Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great

Rosalind from Melbourne, Australia
25 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic

Duncan from Gisborne, Australia
24 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staffs are friendly and excellent services and facilities

Tan from Melbourne, Australia
24 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My partner and I stayed for three nights at the Alto and had a wonderful time. The beds were super comfy and the location is only a two minute walk from Southern Cross Station so it was perfect for us. One of the biggest reasons we chose the Alto was the environmental focus of the hotel, we only wish that there had been more vegan options (some soy milk in the fridge instead of just dairy would have been lovely). No complaints really, except that the coffee plunger in our room still had remnants of tea from a previous guest, ew.

Tahlia from Adelaide, Australia
23 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had an excellent stay at the Alto. Cannot fault the facilities or sevice from all staff. Have already recommended to colleagues and friends and will definately make the Alto our accommodation of choice the next time we visit Melbourne.

Samantha from Perth, Australia
22 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great experience!!!!!!!!!!!

CARLOS from Quito, Ecuador
22 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent.

John from Blackalls Park, Australia
21 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleased with all aspects of our stay at the Alto.Would certainly consider staying again.Liked closeness to Skybus Terminal also.

Catharine from Reading, United Kingdom
20 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We received a warm welcome from Andrew and he was very helpful in addressing our questions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only down side was checking out. We were running late unfortunately and received a phone call followed by a supervisor entering our room. A little over zealous we thought and nothing we have ever experienced before and we travel extensively . Checking out was nowhere near as pleasant as checking in!

Guest From from Cairns, Australia
19 March 2013

Our internal communication was not efficient as we did not co-ordinate between our front desk and housekeepers once it was established that a late checkout was required and you were unnecessarily disturbed twice.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, this was a great stay. You'll be seeing me again.

Cameron from Sydney, Australia
18 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A great combination of value, location, efficiency & comfort. And I appreciated the upgrade!

Stewart from Hobart, Australia
16 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable bed & linens. Appreciated the water carafe & cold glasses as well as real milk for coffee. Charley was very helpful with information & restaurant suggestions. Grateful for room facing the alley as it was quiet. Nice wine for value before going out to dinner - we wanted a bit more than offered at the hotel. Understand that it was just before race weekend but still a bit difficult to take the huge jump in rate for our 2nd night; especially as we had booked our 1st night ages ago - some concession would have been appreciated. Good value for under $200., not so much for nearly $300.

Hampton from Grass Valley, United States
15 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very convenient to the office Really appreciate the environmental stance the hotel is taking

Kate from Brisbane, Australia
15 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was clean and served my purpose.

Ama from Adelaide, Australia
14 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An absolutely fantastic find on the internet. Four family females from the USA, Aus and UK had a wonderful time in Melbourne made perfect by our stay at the Alto. There was nothing we could find fault with. Staff were incredibly kind, helpful, pleasant, and always went the extra mile for us. The location was spot on for trains, trams and some great eating places. Our 2 bed apartment had everything in it that we needed. The air con was brilliant, (we were there in the middle of a heatwave), it was immaculately clean, lovely comfortable beds, good free wifi and very quiet in the evenings, plus free coffee and lovely fresh apples 24/7. I have travelled extensively and it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Would we come and stay again, absolutely yes, would we recommend it, absolutely yes. Thank you to the staff at Alto for helping make our special once in a lifetime family holiday so special. We also admire your 'green policies' well done.

Guest From from Brisbane, Australia
14 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location for airport transfers and city access. Staff extremely courteous. Catered for soy and gluten-free preference. Room a little cramped, but not much time spent in it anyway.

David from San Rafael, United States
14 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Helpful and friendly staff

George from Melbourne, Australia
14 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, central to all activities we were attending during our stay. The staff were friendly and the room was great. Will certainly stay again next time we are in Melbourne. Enjoyed the free coffee and hot chocolate that was available in the lounge, a great way to start and finish your day.

Karen from Salisbury Heights, Australia
13 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. The staff was most helpful and the location was excellent (two minutes of walking from the skybus terminus and 30" to the tramstop, which takes you to all major sites in less than 10 minutes).the studio was very clean and quiet and spacious enough for us.

Peter from Gent, Belgium
12 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay with you. Room was a bit small by the time we got our two cases in there but other than that everything was spot on.

Lynda from Waipara, New Zealand
12 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very helpful and friendly staff, a nice experience !

Barry from Melbourne, Australia
12 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great to see that this hotel is reducing the environmental impact of our stay in lots of small but important ways. Free wifi is also a plus point.

Stephen from Geelong, Australia
11 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very clean, great location only a stones throw from Southern Cross Station and the Skybus. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We spend a lot of time in hotels for our work and this one was exceptional, broadband very fast, breakfast great. I have already recommended this hotel to a colleague. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
11 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Close to Southern Cross for trains, and trams nearly just by the door in Bourke Street.

Stephen from Christchurch, New Zealand
10 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great welcome on arrival - room had everything we could wish for - very clean and comfortable - breakfasts were amazing - lots of choice and tasty. I would say practically perfect.

June from Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
07 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Meets my needs well..very happy with the hotel..have been visiting quarterly or so for the last 18 months and will continue to do so.

Jim from Singapore, Singapore
07 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

No problems whatsoever

Warren from Hobart, Australia
06 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Jeremy from Melbourne, Australia
06 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location. Staff welcoming, and helpful with questions re directions and trains. Room was excellent. Good to have coathangers that can be taken out of the wardrobe. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Good water pressure. Very good breakfast; waitresses friendly, good chef. Loved the rooftop honey.

LYNETTE from Brisbane, Australia
05 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel is well placed if visitors require public transport. We were visiting for the air show so it was handy to be so close to Sothern Cross station. It's also a reasonable walk into the centre of the city. As we discover later, the free city circle tram stops not far away. Cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff impressed!

STEPHEN from Sydney, Australia
05 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Leonie from Sydney, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

overall good experience

Tomas from Melbourne, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful, courteous service. We will be back.

Wilhelmus from Adelaide, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Made me feel at home after a seriously delayed flight and calmed me with a glass of water and helpful directions to an imminent appointment all of which was much appreciated.

Michael from Sydney, Australia
04 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The breakfasts were excellent. Very convenient to transportation. Staff very helpful. Room very quiet and comfortable.

Katherine from Hampton, United States
02 March 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location. Lovely quiet stay. Beautiful breakfast. Well equipped room

Jennifer from Brisbane, Australia
28 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was fine, staff went out of their way to make sure I got 2 x queen beds and not queen plus singles. Room was very noisy though, from airconditioner units outside.

Craig from Geraldton, Australia
28 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bathroom a tad small but loved being able to open the windows and go out on to the balcony

Cheryl from Melbourne, Australia
27 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Position was perfect for us, near Southern Cross Station, Southbank and South Wharf. We were so impressed we have booked again next February. Each year we have a sisters weekend (There's 6 of us), so it was perfect for us with three bedrooms and three bathrooms.

Gaye from Melbourne, Australia
26 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were very helpful and assisted us with any queries we had, especially when my husband was unwell. Many thanks to Gary especially!

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
26 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff when we checked in were amazing! They gave us maps and told us what festivities were going on in the city that weekend. They were helpful with connecting to the wifi and patient when we were running late with checking out due to one of my friends unable to find some of her belongings and then unable to close the suitcase!

Idylle from Melbourne, Australia
25 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were there four nights, took the breakfast deal. Good hot breakfast &buffet. Very nice staff. Central to everything, trams, trains, buses, restaurants. Has washer/dryer facilies too. Very good value for the money. Made our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend this place.

Pradheep from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have a great time. Lovely place to stay

Benjamin from Pakenham, Australia
24 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Both my mother and I enjoyed our stay at the Alto. The unit was very clean and well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful. Also, we found the Altoís close proximity to Southern Cross station and trams into the city fantastic.

Benjamin from Sydney, Australia
23 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly & helpful, room was comfortable & clean. The relaxation room was a real bonus. Thankyou for making our stay in Melbourne more enjoyable.

Wayne from Perth, Australia
23 February 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT