Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with the time spent at the Alto and the service provided, the staff were very courteous and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family

Colleen from Perth, Australia
06 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our overall experience was very enjoyable. We were particularly impressed by all the staff we interacted with, they were without exception polite, friendly, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Everything about the room was as we would want it to be, and the bed in particular was very comfortable. The efforts of the hotel in minimising its 'environmental footprint' were also appreciated, as were little touches like the availability of fresh fruit, which travellers don't always have available to them. Breakfast was great, very enjoyable and satisfying and the fact that it was included in the package we chose made it excellent value. Overall a very enjoyable experience and I'm sure we'll be back.

Neville from Diamond Creek, Australia
05 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable

Marilyn from Hobart, Australia
04 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good facilities for a family group, and the same price as a city-centre hotel room!

Joanna from Blenheim, New Zealand
02 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good quality accommodation and range of services at a reasonable price. Staff were professional.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
02 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, nice style and good staff. I would definitely stay here again. I came on business but would love to actually get to enjoy Melbourne with my girl while staying at the Alto. Much nicer than other hotels I stayed at in the area. A bit pricey but you pay for what you get.

SEAN from Melbourne, Australia
02 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Alto has become our home in Melbourne, we recommend to anyone who asks. Never disappoints.

Gail from Perth, Australia
01 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed with helpfulness of staff. They should be commended. Breakfast was great and love the massage room!

Melanie from Melbourne, Australia
01 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was clean and nice. The aspect was average looking out onto roof tops and airconditioners but there was no noise. The hallway music was a bit loud. No real issues or complaints.

James from Sydney, Australia
01 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Leanne from Melbourne, Australia
30 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good location and nice staff. Except for the gentleman working on sat night who came across extremely rude. Rest of staff over our 3 days stay were very approachable and helpful.

Michael from Hobart, Australia
30 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very accommodating staff as I at the last moment had to change our booking as our adult youngest daughter had her plans changed for the first 2 nights in Melbourne so we were updated to a King Studio for a very small fee. Loved the all day coffee, tea and hot chocolate. And the king size bed which my husband actually slept really well. The gentleman at the reception had our booking ready to go as well after arriving at 11.50pm. Well done to everyone.

Isobel from Perth Wa, Australia
29 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff, comfy beds, clean rooms, great breakfasts, yummo hot choc/coffee machine 24/7, tram stop outside the door and train station over the road. We had a fantastic stay at Alto and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne.

Eamon from Mooloolaba Qld, Australia
29 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved it, great facilities and very good value for money and access to public transport and too cool indeed that it has a small kitchen area even in this small room and has such a 'green' ethic (wind powered) and is so 'practically' green too eg the provision of the soap etc dispensers! Very helpful staff as well!

Josephine from Melbourne, Australia
29 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good experience. Issue was size of "living area" - too small and stairway too steep and narrow.

Jason from Melbourne, Australia
29 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent

Oliver from Melbourne, Australia
29 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great. Location, staff, services, information parking location. Too noisy with windows open. Like fresh air. no window in second room. I need air and windows

Jenna from Melbourne, Australia
29 April 2013

2 bedroom apartments have skylights in second bedrooms
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved the location. So handy to the tram, plenty of great restaurants and all the conveniences. Room was spotless, comfortable and enjoyed coming back from a day out to a freshly made bed!!

Michelle from Castle Hill, Australia
28 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Very unique hotel. Well designed. Wanted to stay longer.

Nicholas from Melbourne, Australia
28 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is about the 6th time I have stayed at the Alto & I keep coming back. Location is fantastic, close to Southern Cross & Etihad, which is perfect for football (the main reason I come to Melbourne). Andrew on reception was friendly & nothing was too much trouble. I've already booked in for the June Long Weekend.. T

Sheree from Mount Barker, Australia
27 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As usual a pleasure to stay with you (I'll be back in Sept!)

Michelle from Melbourne, Australia
26 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location. Nice and clean room with comfy bed! Shower area is a bit too small though. Overal good experience. Keep it up.

Michelle from Singapore, Singapore
25 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall happy with the hotel and room, however the noise when someone else shuts their bedroom door was disappointing. My entire bedroom door shook when someone else closed theirs. In all honesty, that would deter me from staying again. A shame because everything else was good.

Lee from Sydney, Australia
24 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

the stay was very good.. loved the bed as it was sooo soft : )

Jessica from Melbourne, Australia
23 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Booked the hotel online after never having been in Melbourne. Could not have been more impressed with the location or how helpful the staff were at check in. The rooms were more spacious then I envisaged and with the exception of a very few minor things, were very clean and well kept. The hotel has done a great job with the little amount of room it has, particularly the restaurant area. Breakfast was always wonderful with a great range both at the buffet and off the menu. Would definitely stay at the Alto on Bourke if going to Melbourne and would recommend it to anyone doing the same.

Daniel from Wagga Wagga, Australia
23 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first visit to Melbourne for many years. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The brochure collection in reception was excellent and relevant. The housekeeping staff were unobtrusive and very efficient. We very much look forward to our next visit to Melbourne and to staying at the Alto.

David from Perth, Australia
23 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

Trevor from Millicent, Australia
23 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay as always.

Grant from Mt Mee, Australia
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was very good, fresh clean and it seemed newly renovated. Staff nice and friendly. Only problem was restaurant (see below)

Peter from Thoiry, France
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very helpful staff, very professional, nice room, great breakfast, great library, fabulous location. Loved the green energy and focus on reducing resource use. Many thanks to the staff who got our footy tickets printed out at the last minute!

Michael from Perth, Australia
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

MOst enjoyable. the construction site behind was the only issue, but that is no fault of the hotel . thank you

James from Newcastle, Australia
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, have stayed previously and will stay again.

Lynette from Melbourne, Australia
22 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice, clean hotel. Rooms nicely decorated, on the smaller side but include a kitchenette. Breakfast was great and worth the extra fee.

Maria from Adelaide, Australia
21 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

3rd stay at Alto, and continue to enjoy averything about the hotel, and would definately stay again if it fits in with travel plans.

MORGAN from Perth, Australia
21 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Couldn't fault anything. Have stayed there before and will stay there on any future trips to Melbourne. Ticks all the boxes for us.

MAURICE from Adelaide, Australia
20 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good. Staff helpfull.

Cheiban from Sydney, Australia
20 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff are always friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Michael from Sydney, Australia
18 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff and service are just brilliant, nothing is a problem and things just happen. The only thing preventing a "perfect" rating is that we have not been able to get the Australian Financial Review delivered in the morning despite being told on both occasions we stayed that this could be done.

John from Sydney, Australia
18 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant hotel to stay at - location was perfect - train at end of road, tram outside therefore excellent for visitors without a car. Like the recycling aspect as I feel that is important.

Maree from Brisbane, Australia
18 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff and easy to book, find and stay at the Alto. Location was excellent with the trams and trains to everywhere so close.

Karina from Melbourne, Australia
18 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A total delight, staff were kind and helpful

Liam from Canberra, Australia
17 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location in Melbourne CBD, close to Southern Cross station and trams. Small but comfortable bedrooms and excellent staff. The only unsatisfactory feature is the lack of valet parking, and the absence of onsite parking.

John from Warrnambool, Australia
17 April 2013

Sorry we do not have a valet parking service. We do have a small number of onsite parking spaces. However as this area is accessed via a single width lane there may be slight delays in accessing or exiting the parking area.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff. Nice room. Awesome location

Nicole from Geraldton, Australia
16 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant. thanks for the bike helmets

Allison from San Francisco, United States
16 April 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel

Anew from Melbourne, Australia
14 April 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT