Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found the location, the staff and the total experience very good. I love being able to open windows and sliding doors, however the noise from the airconditioning motors on the building next door made it unbearable. We certainly appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff.

Pat from Perth, Australia
03 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found the hotel to be in a great location, and the facilities were well maintained and beautifully clean. Myself and my friend both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will happily recommend Alto to anyone planning on staying in Melbourne. We really appreciated being able to safely store luggage after our arrival (prior to check-in) and after our check out (prior to departure to airport). We were also very thankful that on the afternoon of our checkout we were still welcome to sit in the lobby, have a cuppa and relax before our journey home. Lauren was an absolute gem, but we found every single staff member to be cheerful and accomodating without being overbearing. Good service like yours can make a real difference to a travel experience. Thank you Alto.

Deborah from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really nice, clean and comfortable, and friendly, helpful staff. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Sarah from Bristol, United Kingdom
01 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our second time at Alto and I love it. Thank you to all staff for your hospitality and genuine friendliness. Gary and Lauren - thank you for letting me hang around for half the day before my appointment! Keep up the great work. Regards, Sally

Sally from Cairns, Australia
29 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The checkin staff were wonderful. Very helpful as I had 2 young children with me. I had pre organised a porta cot and it was all set up and ready to go - that never happens at other places! Great location, close to tram and train. I would definetly recommend it.

Jackie from Melbourne, Australia
29 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, loved the masage chairs!

Michelle from Adelaide, Australia
28 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoy the Alto always. Great gym nearby, massage room great too. staff always a pleasure. Only thing is that in room- personally prefer a duvet to blankets and feather pillows. Also, air con sometimes can't get to blow hot...

Steve from Sydney, Australia
28 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable bed. Would have liked a bath in the bathroom instead of just a shower

Alison from Melbourne, Australia
28 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean and well arranged rooms. Pleasant experience.

Zoe from Melbourne, Australia
27 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

There was an initial wait of approximately 10 minutes at reception prior to check in due to there only being one person at reception and the phone constantly ringing. We arrived at approximately 2.30pm after booking online for a 2pm check in and we had another 1/2 hour wait as the room wasn't ready. These delays made it difficult with a 5 and 6 year old, the oldest being Autistic. Staff then made us comfortable in the relaxation room with massage recliners which was lovely.

Cheryl from Melbourne, Australia
27 September 2011

We are sorrry that there was delay in attending to you and having your room ready. We try to meet as many of our guests requests as possible however on some occasions when most guest request late check out it can conflict with arriving guests. We prioritise cleaning of rooms based on estmated arrival time. I noticed that your estimated arrival time was not transfered from the online booking to our reservation system, hence your room had not been prioritised. We apologise for the delay, I am glad that you were made comfortabel and utilised the massage chairs while you were waiting.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Helpful and personable staff. Wifi and coffee on tap were nice touches.

Caroline from Melbourne, Australia
27 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place, discovered via internet search and associated comments. ALL staff were wonderful. Breakfast and dinner chefs produced great meals. Not 'over the top' flash meals - just great meals. Meal prices and drinks prices were lower that most other places. Free internet and free massage chairs and free books (exchange) were all greatly appreciated. Again, all staff were wonderful.

Ian from Albury, Australia
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff. Clean, quiet rooms

Jeremy from Auckland, New Zealand
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good would use again. We had a couple of problems - lights now working and need more toilet paper but these were dealt with very promptly

Wayne from Adeliade, Australia
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our second visit, and so we knew what we were in for. The place is perfectly positioned for travellers, the hotel has wonderful facilities, and a charming restaurant which offers a fabulous daily breakfast - enough to keep you going for ages! Really appreciated my request for a large bed due to my husband being 6'6" being accommodated. It really does make a difference for him to have a good sleep. We will definitely return :)

Carol from Canterbury, New Zealand
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stay regularly and always find the staff very friendly and helpful. I frequently eat in the restaurant and the food is always very good and staff friendly.

Vicki from Canberra, Australia
24 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay, staff very helpful, food fantastic, a very enjoyable experience!

Emma from Dunedin, New Zealand
24 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel. The hotel was well situated and close to popular attractions, entertainment and activities. The staff were excellent, very polite and only too happy to help. We were impressed with the little extra's for example the wi-fi access and complimentary breakfast and hot drinks. It is the little extras that can make a stay more memorable.

Simon from Brisbane, Australia
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always a great place to stay

Anne from Sydney, Australia
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great attentive service from the staff and they always addressed me by name. Love the cosy reading nook and the fire. Appreciated the endless coffee machine.. I got the flat pillows I asked for when booking thank you. the bowl of apples was great !

June from Christchurch, New Zealand
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As alwats- a wonderful stay

Darrell from Canberra, Australia
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfactory

Ian from Toowoomba, Australia
21 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very well appointed and comfortable rooms. Bathrooms reasonably tight so large people may have diificulty. Overall I was very impressed.

Roger from Melbourne, Australia
20 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. Staff were particularly courteous

Clare from Melbourne, Australia
19 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke Street. We appreciate your philosophy and also the homely feel you have engendered in your facility.

Carolyn from Brisbane, Australia
19 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The location is good and the service friendly. I was impressed by the room cleanliness.

Robert from Launceston, Australia
19 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very much enjoyed our brief stay. We hope to return next year.

Donald from Nashville, United States
19 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Great customer service and quiet accommodation.

Carol from Melbpurne, Australia
19 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love this hotel and have stayed with you a number of times but was disappointed that I had booked a double and two singles and we were allocated two doubles. I didn't say anything at the time as I thought I must have made a mistake but when I came home and checked the booking form it specifically stated one double and two singles so this was disappointing as my daughters had to sleep together and neither had a decent night's sleep because of this. Sorry but you did ask for feedback.

Frances from Hobart, Australia
17 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall I couldn't really fault the hotel. Alto...you have thought of everything to make one's stay very comfortable. When I'm back in Melbourne I will be staying with you and have already recommended you to other friends. Thankyou.

Guest From from Adelaide, Australia
16 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I've stayed before, I'll be staying again.

Roger from Melbourne, Australia
16 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I loved staying here! The staff were friendly and welcoming. My room was always well turned down and taken care of. Breakfast was satisfying. Any question I asked was answered and every request was reasonably met.

Lana from Melbourne, Australia
15 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Reception and restaurant staff very friendly and welcoming.

Gavin from Sydney, Australia
15 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel for business stay. Each time I have stayed I have received excellent customer service and have been extremely happy with the quality of the room. Well done and Thank you!

Margaretanne from Mansfield Victoria, Australia
15 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were friendly and positive, willing to help and good-humoured. The overall look of the hotel was elegant, and it was great to see so many photographs and paintings in the rooms and passageways.

Tony from Canberra, Australia
13 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are returning guests and love the friendly staff and great location.

Sharon from Melbourne, Australia
13 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Check in was fast and easy, location was good and room service was quick and the food was good. The room was cleaned very well every day. We did not like that the "queen bed" was two singles joined together, not very comfortable when you have a back injury. Other than that, everything was great. Enjoyed having an ipod dock and clean towels every day.(We did however notice that the large towels smelt like either bleach or bad washing powder)

Monika from Sunshine Coast, Australia
13 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great location, helpful friendly staff. Comfortable accommodation

Garry from Canberra, Australia
13 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed at Alto Hotel for 4 days.The staffs were very kind and helpful, we also got a great welcome on arrival.The room was very comfortable, many features were available.The location also very close to the public trams and shopping areas. Very Good !

Julian from Bandung, Indonesia
12 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, It felt very welcoming on the night I checked in. The special touch of complimentary chocolate was a nice touch. Dee was very helpful and remember me when I checked in. Lauren, as always is very knowledgeable and professional and provided me with all the information I needed. I like to especially mentioned both Lauren and their Dee for an exceptional and excellent FOH services.

Victor from Hobart, Australia
12 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a good hotel. Had everything we wanted.

Gerard from Perth, Australia
12 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were looking for a central location with enough space for the three of us. This place was an apartment within a hotel and so was was very comfortable. Great location, clean apartment , friendly staff and hearty breakfast. overall would recommend it to all.

Umesh from Melbourne, Australia
11 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fabulous.. the staff were very friendly and helpful and made my short stay very easy. thankyou

Kristi from Melbourne, Australia
10 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, well organised, comfortable accommodation. The staff were excellent especially monika in the dining room and hasnain at reception.we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

Sylvia from Melbourne, Australia
10 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff are friendly. We had left something behind and they kept it for us until we returned. It is only a few minutes away from major shopping districts, easily accessible by tram and train station. Skybus airport shuttle also very nearby. Seems quite eco friendly, but for a boutique hotel, it is not as quirky or arty as other places.

Tan from Melbourne, Australia
09 September 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT