Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very clean, great location only a stones throw from Southern Cross Station and the Skybus. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We spend a lot of time in hotels for our work and this one was exceptional, broadband very fast, breakfast great. I have already recommended this hotel to a colleague. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
11 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Close to Southern Cross for trains, and trams nearly just by the door in Bourke Street.

Stephen from Christchurch, New Zealand
10 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great welcome on arrival - room had everything we could wish for - very clean and comfortable - breakfasts were amazing - lots of choice and tasty. I would say practically perfect.

June from Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
07 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Meets my needs well..very happy with the hotel..have been visiting quarterly or so for the last 18 months and will continue to do so.

Jim from Singapore, Singapore
07 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

No problems whatsoever

Warren from Hobart, Australia
06 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Jeremy from Melbourne, Australia
06 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location. Staff welcoming, and helpful with questions re directions and trains. Room was excellent. Good to have coathangers that can be taken out of the wardrobe. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Good water pressure. Very good breakfast; waitresses friendly, good chef. Loved the rooftop honey.

LYNETTE from Brisbane, Australia
05 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel is well placed if visitors require public transport. We were visiting for the air show so it was handy to be so close to Sothern Cross station. It's also a reasonable walk into the centre of the city. As we discover later, the free city circle tram stops not far away. Cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff impressed!

STEPHEN from Sydney, Australia
05 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Leonie from Sydney, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

overall good experience

Tomas from Melbourne, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful, courteous service. We will be back.

Wilhelmus from Adelaide, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Made me feel at home after a seriously delayed flight and calmed me with a glass of water and helpful directions to an imminent appointment all of which was much appreciated.

Michael from Sydney, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The breakfasts were excellent. Very convenient to transportation. Staff very helpful. Room very quiet and comfortable.

Katherine from Hampton, United States
02 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location. Lovely quiet stay. Beautiful breakfast. Well equipped room

Jennifer from Brisbane, Australia
28 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was fine, staff went out of their way to make sure I got 2 x queen beds and not queen plus singles. Room was very noisy though, from airconditioner units outside.

Craig from Geraldton, Australia
28 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bathroom a tad small but loved being able to open the windows and go out on to the balcony

Cheryl from Melbourne, Australia
27 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Position was perfect for us, near Southern Cross Station, Southbank and South Wharf. We were so impressed we have booked again next February. Each year we have a sisters weekend (There's 6 of us), so it was perfect for us with three bedrooms and three bathrooms.

Gaye from Melbourne, Australia
26 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were very helpful and assisted us with any queries we had, especially when my husband was unwell. Many thanks to Gary especially!

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
26 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff when we checked in were amazing! They gave us maps and told us what festivities were going on in the city that weekend. They were helpful with connecting to the wifi and patient when we were running late with checking out due to one of my friends unable to find some of her belongings and then unable to close the suitcase!

Idylle from Melbourne, Australia
25 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were there four nights, took the breakfast deal. Good hot breakfast &buffet. Very nice staff. Central to everything, trams, trains, buses, restaurants. Has washer/dryer facilies too. Very good value for the money. Made our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend this place.

Pradheep from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have a great time. Lovely place to stay

Benjamin from Pakenham, Australia
24 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Both my mother and I enjoyed our stay at the Alto. The unit was very clean and well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful. Also, we found the Alto’s close proximity to Southern Cross station and trams into the city fantastic.

Benjamin from Sydney, Australia
23 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly & helpful, room was comfortable & clean. The relaxation room was a real bonus. Thankyou for making our stay in Melbourne more enjoyable.

Wayne from Perth, Australia
23 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay - thanks

Alan from Cheltenham, United Kingdom
22 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, couldn't fault anything. Really enjoyed the breakfast!

Colin from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great. All of the staff were friendly and professional, from housekeeping to the breakfast personnel, to the extraordinary front desk/concierge personnel. Very helpful and all recommendations were right on!

Deborah from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

wonderful stay. The stairs were a big of a worry but not a problem in the end. Gourmet 2 go was just fantastic

Angela from Hobart, Australia
20 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Michael from Brisbane, Australia
20 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay, thank you! Will use again and recommend.

Rebecca from Christchurch, New Zealand
20 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Love the location and the breakfast accommodate me with being gluten free. Bathrooms well equipped with shampoo dispensers etc. Very quiet when we have stayed there. Our favourite hotel when we come to Melbourne

Marian from Cairns, Australia
19 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto numerous times over the past few years. We have always enjoyed the stay hence we keep coming back. Again as with all previous stays we again enjoyed our brief stay and will definately keep coming back. The staff from reception to room staff are all friendly and helpful. Great place to stay. Being able to purchase myki tickets at the Alto was beneficial.

David from Adelaide, Australia
19 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent allrounds

Ross from Hobart, Australia
19 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was perfect - thanks for making our whirlwind trip so comfortable :-) We had to catch an early train after a late flight and the kitchen made us take-away egg toasties - very much appreciated! I particularly like the eco-friendly vibe and thoughtful touches in that regard, eg. soap and shampoo dispensers (save mini plastic bottles)

Katy from Brisbane, Australia
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent experience, would not stay anywhere else in Melbourne

Craig from Brisbane, Australia
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We see the Alto as a home away from home, each time we come and stay just reinforces our opinion. Staff are always pleasant and helpful. The rooms are always clean and little bits in the kitchen always well stocked and appreciated. The beds are a dream, we were worn out from the traveling and to just crawl in and out like a light.

Sally from Mildura, Australia
18 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location. Comfortable room . Look forward to staying again.

Doug from Hamilton, New Zealand
17 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We can recommend the hotel

Harald from Düsseldorf, Germany
17 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Extremely pleasant surprise to find room ready on arrival at 12:30 and also to receive a free upgrade to a penthouse suite. Also love your green features like the natural skylight.

Ken from Sydney, Australia
15 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto Hotel On Bourke was the perfect place to stay for a business traveler. It was quiet, clean, and convenient. The breakfast was very good. I loved the massage room and was thankful for the computer stations, since my laptop died. The front desk staff was courteous and helped me plan my day trips. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Lee from Melbourne, Australia
15 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Would describe 'Comfort' as 'excellent' if room did not overlook a lane which was noisy during the evenings. (The room was consequently gloomy, as well, but it would be churlish to criticize 'The Alto' for early 20th century planning.) Will happily stay again.

Brian from Brisbane, Australia
14 February 2013

While we do have windows that open for fresh air they will let in some city noises unless both sections of the double glazing are closed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Terrific!

Helen from Hobart, Australia
14 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely time was first tiem to Melbounr for 2 of us and found the accom great staff helpful and close to all areas of interest in Melbourne

Cheryl from Newcastle, Australia
14 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay. Do refer to my review at Tripadvisor.com by JusT76 after 48 hours once Tripadvisor folks publish my post. Thanks.

Justin from Singapore, Singapore
13 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good location - nice staff - very noisy guests who did not seem to care about others even when staff asked them to be quiet - felt like a cheap hotel on sat and sun night due to the ignorance and noise of other guests - needs to be looked at

Caryl from Carindale, Australia
12 February 2013

Chinese New Year was celebrated on 9 & 10 February 2013. At 9pm hotel staff spoke to the families in the other apartments that had gathered for some shared time.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable,clean and affordable

Ric from Sydney, Australia
11 February 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT