Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay, location was the main rwason for staying at the Alto and it didn't let us down. Great experience, thanks

Paul from Hobart, Australia
14 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed two weeks and felt everything was nicely organized and prepared for us daily. Thank you for a fine stay. We will be back.

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
13 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great spot, easy walking distance to anything you need, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

Darryl from Calgary, Canada
12 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay, found it an ideal location, two bedroom apartment was great, everything you needed. Staff friendly and helpful.

Sue from Canberra, Australia
11 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant overall but found room size a bit small.Apart from the closet there was no bench space to put bits and pieces on.

Rodney from Nambour, Australia
11 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, good service and assistance. Trouble free.

Les from Melbourne, Australia
11 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice room, generally helpful people at reception, small window and not much natural light in the room was probably the only thing I didn't like, though I did like being able to open the window. (We were in room 204.)

Tricia from Melbourne, Australia
10 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The location is great. We appreciated the energy conservation focus. We missed having a window that reveals the weather outside and were disappointed in the tiny sink and lack of counter surface in the bathroom. The restaurant was lovely.

Marilyn from Melbourne, Australia
10 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

really good

Grant from Sydney, Australia
10 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This hotel is well siturated in the heart of Melbourne the staff and the service was above and beyond all expectations.We will be back.

RUSSELL from Brisbane, Australia
08 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved our time at your hotel, will stay again on our next visit to Melbourne.

Ross from Sydney, Australia
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable stay. Appreciated the well-equipped kitchenette. Wifi was stable and essential for finding information, something which many hotels don't offer or charge a fee for. Staff members are welcoming, friendly, helpful and professional. I didn't have to spend a single cent on transport because every main attraction was a pleasant walk from the hotel. Very thankful the skybus was so near. I loved the bathrooms. Very well-designed with thoughtful placements such as a bath towel hook just outside the shower stall, a multiple bar towel rack and a retractable clothes line. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Evonne from Singapore, Singapore
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff was very helpful. They answered email questions promptly before we arrived, checked us in efficiently and seemed to know who I was ie. I felt like they were expecting me as their guest. It was very nice.

Nicola from Melbourne, Australia
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a lovely room to come back to. Convenient, clean, efficient service. No complaints at all. I would definitely come back if I'm ever in town again.

Pinky from Sydney, Australia
07 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed at The Alto for 5 nights and really appreciated the helpfulness and understanding of the staff with my daughter who camed down sick during our stay. We loved the location, the cleanliness and the high level of maintenance of the property as it did not in anyway feel 'tired'. My son loved the buffet breakfast as did we. The inclusion of the parking bay with the room was a real bonus. The environmental statement this hotel is modelling is a credit and a role model for the future of inner city living and living generally. It is non intrusive but sincerely a large part of the hotel's personality. For us it is a real selling point of this hotel. As you can see we loved our stay at The Alto!

Mark from Perth, Australia
06 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. Overall a great stay.

Brett from Sydney, Australia
05 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Andrew was very helpful.

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
05 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location wise was excellent, treatment at reception excellent, room was small considering price charged. Breakfast was very good however despite best intentions breakfast staff were a little shy and staid. It was lacking in good morning, welcome how can I help please enjoy...it a little lifeless however they were pleasant...just need some training . however the bed was so wonderfully comfortable and the shower superb, 2 extremely important ingredients staying in a hotel

Tony from Newcastle, Australia
04 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay very pleasant,

Natasha from Melbourne, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nothing is over done - great work. Hallways could be a bit nicer - feels like some a very long and need a bit of a freshen-up.

Brett from Sydney, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic location. Brilliant sustainable ethos. Will definitely return. Thank you.

Mai from Launceston, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a very enjoyable weekend there. Everyone was helpful and the breakfasts were lovely but the waitress could have been friendlier.

Barry from Maitland Nsw, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. Very comfortable room, with minor disturbance from traffic noise (mostly trams).

Natalie from Sydney, Australia
03 December 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. Very friendly staff and welcoming

Trevor from Melbourne, Australia
30 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very helpful and room comfortable. Many thanks.

Elizabeth from Dunedin, New Zealand
29 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exceptional service from your front desk staff at all times. We love the green initiatives, its originally why we chose to stay there but the fantastic service is why we return

Rachel from Melbourne, Australia
28 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall experience was excellent, we will stay again when back in Melbourne.

Tracey from Brisbane, Australia
28 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Smooth check-in, nice room, and a smooth check-out.

Matthew from Orland Park, United States
27 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great friendly welcome from Gary at the front desk. Speediness of hot meals at breakfast much appreciated when we were in a hurry. Free wifi definitely a plus.

Kirsten from Wellington, New Zealand
27 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Service rendered by the staff by staff is excellent. Everyday being greeted by a smile from staff really makes my day. Keep up the good job.

Sham from Melbourne, Australia
26 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with hotel - will rebook when next in Melb.

Jo from Sydney, Australia
26 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Briliant as ever! I still love the fact that the staff are all so consistently fabulous - it's the reason I have moved back to staying with you when work demands, rather than a chain hotel closer to my workplace. I am impressed with how clean the place is kept - I am very particular, and a nurse also - you are the best place I have ever stayed re cleanliness - even compared to 5 star stays (always muck under the chairs elsewhere if you move them), Please keep up this brilliant standard. No surprise that I extended my stay for an extra night (again!)

Kate from Melbourne, Australia
24 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very enjoyable stay. I will certainly recommend the Alto to others as the place to stay in Melbourne.

Wayne from Hobart, Australia
23 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff had been very helpful and friendly

Lee from Singapore, Australia
23 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Pleasant and relaxing

Raymond from Sydney, Australia
23 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very comfortable and convenient

SUSAN from Thirlstane, Australia
21 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

most enjoyable - I will be back!

David from Adelaide, Australia
21 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice hotel in central location. A bit of construction going around it right now so opening a window lets in a lot of noise. Like the idea of the "green hotel" and breakfast was exceptional. No fault of the hotel or room but seems that feng shui issues (maybe position of the bed) reduced my sleeping patterns, otherwise no problems at all. Enjoyed the stay and will consider it when coming back to town.

Olaf from Sydney, Australia
21 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, beds were the most comfortable I've slept in away from home for years. Apartment well appointed and quiet enough given the location. Staff were all lovely and very helpful. Housekeeping was excellent. My only criticism would be the bathroom could have been a little cleaner ( a stray hair or two from a previous occupant is a little off-putting!) and fresher smelling. I was disappointed that there was no plain yoghurt at breakfast, only sweet flavoured stuff. Location was very convenient for us and great for airport access. A really enjoyable stay.

Terahn from Raleigh, Nsw, Australia
21 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The design of the bathroom was poor. The location of the basin below the pantry was awkward, making it impossible to lean down and wash ones face etc.. The shower was even worse, it was a health hazard as water went all over the bathroom floor as the shower curtain was useless and there was no useful preventative measure to prevent the water from going all over the bathroom floor.

Robert from Melbourne, Australia
20 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We feel almost at home at the Alto Hotel, very comfortable bedding, fresh air which is important to us both, & pleasant atmosphere & convenient location. More space in the dining area could make it less intense at breakfast.

Suzanne from Kyneton, Australia
20 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It has been a pleasant stay. The location of the hotel is good as it is near to amenities and shopping area.

Leow from Melbourne, Australia
20 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff, location and quality of accommodation at Alto on Bourke were all perfect.

Anew from Perth, Australia
20 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exceptional location, very friendly and obliging front reception staff. Very comfortable clean rooms. Excellent accommodation

Yvonne from Latrobe, Australia
19 November 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, comfortable & perfect location.

Scott from Canberra, Australia
19 November 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT