Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. The relaxation room 5 star.

John from Melbourne, Australia
28 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfectly located, felt welcome, clean room with lovely staff

Lisa from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

fantastic place to stay with personalised service. we loved the expresso bar and all the advise.

Kylie from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great everyone there was very helpful nothing was to much trouble. Felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Natalie from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was only there for one night on business, but have stayed at the Alto almost every year since it opened in 2007. I love the whole philosophy of the management and the fact that it's an intimate friendly place - not a marble cave like most hotels! I recommend it to all my friends in Perth if ever they are travelling to Melbourne.

Greg from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Most comfortable stay, position to city great, loved the coffee and hot chocolate, would reccomend to freinds

Ron from Sydney, Australia
26 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great!

Ashley from Melbourne, Australia
25 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, reception staff were particularly entertaining and welcoming.

Terence from South Australia, Australia
24 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good experience spoilt by loud noises which woke me up in the early morning

Tony from Sydney, Australia
24 August 2012

Our windows are double galzed to block out most of the city noises. However they can be opened for fresh air, yet will not provide the sound insulation of the glazing when closed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were extremely impressed. I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and it lived up to all our expectations. We won't bother to stay anywhere else now when we're in Melbourne, we'll be back to Alto and recommending it to friends. Thanks!

Johanna from Geelong, Australia
23 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with the accommodation and staff

Joseph from Brisbane, Australia
23 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. Great location from Southercross Railway. The restaurant was great value as was the service.

Kerrie from Macmasters Beach Nsw, Australia
22 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto Hotel is very convenient to Etihad stadium and Spencer St train station and skybus from the airport. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and well maintained. Whenever we come to Melbourne we always stay here. We really love that it's a "green" hotel, the 24hr reception and security is first rate, and the coffee machine is wonderful after a cold night at the football. With the added bonus of included breakfast this was really good value for money.

Cathryn from Broken Hill, Australia
21 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable room. good sized bathroom with great shower and bulk toiletries. We liked the opening windows, individual aircondirioning, good quality appiiances. Overall a great place to stay.

David from Sydney, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A spotless room/hotel, everything worked, and fantastic location for Etihad, trams, trains, Docklands - all in easy walking distance. Breakfast was yummy, even if the dining room a little crowded, but food was same high standard on both our days. We enjoyed the hotel, but not so much the nightclub noise from the hotel across the street till 5 am. A big thumbs down to the Royal Melbourne hotel nightclub - its not even live music! Thankful for the double windows which did help a little. Loved the fact we had windows with a view to the street, and could open them occasionally for fresh air.

Anew from Adelaide, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

the Alto was located in a fantastic spot and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Melanie from Frankston South, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I absolutely loved our stay at the Alto. Staff were ever so friendly and helpful. if we had a question it was not a bother for them to answer and their replies came across as genuinely happy to help us. the beds were sooooo comfortable, a nice change from most hotels. i even placed Alto Hotel On my facebook as a highly recommended place to stay while in the city of Melbourne. thank you so much Alto Hotel - well done!

Ann from Melbourne, Australia
20 August 2012

Glad to see you liked our beds. We are even about to to replace them with more luxurious ones with a deep pillow top mattress and cocooning doona / continental quilt.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very efficient place to stay. Nice room. Just a little noisy - the trams.

Paul from Gold Coast, Australia
20 August 2012

All rooms have double glazed windows that can be opened. Closing both sections wof window would reduce external noise. Most rooms face away from Bourke Street and the tram lines.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As expected.

Colin from Brisbane, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice small hotel, good location, car parking a little way a way. I liked the small restaurant and mini lounge with the library.

Larry from Palmerston North, New Zealand
19 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic, great reception staff. Trang is so friendly and a great assett to The Alto. Love the free massage room and 24 expresso and hot chocolate. Will be back next time we visit Melbourne.

Krystel from Townsville, Australia
18 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and welcoming.

Yvonne from Invercargill, New Zealand
18 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very inviting hotel, 'charming' - possibly small by some standards, but perfectly formed.... fabulous staff, fabulous service, relaxing, chic decor in keeping with the classic history of the building - gorgeous. We were made to feel very comfortable and welcome, part of the 'family' so to speak...the beauty of a 'small' hotel. Big bonus!!!

Tony from Auckland, New Zealand
17 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Quite pleasurable. Good range of items for the breakfast specials, although the hollandaise sauce for the eggs benedict could be improved.

Dale from Auckland, New Zealand
15 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had very nice stay.

Rohan from Brisbane, Australia
14 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent! The only problem is the housekeeping staff sometimes forgot we have 3 people staying at the room and provided only 2 sets of towels. A bit noisy at night, but the location and front desk staff are excellent.

Hilda from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
13 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

First time i've stayed there ( Mr Wills) the wife and her girlfriends stayed there last year, very enjoyable, friendly staff , made our trip to Melbourne great .. cheers to all

Guest From from Adelaide, Australia
13 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was an amazing stay. Very conveniently located. Very cosy apartment. My only problem. When we checked in we were told we had a bedding configuration of 1 king double and 2 singles. And ended up with 2 queen doubles. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Thankyou for the experience.

Michelle from Melbourne, Australia
13 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant experience

Heather from Melbourne, Australia
13 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Easy to locate, not too far from most places we were keen to go, staff had good local knowledge and were helpful. Rooms impeccably clean, bed super comfy.

Melinda from Melbourne, Australia
11 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great attentive and friendly welcome and all good from there on. Thank you.

Katie from Bondi, Australia
11 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stay in many hotels and I could not fault the experience, the staff were friendly and the place was well equipt, over and above most. The only comment I could make is the water pressure in the shower, but given the green rating achievements which I suspect are related it is a small price to pay.

Scott from Sydney, Australia
09 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly and fast check-in, modern rooms without the usual hotel chain blandness and the rooms free from outside noise were the key highlights. First visit as usually stay elsewhere, however we will now make this our regular. Only marked off perfect due to higher weakened rates (as expected) and partner hearing hallway music in room at one point in night.

Paul from Canberra, Australia
09 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable, room had all reqd amenities., appreciated toaster.

John from Perth, Australia
07 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

wonderful helpful staff thank you

Jane from Melbourne, Australia
07 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have been a client of Alto for 6 years and it is my preferred place to stay when in Melbourne. Great service and outstanding staff.

Samer from Perth, Australia
01 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are very happy at the Alto and it is our choice of hotel when in Melbourne

Chris from Adelaide, Australia
31 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very quiet, double windows, lovely helpful staff. Great location.

Megan from Melbourne, Australia
31 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff. Room relatively small.

Tim from Sydney, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Once again very good apart from noisy people above our romm.

Jan from Perth, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, great location, helpful staff as minimal visits to Melbourne. Cosy not intimidating ambience as solo traveller. Will stay again. Thank you. B Shepherd

SHEPHERD from Noosa, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed a wonderful first time stay at this hotel and will return again.Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Joanne from Adelaide, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had such a wonderful time! Location was amazing! In the heart of the CBD and yet somehow, still quiet. We loved Melbourne, partly because of the fact that we knew we had a wonderful place to go back to each night. The price was fantastic. I'm also so comforted by your eco-friendly attitudes - it was obvious that you go to great lengths to reduce environmental impact. I'm so impressed and I'll definitely be back!

Thalia from Sydney, Australia
27 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Could not fault the hotel. Special praise to Andrew on reception when we arrived at 7am for getting us into our room at 10am (well before check in at 2pm) for a much needed sleep.

Nick from Perth, Australia
26 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I am a regular - says it all. Accommodation is good but quality of staff is key. Free wi fi, continuous coffee and fruit add excellent touches.

Gregory from Adelaide, Australia
24 July 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT