Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I felt extremely safe and comfortable, which is rare for me. Staff were very friendly and I had no need to request or ask for anything as everything was covered at check in. Bed very comfortable as were pillows. Loved the library idea (I owe you a book - next time I will bring several). However one should not step on scales day after Christmas ! Thanks to all especially the folk on Reception.

Carol from Melbourne, Australia
28 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, no problems with booking or checking out and smooth service.

Robyn from Wellington, New Zealand
26 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely place, slightly noisy at night with the trams but overall thumbs up!!

Roberta from Melbourne, Australia
25 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very good weekend and hope to do it again soon.

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
24 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Nice room, good size. Easy walking distance to trams, shopping and key sights

Perry from Melbourne, Australia
24 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent - always a lovely place to visit, very comfortable and plush rooms, with great green initiatives. Keep up the good work!

Tess from Brisbane, Australia
21 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

relaxed, appropriate

Keith from Sydney, Australia
21 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, clean, great location, helpful and friendly staff.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
21 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

our stay at the Alto was delightful! we have absolutely no complaints about the room and the staff were exceptional. thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Julia from Perth, Australia
21 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our experience was most agreeable and relaxing at The Alto Hotel. The bed was the most comfortable we have had in any hotel/motel/cruise anywhere. Location is brilliant for transport, entertainment venues and proximity to the centre of the city. I cannot think of a single criticism. We will definitely stay at the Alto Hotel On Bourke in future visits to Melbourne.

Guest From from Adelaide, Australia
21 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good and enjoyable. staff was very helpful and breakfast was good everyday. please keep up the standard!

Jimmy from Singapore, Australia
18 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Value of money. High quality service.

Yulei from Shanghai, China
18 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a wonderful 5-day stay with my family at Alto Hotel On Bourke. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel actually lent me a key to the backdoor so that we could push my mum's wheelchair into the hotel without any problem. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne!

(YEO) from Singapore, Singapore
18 December 2012

Being a heritage listed building we are not permitted to add a ramp at our main entry. However level entry is available on request via a side door that requires key access.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The stay was pleaseant and my families had a wonderful time in Melbourne, part of it is the result of the excellent accomodation experienec we had at Alto

Kim from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
17 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My only complaint which is not the hotel's responsibility was the Friday and Saturday noise in the nearby lane, Saturday night almost unbearable.

Lorelle from Gold Coast, Australia
17 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and helpful.

Kate from Perth, Australia
17 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good. Rooms cleaned beyond expectations, staff very helpful

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
16 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with our 5 night stay at the Alto and would certainly consider staying there again if the circumstances were right.

Tim from Brisbane, Australia
16 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was excellent - staff, service & all that the hotel has to offer. Would definitely stay at the Alto On Bourke again if in Melbourne in the future.

Sana from Perth, Australia
16 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel. It is a small yet very friendly place to stay.

Stanley from Melbourne, Australia
16 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and friendly - a nice experience

Guest From from Perth, Australia
15 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really good. Fantastic staff that knew the area well and were most accommodating

Greg from Brisbane, Australia
15 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay, location was the main rwason for staying at the Alto and it didn't let us down. Great experience, thanks

Paul from Hobart, Australia
14 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed two weeks and felt everything was nicely organized and prepared for us daily. Thank you for a fine stay. We will be back.

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
13 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great spot, easy walking distance to anything you need, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

Darryl from Calgary, Canada
12 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay, found it an ideal location, two bedroom apartment was great, everything you needed. Staff friendly and helpful.

Sue from Canberra, Australia
11 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant overall but found room size a bit small.Apart from the closet there was no bench space to put bits and pieces on.

Rodney from Nambour, Australia
11 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, good service and assistance. Trouble free.

Les from Melbourne, Australia
11 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice room, generally helpful people at reception, small window and not much natural light in the room was probably the only thing I didn't like, though I did like being able to open the window. (We were in room 204.)

Tricia from Melbourne, Australia
10 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The location is great. We appreciated the energy conservation focus. We missed having a window that reveals the weather outside and were disappointed in the tiny sink and lack of counter surface in the bathroom. The restaurant was lovely.

Marilyn from Melbourne, Australia
10 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

really good

Grant from Sydney, Australia
10 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This hotel is well siturated in the heart of Melbourne the staff and the service was above and beyond all expectations.We will be back.

RUSSELL from Brisbane, Australia
08 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved our time at your hotel, will stay again on our next visit to Melbourne.

Ross from Sydney, Australia
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable stay. Appreciated the well-equipped kitchenette. Wifi was stable and essential for finding information, something which many hotels don't offer or charge a fee for. Staff members are welcoming, friendly, helpful and professional. I didn't have to spend a single cent on transport because every main attraction was a pleasant walk from the hotel. Very thankful the skybus was so near. I loved the bathrooms. Very well-designed with thoughtful placements such as a bath towel hook just outside the shower stall, a multiple bar towel rack and a retractable clothes line. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Evonne from Singapore, Singapore
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff was very helpful. They answered email questions promptly before we arrived, checked us in efficiently and seemed to know who I was ie. I felt like they were expecting me as their guest. It was very nice.

Nicola from Melbourne, Australia
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a lovely room to come back to. Convenient, clean, efficient service. No complaints at all. I would definitely come back if I'm ever in town again.

Pinky from Sydney, Australia
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed at The Alto for 5 nights and really appreciated the helpfulness and understanding of the staff with my daughter who camed down sick during our stay. We loved the location, the cleanliness and the high level of maintenance of the property as it did not in anyway feel 'tired'. My son loved the buffet breakfast as did we. The inclusion of the parking bay with the room was a real bonus. The environmental statement this hotel is modelling is a credit and a role model for the future of inner city living and living generally. It is non intrusive but sincerely a large part of the hotel's personality. For us it is a real selling point of this hotel. As you can see we loved our stay at The Alto!

Mark from Perth, Australia
06 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. Overall a great stay.

Brett from Sydney, Australia
05 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Andrew was very helpful.

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
05 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location wise was excellent, treatment at reception excellent, room was small considering price charged. Breakfast was very good however despite best intentions breakfast staff were a little shy and staid. It was lacking in good morning, welcome how can I help please enjoy...it a little lifeless however they were pleasant...just need some training . however the bed was so wonderfully comfortable and the shower superb, 2 extremely important ingredients staying in a hotel

Tony from Newcastle, Australia
04 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay very pleasant,

Natasha from Melbourne, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nothing is over done - great work. Hallways could be a bit nicer - feels like some a very long and need a bit of a freshen-up.

Brett from Sydney, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic location. Brilliant sustainable ethos. Will definitely return. Thank you.

Mai from Launceston, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very enjoyable weekend there. Everyone was helpful and the breakfasts were lovely but the waitress could have been friendlier.

Barry from Maitland Nsw, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Very comfortable room, with minor disturbance from traffic noise (mostly trams).

Natalie from Sydney, Australia
03 December 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT