Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the moments we walk into Alto to the day we left we were Most Impressed by the friendly and most helpful staff, the high standard of fitting & furnishing, and with our lovely 3 bedroom apartment, Great location, Great Breakfast & Excellent Coffee machine we used during the day. We plan to stay here again. Just Loved it.

John from Brisbane, Australia
11 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Check in was friendly and pretty quick, the upgrade was very much appreciated. Rooms were nicely furnished and the supplied toiletries were very nice. I loved the framed artworks decorating the hotel. The room was pretty clean but attention to detail could have been a little better, eg the remote controls for the tv was extremely grotty. Overall though I was impressed with the location and hotel itself, and will definitely consider staying here when my husband and I next travel to Melbourne.

Lani from Launceston, Australia
10 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I expected the room to be small but I was surprised how comfortable it was.

Guest From from Canberra, Australia
10 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

outstanding, helpful staff. Comfortable, economical room. proximity to airport bus is good. internet connection good. not very proximal to free tourist transporation.

Klaus from Melbourne, Australia
10 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Anea from Emerald, Australia
09 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed at the Alto before and will again. Comfy beds and pillows, and I just love the massage chairs. Great location, central to everything I need :-)

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
06 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant place to visit and will come again when next in Melbourne. Have recommended the Alto to friends.

Allan from Queanbeyan, Australia
05 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Hello we love your hotel but were dissapointed our room was not ready when we arrived after our 2pm book in but the foyer was full with others that rooms not ready either . And parking at vibe carpark what a job getting out and dropping bipper off . But we do love it there the nice comfortable lounge area is a great area . Thanking You

Sue from Bendigo, Australia
05 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The stay as marked was excellent and very convenient to transports, facilities and servives. A great experience.

Hugh from Canberra, Australia
05 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Bedding and towels were fluffy, crisp white linen. Television in one bedroom very good idea plus the lounge. Apartment better than a hotel room. Breakfast was good. Would stay again and recommend to friends

Yvonne from Melbourne, Australia
04 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always hate giving star ratings but I have stayed at the Alto before and returned this time because the staff are so friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the location is perfect for trams, trains and walking.

Lyn from Hobart, Australia
04 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bed was a little soft, and the petite queen room very small, but being a personal preference thing that's understandable. We had some trouble with the keycard door lock on checkin, but Russell was very patient, polite and helpful persevering and sorting it out for us.

Chris from Adelaide, Australia
04 February 2013

Our new Alto Indulgence beds feature a down pillow top. On request these can be removed however they will make the bed firmer.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great. I will definitely be back next time I am in Melbourne. The location was great so close to Southern Cross Railway station and meant I could walk anywhere around the city. The room was very comfortable and the shower was great. I read the email I got last week saying you could buy tram passes from the hotel which is also great and hire bicylces. It was was perfect for me as a solo traveller.

Marita from Thornleigh, Australia
04 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Impressed by comfortable beds. Staff at reception were exceptional on my arrival. Didnt stay long enough to use many facilities. Mitsubishi Airconditioners . ++++++ ! Excellent We moved from the Mercure Grand apartments to The Alto to be closer to Crown Casino. Pleasantly surprised. Thankyou.

Darren from Perth, Australia
01 February 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We just needed somewhere comfortable while in town for a family wedding. The suite exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room and the massage chairs. My only gripe - we couldn't get the massage chairs to recline. We'll have to try again next time.

Kelvin from Sunshine Coast, Australia
31 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good. reception staff very frendly, polite and helpfull. would recomend to others

Murray from Palmerston North, New Zealand
31 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very welcoming and helpful. Highly recommend and would stay again.

Sharon from Auckland, New Zealand
30 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our time at the hotel. The service at breakfast wasn't as good as the rest of the time. I felt the poor woman was over worked in the small area. There was an extra team (Young & Tall) member who just seemed to be wandering around not doing anything.

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
30 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was fine

Dominic from Bullaburra, Australia
29 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my 6th stay so I guess you can say I am very satisfied. I particularly appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms; the helpfulness of front of house staff - Andrew and Hassein are always welcoming; and the proximity to Southern Cross.

MARK from Worcester, United Kingdom
28 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very functional, ideally located hotel, with surprisingly attentive staff.

Hong from Brisbane, Australia
27 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, staff at the desk very helpful. Would recommend to friends. Would come again Thank you

DIGNA from Brisbane, Australia
25 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was good.

Peggy from Ottawa, Canada
25 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

overall excellent and would return. only downsides were average room servicing and some occasionally disinterested waitresses at breakfast (altho the food was excellent)

Jason from Christchurch, New Zealand
24 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and pleasant stay. Good facilities and responsive service.

Trevor from Perth, Australia
24 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have stayed here whenever we've flown down for the Australian Open, at least 4 times. Best location in the city with a variety of transport options and restaurants close by. Staff are always attentive and friendly and we've always found our stay comfortable and relaxing. We'll be back.

Shelley from Brisbane, Australia
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is our fifth stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke. I think that shows that we are very happy with the hotel. We like the fact that it is a small hotel and guests are treated professionally but with a very nice personal touch. We would always stay at this hotel in Melbourne.

Atholene from Sydney, Australia
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay at the Alto and will continue to stay here on our trips to Melbourne. We were a little disappointed the restaurant does not serve meals in the evening as it was so convenient on previous stays. Apart from that it was another great stay , thanks to the staff & management , Best Regards, Mick & MIriam

Miriam from Geraldton Wa, Australia
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic accomodation. Couldn't fault it really. Found the bed and pillows extrememly comfortable.

Steve from Auckland, New Zealand
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Positive experience. Clean, comfortable. Like the Green agenda. Free internet and TV in bedroom very nice bonuses. Desk staff helpful, especially man who greeted us initially. Position was away from area I am used to, but with a tram so handy and good restaurants so close, location proved to be of no consequence and would not deter me from staying again.

Robert from Brisbane, Australia
21 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good, friendly staff

Anne from Sydney, Australia
21 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I liked the eco attitude at Alto, it's location and the room was well fitted out and clean. The complimentary breakfasts were very good. The staff at Alto were lovely and went out of their way to be helpful, overall a very pleasant stay thank you.

Deborah from Perth, Australia
19 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We all had an excellent stay at the Alto

Lainie from Adelaide, Australia
19 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service and great staff. Thankuou

Jo from Adelaide, Australia
17 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was quiet, comfortable and very well appointed. I arrived early expecting to have to drop my bags and come back later but was pleasantly surprised when the staff allowed me access to my room at 1pm, so I would like to thank the hotel for this.

Ian from Perth, Australia
16 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really like the small 'boutique' feel of the hotel as opposed to the impersonal clinical chain hotels. Please don't change this. Friendly staff like Andrew - great.

Jan from Glenrowan, Victoria, Australia
15 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Renee from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Carolyn from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I would recommend to friends. I would stay again. Perfect location, beautiful bed. Good cooked breakfast. Good service.

Marcie from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2013

Great that you liked our new Alto Indulgence bed. It is the deep pillowtop mattress that makes the difference.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Second time I've stayed here would definitely be back again.

Robyn from Ayr, Australia
13 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall stay was good however upon arrival I was asked how would I like to pay for that?....all 3 rooms had been paid in full upon booking. Also when asked about breakfast that was included in the nightly rate I was told it was only for 2 guests when Infact it was for all 6 guests. Perhaps looking a little more into guest info before arrival would save some embarrassment!!! Also upon returning to the room 110 after bfast before checkin out the lock would not open and we did have to wait until someone came externally to let my parents into their room. Luckily we were up early with plenty of time to get us to the airport!!! We do however enjoy staying at your facility as we have done many a times

Erin from Hobart, Australia
13 January 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do handle numerous packages from various sources and we appear to have misinterpreted some aspects of the booking on arrival. Unfortunatley equipment does fail unexpectedly at unwanted times. We do have backup procedures for these situations which were followed, providing access to the room wihtin 25 minutes. We look forward to having you stay with us againon your next visit to Melbourne.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, delicious breakfasts, waitress with blond hair was very welcoming. We have stayed here previously and both times we have enjoyed the facilities in the room including the room layout and inclusion of kitchenware.

Belinda from Brisbane, Australia
13 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Even though it was a brief stay it was very enjoyable and the staff were very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent.

Karen from Perth, Australia
13 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good experience. Helpful staff, super easy to get to and from airport as minutes walk to station, super nice rooms.

Kim from Boston, United States
12 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We will be back, We liked the location a lot and would take advantage of any special offers you may run.

Martyn from Melbourne, Australia
12 January 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT