Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Staff at the desk and the restaurant were great.

Grant from Edmonton, Canada
26 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Quiet, handy to everything, very comfortable.

Brian from New Plymouth, New Zealand
25 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only a short stay, , Easy access for where we needed to go on Sunday. Breakfast menu was excellent and good value for money. Comfy beds.

Gregory from Terranora Nsw, Australia
24 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke.All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.It was within walking distance of all the transport and also the shopping areas.I would definitely recommend it to my friends. If you want me to I will make 2 small complaints,although they did not spoli my stay. I found the toilet paper in the room too rough(maybe I have a sensitive b**) and also coming from a hot country I did not need air conditioning in my room I needed a heater as i was cold at night .The breakfasts were ample and tasty.I tried many different dishes on the menu and they were all good. Maybe the dining area was too small as I found I needed to get there early at weekends or I had to go back an hour later as it got crowded,but again it just meant I had to change my plans.I'm afraid I did not take note of the names of the reception staff,but I found them all very helpful even. if I was a nuisance at times.Carry on the good work.

MICHAEL from Georgetown, Malaysia
23 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All good, will be back for sure....

Rob from Sydney, Australia
20 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very satisfying stay. Very comfortable hotel in a fabulous location, with lots of thoughtful touches. Tasteful but not over the top or ostentatious.

Maya from Sydney, Australia
18 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, lovely room and loved the fire and library.

Kerry from Melbourne, Australia
18 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, clean, friendly staff, great breakfast and well located. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Suzie from Melbourne, Australia
18 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable though the petite queen was a bit too small for the 2 of us and all our film equipment.

Claire from Sydney, Australia
17 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always love staying there. Great staff; great food; great location; lovely little lounge area. (Only thing missing is a bath!)

Katie from Bondi, Australia
16 September 2013

Our 1 Bedroom Spa Apartments have a large bath that also has spa jets. All other rooms have a walk-in shower.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

David from Canberra, Australia
16 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Satisfied with choice and will stay again

David from Perth, Australia
15 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Front desk extremely friendly and obliging (particularly Grant? the dude with shaved head) and the young girl with long hair waiting in the dining room was lovely and friendly. Service extremely good, room sizes were great and the dispensers in the bathroom and shower stalls were fabulous! Lovely soft towels and comfortable beds. Breakfast was very very good, more so than the evening meals. Overall a very good experience and will recommend.

Belinda from Auckland, New Zealand
15 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Amazing & brilliant hotel. I travel a fair amount for work & have stayed in many different hotels. I am SO glad I have discovered the Alto - this will definitely remain accommodation of choice & I have already started spreading the word to look no further than the Alto when in Melbourne - thank you!

Verity from Adelaide, Australia
13 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great spot ,same street Myer & DJ's and the other end City main train station you can walk to hotel in 5mins . get the sky bus from the airport to the city $17 single or $24 return great value . Breakfast was wonderful value bagels , salmon , eggs Benedict not to be missed pre book . Staff friendly and really helpful . we look forward to our next visit 5* nice small hotel ,very clean, great spot ,

Sharon from Qld, Australia
11 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My partner and I's experience was great. The staff were very helpful when it came to directions and suggestions of places to go and things to see. The room was exactly what we were expecting and very functional overall, and the room had FOXTEL! That was a very pleasant surprise and included the movie channels. This was my very first stay at the Alto and I will definitely stay there again. And the breakfast was AMAZING!

Brook from Adelaide, Australia
11 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed our stay, the room was just lovely. It was great that a recycling bin was provided, that the coffee provided was Fairtrade, and that you offered the GreenFleet option when booking. I appreciate things like this when staying in hotels.

David from Melbourne, Australia
10 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great! We had a wonderful weekend. The whole hotel was clean and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will stay again!

Rosie from Brisbane, Australia
09 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have never been disappointed with the Service and friendly staff. Hubby loves his freshly cooked breakfast. Very convenient for airport transfer,footy (even when at Geelong ) and getting around. Love that the tram is at the door.

Gail from 6112, Australia
08 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect for my requirements, close to everything and service was excellent. Thankyou for the upgrade, I will probably prefer the king room next time now that I have stayed in both. Love the recycling, the soft towels, great pillows and a real hair dryer!

Ursula from Port Macquarie, Australia
08 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfactory, would stay again.

KEITH from Newcastle, Australia
06 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our second stay within 2 weeks and the standard of service was exactly the same. Highly recommend the Alto. Great location close to Southern Cross Station. Tram outside door. CBD within walking distance. Very comfortable and well equipped rooms.

David from Christchurch, New Zealand
06 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was a great place to stay, perfect for our group of friends, sharing the 3 bed apartment which was well equipped.

Janine from Buderim, Australia
04 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our 2nd stay in a month, no hesitation booking again. Convenient for arrival by train (the first time) and airport bus (2nd time) staff are lovely, breakfast great. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open on Sunday night but we understand why. Will book with you again if coming to Melbourne and recommend to others. Read the history this time and love the lead light and floor mosaic.

Gerald from Sydney, Australia
03 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great Location

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
03 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good value for money stay in a quiet location within walking distance from the city centre.

Tracy from Bega, Australia
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good.

Dan from Hobart, Australia
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff at the front desk, breakfast room and even the maids. Kitchenette was very useful.

Ira from Brooklyn, New York, United States
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay at the hotel. Friendly and informative staff, clean rooms that were well equipped. Great location and love the gym that we can have access to. Next time, I will try to borrow the smart car!

Otilie from Brisbane, Australia
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A highly enjoyable experience. This was the 2nd time I have stayed and will again in the future.

Liam from Melbourne, Australia
30 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed our stay.

Karl from Manila, Philippines
30 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, good location with trams, trains, & easy walk into CBD. Enjoyed the choices at breakfast. The room was very clean & comfortable.

Marie from Perth, Australia
29 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

couldnt have asked for anything more...except a pool!!

Stacey from Burnie, Australia
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We certainly will book with this hotel in future stays in Melbourne. Location perfect to the RailwAy Station and extremely quiet for sleeping. The restaurant has excellent food, service good and limited people makes it just perfect.

Eric from Melbourne, Australia
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good experience.

Donald from Christchurch, New Zealand
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A REALLY GREAT PLACE TO STAY, STAFF SO VERY HELPFUL WITH DIRECTIONS ETC NOTHING TOO MUCH TROUBLE. FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS EXCELLENT. THE NEWLY INSTALLED FOX A GREAT HIT WITH THE FAMILY.

CHRISTINE from Auckland, New Zealand
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant and efficient staff, always willing to assist in anyway they could. The breakfast was an absolute standout - fantastic varied menu, beautifully prepared and always served with a smile. Thank you for allowing us to watch the Bledisloe Cup in the lounge area, this was greatly appreciated by Rugby lovers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

David from Nelson Bay, Australia
27 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Warm, professional staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Our room had great amenities, and housekeeping excellent. We will definitely stay at the Alto when we next travel to Melbourne.

Wayne from Otorohanga, New Zealand
27 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff are excellent very polite and extra helpful had the myki been advertised more for sale at Alto or had we known we needed it to needed it to travel we would of made the purchase at the desk and saved 15 mins at the station, the room was clean and offered a variety of tea coffee and milk we were also greeted with a box of chocolates, the bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave it :) it would of been nice to have the option of room service breakfast when i made the booking online but breakfast was an excellent variety and the staff were happy to change the topping to one i prefer which was very nice, Alto is easy to find and in the perfect spot to get anywhere in the city I would love to come back and spend a bit more time enjoying the room and the massage room and gym the facility's offered are more than exceptional and I and my partner look forward to our return thank you for making a great day even better

Chantell from Melbourne, Australia
26 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a good experience from the minute we walk in the door. We only visit once or twice a year, but are made to feel that our business is valued

Lyndell from Hobart, Australia
26 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

To Gary & the team, We stay here regularly because it is central for business and is like a 2nd home. Great to see the restaurant reopened in the evenings - but missed out 2 nights in a row on the strogannof. Always a fantastic breakfast. Thanks for going the extra mile. Mike

Mike from Auckland, New Zealand
26 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

hotel was excellent. A lot of thought had gone into the room and service provided. I had everything I needed but nothing I did not need. Everything worked and was easy to use. the staff were helpful. I was sorry that I did not have time for breakfast.

Rhana from Sydney, Australia
25 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice stay in a very handy location. Lots of great finishing touches and good thought hasbeen put into the details which make the stay so memorable. We would definitely consider staying again. Thank you.

Christina from Perth, Australia
25 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Consistently good. I come down monthly for business and never disappointed. The rooms nearer Bourke Street can be noisy even with the double glazing, but the rooms at the rear are lovely.

John from Sydney, Australia
24 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Your staff were the most efficient, polite and helpful of any staff that we have encountered in decades of travel, at home and abroad. They are to be congratulated. Thank you for the free upgrade.

Michael from Hobart, Australia
24 August 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT