Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic as I've come to expect. Perhaps have a rating for food as well - the breakfast bruschetta is excellent and the dinner is good also.

Vicki from Adelaide, Australia
19 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I generally found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant barring one. He was not friendly when I checked in (perhpas it was late in the night) nor helpful when I asked if more than 2 computer deivces can access the wi-fi. He simply said no. But then to my delight the next day when I asked a different staff if this was possible, she said yes! Perhaps, he was not having a good day? Overall, I had a very good stay. Thank you

Michelle from Singapore, Singapore
18 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was only there for a short time but found everything to be great. I would return both on my own (hotel room) and with family and friends in larger rooms.

Elizabeth from Sydney, Australia
17 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent accommodation and location

Maureen from Melbourne, Australia
17 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good. Second stay and will return

Henry from Melbourne, Australia
16 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love the Alto, second stay and will be back again.

Kiri from Wollongong, Australia
16 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location was great. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Apartment very clean and had everything we needed. Bit noisy in the mornings with all the building work going on at the back of the hotel.

Barbara from Adelaide, Australia
15 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a fantastic stay - everything was great and this will be me place to stay in Melbourne! thanks

Louise from Sydney, Australia
14 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed our short stay

Valerie from Hobart, Australia
14 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really like the Alto. I like the philosophy, location and low key nature of the hotel. I did request a quiet room and didnt realise until I was in bed that the trams outside were very, very noisy. Yes, the windows once shut are very effective in reducing the noise, however, opening windows is one of the reasons I have chosen to say at the Alto this time and in the past. Last time I was further down the corridor. Next time, it would be great to be placed further away from street noise as requested.

Pamela from Auckland, New Zealand
11 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were really nice and very helpful, the service was really great and we enjoyed our stay with the kids. The hotel was close to everything and we will definately come back.

Sharleen from Melbourne, Australia
11 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Positive experience. Location, comfort. staff, service all commendable.

Guest From from Chathill, United Kingdom
11 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A good nightys sleep in pleasant surroundings. Great breakfast.

JOHN from Melbourne, Australia
10 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Love the location and the staff are excellent, always helpful and accommodating. Rooms are clean, well serviced and quiet. Great breakfast.

Clifflynton from Perth, Australia
10 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with the accommodation, not sure if the mattress was a bit firm as we woke up with aches on the side we slept but otherwise we found the staff to be helpful the location perfect and whole experience was outstanding. Thank you very much.

Sally from Mildura, Australia
09 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good experience!

Yanqin from Shanghai, China
08 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It's become our home away from home when in Melbourne and we recommend to friends and family for all the reasons above.

Gail from Armadale, Wa, Australia
06 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place, great staff, great extras. Our only concern is that the room was a little small for our big luggage but that was almost a non-event. Highly recommend the Alto to anyone visiting Melbourne.

Doug from Kelowna, Canada
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a fast and friendly check in and a pleasant stay.

Mark from Melbourne, Australia
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of service and the cleanliness of the whole hotel. Every detail had been thought of. I would highly recommend to people to stay at the Alto. We will be back!

Belinda from Melbourne, Australia
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

staff were fantastic and always helpful and knowledgable. Alto is close to everything we wanted to visit while in Melbourne. We're definitely coming back to Melb and when we do we won't hesitate to stay again at the Alto...p.s. great pizza around the corner at MPB!!

Paul from Lindfield, Australia
04 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay but missed view from windows - could only see next door wall.

Elizabeth from Sydney, Australia
03 October 2011

Alto Hotel is a low rise heritage listed building with a small frontage to Bourke Street and adjacent to Langs Lane. Most rooms are located on the side of the building overlooking Langs Lane. A portion of the Lane is narrow and the outlook from these rooms (a limited number of our rooms) is of the adjacent building. Being a boutique low rise hotel in a large city of tall buildings the outlook from most rooms is of the surrounding area and nearby buildings.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found the location, the staff and the total experience very good. I love being able to open windows and sliding doors, however the noise from the airconditioning motors on the building next door made it unbearable. We certainly appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff.

Pat from Perth, Australia
03 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found the hotel to be in a great location, and the facilities were well maintained and beautifully clean. Myself and my friend both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will happily recommend Alto to anyone planning on staying in Melbourne. We really appreciated being able to safely store luggage after our arrival (prior to check-in) and after our check out (prior to departure to airport). We were also very thankful that on the afternoon of our checkout we were still welcome to sit in the lobby, have a cuppa and relax before our journey home. Lauren was an absolute gem, but we found every single staff member to be cheerful and accomodating without being overbearing. Good service like yours can make a real difference to a travel experience. Thank you Alto.

Deborah from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really nice, clean and comfortable, and friendly, helpful staff. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Sarah from Bristol, United Kingdom
01 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our second time at Alto and I love it. Thank you to all staff for your hospitality and genuine friendliness. Gary and Lauren - thank you for letting me hang around for half the day before my appointment! Keep up the great work. Regards, Sally

Sally from Cairns, Australia
29 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The checkin staff were wonderful. Very helpful as I had 2 young children with me. I had pre organised a porta cot and it was all set up and ready to go - that never happens at other places! Great location, close to tram and train. I would definetly recommend it.

Jackie from Melbourne, Australia
29 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay, loved the masage chairs!

Michelle from Adelaide, Australia
28 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoy the Alto always. Great gym nearby, massage room great too. staff always a pleasure. Only thing is that in room- personally prefer a duvet to blankets and feather pillows. Also, air con sometimes can't get to blow hot...

Steve from Sydney, Australia
28 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable bed. Would have liked a bath in the bathroom instead of just a shower

Alison from Melbourne, Australia
28 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean and well arranged rooms. Pleasant experience.

Zoe from Melbourne, Australia
27 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

There was an initial wait of approximately 10 minutes at reception prior to check in due to there only being one person at reception and the phone constantly ringing. We arrived at approximately 2.30pm after booking online for a 2pm check in and we had another 1/2 hour wait as the room wasn't ready. These delays made it difficult with a 5 and 6 year old, the oldest being Autistic. Staff then made us comfortable in the relaxation room with massage recliners which was lovely.

Cheryl from Melbourne, Australia
27 September 2011

We are sorrry that there was delay in attending to you and having your room ready. We try to meet as many of our guests requests as possible however on some occasions when most guest request late check out it can conflict with arriving guests. We prioritise cleaning of rooms based on estmated arrival time. I noticed that your estimated arrival time was not transfered from the online booking to our reservation system, hence your room had not been prioritised. We apologise for the delay, I am glad that you were made comfortabel and utilised the massage chairs while you were waiting.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant. Helpful and personable staff. Wifi and coffee on tap were nice touches.

Caroline from Melbourne, Australia
27 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place, discovered via internet search and associated comments. ALL staff were wonderful. Breakfast and dinner chefs produced great meals. Not 'over the top' flash meals - just great meals. Meal prices and drinks prices were lower that most other places. Free internet and free massage chairs and free books (exchange) were all greatly appreciated. Again, all staff were wonderful.

Ian from Albury, Australia
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff. Clean, quiet rooms

Jeremy from Auckland, New Zealand
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good would use again. We had a couple of problems - lights now working and need more toilet paper but these were dealt with very promptly

Wayne from Adeliade, Australia
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our second visit, and so we knew what we were in for. The place is perfectly positioned for travellers, the hotel has wonderful facilities, and a charming restaurant which offers a fabulous daily breakfast - enough to keep you going for ages! Really appreciated my request for a large bed due to my husband being 6'6" being accommodated. It really does make a difference for him to have a good sleep. We will definitely return :)

Carol from Canterbury, New Zealand
26 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stay regularly and always find the staff very friendly and helpful. I frequently eat in the restaurant and the food is always very good and staff friendly.

Vicki from Canberra, Australia
24 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay, staff very helpful, food fantastic, a very enjoyable experience!

Emma from Dunedin, New Zealand
24 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alto Hotel. The hotel was well situated and close to popular attractions, entertainment and activities. The staff were excellent, very polite and only too happy to help. We were impressed with the little extra's for example the wi-fi access and complimentary breakfast and hot drinks. It is the little extras that can make a stay more memorable.

Simon from Brisbane, Australia
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always a great place to stay

Anne from Sydney, Australia
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great attentive service from the staff and they always addressed me by name. Love the cosy reading nook and the fire. Appreciated the endless coffee machine.. I got the flat pillows I asked for when booking thank you. the bowl of apples was great !

June from Christchurch, New Zealand
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As alwats- a wonderful stay

Darrell from Canberra, Australia
22 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfactory

Ian from Toowoomba, Australia
21 September 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very well appointed and comfortable rooms. Bathrooms reasonably tight so large people may have diificulty. Overall I was very impressed.

Roger from Melbourne, Australia
20 September 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT