Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a lovely stay at the Alto. Very comfortably, friendly and convenient. Thank you for the upgraded room. I will definitely be returning.

Katy from Sydney, Australia
08 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Met all our needs Good location

Nellie from Kallaroo, Australia
04 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, we enjoyed the whole experience!

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
03 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The reception staff were amazing, very helpful, especially Andrew. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very good. Our room 309 was very quiet as requested. We loved our stay and would definately recommend this hotel to our families from the country.

Fiona from Melbourne, Australia
03 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed my stay with friends. Clean and nice furniture and toilet.

Iunice from Melbourne, Australia
02 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent! Thank you.

Julia from Darwin, Australia
02 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our third stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke, previous stays being for 2 adults and 2 children, and we would be very happy to stay again and recommend Alto to our friends and family. We have always felt very welcome and enjoyed the convenience of an area which is so close to transport, restaurants, shops and other Melbourne attractions. The room was well appointed and very neat and clean. One bed overlay did have some leftover brown makeup (probably bronzer or tanning lotion), the window blind was crooked and probably needs a little adjusting. But these things are very minor in my overall view. I left a note regarding a light globe needing replacing and was very happy to return later that afternoon to find this had been attended to. I do not travel a lot, but would certainly name Alto Hotel On Bourke as one of the best home away from home places I have stayed in. Also three of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. Great beds! Like sleeping on a cloud.

Tracie from Hobart, Australia
02 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff

Tuomas from Oulu, Finland
01 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean and well appointed loft apartment served by lift to the 4th floor. However, there had been no mention in the description at the time of booking that the 2nd bedroom (of the 2 bedroom deluxe loft apartment) had no window. Free parking was conveniently located in a secured compound about 200m away. Centrally located on Bourke Street with 5 minutes stopping/parking place immediately outside hotel for arrival and departure. Friendly and helpful staff; free coffee at reception; an enjoyable stay and would recommend.

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
01 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the hotel many times and it is always great to return.

Ray from Perth, Australia
01 December 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, comfortable, stylish, friendly and safe - thank you!

Katharine from Sydney, Australia
28 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff good location. Overall a positive experience. Have recommended hotel to friend and family in Sydney. Small frustration getting wifi on iPhones. Suggest that you sort that wrinkle out.

Richard from Belfast, Ireland
27 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I made an excellent choice just based on other internet reviews. The room was spotlessly clean. The kitchenette was a pleasant surprise. Very convenient to the train/bus station and all the shops and grocery stores. I picked your smallest room, but the room and bathroom were plenty big enough for me. I wish I had made a point of getting the name of the young man who was so helpful to me getting me hooked up to the internet on my lap top. I think his name began with an "A". Andy? Andrew? A young Asian man. Very knowledge and helpful.

Barbara from Schenectady, United States
27 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great value hotel...nice and friendly, great staff and ideal location. Will definitely stay again when in Melboune

Paul from Sydney, Australia
25 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

John from Brisbane, Australia
24 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We've stayed in a few hotels the last few weeks- this was without doubt the friendliest, most pleasant check in experience we have had. The staff were kind, friendly, nothing was too much trouble and we were even given a complimentary upgrade. Superb location - good value for money- clean- the most comfortable bed- what more could you want!

Charlotte from London, United Kingdom
23 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Sean from Perth, Australia
22 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were dedicatef to the guests comfort and needs.

Charles from Ottawa, Canada
22 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, quiet and friendly. This was my 4th stay in approx 18 months

Susan from Perth, Australia
22 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and efficient service

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
21 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very enjoyable stay. I would recommend the Alto Hotel to my friends and family if they were travelling to Melbourne. The relaxation room was an added bonus. I would love to stay again.

Alistair from Feilding, New Zealand
21 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful as always. Staff are very friendly and I always feel safe and secure when I am staying there. It also feels like a second home, as the staff are so welcoming.

Guest From from Launceston, Australia
21 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really good

Rachel from South Hobart, Australia
20 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I would really like to say how wonderful all the staff are, but especially Gemma .

Caroline from Perth, Australia
18 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only stayed a short time. I appreciated that my flight was delayed leaving Melb. the staff allowed me to stay and watch telly and to use the massage room. Much appreciated as this rejunvenated me and was able to go out and continue to shop!

Deborah from Adelaide, Australia
18 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, great bed and pillow

Jennifer from Brisbane, Australia
18 November 2013

Glad you liked the beds. We have have had so many comments like yours that we have arrange with our bed supplier to be able to take order for the same designed bed with or without the deep pillow top mattress in any size you like. Delivery available to anywhere in Australia.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant

Ed from Auckland, New Zealand
18 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable and the perfect location for my needs this visit.

Belinda from Brisbane, Australia
16 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic as per usual. Everyone at the Alto is always helpful and as always the room was wonderful. We have stayed here several times.

Ebony from Wodonga, Australia
12 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved upgrade to 3 bedroom apartment. Loved location. Loved Melbourne. All good.

Chris from Streaky Bay, Australia
11 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A good locatiion for my visit. Staff friendly and the free wifi much appreciated.

Melinda from Sydney, Australia
11 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good location, clean, enjoyed the breakfasts, good service

Sally from Perth, Australia
10 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The experience was excellent. We'd never stayed at that end of town before and would again now that we stayed at Alto. The only slight negative (and it wasn't) was that one of the waitresses in the hotel restaurant was not very friendly. Other than that, it was simply great!

Slavica from Melbourne, Australia
08 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a great experience, except I stayed there to have a break from being woken up overnight by my 2 1/2 year old (who was at home with his dad), but was then rudely woken up by a loud bang outside my bedroom in the early hours of the morning, followed by lots of loud footsteps. It may have been a guest but it seems more likely to have been one of your staff members at that time of morning on a Sunday.

Martina from Melbourne, Australia
05 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant experience from end to end. Great to see a property so well maintained and with such attention to detail. Staff were great. Terrific value.

Michael from Camden, Australia
04 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable for all the family members, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is great, so central and we shall tell our friends all about Alto.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
02 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. My booking was made for me (by a company), and on arrival we realised they had not updated my booking to include my two children. The hotel staff were very accommodating, and sorted it out no fuss. What could have been very stressful was not. They were very professional and helpful. Room was perfect, and breakfast lovely. Thank you!

Sonia from Sydney, Australia
02 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ideal location. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely rebooking for our next visit.

Karen from Hobart, Australia
02 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ticks all the boxes. Found the hotel on trip advisor two or so years ago and have stayed with you five or six times. Only problem I have had is that often have an issue with internet access on an IPAD and this was a big issue this time, but when I mentioned it there was already a workmen looking at it and it was fixed after that. It's still an issue that it logs you out after each use even if you hit the "remember password' button and its a pain to keep having to re-enter the password etc but that's a small issue. Some of the rooms have very little natural light which would be difficult for longer stays.

Guest From from Singapore, Singapore
01 November 2013

We are currently upgrading WiFi network which will resolved log out and back on issues.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A place to look forward to returning after a day walking around a cold and wet Melbourne and have a hot chocolate as soon as you get inside.

Paul from Gold Coast, Australia
31 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff wonderful, location perfect, room very nice for weekend away

John from Sydney, Australia
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel gave us exactly what we needed for a 6 day stay in Melbourne

Guest From from Auckland, New Zealand
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, really wonderful front desk team, as well as other staff I bumped into. Nice stay and the extra $40 for the front room is worth it.

Greg from Brisbane, Australia
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My second stay - and as enjoyable as the first time.

Mark from Wellington, New Zealand
28 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I initially booked the spa apartment and then changed it to a one bedroom apartment after being advised that the spa apartment was not in line with my request to be at the back of the hotel and away from the lift. Thank you to the staff member who alerted me via email when I booked. The change to another room made my stay very pleasant. The location is a bit out of the way for some things but the bonus was being so close to the station with my luggage and just being able to walk over when I felt like it to catch the bus back to the airport rather than waiting for a shuttle.

Claire from Sydney, Australia
28 October 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT