Alto Hotel On Bourke

2776 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my hotel of choice when I come to Melbourne. I like the retro feel and the attention to detail in the rooms.

Robin from Christchurch, New Zealand
05 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay. The location was great, and everyone was very nice. The free Wifi in the room was also a big plus.

Ada from Fort Lauderdale, United States
04 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was perfect. Rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly.

Olbrechts from Rotterdam, Netherlands
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Despite the fact that we've arrived quite late on Christmas Eve we were greeted by friendly staff at reception and were given detailed instructions on where to park our car as well as city map and some suggestion on where to have dinner. Our room was quite small and very simple but I knew what to expect from online reviews I read before booking the hotel. Overall the room was very clean but there was a bit of hair in the bathroom (nothing worth calling a cleaning lady but it is my personal pet hate so I still felt a bit disappointed). I loved the fact that CBD and Docklands were within walking distance so we could easily stroll everywhere. Free apples and wonderful library space were a very pleasant bonus at the end of the evening, and the breakfast was lovely. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a simple, centrally-located accommodation.

Olga from Randwick, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

absolutely loved the hotel. Being environentally conscious was the icing on the cake. Only negative was the tight parking.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our stay at the Alto, as always, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful with all sorts of questions, the food is delicious and the apartments are excellent. We plan to stay there every time we come to Melbourne! :)

LINDA from Mackay, Qld, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. The staff were courteous, the room very comfortable, and the location was great.

Malcolm from Sydney, Australia
31 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Easy to deal with, room was exactly how it was described online. Great stay, thanks.

Damian from Adelaide, Australia
31 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was clean & convenient for the purpose of our brief stay

Grant from Sydney, Australia
30 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

FELT VERY COMFERTABLE AND RELAXED

GEORGE from Cairns, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had read very favourable reviews, and had high expectations - all of which were fulfilled. The apples, the library and the coffee machine were excellent. We also liked the soap and shampoo dispensers and the office/computer nook. The service and location were first rate.

Mark from Sydney, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location to city and transport. Breakfast just right. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again in future.

COLIN from Hobart, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

extremely intelligent hotel policy

Cristiano from Milan, Italy
28 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only stayed for two nights but they were very restful nights. Staff was very knowledgable and extremely helpful. My room was cleaned after my first night which I was not expecting. Did find some things that seemed to have been overlooked when cleaned before my arrival (cups in the bathroom) but it was more than made up for by everything else. Great location and friendly service!

Van from Melbourne, Australia
27 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great reception service and the upgrade to a studio was a bonus. Room facilities were very good - nice to have a refrigerator that was silent; bathroom small but had everything we needed.

Douglas from Yaroomba, Australia
24 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff, great rooms, comfortable stay. I'd stay once again.

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
22 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was really nice.

Shana from Melbourne, Australia
21 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

WE always enjoy ourselves, location is convenient and facilities excellent. Staff very professional and helpful

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
20 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

from the booking process to check in /out our experience at Alto was amazing. the loft apartment was roomy ,spotless, and had all the modern comforts you expect. we loved the coffees we had in its cosy lounge. we regret not having the time to try their breakfast and dinners. the manager gary can't do enough for you. thank you all for a great stay.

Ulrike from Palm Beach, Australia
20 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Absolutely amazing. The only thing I can fault are the pillows, but you can't please everyone! Loved that it was environmentally friendly, and that an effort was made to sound proof the rooms. Will most certainly be back.

Fiona from Melbourne, Australia
20 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very friendly and helpful

Elizabeth from London, United Kingdom
19 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Glynis from Melb, Australia
19 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All was fantastic. Road noise was very high - not sure what can be done about that. Love the fact it is a green hotel

Kyra from Melbourne, Australia
18 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was charming, well located for our purposes, and good value, as the excellent breakfast was included. The young man on duty when we checked in was very helpful, and the room, though smallish, very efficient and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent, though Rachel, the waitress, was not particularly welcoming or attentive. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the Alto to other.

Robert from Mobile, United States
18 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a wonderful time. Would stay here again for sure!

Ross from Gold Coast, Australia
17 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

third visit. will visit again. great property. Green is the right thing to do.

Henry from Hobe Sound, United States
16 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto is in an excellent location for access to Southern Cross Station or Etihad Stadium. It was a comfortable, quiet hotel that met all my needs, I would stay there again.

Maree from Launceston, Australia
16 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, nice apartment, with friendly receptionist

Ah from Kulim, Kedah, Malaysia
15 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, would recommend it to friends.

Lucy from Warrnambool, Australia
14 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Ludovic from Melbourne, Australia
14 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The place was set up for people to be able to relax. the chairs were great!!!!

Jim from Melbourne, Australia
13 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience had by all

JOYCE from Sydney, Australia
13 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Positively relaxing

Yvette from Melbourne, Australia
12 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was a fly in and out, but as always staff lovely. Hubby loves his breakfast, cooked to order. So convenient for skybus and getting around, everything just a stroll away. We're wondering if we should stop recommending as all who have stayed say they will again......and we don't want to loose our Melbourne nest.

Gail from Perth, Australia
11 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was expecting the one bedroom appt to be slightly larger for what it cost. The staff were very pleasant. Handy and quiet location on the tram line. Did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on that.

Cushla from Melbourne, Australia
11 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very positive experience, couple of minor problems dealt with swiftly. Only slight niggle was the water carafe in the fridge needed a thorough clean as there was a deposit build up on the bottom.

Stephen from Read, United Kingdom
09 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very comfortable stay. the staff were pleasant & and very helpful. amenaties were good. i would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Gail from Melbourne, Australia
09 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was good. I was disappointed with the towel policy. Despite following the request to hang towels if I wanted to be eco friendly my towels were all changed. I also got a towel put in my room that had a massive hole in it. I handed this in at reception upon my departure. Liner in bin was not replaced when room was serviced - minor attention to detail. generally speaking the room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast menu was extensive and very nice!

Kristen from Hamilton, New Zealand
09 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable place to stay. Service was excellent and we certainly intend to stay there again in the future.

Les from Melbourne, Australia
09 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it, rooms on the small side, perhaps on my next visit I will upgrade my room, and I will definately return and recommend to any friends looking for accommodation in Melbourne!

Amy from Melbourne, Australia
07 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great time, the staff were lovely and very friendly thanks for helping us enjoy our trip

Christie from Mooroopna, Australia
06 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good experience, staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful to us and my child. The location is central but the key to Alto Hotel being a great experience is their reception staff, and friendly housekeeping staff. Well done to your team- from the General Manager down- thanks for a lovely visit to Melbourne- we shall definitely stay again on our next visit.

Guest From from Northern New South Wales, Australia
06 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent as always.

Ian from Perth, Australia
06 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was lovely. the reception staff on Friday night and Sunday morning were exceptional. the facilities great. a liltte disappointed that the staff on Sat night asked us to wait till he got his coffe prior to serving us, but pleasant with it. disappointing that even though we left our towels hanging to reuse, we were given all new linen. other than those 2 minor things the place was great;. would definately recommend to frientds

Allan from Belmont, Australia
05 December 2011

Our stadard is to leave towels if they are left on hangers. In fact we usually get praise for following through on this. We do have some new staff memebers which may require some follow up training. Will also follow up on caffine habits of our evening reception staff.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have stayed there once before and so chose it for a weekend that my best friend was coming over from Tasmania and I was meeting her in Melbourne. Perfect location seeings she came in on the skybus and I came in on the tram.

Carol from Mortlake And Devonport, Australia
05 December 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62     NEXT