Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay - thanks

Alan from Cheltenham, United Kingdom
22 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, couldn't fault anything. Really enjoyed the breakfast!

Colin from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great. All of the staff were friendly and professional, from housekeeping to the breakfast personnel, to the extraordinary front desk/concierge personnel. Very helpful and all recommendations were right on!

Deborah from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

wonderful stay. The stairs were a big of a worry but not a problem in the end. Gourmet 2 go was just fantastic

Angela from Hobart, Australia
20 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Michael from Brisbane, Australia
20 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay, thank you! Will use again and recommend.

Rebecca from Christchurch, New Zealand
20 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Love the location and the breakfast accommodate me with being gluten free. Bathrooms well equipped with shampoo dispensers etc. Very quiet when we have stayed there. Our favourite hotel when we come to Melbourne

Marian from Cairns, Australia
19 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto numerous times over the past few years. We have always enjoyed the stay hence we keep coming back. Again as with all previous stays we again enjoyed our brief stay and will definately keep coming back. The staff from reception to room staff are all friendly and helpful. Great place to stay. Being able to purchase myki tickets at the Alto was beneficial.

David from Adelaide, Australia
19 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent allrounds

Ross from Hobart, Australia
19 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was perfect - thanks for making our whirlwind trip so comfortable :-) We had to catch an early train after a late flight and the kitchen made us take-away egg toasties - very much appreciated! I particularly like the eco-friendly vibe and thoughtful touches in that regard, eg. soap and shampoo dispensers (save mini plastic bottles)

Katy from Brisbane, Australia
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent experience, would not stay anywhere else in Melbourne

Craig from Brisbane, Australia
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We see the Alto as a home away from home, each time we come and stay just reinforces our opinion. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. The rooms are always clean and little bits in the kitchen always well stocked and appreciated. The beds are a dream, we were worn out from the traveling and to just crawl in and out like a light.

Sally from Mildura, Australia
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location. Comfortable room . Look forward to staying again.

Doug from Hamilton, New Zealand
17 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We can recommend the hotel

Harald from Düsseldorf, Germany
17 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Extremely pleasant surprise to find room ready on arrival at 12:30 and also to receive a free upgrade to a penthouse suite. Also love your green features like the natural skylight.

Ken from Sydney, Australia
15 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto Hotel On Bourke was the perfect place to stay for a business traveler. It was quiet, clean, and convenient. The breakfast was very good. I loved the massage room and was thankful for the computer stations, since my laptop died. The front desk staff was courteous and helped me plan my day trips. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Lee from Melbourne, Australia
15 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Would describe 'Comfort' as 'excellent' if room did not overlook a lane which was noisy during the evenings. (The room was consequently gloomy, as well, but it would be churlish to criticize 'The Alto' for early 20th century planning.) Will happily stay again.

Brian from Brisbane, Australia
14 February 2013

While we do have windows that open for fresh air they will let in some city noises unless both sections of the double glazing are closed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Terrific!

Helen from Hobart, Australia
14 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely time was first tiem to Melbounr for 2 of us and found the accom great staff helpful and close to all areas of interest in Melbourne

Cheryl from Newcastle, Australia
14 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay. Do refer to my review at Tripadvisor.com by JusT76 after 48 hours once Tripadvisor folks publish my post. Thanks.

Justin from Singapore, Singapore
13 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good location - nice staff - very noisy guests who did not seem to care about others even when staff asked them to be quiet - felt like a cheap hotel on sat and sun night due to the ignorance and noise of other guests - needs to be looked at

Caryl from Carindale, Australia
12 February 2013

Chinese New Year was celebrated on 9 & 10 February 2013. At 9pm hotel staff spoke to the families in the other apartments that had gathered for some shared time.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable,clean and affordable

Ric from Sydney, Australia
11 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the moments we walk into Alto to the day we left we were Most Impressed by the friendly and most helpful staff, the high standard of fitting & furnishing, and with our lovely 3 bedroom apartment, Great location, Great Breakfast & Excellent Coffee machine we used during the day. We plan to stay here again. Just Loved it.

John from Brisbane, Australia
11 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Check in was friendly and pretty quick, the upgrade was very much appreciated. Rooms were nicely furnished and the supplied toiletries were very nice. I loved the framed artworks decorating the hotel. The room was pretty clean but attention to detail could have been a little better, eg the remote controls for the tv was extremely grotty. Overall though I was impressed with the location and hotel itself, and will definitely consider staying here when my husband and I next travel to Melbourne.

Lani from Launceston, Australia
10 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I expected the room to be small but I was surprised how comfortable it was.

Guest From from Canberra, Australia
10 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

outstanding, helpful staff. Comfortable, economical room. proximity to airport bus is good. internet connection good. not very proximal to free tourist transporation.

Klaus from Melbourne, Australia
10 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Anea from Emerald, Australia
09 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed at the Alto before and will again. Comfy beds and pillows, and I just love the massage chairs. Great location, central to everything I need :-)

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
06 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant place to visit and will come again when next in Melbourne. Have recommended the Alto to friends.

Allan from Queanbeyan, Australia
05 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Hello we love your hotel but were dissapointed our room was not ready when we arrived after our 2pm book in but the foyer was full with others that rooms not ready either . And parking at vibe carpark what a job getting out and dropping bipper off . But we do love it there the nice comfortable lounge area is a great area . Thanking You

Sue from Bendigo, Australia
05 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The stay as marked was excellent and very convenient to transports, facilities and servives. A great experience.

Hugh from Canberra, Australia
05 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bedding and towels were fluffy, crisp white linen. Television in one bedroom very good idea plus the lounge. Apartment better than a hotel room. Breakfast was good. Would stay again and recommend to friends

Yvonne from Melbourne, Australia
04 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always hate giving star ratings but I have stayed at the Alto before and returned this time because the staff are so friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the location is perfect for trams, trains and walking.

Lyn from Hobart, Australia
04 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bed was a little soft, and the petite queen room very small, but being a personal preference thing that's understandable. We had some trouble with the keycard door lock on checkin, but Russell was very patient, polite and helpful persevering and sorting it out for us.

Chris from Adelaide, Australia
04 February 2013

Our new Alto Indulgence beds feature a down pillow top. On request these can be removed however they will make the bed firmer.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great. I will definitely be back next time I am in Melbourne. The location was great so close to Southern Cross Railway station and meant I could walk anywhere around the city. The room was very comfortable and the shower was great. I read the email I got last week saying you could buy tram passes from the hotel which is also great and hire bicylces. It was was perfect for me as a solo traveller.

Marita from Thornleigh, Australia
04 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Impressed by comfortable beds. Staff at reception were exceptional on my arrival. Didnt stay long enough to use many facilities. Mitsubishi Airconditioners . ++++++ ! Excellent We moved from the Mercure Grand apartments to The Alto to be closer to Crown Casino. Pleasantly surprised. Thankyou.

Darren from Perth, Australia
01 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We just needed somewhere comfortable while in town for a family wedding. The suite exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room and the massage chairs. My only gripe - we couldn't get the massage chairs to recline. We'll have to try again next time.

Kelvin from Sunshine Coast, Australia
31 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good. reception staff very frendly, polite and helpfull. would recomend to others

Murray from Palmerston North, New Zealand
31 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very welcoming and helpful. Highly recommend and would stay again.

Sharon from Auckland, New Zealand
30 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our time at the hotel. The service at breakfast wasn't as good as the rest of the time. I felt the poor woman was over worked in the small area. There was an extra team (Young & Tall) member who just seemed to be wandering around not doing anything.

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
30 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was fine

Dominic from Bullaburra, Australia
29 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my 6th stay so I guess you can say I am very satisfied. I particularly appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms; the helpfulness of front of house staff - Andrew and Hassein are always welcoming; and the proximity to Southern Cross.

MARK from Worcester, United Kingdom
28 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very functional, ideally located hotel, with surprisingly attentive staff.

Hong from Brisbane, Australia
27 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, staff at the desk very helpful. Would recommend to friends. Would come again Thank you

DIGNA from Brisbane, Australia
25 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was good.

Peggy from Ottawa, Canada
25 January 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT