Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We also stayed in a one bed apartment for one night and were able to check early into each room. The front desk were extremely friendly, professional and helpful every time we spoke to them. The environmental credentials are an excellent bonus. We would stay again!

Emma from London, United Kingdom
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My 4th stay - so that probably tells you something about how pleased I am with the hotel - for a city centre hotel it offers consistently good value for money and consistently high quality

Mark from Birmingham, United Kingdom
12 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was good stay over but didnt experience much becasue of only staying 1 night

Ellie from Melbourne, Australia
11 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience, very helpful staff. thank-you for letting me leave my bag there while I went shopping. I like your enviro friendly policies as well.

Brenda from Melbourne, Australia
10 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first visit to Melbourne, would most definitely stay in your hotel again, will most certainly recommend to others as a great place to stay. Very relaxing, cosy environment to come back to after a busy day out sightseeing!! Very friendly helpful staff, thank you!

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
09 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed with you before and it is a perfect location and staff are always friendly and rooms always beautiful. Definately recommend!!

Kendall from Melbourne, Australia
09 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely time, and couldn't have asked for a cleaner, more comfortable, better valued room.

Jacinta from Melbourne, Australia
09 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staying here was awesome it was a nice small hotel. We got free breakfast which was great except on the last day which was Saturday breakfast was at 730 instead of 7 so we didnt get any since we needed to be at the airport :( We also has a TV issue on the 2nd nite so we couldn't change the volume or channel even when pushing the button on the tv but the next morning Alto staff came by and fixed everything perfectly. However we were missing towels after one cleaning but someone promptly brought them up. The room is in a great location you can sake the skybus and the hotels a block away and the tram service is like right in front the staff is always willing to help you! We didn't take advantage but they had a relaxation room with two message chairs and a tv. Also they had a nice area in the lobby where there was a free coffee/hot chocolate/ tea machine that was amazing. We also had free wifi up to 500mb per day which was awesome. Overall it was a great place to stay.

Tammy from Chevy Chase, United States
08 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff and clean rooms

Jillian from Perth, Australia
05 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my hotel of choice when I come to Melbourne. I like the retro feel and the attention to detail in the rooms.

Robin from Christchurch, New Zealand
05 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay. The location was great, and everyone was very nice. The free Wifi in the room was also a big plus.

Ada from Fort Lauderdale, United States
04 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was perfect. Rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly.

Olbrechts from Rotterdam, Netherlands
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Despite the fact that we've arrived quite late on Christmas Eve we were greeted by friendly staff at reception and were given detailed instructions on where to park our car as well as city map and some suggestion on where to have dinner. Our room was quite small and very simple but I knew what to expect from online reviews I read before booking the hotel. Overall the room was very clean but there was a bit of hair in the bathroom (nothing worth calling a cleaning lady but it is my personal pet hate so I still felt a bit disappointed). I loved the fact that CBD and Docklands were within walking distance so we could easily stroll everywhere. Free apples and wonderful library space were a very pleasant bonus at the end of the evening, and the breakfast was lovely. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a simple, centrally-located accommodation.

Olga from Randwick, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

absolutely loved the hotel. Being environentally conscious was the icing on the cake. Only negative was the tight parking.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved our stay at the Alto, as always, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful with all sorts of questions, the food is delicious and the apartments are excellent. We plan to stay there every time we come to Melbourne! :)

LINDA from Mackay, Qld, Australia
03 January 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. The staff were courteous, the room very comfortable, and the location was great.

Malcolm from Sydney, Australia
31 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Easy to deal with, room was exactly how it was described online. Great stay, thanks.

Damian from Adelaide, Australia
31 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was clean & convenient for the purpose of our brief stay

Grant from Sydney, Australia
30 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

FELT VERY COMFERTABLE AND RELAXED

GEORGE from Cairns, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had read very favourable reviews, and had high expectations - all of which were fulfilled. The apples, the library and the coffee machine were excellent. We also liked the soap and shampoo dispensers and the office/computer nook. The service and location were first rate.

Mark from Sydney, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient location to city and transport. Breakfast just right. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again in future.

COLIN from Hobart, Australia
29 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

extremely intelligent hotel policy

Cristiano from Milan, Italy
28 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only stayed for two nights but they were very restful nights. Staff was very knowledgable and extremely helpful. My room was cleaned after my first night which I was not expecting. Did find some things that seemed to have been overlooked when cleaned before my arrival (cups in the bathroom) but it was more than made up for by everything else. Great location and friendly service!

Van from Melbourne, Australia
27 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great reception service and the upgrade to a studio was a bonus. Room facilities were very good - nice to have a refrigerator that was silent; bathroom small but had everything we needed.

Douglas from Yaroomba, Australia
24 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Friendly staff, great rooms, comfortable stay. I'd stay once again.

Susan from Melbourne, Australia
22 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was really nice.

Shana from Melbourne, Australia
21 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

WE always enjoy ourselves, location is convenient and facilities excellent. Staff very professional and helpful

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
20 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

from the booking process to check in /out our experience at Alto was amazing. the loft apartment was roomy ,spotless, and had all the modern comforts you expect. we loved the coffees we had in its cosy lounge. we regret not having the time to try their breakfast and dinners. the manager gary can't do enough for you. thank you all for a great stay.

Ulrike from Palm Beach, Australia
20 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Absolutely amazing. The only thing I can fault are the pillows, but you can't please everyone! Loved that it was environmentally friendly, and that an effort was made to sound proof the rooms. Will most certainly be back.

Fiona from Melbourne, Australia
20 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very friendly and helpful

Elizabeth from London, United Kingdom
19 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Glynis from Melb, Australia
19 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All was fantastic. Road noise was very high - not sure what can be done about that. Love the fact it is a green hotel

Kyra from Melbourne, Australia
18 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel was charming, well located for our purposes, and good value, as the excellent breakfast was included. The young man on duty when we checked in was very helpful, and the room, though smallish, very efficient and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent, though Rachel, the waitress, was not particularly welcoming or attentive. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the Alto to other.

Robert from Mobile, United States
18 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a wonderful time. Would stay here again for sure!

Ross from Gold Coast, Australia
17 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

third visit. will visit again. great property. Green is the right thing to do.

Henry from Hobe Sound, United States
16 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto is in an excellent location for access to Southern Cross Station or Etihad Stadium. It was a comfortable, quiet hotel that met all my needs, I would stay there again.

Maree from Launceston, Australia
16 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, nice apartment, with friendly receptionist

Ah from Kulim, Kedah, Malaysia
15 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent, would recommend it to friends.

Lucy from Warrnambool, Australia
14 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Ludovic from Melbourne, Australia
14 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The place was set up for people to be able to relax. the chairs were great!!!!

Jim from Melbourne, Australia
13 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience had by all

JOYCE from Sydney, Australia
13 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Positively relaxing

Yvette from Melbourne, Australia
12 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was a fly in and out, but as always staff lovely. Hubby loves his breakfast, cooked to order. So convenient for skybus and getting around, everything just a stroll away. We're wondering if we should stop recommending as all who have stayed say they will again......and we don't want to loose our Melbourne nest.

Gail from Perth, Australia
11 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was expecting the one bedroom appt to be slightly larger for what it cost. The staff were very pleasant. Handy and quiet location on the tram line. Did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on that.

Cushla from Melbourne, Australia
11 December 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very positive experience, couple of minor problems dealt with swiftly. Only slight niggle was the water carafe in the fridge needed a thorough clean as there was a deposit build up on the bottom.

Stephen from Read, United Kingdom
09 December 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT