Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Mum raved about the receptionist- Lauren I think she said her name was- the only negative was loss of hot water on Tuesday morning so no shower- but that didn't worry her too much- the water was back for that night

Cathie from Melbourne, Australia
11 November 2011

Thank you for your review. The hotel water issues has us puzzled. On the report of hotel water issues we immediately checked the room and found that all was working correctly. We did not have any other issues throughtout the hotel which is supplied via the same water system.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. It was great to have access to the resturant /dining room on sunday night.Thank you

Lucy from Melbourne, Australia
09 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. Staff were lovely and friendly and location was great.

Katie from Brisbane, Australia
09 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were excited we had been upgraded to a spa suite! Room was very pleasant, bathroom was excellent with all we required. There was a bit of noise from the street as our room was on Bourke Street side and with windows open. Other than that was really good.

Tania from Melbourne, Australia
07 November 2011

We are glad you liked the upgrade. All of our rooms have windows that can be opend for fresh air, however they will let noise of the city if left open. Once both sections are closed the city noises are left behind.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very helpful and friendly staff, great location and green credentials! I will recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Elissa from Perth, Australia
02 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a very nice stay in Melbourne. The staff are exceedingly helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Our one bedroom Apt was fine. The only negative was the minimalist decor--there was no space to store things in the bathroom (no undersink counter) or in the bedroom (no dresser) which meant we had to leave everything in the suitcases for our entire stay.

Brian from Melbourne, Australia
01 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent - loved it.

Joe from Regina, Canada
01 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was very cosy, homely and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

Mary from Brisbane, Australia
31 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff and the rooms are contemporary and clean. Excellent place to stay in the city. Such a great location.

Nicole from Wodonga, Australia
30 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Webb from Launceston, Australia
30 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Sensational, very friendly and comfortable, lovely decor, quiet, central, excellent restuarant, great having self-serve coffee available, wonderful breakfast and dinner menu.

Ian from Hobart, Australia
27 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had Great experience and its close to every thing.

Emily from Sydney, Australia
27 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the free internet and the guest laundry. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Larry from Everett, United States
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Apart from the key not working necessitating a few trips back to reception, the stay was excellent.

Jean from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good

Kevin from Taupo, New Zealand
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed. Staff very helpful. Pippa on front desk a real delight. Nothing was too much trouble and she has a lovely nature. The gentleman in the lounge was also a lovely man

Bowerman from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a pleasure. I know I will be looked after and the staff are wonderful

Guest From from Launceston, Australia
25 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were exceptionally helpful, professional and friendly.Staying at the Alto was perfect. We enjoyed the apples provided at the entrance to the restaurant for breakfast as we had an early flight to catch. Thank you Deborah.

Harrison from Melbourne, Australia
24 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Surprisingly pleasant, the room was much nicer than i anticipated. The free WiFi was a very unexpected bonus.

Trevor from Sydney, Australia
23 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

best hotel in Melbourne!

Pauline from Melbourne, Australia
23 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Sarah from Gerringong, Australia
23 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always look forward to staying at the Alto on Bourke. The reception staff are very helpful. It is wonderful to be able to open the window to get some outside air. Thank you for your attention to these sort of details. :-)

Claire from Melbourne, Australia
21 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic place to stay - would definitely stay again. The room was wonderful and large. The massage chairs and coffee machine were fabulous. Thank you for a perfect experience.

Cari from Melbourne, Australia
20 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic as I've come to expect. Perhaps have a rating for food as well - the breakfast bruschetta is excellent and the dinner is good also.

Vicki from Adelaide, Australia
19 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I generally found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant barring one. He was not friendly when I checked in (perhpas it was late in the night) nor helpful when I asked if more than 2 computer deivces can access the wi-fi. He simply said no. But then to my delight the next day when I asked a different staff if this was possible, she said yes! Perhaps, he was not having a good day? Overall, I had a very good stay. Thank you

Michelle from Singapore, Singapore
18 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was only there for a short time but found everything to be great. I would return both on my own (hotel room) and with family and friends in larger rooms.

Elizabeth from Sydney, Australia
17 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent accommodation and location

Maureen from Melbourne, Australia
17 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good. Second stay and will return

Henry from Melbourne, Australia
16 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love the Alto, second stay and will be back again.

Kiri from Wollongong, Australia
16 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location was great. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Apartment very clean and had everything we needed. Bit noisy in the mornings with all the building work going on at the back of the hotel.

Barbara from Adelaide, Australia
15 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a fantastic stay - everything was great and this will be me place to stay in Melbourne! thanks

Louise from Sydney, Australia
14 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed our short stay

Valerie from Hobart, Australia
14 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really like the Alto. I like the philosophy, location and low key nature of the hotel. I did request a quiet room and didnt realise until I was in bed that the trams outside were very, very noisy. Yes, the windows once shut are very effective in reducing the noise, however, opening windows is one of the reasons I have chosen to say at the Alto this time and in the past. Last time I was further down the corridor. Next time, it would be great to be placed further away from street noise as requested.

Pamela from Auckland, New Zealand
11 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were really nice and very helpful, the service was really great and we enjoyed our stay with the kids. The hotel was close to everything and we will definately come back.

Sharleen from Melbourne, Australia
11 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Positive experience. Location, comfort. staff, service all commendable.

Guest From from Chathill, United Kingdom
11 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A good nightys sleep in pleasant surroundings. Great breakfast.

JOHN from Melbourne, Australia
10 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Love the location and the staff are excellent, always helpful and accommodating. Rooms are clean, well serviced and quiet. Great breakfast.

Clifflynton from Perth, Australia
10 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with the accommodation, not sure if the mattress was a bit firm as we woke up with aches on the side we slept but otherwise we found the staff to be helpful the location perfect and whole experience was outstanding. Thank you very much.

Sally from Mildura, Australia
09 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good experience!

Yanqin from Shanghai, China
08 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It's become our home away from home when in Melbourne and we recommend to friends and family for all the reasons above.

Gail from Armadale, Wa, Australia
06 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place, great staff, great extras. Our only concern is that the room was a little small for our big luggage but that was almost a non-event. Highly recommend the Alto to anyone visiting Melbourne.

Doug from Kelowna, Canada
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a fast and friendly check in and a pleasant stay.

Mark from Melbourne, Australia
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of service and the cleanliness of the whole hotel. Every detail had been thought of. I would highly recommend to people to stay at the Alto. We will be back!

Belinda from Melbourne, Australia
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

staff were fantastic and always helpful and knowledgable. Alto is close to everything we wanted to visit while in Melbourne. We're definitely coming back to Melb and when we do we won't hesitate to stay again at the Alto...p.s. great pizza around the corner at MPB!!

Paul from Lindfield, Australia
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay but missed view from windows - could only see next door wall.

Elizabeth from Sydney, Australia
03 October 2011

Alto Hotel is a low rise heritage listed building with a small frontage to Bourke Street and adjacent to Langs Lane. Most rooms are located on the side of the building overlooking Langs Lane. A portion of the Lane is narrow and the outlook from these rooms (a limited number of our rooms) is of the adjacent building. Being a boutique low rise hotel in a large city of tall buildings the outlook from most rooms is of the surrounding area and nearby buildings.
 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT