Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff polite, friendly, accommodating. Room clean and bed comfortable. Good location. Close to airport shuttle. Free internet. Self laundry available on 1st floor.

Robert from Ponoka, Canada
05 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fifth time I've stayed ...ticks all the boxes, very happy with it.

Jim from Singapore, Singapore
05 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable but very noisy 'Saturday night which interfered with sleep Room was the tiniest I've stayed in and the window was very small so little natural light. Didn't matter too much as we weren't there much but. I think in future I would request a room on a higher floor (less noise) with a decent window. Otherwise, all good, thiankyou.

Sally from Melbourne, Australia
05 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved your personal attention to detail. Room very quiet and slept without being disturbed by neighbours or outside noise. Loved utensils provided and we were very impressed. When we return we will stay again

Prudence from Sydney, Australia
03 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel, loved the lounge area with the free hot drinks and apples. Lovely clean room, great TV and good to have free wifi

Jan from Adelaide, Australia
03 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good hotel, well located

Nigel from Brisbane, Australia
03 March 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice stay Particular reception staff were uncomfortable to apprach Overall stay was great

Annie from Melbourne, Australia
28 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was very convenient and relaxed. Beds super comfy! Great place for a short stay.

Leiemma from Melbourne, Australia
27 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Beth from Melbourne, Australia
26 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location, very friendly staff.. Comfortable room

Elaine from Broken Hill, Australia
25 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect

Ian from Sydney, Australia
25 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were impressed with the staff and the room. All staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well presented.

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
25 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really enjoyed our stay

Dianne from Auckland, New Zealand
24 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable. Looked after us very well. Great location. Would definitely stay again.

Louise from Wellington, New Zealand
24 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Ann from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An enjoyable stay with pleasant, friendly staff - including cleaning lady, maintenance man and dining room staff.

Colin from Napier, New Zealand
23 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were lovely! Great location! Beautiful apartment

Bronte from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Cheryl from Brisbane, Australia
19 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service as usual. I really appreciate your helpful & welcoming front desk staff. Pleasant & willing to help. It was another great trip to Melbourne. As I said last time- I'll definitely stay here next time...& I did! Thank you Alto Hotel staff- being welcoming, polite & helpful changes everything about a hotel experience. You make it easy for me to choose Alto again & again- win/win- I get a good experience & you get repeat bookings & great word of mouth.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
18 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Just right! It feels as though you are staying in the guest room of a friend's home. Quiet, clean and fresh. Staff have continued to be perfect - a balance of being natural and professional. A genuine interaction, not the corporate smile. Local knowledge and helpfulness much appreciated.

Jenelle from Canberra, Australia
16 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely friendly reception staff setting just the right tone. Great location, good value for money. Mine was a business stay but I would consider staying here for holiday/travel.

Mary from Melbourne, Australia
15 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Great location. Loved that it was carbon neutral but none of the amenities suffered. Only downside (and a very very minor one at that) was the key cards don't work if they've been near your phone or you've done a lot of shopping. Given my wallet is my phone case, this was everytime. hotel rooms were on the small side for an extra single bed as well (but that's understandable). Apart from that: Excellent. Would recomend to anyone.

Tyne from Melbourne, Australia
15 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We like the fact the Alto try to be an environmentally aware hotel and are reducing their carbon foot print

Ken from Port Fairy, Australia
15 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Quite simply could not have asked for anything else. Great location, comfortable room, beautiful meals and environmentally conscious. A lovely, comfortabe, unrushed feel.

Tony from Adelaide, Australia
12 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A most enjoyable stay with every comfort provided. The convenient location, excellent breakfasts and restful room were just a few of the things we appreciated while exploring Melbourne. The upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment was lovely and a pleasant surprise. I cannot fault The Alto Hotel On any point. I shall be recommending this wonderful hotel to my family and friends and look forward to returning very soon.

Brooklee from Newcastle, Australia
12 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic and the upgrade from a studio to a two bedroom apartment was just wonderful. My only slight criticism was the containers with the shampoo, body wash etc in the bathroom as I do prefer individual soaps.

Jacqueline from Melbourne, Australia
12 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Appreciated extra features (WiFi and Microwave/Toaster) which some places don't offer for similar pricing. We were particularly fond of the hotels 'Eco' approach to things. Even something as simple as a recycling bin in the room, everywhere should have this!

Ross from Sydney, Australia
11 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Meredith from Melbourne, Australia
11 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Stuff were lovely & welcoming, It was the perfect location and we were given an up grade from Petite Queen Room to 1 Bedroom Apartment on arrival the apartment and facilities were fabulous will definitely come back & will recommend Alto to all my friends. Thanks Alto for such an enjoyable stay.

Rhonda from Ferntree Gully, Australia
11 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall experience good to very good. From our point of view excellent location as the Southern railway station is 100m , there is a tram stop almost in front of the hotel and overall the hotel is located very centrally. It offers also a car park if needed. Our room was at the back of the hotel and one was looking at other buildings back. Another negative point is if you open the window (which we did) one could sometimes smell the window (our room was at the second floor). However iI have to point out at some hotels you can not even open the window and if I have the choice I prefer a hotel where I can open the windows.

Elisabeth from Rümlang, Switzerland
09 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It's been a wonderful experience and location was very convenient. :)

LiLi from Singapore, Singapore
07 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The dining room staff were excellent and very friendly. Made us feel very welcome. The room cleaners did a lovely job. I loved the crisp linens. The Eco green effort by the hotel was impressive. Breakfast looked and tasted great, however, may I say the coffee was not very good. The machine looked good but the coffee wasn't. Also in 5 days I did not see one banana. Perhaps you could put some bananas out at breakfast.

Ama from Brisbane, Australia
07 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Small but comfortable room. Loved the green initiatives. Very nice staff in the restaurant - thanks for the wine suggestions

Anne-Claude from Toronto, Canada
07 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

comfortable , relaxed, well designed room

John from Akl, New Zealand
07 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A great experience

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
06 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Extremely happy with the stay. Have already booked to come back.

Darren from Adelaide, Australia
04 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice stay. Comfy bed. Clean, quiet and relaxing place to spend a night after a day in Melbourne. Location is very handy to both centre of town and train/tram stops. Breakfast was excellent and well worth the added extra in upgrading from room to room+breakfast when booking. Would stay again next time in Melbourne.

Geoff from Auckland, New Zealand
04 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Patrick from Melbourne, Australia
04 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

vbnzvn

Kate from Melbourne, Australia
03 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent

Carl from Melbourne, Australia
03 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fabulous! A big clean bed, hot relaxing shower, free wifi and newspaper were exactly what I needed.

Madison from Melbourne, Australia
02 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were 3 couples staying in the 3 bed apartment. All of us were very impressed with the hotel! The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly, the breakfasts delicious and the hotel facilities were top notch. Congratulations to all and thank you!

Anne from Newcastle, Australia
02 February 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I appreciate the quiet room and the boutique feel of the hotel. It is so much more pleasant than the large chain hotels. Please don't change this!

Gary from Albury, Australia
31 January 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Rooms are a bit small for the price but location and staff friendliness is very good.

GREGOIRE from 6004, Australia
31 January 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful and would stay again

Kerry from Helensburgh, Australia
29 January 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT