Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A nice alternative to the larger hotel chains. Noise was an issue initially but addressed by very accommodating staff.

Greg from Perth, Australia
25 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it

Anne from Adelaide, Australia
25 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved this hotel - especially the environmental focus and the full kitchen.

Maureen from Melbourne, Australia
22 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable

Anne from Hobart, Australia
20 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Experience good, staff friendly.

Rosalba from Perth, Australia
20 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Alto is a great location, was very clean and the bed and pillow were really comfy. Slightly poky but if you are not spending a great deal of time in your room not a problem. Staff serving the breakfasts were very nice but the Reception staff were hit and miss. For example, we come in during the evening and stand at the lift and look over and a few of them a few times just looked at their computer screens rathre than say Hi, had a good evening etc. Seemed rather surly. Plus, you'd think they would be looking up at who is around anyway from a security perspective! We enjoyed our stay for sure.

Gwen from Perth, Australia
19 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, comfy bed, nice, clean room. Love the free espresso machine & the free relaxation room with the lovely massage chairs. The staff were polite & helpful, particularly Andrew on Reception, who was an absolute pleasure to deal with. He was so polite & friendly & very happy to help us & give us tips on things to do. I have already recommended my parents to stay there on their trip in January & this will now be my choice for all of our trips to Melbourne.

Melanie from Spreyton, Australia
18 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall everything was OK,Big problem was very loud group of young people underneath rooms window in the alley.They were there on and off until 4,30 AM Sunday.It is out of your hands,but it doesn't make it acceptable. Regards

Branislav from Perth, Australia
17 November 2014

While we may not be able to take direct action for people on public land our reception is open 24 hours a day to assist wherever possible. In this instance if we were made aware of the disturbance we would have contacted relevant authorities as well as making a direct request for the people to be considerate or move on. On review of our CCTV while people walked/ran in the rain along the street / lane there there was a a group of people in the areas from 4:20 to 4:30am.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always enjoy it. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very nice and its convenient.

Eliza from Melbourne, Australia
17 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All staff were helpful and pleasant. They met all of my needs

Peta from Albury, Australia
15 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great stay. Very good service and nice rooms

Sean from Thornbury, Australia
15 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Room a little small but all else was great. Thank you,

Marthe from New York, United States
15 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always excellent

Joe from Randwick, Australia
14 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Outstanding service, staff went out of their way to make sure things were right. Even when we were waiting for a pick up which was late, they showed concern and came out to the street to inform us of the late arrival. Wonderful and convenient place. Loved the GREEN attitude,

Edward from Allentown, United States
13 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good! Btw, my room was an ordinary king, not a one bed spa appt.

Jim from Singapore, Singapore
13 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Rooms were very clean. Only problem was a couple of really sketchy towels which housekeeping should have noticed not to put out. Generous towel numbers, toilet tissue, ie washroom amenities were generous....no "scarcity anxiety" One major problem. NO CLOTHES STORAGE other than a few hangers. There were two deep but narrow shelves, not well suited to storing and seeing clothing, and these were both filled with bedding so I kept having to open my suitcase every time I needed something.

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
13 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thanks again for another comfortable and enjoyable stay. I find your rooms comfortable and clean, the emphasis on environmental measures is excellent (and unusual - more hotels should take your lead), and your staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. Thank you.

Madeline from Ballarat, Australia
12 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I will definitely stay again. Perfect position for me to stay. Normally 4-5 days. Great facilities for single person who wants to go out or stay in for meals etc.

Graeme from Sydney, Australia
11 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location!

John from Melbourne, Australia
10 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Came down for a gaming convention (Pax) and was surprised to see how close the tram stop was outside. Made the entire week so easy to get around. The rooms in the hotel were a comfortable retreat after very long days. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. Breakfast daily downstairs also made it easy to eat and run. Check in and out was easy, and the staff were lovely.

Richard from Brisbane, Australia
10 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we enjoyed our stay very much very friendly staff excellent beds THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Uwe from Homburg, Germany
09 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we enjoyed our stay very much very friendly staff excellent beds THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Martin from Neustadt, Germany
09 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable short stay great hotel ideally situated to explore Melbourne

Mary from Melbourne, Australia
08 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Most enjoyable. Location perfect.

Shirley from Brisbane, Australia
08 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent experience, felt right at home, had a great time. Many thanks! Was recommended to you by a friend and would do the same myself.

Aidan from Sydney, Australia
08 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We regularly stay at the Alto, it has great access to Southern Cross railway station as well as tram stops. The hotel is well appointed and very quite.

Mark from Biloela, Australia
08 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good hotel, excellent facilities. It isn't cheap but you get what you pay for I suppose...I would stay here again if I cone back to Melbourne.

Simon from Melbourne, Australia
06 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic hotel. My only observation was that the carpet on the stairs is worn and looks tatty, but this minor point aside... The staff were wonderful, the rooms lovely and our stay, whilst short, was excellent. 100% recommend to others and would stay again.

Matt from Melbourne, Australia
05 November 2014

refurbishment plans are well underway. We are waiting on manufacturer of our custom designed, natural fiber carpet
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent except you could hear people other people The walls are too thin.

Will from Melbourne, Australia
05 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alto Hotel. We found all staff extremely helpful. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. We had a quiet room and the location was perfect. Will definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

Stephen from Brisbane, Australia
04 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were so impressed by the staff, cleanliness and facilities. We loved the green initiatives Alto has undertaken too, and that they're able to make these changes while still offering very reasonable rates.

Matthew from Perth, Australia
04 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

comfortable stay

Annalee from Sydney, Australia
03 November 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ok and would stay again. Breakfast included was great and easy. Easy to get from the bus and airport.

Lisa from San Diego, United States
31 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice room, friendly staff, good location

Graeme from Sydney, Australia
31 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We visited with friends from America, and the hotel was perfect for our requirements. The space was compact, but everything we needed was included.

David from Deviot, Tas, Australia
29 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

One of the best things was talking to Gary before coming and explaining why we were visiting Melbourne - personable and helpful.

Anne from Melbourne, Australia
29 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely break close to attractions. Lounge not that comfortable bearable . Staff very obliging, friendly & great knowledge of getting around the city

Colleen from Camden, Australia
28 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All staff were friendly and helpful, would rccomend this hotel to other people.

Debra from Perth, Australia
28 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Smooth check in..plenty of information provided. Enjoyed some of the restaurant suggestions and appreciated the comments re their location. Breakfast excellent.

Bevan from Perth, Australia
27 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

your housekeeping staff are exceptional at their job....room presentation was fantastic....will definitely return as we know your staff do an excellent job.

Mark from Christchurch, New Zealand
27 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love staying at Alto Hotel On Bourke. It is our favourite hotel in Melbourne. It is clean and quiet. We like the fact that it is not filled with noisy, children. We always recommend your establishment to our friends who are traveling to Melbourne.

James from Brisbane, Australia
26 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Found it to be good in location and good walking distance to most areas also very handy to the sky bus terminal

Marlene from Whakatane, New Zealand
26 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It has been a wonderful stay with the train station just 2-3 minutes away. Their price was affordable within the CBD area. Staffs are warm and friendly.

Vanessa from Singapore, Singapore
25 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Quiet, comfortable, cozy. We love that your hotel is Eco-friendly. Your staff was very kind, patient and helpful. We could not have picked a more ideal hotel and location to attend the International Convention of Jehovah's Witnesses at Etihad Stadium! You helped make our trip unforgettable. Thank you!!!

Kristine from San Antonio, United States
22 October 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were welco ming and informative.The complimentary coffee and apples are are appreciated and great idea! Having a great place to stay for the JW International convention made the 4 days a great experience. Thank you!

Kathleen from Brisbane, Australia
22 October 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT