE love stayong at Birches, fantastic location, service and accomodation

Cherie from Melbourne, Australia
03 March 2013

Thanks Cherie! See you next time!
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Never disappoints

Guest From from Lightning Ridge, Australia
28 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location and price. Staff very friendly. Will stay again.

Ian from Shepparton, Australia
28 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were thrilled by the location, the personal support of the front of house staff - particularly Tanya - and our stay was all we had hoped it would be.

Rhys from Cardiff, United Kingdom
27 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely place to stay, very friendly staff. Perfect location within easy walking distance of the city. The dog loved it too!

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I originally just booked for the two weeks of the Oz Open, but I extended my stay for the next 2 weeks I would be in Melbourne due to its comfort and the friendly and helpful staff. Also, it is outside the main city so slightly more pleasant surroundings, but it is close enough to walk in to the city. Alternatively, the tram is just a 5 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again if I get to return to Melbourne.

Joanne from Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great pet friendly place to stay. Have stayed 4 times now and always enjoyed it. Rooms are spacious and spotless.

Brett from Rye, Australia
03 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic place to stay. We loved it!

Fiona from Wagga Wagga, Australia
21 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed the stay perfect location thank you

Stacy from Mornington, Australia
14 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent Appartment, in a great location.

Anew from Wangaratta, Australia
29 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the Perfect Place for us, Location, Location, Location, and we bring out dog.

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
28 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Helpful and friendly accomodating staff. Helped us with advice and booking a return airport shuttle. Very good location for us. Used the very pleasant barbeque area. Clean and comfortable apartment.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
23 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was a very pleasant stay

Jason from Melbourne, Australia
05 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Front desk staff excellent, very helpful & friendly. I am not used to road noise experienced at corner of Albert & Simpsom, but problem was overcame with use of air-conditioner. Bed was very comfortable, kitchen facilities great. Wonderful being so close to the arena we were attending. Also enjoyed the proximity of some of Melbourne's gardens. Thanks for looking after us.

Joan from Manukau, New Zealand
04 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My stay was comfortable and relaxing and the location was good for my medical apps

Rosalie from East Melb, Australia
02 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All was good

Debra from Melbourne, Australia
25 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent position and service

Sarka from Blue Mountains, Australia
20 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Ers from Bright, Australia
20 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Extremely comfortable bed! The whole apartment was comfortable and well appointed. The Dine In menu is amazing.

Elly from Sydney, Australia
19 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it - new favourite place to stay in Melbourne.

Megan from Sydney, Australia
19 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we had a great stay, but it was unfortunate that the occupants before us had smoked in the apartment and the smell was quite strong.

Maree from Melbourne, Australia
02 November 2015

Maree Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback following your recent stay with us. It was very disappointing to hear the previous occupants had smoked in the apartment as, as you would be aware, all our rooms are non smoking and we do offer a designated smoking area for those guests that do smoke. It is unfortunately one of those odours that lingers and is very difficult to eliminate. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Birches in the future. Kind regards Alan & the Team
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I enjoyed my stay--the staff were wonderful. My only concern was that the unit kitchen cupboard had holes in it thus allowing little creepies to crawl in! May be need an update.

Karen from Bowral, Australia
12 October 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The rooms were well appointed, they did smell somewhat. Maybe leave a bottle of Glen 20. Possibly had a smoker in before.

Jaye from 3699, Australia
23 March 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

See my TripAdvisor report for further details. Overall a good experience. Being a travel agent I was surprised there was no avenue to book clients other than via your webpage (no commission or incentive)

Jonathan from Wa, Australia
09 March 2015

thank you for advising so that we can address this
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything seemed to work well except that we had a problem with the hot water mixer in the bathroom. Water either was cold or hot as the mixer didn't work properly.

Sammer from Singapore, Singapore
24 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Despite suggestions below - still good value for money, staff always great and the pet friendly policy is always a point of difference that will make us come back time and time again. Thank you.

Melinda from Daylesford, Australia
02 February 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Stayed two nights in two different apartments. Unit ten first night was ok. Unit 3 second night not so good. Rug badly stained and should be replaced. Bedroom right on street next to traffic lights. Pedestrian ticking signals very loud. Insufficient parking spaces and obviously spaces are sold when there are none. This leads to people parking illegally and blocking access for others.

Howard from Sydney, Australia
18 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good.

Christine from Hobart, Australia
14 January 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great central location.

Adele from Melbourne, Australia
01 December 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17     NEXT