Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was a great place to stay, perfect for our group of friends, sharing the 3 bed apartment which was well equipped.

Janine from Buderim, Australia
04 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our 2nd stay in a month, no hesitation booking again. Convenient for arrival by train (the first time) and airport bus (2nd time) staff are lovely, breakfast great. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open on Sunday night but we understand why. Will book with you again if coming to Melbourne and recommend to others. Read the history this time and love the lead light and floor mosaic.

Gerald from Sydney, Australia
03 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great Location

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
03 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good value for money stay in a quiet location within walking distance from the city centre.

Tracy from Bega, Australia
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good.

Dan from Hobart, Australia
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff at the front desk, breakfast room and even the maids. Kitchenette was very useful.

Ira from Brooklyn, New York, United States
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay at the hotel. Friendly and informative staff, clean rooms that were well equipped. Great location and love the gym that we can have access to. Next time, I will try to borrow the smart car!

Otilie from Brisbane, Australia
02 September 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A highly enjoyable experience. This was the 2nd time I have stayed and will again in the future.

Liam from Melbourne, Australia
30 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed our stay.

Karl from Manila, Philippines
30 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, good location with trams, trains, & easy walk into CBD. Enjoyed the choices at breakfast. The room was very clean & comfortable.

Marie from Perth, Australia
29 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

couldnt have asked for anything more...except a pool!!

Stacey from Burnie, Australia
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We certainly will book with this hotel in future stays in Melbourne. Location perfect to the RailwAy Station and extremely quiet for sleeping. The restaurant has excellent food, service good and limited people makes it just perfect.

Eric from Melbourne, Australia
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good experience.

Donald from Christchurch, New Zealand
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A REALLY GREAT PLACE TO STAY, STAFF SO VERY HELPFUL WITH DIRECTIONS ETC NOTHING TOO MUCH TROUBLE. FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS EXCELLENT. THE NEWLY INSTALLED FOX A GREAT HIT WITH THE FAMILY.

CHRISTINE from Auckland, New Zealand
28 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant and efficient staff, always willing to assist in anyway they could. The breakfast was an absolute standout - fantastic varied menu, beautifully prepared and always served with a smile. Thank you for allowing us to watch the Bledisloe Cup in the lounge area, this was greatly appreciated by Rugby lovers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

David from Nelson Bay, Australia
27 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Warm, professional staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Our room had great amenities, and housekeeping excellent. We will definitely stay at the Alto when we next travel to Melbourne.

Wayne from Otorohanga, New Zealand
27 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff are excellent very polite and extra helpful had the myki been advertised more for sale at Alto or had we known we needed it to needed it to travel we would of made the purchase at the desk and saved 15 mins at the station, the room was clean and offered a variety of tea coffee and milk we were also greeted with a box of chocolates, the bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave it :) it would of been nice to have the option of room service breakfast when i made the booking online but breakfast was an excellent variety and the staff were happy to change the topping to one i prefer which was very nice, Alto is easy to find and in the perfect spot to get anywhere in the city I would love to come back and spend a bit more time enjoying the room and the massage room and gym the facility's offered are more than exceptional and I and my partner look forward to our return thank you for making a great day even better

Chantell from Melbourne, Australia
26 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a good experience from the minute we walk in the door. We only visit once or twice a year, but are made to feel that our business is valued

Lyndell from Hobart, Australia
26 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

To Gary & the team, We stay here regularly because it is central for business and is like a 2nd home. Great to see the restaurant reopened in the evenings - but missed out 2 nights in a row on the strogannof. Always a fantastic breakfast. Thanks for going the extra mile. Mike

Mike from Auckland, New Zealand
26 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

hotel was excellent. A lot of thought had gone into the room and service provided. I had everything I needed but nothing I did not need. Everything worked and was easy to use. the staff were helpful. I was sorry that I did not have time for breakfast.

Rhana from Sydney, Australia
25 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice stay in a very handy location. Lots of great finishing touches and good thought hasbeen put into the details which make the stay so memorable. We would definitely consider staying again. Thank you.

Christina from Perth, Australia
25 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Consistently good. I come down monthly for business and never disappointed. The rooms nearer Bourke Street can be noisy even with the double glazing, but the rooms at the rear are lovely.

John from Sydney, Australia
24 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Your staff were the most efficient, polite and helpful of any staff that we have encountered in decades of travel, at home and abroad. They are to be congratulated. Thank you for the free upgrade.

Michael from Hobart, Australia
24 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Although our stay was very short we were all very happy with the services and staff we met were most accomodating.

Pamela from Sydney, Australia
24 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had another enjoyable stay. The location of the hotel is ideal for what we were wanting to see and do. The dining room staff were most helpful especially in regards to my wife's gluten free diet. We will be back to stay again.

John from Brisbane, Australia
24 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had an absolutely wonderful experience at Alto on Bourke when I stayed on the 21 - 22 August, 2013. The staff were very friendly (especially Charlie) and made me feel at home. I was thrilled to receive an upgraded room and I could not speak more highly of the design of the room and lovely gestures such as containers of milk in the fridge, tea and biscuits. There was even an umbrella which was useful in the Melbourne weather. When I arrived back my television was being upgraded to the Foxtel planner which is such an innovation for hotels. Breakfast was wonderful and there was a charming nook area and a book exchange. It was wonderfully cosy and you could tell that the management team work very well together and are very proud of this hotel. The proximity to the station was excellent as it was also handy to my conference venue. I was travelling on my own and felt very safe and secure. The staff went out of their way to assist me throughout my stay. They are to be absolutely commended on their commitment, diligence and passion in ensuring guests have a very pleasant experience. I would not hesitate to recommend the Alto on Bourke to my university colleagues and other people travelling to Melbourne. Thank you so much to Charlie and the rest of the staff for making my stay so memorable in Melbourne. Warmest wishes, Margaret Baguley

Margaret from Melbourne, Australia
23 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location able to walk everywhere

Trevor from Melbourne, Australia
22 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall, it was good.

Debbie from Perh, Australia
21 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was very good thank u

Maggie from Creswick, Australia
21 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our stay was extremely enjoyable. Everything was outstanding-the friendly helpful staff, the comfort of the rooms, the welcoming lounge, the extra touches and the yummy breakfast choices. Thank you

Suzanne from Melbourne, Australia
20 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall the stay was good. The staff were very helpful and the room was exactly what we needed.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
20 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Stayed on friend's recommendation; met expectations, proximity to railway station major factor in our choice. Compromise between view and noise. Opening windows with additional sliding windows to regulate air flow were most welcome. Agree with '...green star program...' as seen in action with no disadvantage to guests. Complimentary coffee and fruit in lobby appreciated.

Anew from Kyneton, Australia
19 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good. Sink was very hard to use

Devashan from Sydney, Australia
19 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, clean and centrally located. Staff have a strong customer service ethic.

Vanio from Melbourne, Australia
19 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Steven from Melbourne, Australia
19 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Ashan from Sydney, Australia
18 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay as always

Ashan from Sydney, Australia
18 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Loved the breakfast / dinng room. The food was well prepared n tasty. The room did not have a view which was ok for a short stay. Good access from Spencer St Station. Our booking was slightly messed up n instead of staying 6 nights we only stayed 3 which actually turned out ok as now we are in the suburbs n closer to our friends. Also this place is more spacious and meets our needs better. However the location of Alto was great for accessing ACMI and Southbank. All in all it was a good place to stay - thanks!

Louise from Melbourne, Australia
18 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Relaxing and comfortable

ROCCO from Perth, Australia
16 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great experience would definitely book again

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
16 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience and was fortunate to be upgraded which made it even better!

Kelli from Melbourne, Australia
16 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent service from staff. Clean, well maintained hotel in a great location to CBD.

ALAN from Sydney, Australia
15 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent customer service, great location, very comfortable accommodation

Graeme from Perth, Australia
15 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, no complaints. Great staff.

Tracy from Adelaide, Australia
14 August 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always your service is excellant and greatly appreciated.

Leanne from Warrnamboool, Australia
14 August 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT