Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Second stay and very happy except for the trams outside which quite frankly drove me mad. The old trams were a lot quieter, but when the new trams went around the corner it was like thunder. I looked outside and there was a big metal plate on the road which was the culprit. When I stay next time, I would request a room not facing Bourke Street (where I have been roomed before).

Karen from Perth, Australia
31 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service, rooms well equipped, excellent breakfast. Very price competitive hotel.

Ann from Castlemaine, Australia
31 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient for the city. Really comfortable bed and nice room. Enjoyable stay.

Anthony from Quinns Rocks Wa 6030, Australia
31 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the moment I booked to stay at the Alto Hotel Online I had a good experience. Initially I had a query about the parking and so I emailed and received a response within 24 hours which addressed my query. When I arrived on the day of my stay I was greeted by a friendly and informative staff member who told me where to park and clearly explained the $50 pre-authorisation on my card (I've been caught surprised by other hotels who haven't explained this!). Parking for the hotel wasn't on site which was a bit of a downfall and one has to do a u-turn in Bourke Street to drive to the parking area. It is locked up but not undercover. The room was nice and clean and suited what I needed. The bed was comfortable, but almost too soft like a marshmallow so be aware if you have back problems! The biggest disappointment for me was the street noise - there was a lot of it and it did keep me awake for some of the night. On the day you leave you will be required to grab your car and then drop the remote control back to the hotel before you leave. Despite the couple of negatives it was a good experience and I would return.

Casey from Melbourne, Australia
30 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location is unbeatable with everything closeby. Though the room is less spacious but still worths the price.

Christine from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
30 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great for my needs, comfortable, clean and friendly.

Janine from Sydney, Australia
28 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a very clean,comfortable, relaxed experience, within easy walking distance of where I needed to go. It felt like stepping back in time, to a more friendly, cosy atmosphere where you were welcomed with hospitality. Loved the apples!! Oh, and the hot chocolate!!!

Karen from Cairns, Australia
26 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was very good. Practical accommodation in a good location at a reasonable price.

Anne from Perth, Australia
24 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed a very satisfying stay at Alto On Bourke. In future I might consider upgrading to a slightly larger room. The petite queen was a bit squeezy once you opened your luggage. I loved the various measures taken to make the hotel greener, and this would encourage me to stay there again.

Janette from Canberra, Australia
22 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a lovely experience and very much enjoyed all at the hotel - great service - thank you

Lorinda from Brisbane, Australia
20 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel...hidden gem.

Sean from Sydney, Australia
20 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good hotel - will definitely stay again.

Les from Sydney, Australia
19 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel is well appointed, clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were especially helpful and my stay was without any hassle.

Barbara from Brunkerville Nsw, Australia
19 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was in an excellent location for us - easy from airport and to Etihad stadium. Reception staff very helpful friendly and efficient. Breakfast was great and we liked the free apples.

Jill from Yorketown Sa 5576, Australia
19 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We just love coming every year

Margaret from Broken Hill, Australia
19 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfied. Loved and enjoyed my stay. On Friday night, kitchen staff prepared a complimentary cheese cake for me. It's greatly appreciated. I was travelling alone for conference, lunch at the event was terrible, hence I had nothing the whole day. And to have a delicious cheesecake after dinner to finish the day was beautiful. Loved the fact that your hotel is environmentally conscious too. Fits with my lifestyle.

Lee from Sydney, Australia, Malaysia
18 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff overall a really good hotel, and close to shopping and restaurants

Kaye from Adelaide, Australia
18 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good loved it all, the only issue we had was with breakfast and the time it took to come out and the value for money, i was expecting more on the plate that i got.

Bradley from Adelaide, Australia
18 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

See suggestion and comments below.

Sarah from Melbourne, Australia
18 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice hotel and staff. Room service and food excellent. Easy walk to station and trams.

Annette from Melbourne, Australia
18 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great time. The only negative was some tram noise and air conditioning vibration through the night. Probably not much can be done about either. The massage chairs were a special surprise. Loved them and the free tea and coffee machine were a nice touch. Also the pizza recommendation was spot on.

Leanne from Melbourne, Australia
17 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone. Great service, nice quarters and amenities and friendly and helpful staff

Caitlin from Chicago, United States
14 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always excellent..only complaint is room on 1st floor...too much lane way noise...

Julie from Brisbane, Australia
14 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As good as previously

Gerard from Auckland, New Zealand
14 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had 3 lovely nights at Alto. Great hotel, great staff. Good location.

John from T, Australia
12 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Fiona from Sydney, Australia
12 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I am very happy each time I stay at the Alto It is friendly, very comfortable, convenient and has everything that I need when away from home. I can recommend it very highly.

NORMA from Melbourne, Australia
11 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our stay at the Alto, the location was fantastic, stepping out the front door and onto the free tram line was so convenient! The staff were extremely helpful on check-in and throughout the stay. The room was absolutely spotless and a credit to your housekeeping staff.

Lindsay from Broken Hill, Australia
11 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Faded outside flags, unwelcoming foyer & unclean windows behind reception initially disappointing. Wonderfully welcoming & helpful staff improved my despair. Room very clean & comfortable, had everything I needed. Bed was a little hollow sides/up in the centre. Will come again.

Rosey from Melbourne, Australia
08 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay. The best bits were breakfast, and dinner, and the included wifi. And those fluffy comfortable beds! It was rainy and cold outside, but cosy in the Alto!

Kevin from Adelaide, Australia
08 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A good four star hotel well serviced by friendly & efficient staff. Coffee machine produces an enjoyable coffee, what blend do you use? Check out was quick but no one asked us how was our stay or ask if we required taxis etc. Would stay again but book larger room.

Gary from Perth, Australia
07 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a lovely time, the staff were so professional, friendly and helpful.

Simone from Sydney, Australia
07 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff and great location. Room was very clean and beds very comfortable too- overall felt very homely. Only negative was the room we stayed in had some slight tram noise from the street and the window faced a wall so we couldn't see whether it was daylight or not.

Joy from Melbourne, Australia
05 August 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, comfortable, friendly staff. Lovely surprise to find complimentary chocolates in our room. Would stay here again !

Leah from Melbourne, Australia
26 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent friendly helpful staff. Location is terrific. The room had everything we needed and had a nice cosy, homely feel.

Philip from Perth, Australia
15 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Alto Hotel, and definitely plan to stay there every time I'm in Melbourne.

Leonard from Huntsville, United States
15 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and accommodating

Tony from Vancouver, Canada
15 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant experience.

Norm from Sydney, Australia
13 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love staying at the Alto because the staff are always so willing to help and really want to make their guests feel welcome. Nothing is too much to ask and everything is done with a smile. Such service is not found very often and always such a pleasure to receive. Thanks for making our recent stay as enjoyable as ever!

Margot from Cairns, Australia
12 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We felt very much at home. Appreciated the complimentary coffee, hot chocolate and apples. Also the fire in the dining area was lovely. Very clean and comfortable rooms.

Tim from Perth, Australia
12 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient and comfortable. Good to have an iron and able to buy Myki cards.

Pete from Melbourne, Australia
09 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic staff. Will go out of their way to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. Very close to the trams - only a short walk from the door - and within the free tram zone to most tourist attractions. The hotel only a 3 min walk from Southeren Cross Station. Room was clean and the beds extremely comfortable. Kitchenette in the room is a fabulous addition, was pleasantly displayed and well stocked with all the basics (detergent, salt and pepper, utensils and crockery). The lounge with fireplace is very welcoming on a chilly Melbourne day. Food from the restaurant was beautiful. Will definitely being staying here again!!

Kara from Melbourne, Australia
08 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bed was too soft and too hot. The doona had like a plastic cover on it....yuck.

Caroline from Brisbane, Australia
07 July 2015

Our beds are fitted with a deep pillowtop mattress. The pillowtop can be removed on request if a firm bed is preferred. As well as cotton sheets & cover our doonas are enclosed in a hypoallergenic protector which has a waterproof yet breathable membrane that provides a barrier to spills, stains, dust mites and allergens. When the sheets & cover are removed the firm material of the protector may be obvious. All rooms have wool blankets in the wardrobe with more available on as an alternative bed cover option.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved the hotel and the room we stayed in. The staff were very knowledgable and helpful. I loved the little cosy reading corner in the restaurant. The hotel is in a great location, with a tram right outside the front makes it accessible to all tourist locations. I will definitely be back the next time I come to visit Melbourne.

Kimberly from Perth, Australia
07 July 2015

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it.

Jan from Adelaide, Australia
07 July 2015

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT