Alto Hotel On Bourke

2776 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exactly what I needed. Business traveller, arriving late on the sky-bus. Couldn't be more convenient. Staff polite and helpful. Nothing fancy about the room but exactly what i needed. Happy to be your ambassador and spread the good word......

Mutch from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
08 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a wonderful stay at a very well run hotel.

Richard from Belfast, United Kingdom
06 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were extremely pleased and would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Michele from Issaquah, United States
06 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good. We were particularly impressed with the quality of the breakfast at Alto.

Janet from Melbourne, Australia
05 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

my compliments, especially Andrew at the front desk who was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

John from Melbourne, Australia
05 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent again! Sorry about vomitibng in the lobby :-( Was a great stay!!!

Kenick from Melbourne, Australia
05 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All good but the television choices needs work.

Tim from Tenterfield, Australia
02 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable stay - will definitely recommend.

Margaret from Melbourne, Australia
01 March 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very helpful and friendly staff. It was nice to get a phone call prior to our visit to confirm all was in order for our stay. It was nice to have the upgrade to a studio room. Enjoyed both nights (stayed again on the 26th) at the hotel.

Lois from Perth, Australia
29 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the cleaning was excellent, I could not fault it.

Deire from Auckland, New Zealand
28 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff welcoming and very helpful. Room comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast excellent. I like the free library and the green initiatives, and the free wifi (which I look for in a hotel now). The only disappointment was the view of the brick wall from the window, but for one night's stay I can put up with that!

Lisa from Edinburgh, United Kingdom
27 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent overall

Phillip from Melbourne, Australia
27 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff was very professional and helpful!

Bernie from Melbourne, Australia
27 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good - enjoyed the reading area and access to coffee and tea - very helpful friendly staff.

Tania from Christchurch, New Zealand
27 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Satifactory

Jerome from Act, Australia
25 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!

Kim from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant

Sue from Adelaide, Australia
24 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent hotel

Anthony from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The accommodation is value for money but lot's of places can do that, the key point is that I was/am welcomed back by friendly faces.

Gregory from Adelaide, Australia
23 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable.

Alison from Perth, Australia
23 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

enjoyable

Nathan from Perth, Australia
23 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All staff were friendly & courteous the only thing was the cleaners left food from previous guests in the cupboard

Judy from Charlton, Australia
22 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Alto is located at the most convenient location. The Southern Cross Station, major car rentals, a supermarket, large shopping centers, Chinatown and various restaurants and tourist attractions are just within walking distance. A trip to Queen Victoria Market was a zippy 10 minutes away, with the tram stop just downstairs of the hotel. We were given a free upgrade to the loft apartment, which is the most beautiful compact suite that a family can have. A full kitchen complete with laundry features is wonderful to have when travelling with a baby. A huge plus point for us choosing to stay at Alto on Bourke is that the it is big on going green; It is really thoughtful of Alto to provide us with a map and a reusable shopping bag to help us get around. It certainly sets a precedence for other hotels. Alto on Bourke is a beautiful boutique hotel that is located at a quiet corner of Bourke Street but really, all the exciting things that one can enjoy in Melbourne are just minutes away. We had a wonderful stay.

Lee from Singapore, Singapore
20 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were also at the hotel the nights of 10-12 Feb. We went to Phillip Island for 2 nights and then came back the night of 15 Feb to get ready for our flight home on the 16th. Another excellent stay. We were in room 210 which was nice because it had a regular shower (compared to the accessible shower in 203) so it was easier to keep water from getting on the floor. I forgot to mention in my comments on our earlier stay that breakfast was delicious every day.

DAVID from Durham Nc, United States
20 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a fantastic visit. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The location was excellent and once we learned a little more about the tram system(e.g., that 7-11 was no longer selling tickets) it was easy to get everywhere.

DAVID from Durham Nc, United States
20 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

most enjoyable

Nita from Melbourne, Australia
20 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good problem with internet service dropping out

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
20 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect

Henry from Hobe Sound, United States
18 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good overall.

Justin from Sydney, Australia
15 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Alexer from Melbourne, Australia
15 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, easy access to city trams. Fantastic friendly service and advice from all staff. Loved the cooking facilities and lounge/dining table area in 3 bed apartment.

Julie from Gladstone, Australia
14 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent

Megan from Torquay, Australia
14 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we have stayed before and we love the hotel and the location. The staff are all great, especially Andrew. We were upgraded to a two storey room and it was fantastic, we tell all our friends about your hotel.

Carol from Darwin, Australia
13 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

first class, met all our needs, wanted for nothing, loved the shampoo conditioner,soaps,proper hairdryer,robes,iron,ironingboard, breakfast fantastic,service fantastic, the best place I have ever stayed, best locatio, quiet and friendly, would love to come there again. Please do not change a thing!!!

Julie from Sydney, Australia
13 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable stay, helpful staff. Really enjoyed the all day free expresso. Thanks, will certainly stay again.

Angela from Brisbane, Australia
13 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed. Top bathroom a little small but the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. All the extras, coffee, wifi etc. also made the difference. I was pleasantly surprised and have already recommended it to friends. The location is sensational and surrounding restuarants that we dined in were all lovely.

KAY from Melbourne, Australia
11 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it and wanted to stay longer. Staff member Andrew was very welcoming and does his job extremely well. After hours of walking, exploring Melbourne and surrounds, the relaxation room was an added bonus. Great complimentary coffee too! Have already recommended Alto to friends. Thank you.

Tracey from Adelaide, Australia
10 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy - but would like the option of smaller rooms/suites with a balcony. We had to book a 2 bedroom unit as we do not like staying anywhere without a balcony.

Sherrie from Melbourne, Australia
10 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

On this last visit we had to check out early on the Sunday. When I asked about some kind of breakfast arrangements on the Saturday, we were told that there was nothing that could be done as they kitchen staff were unavailabe until breakfast time. I completely understand this but the rate also included breakfast. As we had encouraged our friends to stay there with us that is four guest that missed breakfast. I feel that on this occasion the staff member on the front desk on Saturday afternoon was completely unhelpful with this request. We Usually stay with you when we are in Melbourne four times in the last 12 months or so and We had another couple stay as well on this last visit. We have recommended you to many friends and they have also enjoyed their stay with you. To say the least we are disappointed.

Paul from Launceston, Australia
10 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

(Just my husband and I travelling, minus the kids - wouldn't consider us a mature couple (yet!), nor a young couple really, but no other applicable options under booking type.) Anyway, very impressed with the Alto and will happily stay again. Room was clean, well appointed and all in very good condition. Liked that we could open the windows. That is always a big plus. Staff were very personable and helpful. Cooked breakfast was very good, and I was offered alternative sides when no gluten free bread was available.

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good. Friendly staff, nice place.

Daniel from Melbourne, Australia
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Spotlessly clean, friendly helpful staff, well equipped, lots of extras if required like expresso coffee, apples and a cosy lounge. Good location to walk into the city or Southbank/Convention Center/Etihad Stadium event. Close to public transport. Very comfy beds including an acceptable sofa bed. Would highly recomend to others.

Wendy from Brisbane, Australia
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Shlomi from Tel Aviv, Israel
09 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were excellent and responded to request for room with window well. I appreciated that. Rm 102 is a cell and a real disappointment given other stays at Alto. The new room i was offered was a big improvement

Charlotte from Wellington, New Zealand
08 February 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always enjoy staying at the Alto. It was the environmental initiatives that drew me there in the fist place.

Brad from Sydney, Australia
08 February 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62     NEXT