Alto Hotel On Bourke

2776 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great! I especially enjoyed the massage room.

Vanessa from Sydney, Australia
22 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Simple, comfortable hotel with all the amenities I required for a quick overnight business stay. Very clean hotel.

Margaretanne from Mansfield, Australia
22 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay - thankyou

Terri from Melbourne, Australia
20 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay with fantastic staff. Great location. I liked the snugness of the room and the fact that it required very little heating. Rooms were well lit-it was a worry that I would be reading in low light in a Green hotel, but was delighted with light level. Congratulations on your commitment to the environment.

Lily from Perth, Australia
20 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff at reception were excellent!

Jennifer from Melbourne, Australia
20 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

nice and relaxing, espeshaily the relaxation roo :)

Heidi from Epping, Australia
18 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice hotel, quiet, good food and service

Linda from Melbourne, Australia
17 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a great stay: close to the Melbourne Exhibition & Convention Centre, away from the noise of the main streets but close to shops and caffes, quiet and friendly.

SOFYA from Sydney, Australia
17 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great time enjoyed friendly staff.

Lyne from North Albury, Australia
17 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Quiet location and handy to transport.

Theresa from Melbourne, Australia
16 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, staff were wonderful, much appreciated the early in check in and use of car park for an extra hour. Thank you.

Kara from Melbourne, Australia
15 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service and friendly staff. Handy location near public transport. Room was very comfortable with everything you need. We loved the free tea and coffee from the coffee machine. Only negative was the noisy trams outside other than that it was excellent.

Nichola from Perth, Australia
14 July 2011

Our rooms have double glazed windows that can be opend for freah air. Closing both sectiosn of each window usually keeps out the noise of a large city like Melbourne. Most rooms face away from Bourke Street & the trams.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

Charles from Davos, Switzerland
14 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always very good - first time we have stayed in the winter and a electric blanket would have been nice !

AJ from Wellington, New Zealand
12 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was very impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff.

Pamela from Sydney, Australia
12 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first stay was 3 months ago and we were very happy to chose Alto again for our most recent stay in Melbourne.

Garry from Mollymook, Australia
11 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Helpful, friendly staff always make a hotel stay pleasant.

Jennifer from Brisbane, Australia
11 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Just right.

John from Bryan, Tx, United States
11 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very clean quiet rooms. Braekfast was a pleasant surprise.

George from Canberra, Australia
11 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Mike from Melbourne, Australia
09 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Extremely nice and helpful staff.

Nicolaas from Melbourne, Australia
08 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved every bit about The Alto - made our stay better than anticipated. Breakfast downstairs was sublime and all the staff we met, including the house keepers upstairs were friendly and helpful. Just wonderful! We will be back.

Lee from Gold Coast, Australia
08 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay - room was comfortable and quiet; staff friendly and helpful- all we really needed!

Anew from Hobart, Australia
07 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant and efficient service. I'm always a big fan of the book exchange.

Felicity from Hobart, Australia
06 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

No comment

Michael from Melbourne, Australia
06 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very nice stay. Quiet and v. helpful staff.

David from Cambridge, United Kingdom
05 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good position and very helpful staff.

Greg from Buderim, Australia
04 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room probably could have been cleaned a bit better during our 7 night stay - fridge top very dusty, base around back of WC not very clean. The cut in half "Chux" is a nuisance, I know it's greener, but a sensible size cloth would help us wipe down the bench and dining table and wash up small items rather than use the dishwasher. The last night there was no dish cloth left for us. Overall we were very happy - this was our second stay here and we are happy to recommend to friends who may visit Melbourne. There was a slightly embarrassing issue on our check out that related to a discount for our 7 night stay - reception did not seem to know that a discount should be applied. Our online booking with Alto direct showed the 5% discount, but reception were not aware of it and didn't seem clear on how to handle it (or particularly happy) to accept it, having said that, Dee processed the account with the discount applied with no further issues. We will be posting a positive review on Trip Advisor shortly.

MICHELLE from Brisbane, Australia
04 July 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are following up your comemtns regarding cleaning with our housekeeping teama and will use your coments as part of our training. Similarly for our fornt desk team regarding 7+ night discount.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location, including access by car (coming via the Monash Freeway). Staff very approachable and helpful, room was surprisingly large and well equipped. Impressed by emphasis on use of green power, recycling bins in rooms, and commitment to minimising environmental impact in day to day operations. Only difficulty was finding a table for breakfast in smallish dining room.

Fergus from Newcastle, Australia
02 July 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Although my stay was brief, I enjoyed the experience and would happily return to the Alto, and will recommend it to others.

Nigel from Maclean, Australia
30 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Relaxing and easy

Ryan from Geelong, Australia
28 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable. I enjoyed the dark and quiet of the rooms.

Anew from Canberrra, Australia
27 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed the room and the service very much. I would like to mention a very special mention to your dedicated and honest staff for locating and returning my mobile phone. Words can not express my gratitude :)

Sarah from Melbourne, Australia
27 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was perfect. Having stayed at the hotel last November we had no hesitation in booking once again.

Peter from Brisbane, Australia
26 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Ivan from Launceston, Australia
25 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we found the amenities really good & the staff were always helpful, friendly & went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We enjoyed our stay !

Peter from Perth, Australia
24 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Homely feel, well run with friendly staff. Good location, excellent breakfast.

Stephen from Perth, Australia
23 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I very much enjoyed my stay - although it took a bit of getting used to the sound of the skyrail thumping away every 20 mins at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice too.

Jason from Perth, Australia
23 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

John from Melbourne, Australia
22 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Reception was very friendly and accommadating.Room was clean , the towels were thick and fluffy, and a comfortable bed. We will definitely stay again.

Marianne from Victoria, Australia
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice hotel. only issue we had was the toilet cistern in our room did not stop filling unless you flushed it two or three times. All else very nice - will be happy to stay again

Hermans from Christchurch, New Zealand
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic stay. Good amenities/customer service. Will definitely be back.

Anthony from Adelaide, Australia
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great location, friendly staff

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we really enjoyed our stay. It was one of our best hotel experiences ever. The 'green' status of the hotel is a great point of difference.

Glen from Auckland, New Zealand
20 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay at the Alto. Customer service was excellent and staff members anticipated mine and my partner's needs well. I would stay here again. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels before but Alto was outstanding. I also like that it is eco-friendly and the shampoo/conditioner/soap dispensers in the bathroom are a great idea. Perhaps upgrading the bed linen could be considered as that was the only thing about the room that I disliked.

Josephine from Canberra, Australia
20 June 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62     NEXT