Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at Alto a few times over the past few years and it always feels like home. I do prefer the 2 bedroom apartments and 1 bed apartment from the studio, but it suited us fine without the kids. I was a bit disappointed with the wines as 3 out of the 4 reds I tasted were ordinary and I don't get to drink much red in the heat up north! Otherwise, we will be back.

DENISE from Broome, Australia
12 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We all enjoyed our stay at The Alto on Bourke. All the staff were so friendly and helpful,from the front desk, restaurant and housekeeping. As out of state visitors ,the location was perfect as it a short stroll from the Skybus, train station and tram stops . The quality of the room was exceptional ,the beds were comfortable , bathrooms very modern and the kitchen was lovely. We all enjoyed the breakfasts and they were also good value. The touches such as apples in the foyer , the reading nook and relaxation room made this stay memorable. I have already recommended the Alto to my family and work colleagues. Many thanks , you have a well run hotel.

Deanne from From Valentine,nsw 2280, Australia
11 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic, we had a very pleasant stay and the staff and pamphlets were all very handy. Very clean and it was nice to stay in a hotel where you felt the room was actually fully equipped and functioning. Only wish was that room service was available on weekends, but that was only because the weather turned bad! Overall, a fantastic hotel!

James from Sydney, Australia
09 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very homely, warm and comfortable. We felt at home and loved the coffee, dining breakfast area. The location is excellent and quiet too, the beds were very comfortable.

Cathy from Lochiel, Australia
09 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful experience at the Alto and will stay there again.

Lisa from Brisbane, Australia
09 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Brilliant stay, fantastic staff, great service, real value for money.

Geoff from Melbourne, Australia
08 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice hotel, convenient to bus station and hence airport. Had everything you could want.

Robyn from Perth, Australia
08 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the fact it is an eco friendly hotel!!

Greg from Melbourne, Australia
07 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are always looked after well when we go to Melbourne by the Alto staff. Excellent service and a great hotel

Cliff from Perth, Australia
07 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Staff very friendly, helpful. Cooked breakfast great with good selection.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
06 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everyone extremely helpful and friendly. Room service great. Rooms cleaned at convenient times - able to sleep in with no interruptions, rooms serviced whilst out. Rooms cleaned to a high standard. Perfect location close to everything in the cbd with tram stop at the front.

Eliccia from Mildura, Australia
05 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

loved it, central, would come back.

Kena from Whakatane, New Zealand
04 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed the stay.

Michael from Perth, Australia
02 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have made this our Melbourne home for the last few years....meets all our needs and staff are Great......thanks everyone.......always enjoyed our stay and have become hooked on Bergerac just round corner.

Gail from 6112, Australia
02 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoy the Alto as it is not to big and the saff are very helpful

Terry from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very comfortable hotel, reasonably well located, very clean and comfortable.

Gordon from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As ever a lovely experience.

Steven from Benalla, Australia
01 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Love this hotel. Great value, great service . Lovely food at breakfast and especially the dinner. Special mention to the waitresses at breakfast and dinner. Very friendly !

Sharon from Rooty Hill, Australia
01 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent.This was our fourth trip to Mebourne. The proximity to Southern Cross station was the initial attraction. I found the staff genuine. Look forward to returning

Judith from Perth, Australia
30 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A wonderful stay. We look forward to returning in the near future. Will certainly recommend hotel to friends and family. So convenient to station, good restaurants and the shopping center. Nothing too much trouble for staff.

GILLIAN from Perth, Australia
29 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Alto. The room was very comfortable, the towels luxurious and the breakfast as much as one could expect. All in all a great stay.

Ellen from Paraparaumu Beach, New Zealand
28 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second stay at the Alto. We enjoyed it very much, I liked the fact that a full breakfast was provided and that we could also have dinner at the hotel. Amy, one of the servers in the dining room was exceptionally pleasant.Thanks to all of the staff for the warm welcome and for their attention and help.

Annamarie from Kingston, Wa, United States
27 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a good time. We are budget people always looking for accommodation that "punches above it's weight". Found the outlook a little disappointing ie looking out onto rooftop air conditioners and having to keep the blinds down as we felt everyone else was looking in at us. Best thing? - the hollandaise sauce!

Brt from Melbourne, Australia
26 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Staff at the desk and the restaurant were great.

Grant from Edmonton, Canada
26 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Quiet, handy to everything, very comfortable.

Brian from New Plymouth, New Zealand
25 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only a short stay, , Easy access for where we needed to go on Sunday. Breakfast menu was excellent and good value for money. Comfy beds.

Gregory from Terranora Nsw, Australia
24 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke.All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.It was within walking distance of all the transport and also the shopping areas.I would definitely recommend it to my friends. If you want me to I will make 2 small complaints,although they did not spoli my stay. I found the toilet paper in the room too rough(maybe I have a sensitive b**) and also coming from a hot country I did not need air conditioning in my room I needed a heater as i was cold at night .The breakfasts were ample and tasty.I tried many different dishes on the menu and they were all good. Maybe the dining area was too small as I found I needed to get there early at weekends or I had to go back an hour later as it got crowded,but again it just meant I had to change my plans.I'm afraid I did not take note of the names of the reception staff,but I found them all very helpful even. if I was a nuisance at times.Carry on the good work.

MICHAEL from Georgetown, Malaysia
23 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All good, will be back for sure....

Rob from Sydney, Australia
20 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very satisfying stay. Very comfortable hotel in a fabulous location, with lots of thoughtful touches. Tasteful but not over the top or ostentatious.

Maya from Sydney, Australia
18 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, lovely room and loved the fire and library.

Kerry from Melbourne, Australia
18 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, clean, friendly staff, great breakfast and well located. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Suzie from Melbourne, Australia
18 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable though the petite queen was a bit too small for the 2 of us and all our film equipment.

Claire from Sydney, Australia
17 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always love staying there. Great staff; great food; great location; lovely little lounge area. (Only thing missing is a bath!)

Katie from Bondi, Australia
16 September 2013

Our 1 Bedroom Spa Apartments have a large bath that also has spa jets. All other rooms have a walk-in shower.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

David from Canberra, Australia
16 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Satisfied with choice and will stay again

David from Perth, Australia
15 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Front desk extremely friendly and obliging (particularly Grant? the dude with shaved head) and the young girl with long hair waiting in the dining room was lovely and friendly. Service extremely good, room sizes were great and the dispensers in the bathroom and shower stalls were fabulous! Lovely soft towels and comfortable beds. Breakfast was very very good, more so than the evening meals. Overall a very good experience and will recommend.

Belinda from Auckland, New Zealand
15 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Amazing & brilliant hotel. I travel a fair amount for work & have stayed in many different hotels. I am SO glad I have discovered the Alto - this will definitely remain accommodation of choice & I have already started spreading the word to look no further than the Alto when in Melbourne - thank you!

Verity from Adelaide, Australia
13 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great spot ,same street Myer & DJ's and the other end City main train station you can walk to hotel in 5mins . get the sky bus from the airport to the city $17 single or $24 return great value . Breakfast was wonderful value bagels , salmon , eggs Benedict not to be missed pre book . Staff friendly and really helpful . we look forward to our next visit 5* nice small hotel ,very clean, great spot ,

Sharon from Qld, Australia
11 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My partner and I's experience was great. The staff were very helpful when it came to directions and suggestions of places to go and things to see. The room was exactly what we were expecting and very functional overall, and the room had FOXTEL! That was a very pleasant surprise and included the movie channels. This was my very first stay at the Alto and I will definitely stay there again. And the breakfast was AMAZING!

Brook from Adelaide, Australia
11 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed our stay, the room was just lovely. It was great that a recycling bin was provided, that the coffee provided was Fairtrade, and that you offered the GreenFleet option when booking. I appreciate things like this when staying in hotels.

David from Melbourne, Australia
10 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great! We had a wonderful weekend. The whole hotel was clean and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will stay again!

Rosie from Brisbane, Australia
09 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have never been disappointed with the Service and friendly staff. Hubby loves his freshly cooked breakfast. Very convenient for airport transfer,footy (even when at Geelong ) and getting around. Love that the tram is at the door.

Gail from 6112, Australia
08 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect for my requirements, close to everything and service was excellent. Thankyou for the upgrade, I will probably prefer the king room next time now that I have stayed in both. Love the recycling, the soft towels, great pillows and a real hair dryer!

Ursula from Port Macquarie, Australia
08 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfactory, would stay again.

KEITH from Newcastle, Australia
06 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our second stay within 2 weeks and the standard of service was exactly the same. Highly recommend the Alto. Great location close to Southern Cross Station. Tram outside door. CBD within walking distance. Very comfortable and well equipped rooms.

David from Christchurch, New Zealand
06 September 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT