Alto Hotel On Bourke

2885 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alto and I was just as impressed as last time. The Staff from the cleaners to reception are a credit to you.

Leanne from Auckland, New Zealand
05 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was just what we were looking for

Edward from Auckland, New Zealand
04 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

What can I say that I haven't said before. Preferred place to stay in Melbourne. See you again in April 2015

Sheree from Mount Barker, Australia
02 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly and welcoming, good check in and was about to get access to my room early which was perfect.

Julie from Auckland, New Zealand
30 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great room! Staff extremely helpful! Lovely breakfast! Will definitely be back!!

Emma from Warrnambool, Australia
28 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very affordable and very appealing, in a great location.

Jordan from Melbourne, Australia
28 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is our 2nd stay within 3 month. Service staff were excellent and responded very promptly. Room is clean and with good facilities. TV channels was great and we were spoilt for choices.

An from Melbourne, Australia
26 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great. Thanks!

Kris from Melbourne, Australia
26 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable. Good breakfasts. Room is super clean and well designed. Air conditioner did not work so room was too warm. If we are Melbourne again we will stay at the Alto.

William from Bellingham Wa, United States
24 May 2014

Our air conditioners are reverse cycle that can heat and cool. The mode may have bee set to heating as the evenings at this time of year are generally cool. However reception is open 24 hours a day with staff available to help with any inquiries or issues that may arise.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, great location, quiet, staff friendly and helpful, super comfortable beds!

Margaret from Masterton, New Zealand
24 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful thank you

Martin from Fremantle, Australia
22 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My experience was wonderful, friendly staff, lovely clean room and bathroom. Location was ideal for my visit to Melbourne.

Sue from Shepparton, Australia
22 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are a group of 7 friends (over 2 x apartmets) who travel to Melbourne to see AFL & visit rellies etc and the Alto is the right combination of all the above rating criteria. Most of us also stay with you at other times of the year, either singularly or as couples.

Stewart from Hobart, Australia
20 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our time at Alto Hotel and look forward to a return visit in the future. We have recommended it to our family and friends as they visit frequently for work and pleasure. Our only criticism was the fact that the restaurant wasn't open over Easter. However we managed and had a terrific stay. Thank you for the Easter eggs, the apples, the eco friendly principles for which we value, for the washer dryer, for the wonderful house keeping, the excellent staff, the soap/lotions in each bathroom, the Foxtel and 2 tv's, the wifi, the artwork, the reading nook/library, the great breakfast and takeaway coffee...well you get the drift. Thank you and keep doing what you are doing. Kind regards, Karen Greenwood & Family

Karen from Perth, Australia
20 May 2014

While our restaurant is open for breakfast every day we have found that most guests over a weekend or holiday period such as Easter are more interested in trying one of the many dining precincts and exciting restaurants throughout the inner city.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall it was fantastic. Check in was easy, and even though we were early and were expecting just to drop our bags and check in properly later, our room was prepared. Loved the hot chocolates in the lounge. Also the little library section was cute. Really wanted to try out the relaxation room, but we ran out of time. Will have to do it next time. :)

Talia from Ballarat, Australia
19 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved it!

Rachel from Auckland, New Zealand
19 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always enjoy staying at this hotel - small, but very clean and comfortable

Alasdair from Canberra, Australia
19 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love staying at the Alto and recommend it to everyone we know who needs to stay in Melbourne. The staff are always perfect, the room and facilities are always amazing and the location suits us perfectly. The pillows this time were a little bit firmer than I might like but other than that, it was perfect.

Ebony from Wodonga, Australia
18 May 2014

Our beds are set with 2 distinct types of hypo allergenic pillows for guest to choose their preference. More of the preferred style will gladly be provided on request. The pillows on each bed are latex which provides a soft but firm pillow that holds its shape. The other is micro fire filled which reacts in a similar manner to a feather pillow in that is can be shaped somewhat to the users requirements.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Highly impressed. Staff in particular derve a pat on the back.

Don from Castlemaine, Australia
12 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was in Melbourne for business so needed a mix of accessibility, quiet, internet and food. The hotel is friendly and comfortable and all my needs were well met. The restaurant was good as were the availability of other restaurants in the area. Highly recommend.

Keith from Sydney, Australia
12 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our family had a relaxing stay. Check in and check out Were a breeze. The staff was helpful and courteous. We Have been looking for a place to stay for our City days and We'll certainly think of Alto again

Yvette from Maribyrnong, Australia
10 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a lovely stay at the Alto Hotel On Bourke. I was particularly struck by the staff's friendliness and efficiency.

Laura from Sydney, Australia
07 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely for a short stay, rooms were smaller then we expected. Clean and tidy overall lovely stay thank you

Suzanne from Melbourne, Australia
07 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable

Vanessa from Melbourne, Australia
06 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We left for the Great Ocean Road after a 4 night stay and returned after our road trip because we were really satisfied with our earlier stay. Needless to day, the second stay didn't disappoint at all. Two thumbs up for Alto!

Moon from Singapore, Singapore
05 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a perfect stay on our first visit to Melbourne. The hotel is centrally located right across from Southern Cross Station which makes transportation and accessibility a breeze. The room was cleaned properly every single day, and the bed was firm and good - perfect for a great night of sleep and rest. We will certainly recommend to family and friends, and will be rebooking if we were to visit Melbourne again.

Moon from Singapore, Singapore
05 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Another great stay at the Alto, thanks guys.

Adam from Nowrood, Australia
04 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed stay. Staff and location great

KATHRYN from Tasmania, Australia
02 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was adequate, but the staff were fantastic.

Ruthann from Sydney, Australia
02 May 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful stay. Found it to be a great starting location for everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were all so lovely. We felt very welcomed.

Paula from Wollongong, Australia
30 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alto. The rooms were clean, beds very comfortable and the children appreciated the free wi-fi.

Dorothy from Newcastle, Australia
29 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfort room was reat after long plane3 trip and early arrival. Excellent suggestions for dining and activities. What was the name and contact info on the companty selling the matresses for the beds?

Barry from Charlottesville, United States
29 April 2014

Bed orders for the same specification can be made via the hotel with delivery to anywhere in Australia including the very important deep pillow topper. Their retail brand is King Koil however the range of beds may differ to design of the commercial beds used at Alto Hotel. Try http://www.kingkoil.com/ for products available in the USA.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The receiption staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well serviced. This was our second time with you, and certainly will make it a third if we come to Melbourne again.

Jennifer from Ipswich, Australia
28 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are very happy with our stay. Perfect location, perfect size. Some smell from the kitchen found its way into our room in the morning and some noise from the alley at night and one early morning, but otherwise perfect! Friendly staff, gluten free bread available for breakfast are other plus.

Catarina from Cronulla, Australia
28 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very nice hotel. Very comfortable beds.

Elly from Sydney, Australia
27 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. Think this is the 8th time that I've stayed there over the years & I keep on coming back. No better place to stay in Melbourne. The location is perfect & the staff can't do enough for you. I recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Melbourne

Sheree from Adelaide, Australia
27 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is well located and reasonably priced. I really appreciated free access to Foxtel and Wifi. The room was comfortable and efficiently serviced. Location and free WiFi access were factors in my choosing the hotel.

Jennie from Perth, Australia
27 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I think both chefs produce excellent meals. The woman who cleaned my room is lovely. She left me two little easter eggs. It doesn't seem much but I appreciated the gesture - so nice. The reception staff were very helpful too. And the dinning room staff are efficient and nice.

Ann-Claire from Perth, Australia
26 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Requested a quiet room & enjoyed a VERY quiet, almost spotless room, prompt service & many Easter Eggs and apples. Good On You all - well done!! Many THANKS...........Greg & Rachel.

Greg from Cairns, Australia
24 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All the comforts in a smaller but uncompromising hotel in terms of quality. Very comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast staff were very attentive and warm.

Vanio from Sydney, Australia
24 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I keep coming back - says it all I would think

Greg from Adelaide, Australia
23 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Almost perfect for us EXCEPT the double bed in 409 which, unlike most beds, had a "hill" in the centre (so that you felt you needed velcro pyjamas to stay in bed) and was also much too "bouncy" for comfort.

Ann from Adelaide, Australia
23 April 2014

Beds are fitted with 6cm feather topper. It appears that the topper may have bunched in the middle. Our reception is open 24 hours for any concerns. Once known we would attend to these issues as soon as possible.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location as a base to access the CBD with airport bus, train and tram so close.

Lyn from Brisbane, Australia
23 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was just as we needed it to be

Sarah from Melbourne, Australia
21 April 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel. Thanks to all the staffs for your friendliness and thoughtfulness. Will recommend Alto to people we know!

Mark from Brisbane, Australia
21 April 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62    63    64    65     NEXT