Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

overall excellent and would return. only downsides were average room servicing and some occasionally disinterested waitresses at breakfast (altho the food was excellent)

Jason from Christchurch, New Zealand
24 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and pleasant stay. Good facilities and responsive service.

Trevor from Perth, Australia
24 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have stayed here whenever we've flown down for the Australian Open, at least 4 times. Best location in the city with a variety of transport options and restaurants close by. Staff are always attentive and friendly and we've always found our stay comfortable and relaxing. We'll be back.

Shelley from Brisbane, Australia
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is our fifth stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke. I think that shows that we are very happy with the hotel. We like the fact that it is a small hotel and guests are treated professionally but with a very nice personal touch. We would always stay at this hotel in Melbourne.

Atholene from Sydney, Australia
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay at the Alto and will continue to stay here on our trips to Melbourne. We were a little disappointed the restaurant does not serve meals in the evening as it was so convenient on previous stays. Apart from that it was another great stay , thanks to the staff & management , Best Regards, Mick & MIriam

Miriam from Geraldton Wa, Australia
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic accomodation. Couldn't fault it really. Found the bed and pillows extrememly comfortable.

Steve from Auckland, New Zealand
23 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Positive experience. Clean, comfortable. Like the Green agenda. Free internet and TV in bedroom very nice bonuses. Desk staff helpful, especially man who greeted us initially. Position was away from area I am used to, but with a tram so handy and good restaurants so close, location proved to be of no consequence and would not deter me from staying again.

Robert from Brisbane, Australia
21 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good, friendly staff

Anne from Sydney, Australia
21 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I liked the eco attitude at Alto, it's location and the room was well fitted out and clean. The complimentary breakfasts were very good. The staff at Alto were lovely and went out of their way to be helpful, overall a very pleasant stay thank you.

Deborah from Perth, Australia
19 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We all had an excellent stay at the Alto

Lainie from Adelaide, Australia
19 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service and great staff. Thankuou

Jo from Adelaide, Australia
17 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was quiet, comfortable and very well appointed. I arrived early expecting to have to drop my bags and come back later but was pleasantly surprised when the staff allowed me access to my room at 1pm, so I would like to thank the hotel for this.

Ian from Perth, Australia
16 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We really like the small 'boutique' feel of the hotel as opposed to the impersonal clinical chain hotels. Please don't change this. Friendly staff like Andrew - great.

Jan from Glenrowan, Victoria, Australia
15 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Renee from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Carolyn from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I would recommend to friends. I would stay again. Perfect location, beautiful bed. Good cooked breakfast. Good service.

Marcie from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2013

Great that you liked our new Alto Indulgence bed. It is the deep pillowtop mattress that makes the difference.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Second time I've stayed here would definitely be back again.

Robyn from Ayr, Australia
13 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall stay was good however upon arrival I was asked how would I like to pay for that?....all 3 rooms had been paid in full upon booking. Also when asked about breakfast that was included in the nightly rate I was told it was only for 2 guests when Infact it was for all 6 guests. Perhaps looking a little more into guest info before arrival would save some embarrassment!!! Also upon returning to the room 110 after bfast before checkin out the lock would not open and we did have to wait until someone came externally to let my parents into their room. Luckily we were up early with plenty of time to get us to the airport!!! We do however enjoy staying at your facility as we have done many a times

Erin from Hobart, Australia
13 January 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do handle numerous packages from various sources and we appear to have misinterpreted some aspects of the booking on arrival. Unfortunatley equipment does fail unexpectedly at unwanted times. We do have backup procedures for these situations which were followed, providing access to the room wihtin 25 minutes. We look forward to having you stay with us againon your next visit to Melbourne.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, delicious breakfasts, waitress with blond hair was very welcoming. We have stayed here previously and both times we have enjoyed the facilities in the room including the room layout and inclusion of kitchenware.

Belinda from Brisbane, Australia
13 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Even though it was a brief stay it was very enjoyable and the staff were very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent.

Karen from Perth, Australia
13 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good experience. Helpful staff, super easy to get to and from airport as minutes walk to station, super nice rooms.

Kim from Boston, United States
12 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We will be back, We liked the location a lot and would take advantage of any special offers you may run.

Martyn from Melbourne, Australia
12 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A delightful short stay. The staff made us feel very special. Suggestions in the welcome book were very useful. We were very pleased to book our walking tour though the hotel.

Ian from Sydney, Australia
11 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All very good except I paid to have cooked breakfast with my internet booking and only realized on the day the particular meal (vegetarian omelette) that I wanted wasn't included unless I paid extra $2. This is a little disappointing.

Ying-Ying from Brisbane, Australia
11 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant slept well

Barry from Branxholm Tasmania, Australia
11 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I applaud your environmental sustainability credentials and ongoing commitment and will keep coming back to your hotel on this basis alone. Keep up the great work!

Fil from Sydney, Australia
11 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Were very pleasantly surprised by the overall experience and especially the value.

Trevor from Adelaide, Australia
09 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very helpful and pleasant throughout our entire stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. We were very impressed and would definitely stay here again.

Tom from Melbourne, Australia
08 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure our stay was excellant

David from Adelaide, Australia
08 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It is a great hotel.

Kelly from Launceston, Australia
08 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and excellent value for money. Handy location next to Southern Cross and tram stops.

Emma from Perth, Australia
08 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful stay!

Bryant from Salt Lake City, United States
08 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Once again a fantastic stay. We had a small issue with drain in bathroom and the staff responded promptly. We love the staff, location, and vibe of this hotel, can't wait to stay here again!

Ben from Perth, Australia
08 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Generally quite good; and convenient location for exploring Melbourne CBD.

Alexana from Guelph, Canada
07 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and quiet relaxing stay. Really enjoyed the massage chairs. Could not ask for more!

Sonia from Sydney, Australia
07 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice and quiet relaxing stay. Really enjoyed the massage chairs. Could not ask for more!

Sonia from Sydney, Australia
07 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

What a great find! Very good location. Quiet and comfortable room. Fantastic facilities (including a self-help laundry) and extraordinary helpful staff. But then, everybody in Melbourne is helpful.

Claude from London, United Kingdom
07 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good. Love the green credentials which seem to be REAL! more than just not washing towels. Very comfortable beds.

Jan from Glenrowan, Victoria, Australia
06 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the proximity to train station and free access to great gym. Free wifi was great. Love the "green focus" . Room small but comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend.

Julie from Seattle, United States
05 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great apartment for us with two under 6 year olds. Tram outside the hotel, supermarket at the train station across the road. Excellent staff and we loved the massage chairs in the relaxation room. Some late night/early hours noise that woke us from outside but didn't wake the children as no window in their room.

Sarah from Grange, Australia
04 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

no problems

Janet from Melbourne, Australia
03 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable, close to everything.

Peter from Sydney, Australia
03 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we had a great time, The beds were extremely comfortable and I am so pleased with the sustainabilty ethos of the company

Belinda from Perth, Australia
02 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic! We have already recommended Alto to 5 friends and we have only been back home for a couple of days! We will definatley be coming back. Thankyou for such great service. Only disappointed we didn't get to try the chef's food over christmas, we heard it was very good though.

Earl from Mandurah, Australia
02 January 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The room was very comfortable and I felt like being at home. All the people of the hotel were kind and helpful. Free espresso was delicious and great. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family, and hope to stay again.

Motoko from Miyazaki, Japan
01 January 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT