Alto Hotel On Bourke

2885 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We always stay here when in Melbourne and it is consistently perfect for us

Noelene from Mollymook, Australia
07 July 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everuthing went very smoothly and the staff were friendly. The place is comfortable and very clean. Lovely amenities also

Yu from Sydney, Australia
05 July 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was great. Very clean, great service, friendly BUT the room was very hot - even with air con turned down, I had to sleep without bedclothes and the window open - in Melbourne in winter!!! However, loved the library, relaxation room, fresh fruit. The little touches were great.

Jane from Perth, Australia
03 July 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loses a mark for comfort due to pillows which were a bit hard for me but this is a personal preference

Vivienne from Wentworth Falls, Australia
02 July 2014

All beds have 2 sets of pillows for our guest to choose their preference. 1 is latex insert that is firm and holds it shape. The other set are microfiber that are soft and can be folder (ie similar if use to a feather pillow). Both sets are hypo allergenic. More pillows are available on request.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean room with friendly staff

Daryl from Longford, Australia
30 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Breakfast was very yummy. Bed was very comfortable and room clean. Loved the picture hangings in the hallways. Staff were pleasant. Shower kept going hot and cold and door was very small. That's my only complaint. Location ok, good for skybus but there are more cbd central hotels definitely.

Olivia from Hobart, Australia
30 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, very convenient and well priced

Steve from Melbourne, Australia
30 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My husband and. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alto.

Melanie from Sydney, Australia
30 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Delighted to be upgraded unexpectedly The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was lovely

Kevin from Melbourne, Australia
29 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My experience was exceptional,loved the room,staff fantastic but unfortnately i was unhappy with my big breakfast.i will be back for another stay

Graeme from Brisbane, Australia
28 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location and facilities

Paul from Coffs Harbour, Australia
23 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great staff who looked after our requests - will be staying again

Cameron from Townsville, Australia
23 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

What a pleasure to find your hotel, I did not find any way you could improve it I would stay there again

Jacqueline from Perth, Australia
23 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was very impressed and will stay here again when in Melbourne.

Tricia from Sydney, Australia
22 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I just love this hotel. Great location, clean rooms, very comfy beds. It's my hotel of choice now in Melbourne

Annie from Sydney, Australia
21 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stay here whenever I am in Melbourne. I am very comfortable here, and it's very convenient to everything I need.

Thais from Newcastle, Australia
20 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

see email; highly enjoyable

Katie from Hobart, Australia
19 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I liked the place. The green credentials drew me in, but the overall quality of the place makes me want to come back. Quiet, clean comfortable, reasonably priced and easier on the environment than other hotels.

Grenville from Sydney, Australia
19 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An environmentally friendly hotel that is home away from home. The staff are friendly and well informed. Our room was very clean and spacious. Best hotel bed I've ever slept in, super comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. Shower was luxurious with good shower head and water pressure and wall mounted dispensers provided plenty of shampoo, conditioner, soap and lotion with no wastage. The powerful hair dryer was extra nice too! Other thoughtful extras such as free massage room, free wi-fi, library by the fireplace, fresh fruit and coffee/tea facilities at the lobby make this hotel very special. Will definitely stay here again and will highly recommend to family and friends.

Rowena from Greystanes Nsw, Australia
19 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was a first timer at the Alto and I enjoyed it very much. Fantastic location, near Skybus and work. Appreciated the efforts to recycle and minimise energy usage - and the free wi-fi. Place had cosy, more intimate feel compared to some other bigger hotels. Hope to be back.

Jenny from Adelaide, Australia
18 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay

Ros from Melbourne, Australia
18 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All fine. Only gripe is that the company that provides your room service does not make food fit for human consumption, it's absolute low quality dirt and this reflects really badly on your brand.

Kris from Brisbane, Australia
18 June 2014

The service used on this occasion is a delivery option from a central kitchen who deliver to several apartment complexes. We have included their menu in our rooms as an additional option to our in-house room service operated from our kitchen. We are reviewing the service provider overall quality.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Jodie from Sale, Australia
18 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second stay at the Alto. Staff were extremely friendly. Even though the room was on level 1, I found it to be quiet. Location for what we needed was perfect.

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
16 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent place for family of 4.

Wendy from Melbourne, Australia
16 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. As usual.

Joe from Sydney, Australia
16 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Joseph from Brisbane, Australia
16 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel for price.

Mile from Melbourne, Australia
15 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ideal for our short stay

Fred from Eltham, Australia
14 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We felt completely at ease in well looked after apartment with modern decor and everything we might need. The modern, spacious rooms are a wonderful surprise given the more traditional external appearance of the hotel.

Jo from Melbourne, Australia
14 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Easy, confortable.

Gaetane from Melbourne, Australia
14 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my second stay. Would definitely return if travelling to Melbourne.

Suzanne from Brisbane, Australia
12 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very happy with our stay! we were upgraded to a king size bed which was extremely comfortable. friendly staff, nothing to complain about!

Carly from Adelaide, Australia
12 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Awesome

Helen from Melbourne, Australia
11 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic! So comfortable and close to trams and trains, the buffet breakfast was awesome =)

Melinda from Geelong, Australia
11 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Once again, all was the way we like it. New beds are very comfortable. Loved the little box of chocolates which greeted us.

Barbara from Townsville, Australia
10 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Christopher from Sydney, Australia
10 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location. Useful washing basin, good squarish layout, spacious.

Kok from Singapore, Singapore
09 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely staff, efficient and friendly. Room very clean, stylish and comfortable but a little bit noisy with those trams clunking past!

Patricia from Perth, Australia
09 June 2014

All rooms have windows that open for fresh air. Our standard is to leave them open for guest arrival. Closing both sections of the double glazing will shut out most of the noise of the city.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great - the location, cleanliness and staff were the highlights.

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
08 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My favourite hotel in Melbourne. For service, comfort, location and value for money, the Alto is absolutely faultless. Highly recommended.

Mindy from Melbourne, Australia
07 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and close to the railway stationand skybus station and within walking distance of the central CBD shops and restaurants. Clean rooms. Very comfy beds. Great conditioner and plenty of it, a bonus for the girls! Oh... and I loved that they have decent powerful hairdryers.. definately a bonus for me! I think the only let down was the lack of a view, we had only a very small half sized window with a view of the brick wall next door. But for an overnighter, it was fine. The cleanliness was great. No mini bar, but free wifi and foxtel.

Christopher from Bargo, Australia
06 June 2014

Unfortunately being a small boutique hotel in a large city does limit views from some rooms. Rooms that enjoy a better vista include 1 bedroom spa apartments, 2 bedroom deluxe apartments as well as a some of the Studio Queen rooms.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Couldn't have asked for more.

Sarah from Sydney, Australia
06 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exceedingly pleasant experience and I even came back the following night after my plans changed to enjoy an extra evening at the hotel. The location is brilliant, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and even the creaky floors seem to go with the boutique nature of the hotel.

Powel from Edmonton, Canada
05 June 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall we had a enjoyable stay. The library downstairs was great on the last day to relax for the last few hrs before our 9pm flight. Bed was too soft for us, so not the best night sleep we've ever had but still managed to sleep in!

Adam from Perth, Australia
05 June 2014

Great to have some "bookworms" inhabit the library. Our beds are filleted with deep pillow top mattress. While most people find the beds incredibility comfortable, those that prefer a firm bed may find them too soft. No matter we can easily remove the pillow top section to convert the bed into a much firmer format. Just ask when booking or even while in house and we can make the change.
 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62    63    64    65     NEXT