Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Homely feel, well run with friendly staff. Good location, excellent breakfast.

Stephen from Perth, Australia
23 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I very much enjoyed my stay - although it took a bit of getting used to the sound of the skyrail thumping away every 20 mins at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice too.

Jason from Perth, Australia
23 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

John from Melbourne, Australia
22 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Reception was very friendly and accommadating.Room was clean , the towels were thick and fluffy, and a comfortable bed. We will definitely stay again.

Marianne from Victoria, Australia
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice hotel. only issue we had was the toilet cistern in our room did not stop filling unless you flushed it two or three times. All else very nice - will be happy to stay again

Hermans from Christchurch, New Zealand
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic stay. Good amenities/customer service. Will definitely be back.

Anthony from Adelaide, Australia
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great location, friendly staff

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
21 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we really enjoyed our stay. It was one of our best hotel experiences ever. The 'green' status of the hotel is a great point of difference.

Glen from Auckland, New Zealand
20 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay at the Alto. Customer service was excellent and staff members anticipated mine and my partner's needs well. I would stay here again. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels before but Alto was outstanding. I also like that it is eco-friendly and the shampoo/conditioner/soap dispensers in the bathroom are a great idea. Perhaps upgrading the bed linen could be considered as that was the only thing about the room that I disliked.

Josephine from Canberra, Australia
20 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The service was excellent, it was quick and easy to check in and check out. The option to utilise the car park for $16 was very handy. The rooms felt a bit small but they have everything we needed and the shower was fantastic.

Marina from Melbourne, Australia
20 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff are friendly & always helpful with nothing being too much trouble. I watched a friendly chef personally prepare an evening desert to take to the room for Karen. Of our 3 recent trips to Melbourne we have stayed at the Alto & we found the rooms on the first floor on the second trip a bit small. There was a strong chemical smell (cleaning stuff) when we entered the room for the first time last week. But these are such small matters I feel mean to mention them.

Karen from Launceston, Australia
19 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, a very enjoyable stay :)

Tiffany from Melbourne, Australia
19 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Relaxing and comfortable. Great location and homely environment.

Racheal from Sydney, Australia
19 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I travel by train from the country to Southern Cross, arriving late at night, so the location is perfect. The staff are always friendly and helpful. But the main reason I chose to stay there in the first place was the committment to providing a green service, from the obvious - the use of windpower, low flow water use, LED and low wattage lighting, recycling bins in the room, the key controlling the use of power in the room, none of those wasteful little individually wrapped soap bars - and a lot of small things that distinguish the Alto from other hotels in the area - especially the coffee machine in the restaurant. Having stayed there a number of times, I always try to get a booking when I come to Melbourne. An excellent hotel.

Timothy from Melbourne, Australia
19 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very enjoyable stay at Alto.

Sally from Perth, Australia
19 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel in great location! Staff were exceptionally helpful when ever I had question about trams etc. Room was very pleasant. Location was excellent and was value for money. Breakfast was a bargain at $14. My room laked a 'real' window, but no big deal. Noise from people walking past my room in the hallway was loud late at night (room was very close to elevator), but i'll be back.

Zane from Melbourne, Australia
18 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I enjoyed my stay at Alto.. First time to Melbourne and will def come visiting again, happy with the service and location

Vanessa from Sydney, Australia
16 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the massage chairs. They were a great little added touch. It was great that the staff gave us a call to let us know when the room was ready. Many thanks. : )

Linda from Melbourne, Australia
16 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

2nd time we have stayed, may not have best views, but excellent value for money and lovely, competent staff - first 30 mins wireless free is also a nice touch. Very quiet, easy and comfortable

Brigid from Greenwood, Australia
15 June 2011

Wireless and in room cabled internet is free for your entire stay if you have your own device / laptop / phone. When using computer stations in the lounge the first 30 minutes per day are free.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Lisa from Brisbane, Australia
15 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly and helpful staff, great location, clean rooms, great dining/library area, great coffee machine

Shane from Adelaide, Australia
15 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we had a great stay and great service from the staff, they were willing to assist in any area we needed help. thank you for a great experience, we will be back.

Tim from Melbourne, Australia
14 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful stay, the rooms are lovely, very new and clean, we loved the fact that we could open our window as well. The overall feeling was very cosy and welcoming, this was our first stay and will not be our last. We found it great value for money and a very handy location. We will recommend you to our friends and famiily.

JOANNE from Millthorpe, Australia
14 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel. The only downside was the noise caused by the rowdy football fans on the evening of the Australia-Serbia match at Emirates Stadium.

AARON from Singapore, Singapore
11 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall our experience was great. The only issue we experienced was with our second breakfast. The staff struggled to cater with the number of guests that had arrived at the same time and after waiting nearly 40 minutes for breakfast, the waitress needed to be reminded about our order. We also witnessed this same issue occur with a number of other tables. Furthermore, the waitress seemed disinterested in the guests and made us feel that we were an annoyance and that she would rather be anywhere else except doing her job. This was a shame as all the other staff we encountered were absolutely lovely. Also, the actual breakfast meals were wonderful - very fresh and very well prepared.

Michelle from Canberra, Australia
09 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

green credientials a nice suprise

Lisa from Melbourne, Australia
09 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed the stay, nice staff and as for sustainability, they walk the walk as well as talk the talk.

Rhys from Melbourne, Australia
09 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent location, great access to the city and well presented. Room was fine and the value of the breakfast and quality, a real bonus. Thank you.

Bradley from Sydney, Australia
08 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great sleep after a long rail journey. Was great to have such a short walk from the station. Very quiet room.

Richard from Blackwood Sa, Australia
08 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is our 2nd stay, it suits us to a "T". Have recommended to family and friends and those that have taken it up, feel the same as us. Love we can use stairs if we want, can open windows and that breakfast is cooked as you order. Great staff. Plenty of options depending on length and needs for stay.

Russell from Armadale Wa, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful stay. wont hesitate when coming to Melbourne again.

Serena from Perth, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay. Found the hotel convenient, good standards on all levels.

Tracy from Melbourne, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our loft apartment served our needs. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was very reasonably priced. The location for us was just perfect.

Sharman from Adelaide, Australia
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very positive experience. Room was well set out, clean and had everything we needed.

Vicki from West Lafayette, United States
07 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely and clean, friendly & helpful staff, confy bed, good breakfast; will definitely recommend to others.

Elizabeth from Auckland, New Zealand
06 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant, quiet atmosphere with helpful staff in an ideal central location. Our stay wasn't long enough to experience all the Alto had to offer - maybe next time. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the coffee on offer from a fully automated system.

Marilyn from Melbourne, Australia
06 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff

Tenille from Melbourne, Australia
06 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great boutique hotel with excellent facilities. The room had everything we needed plus more. Will definately be back

Brooke from Otorohanga, New Zealand
04 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is my hotel of choice now whenever I stay in Melbourne. Location is amazing and the staff are lovely and very helpful.

John from Brisbane, Australia
04 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Well done on cleanliness and focus on being Green!!!

James from Brisbane, Australia
02 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very courteous and helpful staff. Good location with great eating options close by and transport options right at your door.

Carmen from Perth, Australia
01 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a great hotel and very clean and comfortable. Thanks for catering for my gluten free diet at breakfast.

Gareth from Manly West Qld, Australia
01 June 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We liked the modern decor, especially the prints in the hallway and in our room. We loved the projected clock on the wall in the dining room, the complimentary hot chocolates (which were better than we expected), the complimentary breakfast, and the pleasant, efficient breakfast staff. In fact all the staff were good. We liked the boutique feel of the hotel. The location was excellent for a Melbourne shopping weekend. We were impressed with how well equipped the room was - even a microwave. The soap, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers were a great way to provide for our needs in a clean, attractive and efficient manner. The bed could have been more comfortable but it was far better than the bed on the Sun Princess. I also really liked the pillows - it's great to provide two different styles of pillow and let the guest choose which one to use (or use both). It was very helpful that we were able to leave our bags with you after we'd checked out (I know this is a common thing but it was still great).

Linda from Sydney, Australia
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and very clean but rooms and bathrooms lack flair. Compared to the lounge area, they seemed very bare and could use better furnishings. 'Blue' compact fluorescents in the bathrooms and bedside gave me a headache. Very friendly staff, in particular with printing boarding passes. Good value and I would probably stay again if I needed to be close to Southern Cross.

Benjamin from Coffs Harbour, Australia
30 May 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved every minute of our stay. Wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere in Melbourne.

Ian from Perth, Australia
30 May 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT