Alto Hotel On Bourke

2724 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ticks all the boxes. Found the hotel on trip advisor two or so years ago and have stayed with you five or six times. Only problem I have had is that often have an issue with internet access on an IPAD and this was a big issue this time, but when I mentioned it there was already a workmen looking at it and it was fixed after that. It's still an issue that it logs you out after each use even if you hit the "remember password' button and its a pain to keep having to re-enter the password etc but that's a small issue. Some of the rooms have very little natural light which would be difficult for longer stays.

Guest From from Singapore, Singapore
01 November 2013

We are currently upgrading WiFi network which will resolved log out and back on issues.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A place to look forward to returning after a day walking around a cold and wet Melbourne and have a hot chocolate as soon as you get inside.

Paul from Gold Coast, Australia
31 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff wonderful, location perfect, room very nice for weekend away

John from Sydney, Australia
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel gave us exactly what we needed for a 6 day stay in Melbourne

Guest From from Auckland, New Zealand
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, really wonderful front desk team, as well as other staff I bumped into. Nice stay and the extra $40 for the front room is worth it.

Greg from Brisbane, Australia
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My second stay - and as enjoyable as the first time.

Mark from Wellington, New Zealand
28 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I initially booked the spa apartment and then changed it to a one bedroom apartment after being advised that the spa apartment was not in line with my request to be at the back of the hotel and away from the lift. Thank you to the staff member who alerted me via email when I booked. The change to another room made my stay very pleasant. The location is a bit out of the way for some things but the bonus was being so close to the station with my luggage and just being able to walk over when I felt like it to catch the bus back to the airport rather than waiting for a shuttle.

Claire from Sydney, Australia
28 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, so central and easy to reach. Good kitchen, comfortable beds.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne. The service was excellent and staff were very professional and friendly. It really was a pleasure to stay at the Alto.

Samantha from Brisbane, Australia
26 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay

Margaret from Brisbane, Australia
23 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location

Lyn from Adelaide, Australia
23 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Comfy beds! Thanks for the bike storage as well!

Sarah from Orange, Australia
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great - fitted our needs well

Rhys from Auckland, New Zealand
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant thankyou. Lovely linen and spotless

Philippa from Brisbane, Australia
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location (next to the main station and between the City and the Docklands), very friendly and helpful staff, nice / big / clean rooms.

Monika from Zurich, Switzerland
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Happy with everything - except the radio. I do like to listen to the radio and inevitably it is very difficult to do in hotel accommodation. I really liked the book swap, the apples, honey on the roof etc.

Marcelle from Brisbane, Australia
21 October 2013

In additional to the bedside iPod /iPhone players and charger that also plays FM radio has an alarm function our new LED HD televisions have some radio channels as well with excellent reception.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay

Hayley from Morrinsville, New Zealand
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel. Ticks all the boxes.

David from Perth, Australia
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Problem with air conditioning received personal attention from the manager which pleased us very much.Not completely fixed but not for want of trying.Otherwise enjoyed our stay immensely (as always).

Gerard from Auckland, New Zealand
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love the Alto. Small enough to be cosy and friendly but still very professional. We would always choose to stay at the Alto when visiting Melbourne. We honeymooned with you in 2008 and were excited to return this year. A bonus this year was the lovely breakfast. Well done on all your environmentally touches too. See you next time we head for lovely Melbourne.

Susan from Dunedin, New Zealand
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very well run and welcoming hotel. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms. The rooms have everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. The room with a kitchenette is ideal. There is a good choice for breakfast which is very efficiently served.

Guest From from Doncaster, United Kingdom
18 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great friendly staff - it was a pleasure staying at Alto On Bourke

Craig from Perth, Australia
16 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable, good location. Suited us perfectly.

Elizabeth from Hobart, Australia
16 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A comfortable hotel where you get what you pay for. The Bed & Brekkie deal was great & brekkie was awesome! Best of all, a really comfy bed.

Megan from Melbourne, Australia
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love Alto and have been guests twice now. We love the eco emphasis in the running of the hotel, its location and ambiance. The staff are friendly and helpful too. This last stay getting internet access was frustrating at times. Other than that, very enjoyable.

Jayne from Christchurch, New Zealand
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Service was fabulous and to be commended. Loved the eco philosophy. The only very minor issue we had was rectified promptly and more than compensated for. Husband was a little bothered by the street noise on Saturday night but that is locational, and hardly something you can control. You will definitely be the first on my list when we next visit Melbourne.

Pippin from Perth, Australia
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

fantastic...

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a good find. Very friendly staff, good room - v small but I knew that when I booked it. Breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced.

Best from Melbourne, Australia
14 October 2013

Our staff enjoy getting feedback about their service, thank you. Breakfast is an important meal and we realise that guests expect not to be overcharged for breakfast. As you say the petite rooms are just that compact but with all the amenities you need.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very welcoming staff THANKYOU! It's lovely to have my children treated with warmth & shown around. Well done Alto staff. Love the library & your beds & pillows are very comforting after a long day exploring Melbourne. We'll be back for sure :-)

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
12 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at Alto a few times over the past few years and it always feels like home. I do prefer the 2 bedroom apartments and 1 bed apartment from the studio, but it suited us fine without the kids. I was a bit disappointed with the wines as 3 out of the 4 reds I tasted were ordinary and I don't get to drink much red in the heat up north! Otherwise, we will be back.

DENISE from Broome, Australia
12 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We all enjoyed our stay at The Alto on Bourke. All the staff were so friendly and helpful,from the front desk, restaurant and housekeeping. As out of state visitors ,the location was perfect as it a short stroll from the Skybus, train station and tram stops . The quality of the room was exceptional ,the beds were comfortable , bathrooms very modern and the kitchen was lovely. We all enjoyed the breakfasts and they were also good value. The touches such as apples in the foyer , the reading nook and relaxation room made this stay memorable. I have already recommended the Alto to my family and work colleagues. Many thanks , you have a well run hotel.

Deanne from From Valentine,nsw 2280, Australia
11 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic, we had a very pleasant stay and the staff and pamphlets were all very handy. Very clean and it was nice to stay in a hotel where you felt the room was actually fully equipped and functioning. Only wish was that room service was available on weekends, but that was only because the weather turned bad! Overall, a fantastic hotel!

James from Sydney, Australia
09 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very homely, warm and comfortable. We felt at home and loved the coffee, dining breakfast area. The location is excellent and quiet too, the beds were very comfortable.

Cathy from Lochiel, Australia
09 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful experience at the Alto and will stay there again.

Lisa from Brisbane, Australia
09 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Brilliant stay, fantastic staff, great service, real value for money.

Geoff from Melbourne, Australia
08 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice hotel, convenient to bus station and hence airport. Had everything you could want.

Robyn from Perth, Australia
08 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the fact it is an eco friendly hotel!!

Greg from Melbourne, Australia
07 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are always looked after well when we go to Melbourne by the Alto staff. Excellent service and a great hotel

Cliff from Perth, Australia
07 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Staff very friendly, helpful. Cooked breakfast great with good selection.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
06 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everyone extremely helpful and friendly. Room service great. Rooms cleaned at convenient times - able to sleep in with no interruptions, rooms serviced whilst out. Rooms cleaned to a high standard. Perfect location close to everything in the cbd with tram stop at the front.

Eliccia from Mildura, Australia
05 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

loved it, central, would come back.

Kena from Whakatane, New Zealand
04 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed the stay.

Michael from Perth, Australia
02 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have made this our Melbourne home for the last few years....meets all our needs and staff are Great......thanks everyone.......always enjoyed our stay and have become hooked on Bergerac just round corner.

Gail from 6112, Australia
02 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoy the Alto as it is not to big and the saff are very helpful

Terry from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very comfortable hotel, reasonably well located, very clean and comfortable.

Gordon from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61     NEXT