Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location and good service from staff.

Jeremy from Perth, Australia
29 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very comfortable!

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
28 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and convenient place to stay. Very much like the eco sustainable ethics. Especially liked the relaxation room and the proximity to the tram stop

Donna from Waipu, New Zealand
27 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay, comortable room (nice to have fridge and microwave). Ver friendly and kowledgeable staff. Like the eco focus

Katelijn from Kruishoutem, Belgium
27 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto before & love it for it's quiet sophistication and ambience , we always will stay here when we visit Melbourne.

Miriam from Geraldton, Australia
27 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent hotel. All staff fantastic through out the property. Please pass on thanks to Andrew at reception who always answered our tourist questions with a smile and with out complaint despite hour basis or silly they were. We both work in our careers in hospitality and if we could steal Andrew to work with us we would!

Peta from Sydney, Australia
26 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good thanks. Staff at reception were very helpful.

John from Auckland, New Zealand
25 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second stay at the Alto and I have enjoyed and appreciated the faciliies. particularly like the "green" credentials of the hotel.

Linda from Lakes Entrance, Australia
25 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very memorable family holiday enjoying the tennis. The staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel was a pefect location for us and had everything we needed.

Sarah from Melbourne, Australia
25 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely. Staff were helpful, the housekeeping staff were polite, accomodating and very efficient which made our stay all that much more simple and pleasurable with a small child. The complimentary coffee and hot chocolate was delightful, and the fantastic shower and personal care products were lovely.

Emma from Perth, Australia
22 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

had a great stay. staff were excellent. room was small for having a kitchenette. was not really suitable for cooking anything and no table for eating at.

Wendy from Sydney, Australia
20 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Do not want to comment

John from Hobart, Australia
20 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great stay and thank you for the room upgrade how ever having the shower over the bath was no good for me as an elderly lady the side of the bath was to high for me to get over .

ESTELLE from Melbourne, Australia
19 January 2012

We are glad you liked the upgrade. Only our 1 bedroom spa apartments have a shower over the bath. All other rooms have walk in showers.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location. Reasonable priced. Friendly staff (excep on during one early morning).

Pia from Melbourne, Australia
18 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is a great hotel with all convenience facilities in an excellent location. We had a great time to rest.

Khodadad from Adelaide, Australia
18 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great! Excellent location. professional staff, always helpful.

Neil from Brisbane, Australia
17 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love staying at the Alto. My only small negatives are that the bed and the pillows were a little hard and I didn't realise that this type of room had no DVD player. However at such a great price which included the amazing Alto breakfast I can't really complain and will bring my own pillow next time. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Sharon from Sydney, Australia
17 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay!

Artem from Munich, Germany
16 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very professional and courteous. All services provided were of a very high quality.We will definitely recommend this hotel to others. Well done.

Lee from Perth, Australia
14 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bed could have Doona's rather than sheets and maybe softer

Christopher from Adelaide, Australia
13 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

loved our stay here, will definitely be back. also appreciate the green initiative, more hotels shd follow yr example. and the staff (esp Pippa, she was very helpful with giving us directions and recommendations) were lovely. will recommend to friends!

Dawn from Singapore, Singapore
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable. have stayed before and would stay again

Caroline from Melbourne, Australia
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We also stayed in a one bed apartment for one night and were able to check early into each room. The front desk were extremely friendly, professional and helpful every time we spoke to them. The environmental credentials are an excellent bonus. We would stay again!

Emma from London, United Kingdom
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My 4th stay - so that probably tells you something about how pleased I am with the hotel - for a city centre hotel it offers consistently good value for money and consistently high quality

Mark from Birmingham, United Kingdom
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was good stay over but didnt experience much becasue of only staying 1 night

Ellie from Melbourne, Australia
11 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience, very helpful staff. thank-you for letting me leave my bag there while I went shopping. I like your enviro friendly policies as well.

Brenda from Melbourne, Australia
10 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first visit to Melbourne, would most definitely stay in your hotel again, will most certainly recommend to others as a great place to stay. Very relaxing, cosy environment to come back to after a busy day out sightseeing!! Very friendly helpful staff, thank you!

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
09 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed with you before and it is a perfect location and staff are always friendly and rooms always beautiful. Definately recommend!!

Kendall from Melbourne, Australia
09 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely time, and couldn't have asked for a cleaner, more comfortable, better valued room.

Jacinta from Melbourne, Australia
09 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staying here was awesome it was a nice small hotel. We got free breakfast which was great except on the last day which was Saturday breakfast was at 730 instead of 7 so we didnt get any since we needed to be at the airport :( We also has a TV issue on the 2nd nite so we couldn't change the volume or channel even when pushing the button on the tv but the next morning Alto staff came by and fixed everything perfectly. However we were missing towels after one cleaning but someone promptly brought them up. The room is in a great location you can sake the skybus and the hotels a block away and the tram service is like right in front the staff is always willing to help you! We didn't take advantage but they had a relaxation room with two message chairs and a tv. Also they had a nice area in the lobby where there was a free coffee/hot chocolate/ tea machine that was amazing. We also had free wifi up to 500mb per day which was awesome. Overall it was a great place to stay.

Tammy from Chevy Chase, United States
08 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff and clean rooms

Jillian from Perth, Australia
05 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my hotel of choice when I come to Melbourne. I like the retro feel and the attention to detail in the rooms.

Robin from Christchurch, New Zealand
05 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay. The location was great, and everyone was very nice. The free Wifi in the room was also a big plus.

Ada from Fort Lauderdale, United States
04 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was perfect. Rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly.

Olbrechts from Rotterdam, Netherlands
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Despite the fact that we've arrived quite late on Christmas Eve we were greeted by friendly staff at reception and were given detailed instructions on where to park our car as well as city map and some suggestion on where to have dinner. Our room was quite small and very simple but I knew what to expect from online reviews I read before booking the hotel. Overall the room was very clean but there was a bit of hair in the bathroom (nothing worth calling a cleaning lady but it is my personal pet hate so I still felt a bit disappointed). I loved the fact that CBD and Docklands were within walking distance so we could easily stroll everywhere. Free apples and wonderful library space were a very pleasant bonus at the end of the evening, and the breakfast was lovely. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a simple, centrally-located accommodation.

Olga from Randwick, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

absolutely loved the hotel. Being environentally conscious was the icing on the cake. Only negative was the tight parking.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our stay at the Alto, as always, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful with all sorts of questions, the food is delicious and the apartments are excellent. We plan to stay there every time we come to Melbourne! :)

LINDA from Mackay, Qld, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. The staff were courteous, the room very comfortable, and the location was great.

Malcolm from Sydney, Australia
31 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Easy to deal with, room was exactly how it was described online. Great stay, thanks.

Damian from Adelaide, Australia
31 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was clean & convenient for the purpose of our brief stay

Grant from Sydney, Australia
30 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

FELT VERY COMFERTABLE AND RELAXED

GEORGE from Cairns, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had read very favourable reviews, and had high expectations - all of which were fulfilled. The apples, the library and the coffee machine were excellent. We also liked the soap and shampoo dispensers and the office/computer nook. The service and location were first rate.

Mark from Sydney, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location to city and transport. Breakfast just right. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again in future.

COLIN from Hobart, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

extremely intelligent hotel policy

Cristiano from Milan, Italy
28 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only stayed for two nights but they were very restful nights. Staff was very knowledgable and extremely helpful. My room was cleaned after my first night which I was not expecting. Did find some things that seemed to have been overlooked when cleaned before my arrival (cups in the bathroom) but it was more than made up for by everything else. Great location and friendly service!

Van from Melbourne, Australia
27 December 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT