Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Awesome

Helen from Melbourne, Australia
11 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic! So comfortable and close to trams and trains, the buffet breakfast was awesome =)

Melinda from Geelong, Australia
11 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Once again, all was the way we like it. New beds are very comfortable. Loved the little box of chocolates which greeted us.

Barbara from Townsville, Australia
10 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Christopher from Sydney, Australia
10 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location. Useful washing basin, good squarish layout, spacious.

Kok from Singapore, Singapore
09 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely staff, efficient and friendly. Room very clean, stylish and comfortable but a little bit noisy with those trams clunking past!

Patricia from Perth, Australia
09 June 2014

All rooms have windows that open for fresh air. Our standard is to leave them open for guest arrival. Closing both sections of the double glazing will shut out most of the noise of the city.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great - the location, cleanliness and staff were the highlights.

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
08 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My favourite hotel in Melbourne. For service, comfort, location and value for money, the Alto is absolutely faultless. Highly recommended.

Mindy from Melbourne, Australia
07 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and close to the railway stationand skybus station and within walking distance of the central CBD shops and restaurants. Clean rooms. Very comfy beds. Great conditioner and plenty of it, a bonus for the girls! Oh... and I loved that they have decent powerful hairdryers.. definately a bonus for me! I think the only let down was the lack of a view, we had only a very small half sized window with a view of the brick wall next door. But for an overnighter, it was fine. The cleanliness was great. No mini bar, but free wifi and foxtel.

Christopher from Bargo, Australia
06 June 2014

Unfortunately being a small boutique hotel in a large city does limit views from some rooms. Rooms that enjoy a better vista include 1 bedroom spa apartments, 2 bedroom deluxe apartments as well as a some of the Studio Queen rooms.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Couldn't have asked for more.

Sarah from Sydney, Australia
06 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exceedingly pleasant experience and I even came back the following night after my plans changed to enjoy an extra evening at the hotel. The location is brilliant, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and even the creaky floors seem to go with the boutique nature of the hotel.

Powel from Edmonton, Canada
05 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall we had a enjoyable stay. The library downstairs was great on the last day to relax for the last few hrs before our 9pm flight. Bed was too soft for us, so not the best night sleep we've ever had but still managed to sleep in!

Adam from Perth, Australia
05 June 2014

Great to have some "bookworms" inhabit the library. Our beds are filleted with deep pillow top mattress. While most people find the beds incredibility comfortable, those that prefer a firm bed may find them too soft. No matter we can easily remove the pillow top section to convert the bed into a much firmer format. Just ask when booking or even while in house and we can make the change.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alto and I was just as impressed as last time. The Staff from the cleaners to reception are a credit to you.

Leanne from Auckland, New Zealand
05 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was just what we were looking for

Edward from Auckland, New Zealand
04 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

What can I say that I haven't said before. Preferred place to stay in Melbourne. See you again in April 2015

Sheree from Mount Barker, Australia
02 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly and welcoming, good check in and was about to get access to my room early which was perfect.

Julie from Auckland, New Zealand
30 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great room! Staff extremely helpful! Lovely breakfast! Will definitely be back!!

Emma from Warrnambool, Australia
28 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very affordable and very appealing, in a great location.

Jordan from Melbourne, Australia
28 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is our 2nd stay within 3 month. Service staff were excellent and responded very promptly. Room is clean and with good facilities. TV channels was great and we were spoilt for choices.

An from Melbourne, Australia
26 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great. Thanks!

Kris from Melbourne, Australia
26 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable. Good breakfasts. Room is super clean and well designed. Air conditioner did not work so room was too warm. If we are Melbourne again we will stay at the Alto.

William from Bellingham Wa, United States
24 May 2014

Our air conditioners are reverse cycle that can heat and cool. The mode may have bee set to heating as the evenings at this time of year are generally cool. However reception is open 24 hours a day with staff available to help with any inquiries or issues that may arise.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, great location, quiet, staff friendly and helpful, super comfortable beds!

Margaret from Masterton, New Zealand
24 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful thank you

Martin from Fremantle, Australia
22 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My experience was wonderful, friendly staff, lovely clean room and bathroom. Location was ideal for my visit to Melbourne.

Sue from Shepparton, Australia
22 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are a group of 7 friends (over 2 x apartmets) who travel to Melbourne to see AFL & visit rellies etc and the Alto is the right combination of all the above rating criteria. Most of us also stay with you at other times of the year, either singularly or as couples.

Stewart from Hobart, Australia
20 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our time at Alto Hotel and look forward to a return visit in the future. We have recommended it to our family and friends as they visit frequently for work and pleasure. Our only criticism was the fact that the restaurant wasn't open over Easter. However we managed and had a terrific stay. Thank you for the Easter eggs, the apples, the eco friendly principles for which we value, for the washer dryer, for the wonderful house keeping, the excellent staff, the soap/lotions in each bathroom, the Foxtel and 2 tv's, the wifi, the artwork, the reading nook/library, the great breakfast and takeaway coffee...well you get the drift. Thank you and keep doing what you are doing. Kind regards, Karen Greenwood & Family

Karen from Perth, Australia
20 May 2014

While our restaurant is open for breakfast every day we have found that most guests over a weekend or holiday period such as Easter are more interested in trying one of the many dining precincts and exciting restaurants throughout the inner city.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall it was fantastic. Check in was easy, and even though we were early and were expecting just to drop our bags and check in properly later, our room was prepared. Loved the hot chocolates in the lounge. Also the little library section was cute. Really wanted to try out the relaxation room, but we ran out of time. Will have to do it next time. :)

Talia from Ballarat, Australia
19 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved it!

Rachel from Auckland, New Zealand
19 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always enjoy staying at this hotel - small, but very clean and comfortable

Alasdair from Canberra, Australia
19 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love staying at the Alto and recommend it to everyone we know who needs to stay in Melbourne. The staff are always perfect, the room and facilities are always amazing and the location suits us perfectly. The pillows this time were a little bit firmer than I might like but other than that, it was perfect.

Ebony from Wodonga, Australia
18 May 2014

Our beds are set with 2 distinct types of hypo allergenic pillows for guest to choose their preference. More of the preferred style will gladly be provided on request. The pillows on each bed are latex which provides a soft but firm pillow that holds its shape. The other is micro fire filled which reacts in a similar manner to a feather pillow in that is can be shaped somewhat to the users requirements.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Highly impressed. Staff in particular derve a pat on the back.

Don from Castlemaine, Australia
12 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was in Melbourne for business so needed a mix of accessibility, quiet, internet and food. The hotel is friendly and comfortable and all my needs were well met. The restaurant was good as were the availability of other restaurants in the area. Highly recommend.

Keith from Sydney, Australia
12 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our family had a relaxing stay. Check in and check out Were a breeze. The staff was helpful and courteous. We Have been looking for a place to stay for our City days and We'll certainly think of Alto again

Yvette from Maribyrnong, Australia
10 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a lovely stay at the Alto Hotel On Bourke. I was particularly struck by the staff's friendliness and efficiency.

Laura from Sydney, Australia
07 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely for a short stay, rooms were smaller then we expected. Clean and tidy overall lovely stay thank you

Suzanne from Melbourne, Australia
07 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable

Vanessa from Melbourne, Australia
06 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We left for the Great Ocean Road after a 4 night stay and returned after our road trip because we were really satisfied with our earlier stay. Needless to day, the second stay didn't disappoint at all. Two thumbs up for Alto!

Moon from Singapore, Singapore
05 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a perfect stay on our first visit to Melbourne. The hotel is centrally located right across from Southern Cross Station which makes transportation and accessibility a breeze. The room was cleaned properly every single day, and the bed was firm and good - perfect for a great night of sleep and rest. We will certainly recommend to family and friends, and will be rebooking if we were to visit Melbourne again.

Moon from Singapore, Singapore
05 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Another great stay at the Alto, thanks guys.

Adam from Nowrood, Australia
04 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed stay. Staff and location great

KATHRYN from Tasmania, Australia
02 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was adequate, but the staff were fantastic.

Ruthann from Sydney, Australia
02 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful stay. Found it to be a great starting location for everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were all so lovely. We felt very welcomed.

Paula from Wollongong, Australia
30 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alto. The rooms were clean, beds very comfortable and the children appreciated the free wi-fi.

Dorothy from Newcastle, Australia
29 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfort room was reat after long plane3 trip and early arrival. Excellent suggestions for dining and activities. What was the name and contact info on the companty selling the matresses for the beds?

Barry from Charlottesville, United States
29 April 2014

Bed orders for the same specification can be made via the hotel with delivery to anywhere in Australia including the very important deep pillow topper. Their retail brand is King Koil however the range of beds may differ to design of the commercial beds used at Alto Hotel. Try http://www.kingkoil.com/ for products available in the USA.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The receiption staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well serviced. This was our second time with you, and certainly will make it a third if we come to Melbourne again.

Jennifer from Ipswich, Australia
28 April 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT