Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Most enjoyable, nothing was a bother for the staff. The chocolates on arrival was a nice touch, it was great to have a well cleaned room and the decor of the room was lovely. Also being so close to Spencer St Station was important for us and having a tram stop outside was so convenient. This is the second time we have been guests.

Vicki from Wangaratta, Australia
19 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto is a good place to stay. It has clean rooms and a friendly, helpful staff.

Donald from Phoenix, United States
19 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Second time I've stayed; would recommend to others

Richard from London, United Kingdom
18 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable rooms; friendly staff; quiet location.

Nick from Taipa, Macau
18 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay, our 3rd time at the hotel. Great location, especially for Taylor Swift concert at Etihad Stadium! Would definitely recommend to others and would stay again when next in Melbourne,

Samantha from Hobart, Australia
17 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bedroom was clean and comfortable. Sofa in living room was smelly when we checked in on the first day. We did not dare to sit on the sofa for the rest of the stay. Unfortunately, the sound of the tram could be heard distinctly even with both layers of windows tightly closed. This was an issue with my husband, who is a very light sleeper. The location is really excellent and staff was polite and nice.

Sim from Melbourne, Australia
16 December 2013

On inspection there is no odor from the sofa. As a precaution we have sanitized and deodorized it.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good. All facilities were available and well maintained. Perfect location. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

Michael from Adelaide, Australia
16 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

V happy with our stay, will definitely recommend to our friends and family!

JEFFERY from Singapore, Singapore
16 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our room was a peaceful haven after our early start, flight and a day in the city & it was lovely to have a 'welcome back' note in the room on arrival. I was amazed last time how quiet the room was given the traffic & other transport near by. I recently stayed in Perth at a property that should have had double glazing because of it's proximity to two major highways. The Alto staff were lovely & very helpful, breakfast was good and the massage chairs were relaxing. The location of the hotel is perfect for access to the city & the airport. Finding a room & booking through the hotel's website was easy. Unfortunately the room occupants above or next to us were clearly audible until about 11pm. The fridge in the room was making banging noises when the compressor was running & this woke my daughter & I a considerable number of times through the night - a noise that we had not noticed through the day with other day to day background sounds. As a consequence, we both slept in & were woken by the cleaning staff in their store room next door. Overall, we had a lovely couple of days in Melbourne & the Alto was a significant part of that.

Sally from Caloundra, Australia
14 December 2013

Thank you for the comments. We have already tested the fridge but will conduct further investigation. We have also spoken to our housekeeping team with regard to being more cautious in the store room as noise may travel into the one adjacent room on each floor.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent relaxing place to stay. Peaceful and ideally located. Friendly helpful staff. The idea place to stay in Melbourne.

DEBORAH from Launceston, Australia
14 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Alto staff are absolutely wonderful. No request is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons. The hotel's amenities are first rate and its location is ideal for those wishing to investigate all that Melbourne's CBD has to offer. We will certainly be back - the Alto is our favourite Melbourne hotel!! A special mention for the service provided by Amy and Gemma - their blood is worth bottling.

Ane from Mansfield, Australia
13 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Feels like home after quite a number of overnights in the last 2 years. At checkout I forgot to mention that one of the bathroom lights in 101 was not working with a fizz at the switch. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. See you in 2014, Mike

Michael from Sydney, Australia
12 December 2013

Thank you for reporting lighting issue which has been fixed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great. Room service girl (Amy?) was particularly friendly...

Ian from 2000, Australia
12 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are & have been retuning clientelle

Grant from Hobart, Australia
12 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very enjoyable brief stay.

Peter from Beechworth, Australia
12 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Exceptional customer service. Great location.

Ethan from Wollongong, Australia
11 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was fantastic!!

Takako from Tokyo, Japan
11 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good. fitted the bill for my needs

Katrina from Melbourne, Australia
11 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

it was clean, neat, tidy and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was yummy and plenty to eat. I would definitely return to this hotel for my next city stay.

BEN from Melbourne, Australia
11 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

friendly staff & a good location. suits us well

Alan from Hobart, Australia
10 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, helpful staff. Love the eco friendly ethos! Lounge area really lovely.

Jennifer from Perth, Australia
10 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Beatriz from Melbourne, Australia
10 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly helpful cheerful polite staff at reception and in restaurant. hotel and bedroom very clean. Bed very comfortable. Room was quiet. Enjoyed our stay at hotel.

Samuel from Cardiff, United Kingdom
10 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a lovely stay at the Alto. Very comfortably, friendly and convenient. Thank you for the upgraded room. I will definitely be returning.

Katy from Sydney, Australia
08 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Met all our needs Good location

Nellie from Kallaroo, Australia
04 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, we enjoyed the whole experience!

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
03 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The reception staff were amazing, very helpful, especially Andrew. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very good. Our room 309 was very quiet as requested. We loved our stay and would definately recommend this hotel to our families from the country.

Fiona from Melbourne, Australia
03 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed my stay with friends. Clean and nice furniture and toilet.

Iunice from Melbourne, Australia
02 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent! Thank you.

Julia from Darwin, Australia
02 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our third stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke, previous stays being for 2 adults and 2 children, and we would be very happy to stay again and recommend Alto to our friends and family. We have always felt very welcome and enjoyed the convenience of an area which is so close to transport, restaurants, shops and other Melbourne attractions. The room was well appointed and very neat and clean. One bed overlay did have some leftover brown makeup (probably bronzer or tanning lotion), the window blind was crooked and probably needs a little adjusting. But these things are very minor in my overall view. I left a note regarding a light globe needing replacing and was very happy to return later that afternoon to find this had been attended to. I do not travel a lot, but would certainly name Alto Hotel On Bourke as one of the best home away from home places I have stayed in. Also three of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. Great beds! Like sleeping on a cloud.

Tracie from Hobart, Australia
02 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff

Tuomas from Oulu, Finland
01 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean and well appointed loft apartment served by lift to the 4th floor. However, there had been no mention in the description at the time of booking that the 2nd bedroom (of the 2 bedroom deluxe loft apartment) had no window. Free parking was conveniently located in a secured compound about 200m away. Centrally located on Bourke Street with 5 minutes stopping/parking place immediately outside hotel for arrival and departure. Friendly and helpful staff; free coffee at reception; an enjoyable stay and would recommend.

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
01 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the hotel many times and it is always great to return.

Ray from Perth, Australia
01 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, comfortable, stylish, friendly and safe - thank you!

Katharine from Sydney, Australia
28 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff good location. Overall a positive experience. Have recommended hotel to friend and family in Sydney. Small frustration getting wifi on iPhones. Suggest that you sort that wrinkle out.

Richard from Belfast, Ireland
27 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I made an excellent choice just based on other internet reviews. The room was spotlessly clean. The kitchenette was a pleasant surprise. Very convenient to the train/bus station and all the shops and grocery stores. I picked your smallest room, but the room and bathroom were plenty big enough for me. I wish I had made a point of getting the name of the young man who was so helpful to me getting me hooked up to the internet on my lap top. I think his name began with an "A". Andy? Andrew? A young Asian man. Very knowledge and helpful.

Barbara from Schenectady, United States
27 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great value hotel...nice and friendly, great staff and ideal location. Will definitely stay again when in Melboune

Paul from Sydney, Australia
25 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

John from Brisbane, Australia
24 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We've stayed in a few hotels the last few weeks- this was without doubt the friendliest, most pleasant check in experience we have had. The staff were kind, friendly, nothing was too much trouble and we were even given a complimentary upgrade. Superb location - good value for money- clean- the most comfortable bed- what more could you want!

Charlotte from London, United Kingdom
23 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Sean from Perth, Australia
22 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were dedicatef to the guests comfort and needs.

Charles from Ottawa, Canada
22 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, quiet and friendly. This was my 4th stay in approx 18 months

Susan from Perth, Australia
22 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and efficient service

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
21 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very enjoyable stay. I would recommend the Alto Hotel to my friends and family if they were travelling to Melbourne. The relaxation room was an added bonus. I would love to stay again.

Alistair from Feilding, New Zealand
21 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful as always. Staff are very friendly and I always feel safe and secure when I am staying there. It also feels like a second home, as the staff are so welcoming.

Guest From from Launceston, Australia
21 November 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT