Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it and wanted to stay longer. Staff member Andrew was very welcoming and does his job extremely well. After hours of walking, exploring Melbourne and surrounds, the relaxation room was an added bonus. Great complimentary coffee too! Have already recommended Alto to friends. Thank you.

Tracey from Adelaide, Australia
10 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy - but would like the option of smaller rooms/suites with a balcony. We had to book a 2 bedroom unit as we do not like staying anywhere without a balcony.

Sherrie from Melbourne, Australia
10 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

On this last visit we had to check out early on the Sunday. When I asked about some kind of breakfast arrangements on the Saturday, we were told that there was nothing that could be done as they kitchen staff were unavailabe until breakfast time. I completely understand this but the rate also included breakfast. As we had encouraged our friends to stay there with us that is four guest that missed breakfast. I feel that on this occasion the staff member on the front desk on Saturday afternoon was completely unhelpful with this request. We Usually stay with you when we are in Melbourne four times in the last 12 months or so and We had another couple stay as well on this last visit. We have recommended you to many friends and they have also enjoyed their stay with you. To say the least we are disappointed.

Paul from Launceston, Australia
10 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

(Just my husband and I travelling, minus the kids - wouldn't consider us a mature couple (yet!), nor a young couple really, but no other applicable options under booking type.) Anyway, very impressed with the Alto and will happily stay again. Room was clean, well appointed and all in very good condition. Liked that we could open the windows. That is always a big plus. Staff were very personable and helpful. Cooked breakfast was very good, and I was offered alternative sides when no gluten free bread was available.

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good. Friendly staff, nice place.

Daniel from Melbourne, Australia
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Spotlessly clean, friendly helpful staff, well equipped, lots of extras if required like expresso coffee, apples and a cosy lounge. Good location to walk into the city or Southbank/Convention Center/Etihad Stadium event. Close to public transport. Very comfy beds including an acceptable sofa bed. Would highly recomend to others.

Wendy from Brisbane, Australia
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Shlomi from Tel Aviv, Israel
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were excellent and responded to request for room with window well. I appreciated that. Rm 102 is a cell and a real disappointment given other stays at Alto. The new room i was offered was a big improvement

Charlotte from Wellington, New Zealand
08 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always enjoy staying at the Alto. It was the environmental initiatives that drew me there in the fist place.

Brad from Sydney, Australia
08 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always good, and so nie to be able to open windows! Thank you.

Jennifer from Sydney, Australia
07 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Michelle from Melbouren, Australia
06 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A good place to stay for first time in Melbourne.

Barry from Akl, New Zealand
05 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent hotel all round would happily recommend and come again

Fay from ., New Zealand
04 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location was perfect! Easy access to everything. Very "green" we try but they excell at this and we will learn from them. Friendly and helpful. Rooms are modest but very nice and super clean!

Cheryl from Melbourne, Australia
03 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a pleasant experience at Alto and were very satisfied with our stay. We would almost certainly stay at Alto on our next visit to Melbourne, unless we can find something even better!

Uma from Singapore, Singapore
03 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

definitely would recommend - great location, great service, great value for money

Wendy from Holliston (nr Boston), United States
03 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My stay was short but I'd like to stay again.

Jennifer from Melbourne, Australia
02 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall an excellent experience, especially given the price. Would recommend.

Philip from Berlin, Germany
02 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were particularly helpful and breakfasts excellent, fresh, quick and tasty, the best we've had for a while

Brent from Sydney, Australia
02 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Steven from Bunbury, Australia
31 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very helpful staff

Helen from Auckland, New Zealand
31 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel, staff were very helpful. Location extremely convenient

Bradley from Ayr, Australia
30 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good, but i found the bed was much too hard.

Guest From from Adelaide, Australia
30 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location and good service from staff.

Jeremy from Perth, Australia
29 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very comfortable!

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
28 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and convenient place to stay. Very much like the eco sustainable ethics. Especially liked the relaxation room and the proximity to the tram stop

Donna from Waipu, New Zealand
27 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay, comortable room (nice to have fridge and microwave). Ver friendly and kowledgeable staff. Like the eco focus

Katelijn from Kruishoutem, Belgium
27 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto before & love it for it's quiet sophistication and ambience , we always will stay here when we visit Melbourne.

Miriam from Geraldton, Australia
27 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent hotel. All staff fantastic through out the property. Please pass on thanks to Andrew at reception who always answered our tourist questions with a smile and with out complaint despite hour basis or silly they were. We both work in our careers in hospitality and if we could steal Andrew to work with us we would!

Peta from Sydney, Australia
26 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good thanks. Staff at reception were very helpful.

John from Auckland, New Zealand
25 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second stay at the Alto and I have enjoyed and appreciated the faciliies. particularly like the "green" credentials of the hotel.

Linda from Lakes Entrance, Australia
25 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very memorable family holiday enjoying the tennis. The staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel was a pefect location for us and had everything we needed.

Sarah from Melbourne, Australia
25 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely. Staff were helpful, the housekeeping staff were polite, accomodating and very efficient which made our stay all that much more simple and pleasurable with a small child. The complimentary coffee and hot chocolate was delightful, and the fantastic shower and personal care products were lovely.

Emma from Perth, Australia
22 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

had a great stay. staff were excellent. room was small for having a kitchenette. was not really suitable for cooking anything and no table for eating at.

Wendy from Sydney, Australia
20 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Do not want to comment

John from Hobart, Australia
20 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great stay and thank you for the room upgrade how ever having the shower over the bath was no good for me as an elderly lady the side of the bath was to high for me to get over .

ESTELLE from Melbourne, Australia
19 January 2012

We are glad you liked the upgrade. Only our 1 bedroom spa apartments have a shower over the bath. All other rooms have walk in showers.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location. Reasonable priced. Friendly staff (excep on during one early morning).

Pia from Melbourne, Australia
18 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is a great hotel with all convenience facilities in an excellent location. We had a great time to rest.

Khodadad from Adelaide, Australia
18 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great! Excellent location. professional staff, always helpful.

Neil from Brisbane, Australia
17 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love staying at the Alto. My only small negatives are that the bed and the pillows were a little hard and I didn't realise that this type of room had no DVD player. However at such a great price which included the amazing Alto breakfast I can't really complain and will bring my own pillow next time. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Sharon from Sydney, Australia
17 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay!

Artem from Munich, Germany
16 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very professional and courteous. All services provided were of a very high quality.We will definitely recommend this hotel to others. Well done.

Lee from Perth, Australia
14 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bed could have Doona's rather than sheets and maybe softer

Christopher from Adelaide, Australia
13 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

loved our stay here, will definitely be back. also appreciate the green initiative, more hotels shd follow yr example. and the staff (esp Pippa, she was very helpful with giving us directions and recommendations) were lovely. will recommend to friends!

Dawn from Singapore, Singapore
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable. have stayed before and would stay again

Caroline from Melbourne, Australia
12 January 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT