Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel. The only downside was the noise caused by the rowdy football fans on the evening of the Australia-Serbia match at Emirates Stadium.

AARON from Singapore, Singapore
11 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall our experience was great. The only issue we experienced was with our second breakfast. The staff struggled to cater with the number of guests that had arrived at the same time and after waiting nearly 40 minutes for breakfast, the waitress needed to be reminded about our order. We also witnessed this same issue occur with a number of other tables. Furthermore, the waitress seemed disinterested in the guests and made us feel that we were an annoyance and that she would rather be anywhere else except doing her job. This was a shame as all the other staff we encountered were absolutely lovely. Also, the actual breakfast meals were wonderful - very fresh and very well prepared.

Michelle from Canberra, Australia
09 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

green credientials a nice suprise

Lisa from Melbourne, Australia
09 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed the stay, nice staff and as for sustainability, they walk the walk as well as talk the talk.

Rhys from Melbourne, Australia
09 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent location, great access to the city and well presented. Room was fine and the value of the breakfast and quality, a real bonus. Thank you.

Bradley from Sydney, Australia
08 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great sleep after a long rail journey. Was great to have such a short walk from the station. Very quiet room.

Richard from Blackwood Sa, Australia
08 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is our 2nd stay, it suits us to a "T". Have recommended to family and friends and those that have taken it up, feel the same as us. Love we can use stairs if we want, can open windows and that breakfast is cooked as you order. Great staff. Plenty of options depending on length and needs for stay.

Russell from Armadale Wa, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful stay. wont hesitate when coming to Melbourne again.

Serena from Perth, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay. Found the hotel convenient, good standards on all levels.

Tracy from Melbourne, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our loft apartment served our needs. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was very reasonably priced. The location for us was just perfect.

Sharman from Adelaide, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very positive experience. Room was well set out, clean and had everything we needed.

Vicki from West Lafayette, United States
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely and clean, friendly & helpful staff, confy bed, good breakfast; will definitely recommend to others.

Elizabeth from Auckland, New Zealand
06 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant, quiet atmosphere with helpful staff in an ideal central location. Our stay wasn't long enough to experience all the Alto had to offer - maybe next time. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the coffee on offer from a fully automated system.

Marilyn from Melbourne, Australia
06 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff

Tenille from Melbourne, Australia
06 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great boutique hotel with excellent facilities. The room had everything we needed plus more. Will definately be back

Brooke from Otorohanga, New Zealand
04 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is my hotel of choice now whenever I stay in Melbourne. Location is amazing and the staff are lovely and very helpful.

John from Brisbane, Australia
04 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Well done on cleanliness and focus on being Green!!!

James from Brisbane, Australia
02 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very courteous and helpful staff. Good location with great eating options close by and transport options right at your door.

Carmen from Perth, Australia
01 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a great hotel and very clean and comfortable. Thanks for catering for my gluten free diet at breakfast.

Gareth from Manly West Qld, Australia
01 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We liked the modern decor, especially the prints in the hallway and in our room. We loved the projected clock on the wall in the dining room, the complimentary hot chocolates (which were better than we expected), the complimentary breakfast, and the pleasant, efficient breakfast staff. In fact all the staff were good. We liked the boutique feel of the hotel. The location was excellent for a Melbourne shopping weekend. We were impressed with how well equipped the room was - even a microwave. The soap, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers were a great way to provide for our needs in a clean, attractive and efficient manner. The bed could have been more comfortable but it was far better than the bed on the Sun Princess. I also really liked the pillows - it's great to provide two different styles of pillow and let the guest choose which one to use (or use both). It was very helpful that we were able to leave our bags with you after we'd checked out (I know this is a common thing but it was still great).

Linda from Sydney, Australia
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and very clean but rooms and bathrooms lack flair. Compared to the lounge area, they seemed very bare and could use better furnishings. 'Blue' compact fluorescents in the bathrooms and bedside gave me a headache. Very friendly staff, in particular with printing boarding passes. Good value and I would probably stay again if I needed to be close to Southern Cross.

Benjamin from Coffs Harbour, Australia
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved every minute of our stay. Wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere in Melbourne.

Ian from Perth, Australia
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Seamless and easy, no problems at all.

Ben from Melbourne, Australia
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Words can't express how much we appreciate the Alto Hotel. We have used it for our staff for over 3 years. It is like a hidden jewel in the CBD and permits one to mix business and rest after long flights. We have always been well looked after by the helpful staff. We have enjoyed meals in the restaurant. We typically bus from the airport to Southern Cross station and it is literally a 2 minute walk from the station - so handy. Thanks again for a great stay.

Michael from Auckland, New Zealand
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were friendly on arrival and the hotel had everything that we needed. The little sitting area by the fire was lovely. My only suggestion would be a few bags of nuts or nibbles in the rooms/minibar. Also, I was on a business trip with two colleagues and there is no option for this under your "Booking Type" selection in this survey.

Louise from Sydney, Australia
28 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great breakfast and LOVED the idea and setup of the reading nook/exchange - very comfortable and inviting. Good solution for parking in the circumstances.

Mark from Mallacoota, Australia
26 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, close to bus and train service. Friendly staff, good service and very clean.

Ivan from Saskatoon, Canada
25 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My experience was absolutely perfect! I was staying their with my family the night before my wedding and when you brought to the room a bottle of champagne and strawberries it made the start to the night beautiful! Thank you so much for helping to make me feel special. I will definately be recommending you to others. It is this kind of service that really makes you stand out from the rest! We are actually planning to stay there in the next couple of months. I look forward to returning with my husband to show him and other family. Thanks again!! Your staff are outstanding!

Penni from 3056, Australia
24 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very good experience. The only disappointment was that the kitchen at the restaurant was closed by 8pm on Friday night.

Bruno from Sydney, Australia
23 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good. If we returned we would prefer a room with a view and/or light coming in

Isidor from Melbourne, Australia
23 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed with the 100% wind power offset, this would make me consider the Alto again.

Alison from Avoca Beach, Australia
23 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very enjoyable, staff very helpful and knowledgeable, very clean , mattress was very comfortable but pillows were a bit too soft. mattress was better than the one in the sheraton sydney!

Donna from Perth, Australia
23 May 2011

In addition to the pillows set on the bed. the day pillows (inside red cover) can be removed and used. These pillows are firmer that the ones already set on the bed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and welcoming. I appreciated being able to leave my luggage with you before check in and again after checkout. It was lovely to be able to relax on a very rainy day in the lounge whilst waiting for my train. Thank you very much.

My from Melbourne, Australia
21 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The most enjoyable and outstanding service we have experienced in the last 40 years of traveling throughout the world. Everything associated with our stay at the Alto Hotel On Bourke Street, was outstanding. The staff went out of their way to make our visit most enjoyable. THANKS FOR THAT OLD WORLD CHARM AND SERVICE.

Kevin from Perth, Australia
20 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Most enjoyable stay no complaints ,more than happy to stay any time

John from Melbourne, Australia
20 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only there overnight. Clean and tidy and the building had a nice scent to it.

Brian from Melbourne, Australia
19 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good.

Michael from West Hobart, Australia
18 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is in a great location close to Spencer St Railway & tram stops. The staff are always friendly and the rooms are lovely & clean. It is worth the bit extra you might have to pay

Rodney from Wagga Wagga, Australia
16 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very relaxing thank you

Jan from Melbourne, Australia
13 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had an enjoyable stay, thank you very much.

Lisa from Darwin, Australia
12 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The few times we have stayed at the Alto has always been very enjoyable. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. We will be back.

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
11 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very enjoyable, would definitely come again

Gary from Perth, Australia
11 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice stay here, the staff were very pleasant, we liked how the place was smaller & we felt we got more personal attention. Breakfast was enjoyable & so was the complimentary espresso & massage chairs. We thought the shower was amazing & the refillable shampoo/conditioner/lotion a great idea.

Angela from Christchurch, New Zealand
10 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very much enjoyed our stay. Found the accommodation very cosy and the staff sensational. A high level of hospitality with a sense that nothing is too much trouble.

Neil from Ballarat, Australia
10 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable weekend break - thanks. Particularly enjoyed the free, on-tap coffee.

Ruth from Wellington, New Zealand
10 May 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT