Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent staff and location

Lisa from Seattle, United States
11 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Another comfortable and relaxing stay at Alto - keep up the good work!

Nick from Alvor, Portugal
11 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We booked this for our wedding which was held directly across the street so had a full day or bridal party chaos with hair and make-up artists and bridesmaids filling the room but it never felt as cramped as I would have expected. The staff were super helpful in ensuring we had enough chairs and drinks for everyone. I couldn't be happier with our stay.

Eliza from Melbourne, Australia
03 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Will stay here again when next in Melbourne. Staff were lovely, room very clean and comfortable. Only issue was that we were asked to pay for a beer from the mini bar which we did not take, the staff member did not charge us, but it was a bit odd that we were asked in the first place - we wonder if the cleaner mixed up the rooms?

Holly from Adelaide, Australia
02 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, helpful staff, comfortable room.

Ian from Wellington, New Zealand
02 January 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Despite closing both windows, still could hear the trains from Outside. Parking code supposed to work for two days but expired after 24 hours and we had to call the hotel reception to get a new code, incurring international call charges as the call was made from a Singapore-based handphone number. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Breakfast was tasty. Excellent idea to have guest laundry facilities provided, which is fairly rare in Melbourne city.

Lester from Singapore, Singapore
31 December 2016

4 of our 50 rooms face Bourke Street where trams run. While all rooms have double glazed windows to minimise sound there may be some minor sounds in these rooms.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. The staff make this hotel. The welcome back choclates are lovely touch. Breakfast is awesome.

Denise from Melbourne, Australia
31 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ideal position as we were in Melbourne to see COLDPLAY at Etihad Stadium. Bed very comfortable.

Angela from Adelaide, Australia
18 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Made to feel welcome, like one of the family. Very clean with friendly and efficient staff. Rooms very quite particularly considering central location. Also having opening window as an alternative to air conditioning, weather permitting, was a plus. Found not able to access food after 9 pm considering daylight saving - not dark until about 9, was only issue. Other eateries close by also did not serve meals after 9 except of course fast food outlets or bar snacks from nearby hotels, When we did eat at the restaurant the food was delicious.

Christopher from Melbourne, Australia
17 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

hotel was perfect, great location, very friendly welcoming staff we will most certainly be staying again ! Thankyou

Dina from Melbourne, Australia
13 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place to stay close to Trams, Etihad stadium, casino and walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

Shirley from Pertrh, Australia
12 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great second stay. Will be staying again our next trip to Melbourne.

Jean from Brisbane, Australia
06 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic as always

David from Sydney, Australia
01 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the room and the soaps etc in the room. Ugh better than little plastic bottles, the staff were kind and helpful. The reading room was beautiful and we loved the tea coffee and hot chocolate in the lounge.

Joanne from Mount Cole Creek, Australia
01 December 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location for our first visit to Melbourne to see the city and very convenient for arrival by bus from Airport and departure by bus to Hall's Gap.

Sidney from Bend, Oregon, Usa, United States
27 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the location, shame about parking, great staff and first rate service. Will use it again and recommend.

Geoff from Perth Wa, Australia
22 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant.

Gwenneth from Melbourne, Australia
22 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location was good and the rooms had everything you needed.

Amelia from Sydney, Australia
21 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed it.

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
20 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very easy and efficient with friendly staff

Ashleigh from Melbourne, Australia
19 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very comfortable stay and on the whole we were made to feel very welcome. We only had 1 experience when we wanted a coffee at 9:35 in the evening and distinctly got the impression that we were in the staff member's way and she wanted to go home. Other than that all the staff were exceptional.

Cath from Perth, Australia
16 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto before and would stay again. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms have up to date decor and are spotlessly clean. Beds are very comfortable. Love the personal touches of real plants in the room that are looked after and healthy and the offer of free coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lounge for guests, oh and the fruit. The whole experience is one of comfort and feeling at home. The environmental waste control was excellent to see. Dining Room staff were welcoming and the breakfast good value. Thanks again to the Management and Staff of the Alto

Adele from Melbourne, Australia
16 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was the 2nd time i have stayed here. Very helpful and pleasure staff, beds great wil be my go to pace when staying in the city.

Kevin from Melbourne, Australia
13 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable, good value. I would come back again.

Wayne from Brisbane, Australia
01 November 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Room is very clean and well maintained. Keep it up.

Beng from Melbourne, Australia
28 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have travelled a lot and I have say that all the staff are amongst the best we have come across. The Cooks, reception staff and cleaners everyone is very helpful polite and friendly. They also do one best breakfasts. Great selection and well prepared.

Elisabeth from Woodside Beach, Australia
28 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good. Staff friendly and helpful . The room was ready when i arrived. Breakfast was good , and a good variety of choices. The staff at breakfast were very happy and cheerful. Overall a good experience again.

Norman from Brisbane, Australia
25 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always love coming back and staying at the Alto.

Kellie from Donald, Australia
18 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

safe and cozy

Anna from .........................................., United States
13 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We've stayed at Alto several times and always enjoy our stay. It is well located on the Free Tram line, next to Southern Cross Station and a walk if you want to the city center. staff are always friendly and helpful and the beds are great. We always have a great time here.

Jodi-Ann from Ballito, South Africa
11 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient and fuss free

IAN from Singapore, Singapore
11 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely stay overall. Great breakfeasts, great beds and rooms.

Ane from Hamilton, New Zealand
10 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel. Really lovely place away from home. Central. Trams out the front which was fab. Great rooms, excellent bed and pillows, very clean, all staff were friendly and very helpful from the waitress staff in the breakfast dinning (buffet excellent value), front desk and even the room cleaning staff. Very impressed with the hotel as it felt quaint and homely- not sterile like the big chain hotels. 100% will recommend this to others and we will stay here again next time in Melbourne.

Nina from Gold Coast, Australia
03 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great to stay at a hotel that takes its environmental commitments seriously. Thanks!

Kathryn from Hobart, Australia
03 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

GOOD

Jaroslaw from Launceston, Australia
03 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thanks, great stay, great food, great staff in a central location. Thanks for the 24-hour tea and apples.

Christopher from Gainesville Florida, United States
02 October 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Foxtel in lounge area difficult to use due to box stored in a different area of the room. The staff were friendly and very helpful, which made our short stay enjoyable.

Irene from Melbourne, Australia
28 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I enjoy the included wifi, simple but sufficient breakfast menu and location close to public transport. The hotel's green credentials and reasonable prices make it an easy recommendation.

Simon from Brisbane, Australia
28 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, comfortable rooms and wonderful, helpful staff. Can't ask for more than that.

Anea from Brisbane, Australia
28 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were wonderful. Quiet unobtrusive but there when you needed them. Breakfast was great. I only have a small appetite so apologies to the kitchen.

Margaret from Perth, Australia
27 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, great value for family of 5

Paul from Perth, Australia
26 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly helpful staff, rooms clean and set up per profile ( bedding needs). Love the apples in the foyer. Like the eco friendliness and the location. Easy to get to areas around the CBD and access to transport to other areas right outside the door. Great venue and always recommend to friends. Thanks.

Julie from Wollongong, Australia
26 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very convenient and comfortable

Philip from Warrnambool, Australia
24 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect for our requirements - 2 ladies travelling for a work conference. Bedroom each, bathroom each. Staff very freidnly & helpful. thank you :)

Vicki from Launceston, Australia
21 September 2016

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable short stay. Staff were very helpful. Love the energy efficient and sustainability initiatives. Only small suggestion would be better coffee downstairs or plunge coffee available in the room. That could be charge to room.

Fiona from Sydney, Australia
16 September 2016

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT