Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The service staff were wonderful,friendly and helpful.

Barb from Melbourne, Australia
12 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great weekend. Friendly staff, great facilities and close to everything. The weather could have been better but we can't penalise you for that! To be able to get a 3 Bedroom/3 Bathroom unit was a surprise and perfect for our requirements (we are a group that met on Trafalgar Tour of Europe in 2006 and each year we get together for a "reunion"). Thank you to the team at the Alto.

Peter from Kuranda Qld 4881, Australia
12 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

For us it supplies all our needs. It has become our home in Melbourne and we recommend to all who ask. Convenient for footy at Ethiad or MCG, tram at door, close to CBD. Staff always friendly, love that breakfast is cooked fresh for you,

Gail from Armadale, Australia
11 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

On this particular occasion, we were very pleased with our experience. Front reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, and clean, and well appointed. One comment though: despite double glazing, the motors of the external units of the air con/s are quite noisy (the noise travels up from these), and on this night you could also quite clearly hear the 'thump thump thumping' of a nearby pub or club until at least 3am; and also a garbage truck picked up bottles early Friday morning (approx 5am) which was very noisy. Not much you can do about this I know but just letting you know - it is quite disturbing and unfortunate.

Kathryn from Bonnet Hill, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We keep coming back on our Melbourne visits because we have only had good experiences.

Ken from Sydney, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good hotel. Room was great. enjoyed the complimentary coffee - unusual to find in australia!

David from Perth, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Well appointed and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good position and quiet. I think your sustainability initiatives are fantastic.

Darin from Bright, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very comfortable and enjoyable experience.

LEON from Traralgon, Australia
09 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

sustainable accommodation!

Lars from Sydney, Australia
08 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Pretty good. A pity you don't have ABC news channel,on TV or ABC Radio national on the radio. The bathroom scales are pretty dodgy (ie loose battery, then when connected gave me a totally flattering but inaccurate weight

Joanna from Sydney, Australia
07 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nothing to complain. Services was professional and friendly. Really liked the reading room, free coffee and apples, and the fact that the bedroom door stayed opened when you are struggling to bring/take out the heavy bags on wheels. Appreciated the free wi-fi.

Teresa from Sydney, Australia
06 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, we enjoyed our stay and our room was terrific.

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
05 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was an amazing stay really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was unbelievable.

Kacey from Sydney, Australia
05 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff are warm and friendly. Kitchen facilities are well equipped and location is perfect!

Catherine from Melbourne, Australia
04 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great thanks

Barry from Darwin, Australia
03 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very happy with service from reception staff and overall comfort and cleanliness of our room. Sadly one of your breakfast room staff (Saturday morning) curt and inattentive. I also found my vegetarian room service meal to be almost inedible. Therefore found front of house staff and the hotel wonderful -catering side (except for quality brrakfast) a let down. Thanks, Allyson

Allyson from Brisbane, Australia
03 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a pleasant stay. My room was a bit dark (1st floor), that is why the comfort was rated "only" good...

Michael from Vienna, Austria
03 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very friendly and helpful staff,the unit was spotless and easy to use,great location for work and recreation .outside noise at night was a problem and phone calls from other rooms at 2-3 am wanting the main desk not appreciated.Otherwise a great stay.

Neil from Melbourne, Australia
03 September 2012

We have identified an issue with our phone system that was forwarding some calls to a different extension. This has been rectified.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We'll be back

Johanna from Geelong, Australia
02 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I loved the new bed and doona. And the room looks more modern with the TV on the wall enabling better access to the desk and powerpoints for working. And the new towel racks in the bathroom are stylish and functional. Breakfast was great and Front desk staff impeccable as usual. I applaud your continuous improvement and attention to detail. best wishes Paul

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
30 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my 3rd stay at the Alto and i will be coming back on the 26th October. Everytime my experience at the Alto has been excellent and i will always recommend the Alto to my friends and family.

CHARLES from Perth, Australia
29 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

IT WAS A VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel IN WHICH I WOULD STAY AGAIN IF AND ONLY IF I WAS 100% GUARANTEED A ROOM THAT WAS NOT ON THE TRAM SIDE OF THE BUILDING. I DID REQUEST A QUIET ROOM BUT THIS WAS OVERLOOKED AND WE WERE GIVEN 301 WHICH WAS VERY NOISY BECAUSE OF THE TRAMS. THE hotel WAS FULLY BOOKED SO NOTHING COULD BE DONE ABOUT IT. I THINK MORE ATTENTION TO SPECIAL REQUESTS NEED TO BE LOOKED AT WHILST ALLOCATING ROOMS.LOVE LOVE LOVE THE COFFEE MACHINE AN EXCELLENT IDEA.

Rachelle from 6019, Australia
28 August 2012

We do take notice of guests request and do our best to meet all of the desires we receive. One of the advantages of our location is proximity to transport and other amenities however with this proximity there is a drawback of some noise may be noticed in the very few rooms facing Bourke Street from trams crossing the changeover point in the tracks. We have double glazed the windows to reduce any disturbance and have recently written to Yarra Trams requesting a speed limit be placed on this section of track as speed appears to have an effect on the disturbance.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at Alto several times before and always find it to be good value and comfortable.

Carolyn from Colac, Australia
28 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. The relaxation room 5 star.

John from Melbourne, Australia
28 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfectly located, felt welcome, clean room with lovely staff

Lisa from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

fantastic place to stay with personalised service. we loved the expresso bar and all the advise.

Kylie from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great everyone there was very helpful nothing was to much trouble. Felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Natalie from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was only there for one night on business, but have stayed at the Alto almost every year since it opened in 2007. I love the whole philosophy of the management and the fact that it's an intimate friendly place - not a marble cave like most hotels! I recommend it to all my friends in Perth if ever they are travelling to Melbourne.

Greg from Perth, Australia
27 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Most comfortable stay, position to city great, loved the coffee and hot chocolate, would reccomend to freinds

Ron from Sydney, Australia
26 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great!

Ashley from Melbourne, Australia
25 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, reception staff were particularly entertaining and welcoming.

Terence from South Australia, Australia
24 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good experience spoilt by loud noises which woke me up in the early morning

Tony from Sydney, Australia
24 August 2012

Our windows are double galzed to block out most of the city noises. However they can be opened for fresh air, yet will not provide the sound insulation of the glazing when closed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were extremely impressed. I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and it lived up to all our expectations. We won't bother to stay anywhere else now when we're in Melbourne, we'll be back to Alto and recommending it to friends. Thanks!

Johanna from Geelong, Australia
23 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with the accommodation and staff

Joseph from Brisbane, Australia
23 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. Great location from Southercross Railway. The restaurant was great value as was the service.

Kerrie from Macmasters Beach Nsw, Australia
22 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto Hotel is very convenient to Etihad stadium and Spencer St train station and skybus from the airport. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and well maintained. Whenever we come to Melbourne we always stay here. We really love that it's a "green" hotel, the 24hr reception and security is first rate, and the coffee machine is wonderful after a cold night at the football. With the added bonus of included breakfast this was really good value for money.

Cathryn from Broken Hill, Australia
21 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable room. good sized bathroom with great shower and bulk toiletries. We liked the opening windows, individual aircondirioning, good quality appiiances. Overall a great place to stay.

David from Sydney, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A spotless room/hotel, everything worked, and fantastic location for Etihad, trams, trains, Docklands - all in easy walking distance. Breakfast was yummy, even if the dining room a little crowded, but food was same high standard on both our days. We enjoyed the hotel, but not so much the nightclub noise from the hotel across the street till 5 am. A big thumbs down to the Royal Melbourne hotel nightclub - its not even live music! Thankful for the double windows which did help a little. Loved the fact we had windows with a view to the street, and could open them occasionally for fresh air.

Anew from Adelaide, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

the Alto was located in a fantastic spot and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Melanie from Frankston South, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I absolutely loved our stay at the Alto. Staff were ever so friendly and helpful. if we had a question it was not a bother for them to answer and their replies came across as genuinely happy to help us. the beds were sooooo comfortable, a nice change from most hotels. i even placed Alto Hotel On my facebook as a highly recommended place to stay while in the city of Melbourne. thank you so much Alto Hotel - well done!

Ann from Melbourne, Australia
20 August 2012

Glad to see you liked our beds. We are even about to to replace them with more luxurious ones with a deep pillow top mattress and cocooning doona / continental quilt.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very efficient place to stay. Nice room. Just a little noisy - the trams.

Paul from Gold Coast, Australia
20 August 2012

All rooms have double glazed windows that can be opened. Closing both sections wof window would reduce external noise. Most rooms face away from Bourke Street and the tram lines.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As expected.

Colin from Brisbane, Australia
20 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice small hotel, good location, car parking a little way a way. I liked the small restaurant and mini lounge with the library.

Larry from Palmerston North, New Zealand
19 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic, great reception staff. Trang is so friendly and a great assett to The Alto. Love the free massage room and 24 expresso and hot chocolate. Will be back next time we visit Melbourne.

Krystel from Townsville, Australia
18 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and welcoming.

Yvonne from Invercargill, New Zealand
18 August 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT