Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice accommodation - good location

Kerrie from Alice Springs, Australia
29 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and welcoming staff, great as there is parking available even tho its an extra $16 its worth it. The only thing is they takeout $50 on your card for any damages etc but you do get it back, but have to wait to get that back,

Sharleen from Melbourne, Australia
29 November 2011

As per our terms and conditins listed onlien and in our FAQ's see following. Funds are note taken out by the hotel, however they are held aside from the cards available credit / funds by the bank or credit card card issuing company. Credit Card BELONGING TO THE RESERVATION HOLDER MUST be presented for authorisation on arrival. Credit Card holder must be the registered guest. A pre-authorisation of $50 minimum plus outstanding accommodation charges, will be processed on the credit card at check-in. Pre-authorisations amounts are set aside by the credit card company for up to 14 days and will temporarily affect your available funds balance or spending limit.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

enjoyable

Ray from Melbourne, Australia
28 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found the staff very helpful and the room was comfortable. The location was excellent, with trams, buses and trains virtually on the doorstep. Very convenient for people arriving from the airport. We had dinner in the hotel one evening and the food was excellent. I had one of the best steaks ever. We planned on eating there again on the Saturday night but were very disappointed to find that dinner is not served on Saturday and Sunday nights.

GEORGE from Melbourne, Australia
27 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Not sure if they wine I ordered by the glass was what I got - it was awful and Tyrells is never awful!

Carol from Cooroy, Australia
26 November 2011

Thank you for lettiing us know, We have tested some of The Taltarni T serires Shiraz and have found some is tainited and has passed its prime. Please ask for one of our managers on your next stay. in the meantime We will follow up with our wine supplier
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found it to be an ideal hotel in an ideal location for our requirements with helpfull and knowledgable staff.

Karl from Perth, Australia
25 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice stay - room was nothing outstanding but everything was clean and tidy, the staff were very nice and accommodating especially at midnight when our son was sick all over the master bed. hotel was in a quiet (at night) area of the CBD and hence a bit of a walk for a choice of restaurants. Had to request the wireless internet password and it only worked the first day or so - could have checked with the desk but didn't feel it was worth the effort. Have not stayed in Melbourne before so don't have a reference on value for money.

Graeme from Perth, Australia
24 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with all features of hotel. Loved the lengths taken to implement environmental initiatives. Staff were friendly and efficient. Loved added features such as massage room, book area helped to add a cosy feel . Room was comfy. Shower head was great giving a nice relaxing feel! Complimentary coffee was good idea. overall very happy

Amy from Sydney, Australia
21 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My friends and I had a fantastic time at the Alto Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the accomodation very comfortable. The relaxed atmosphere, good location and excellent customer service ensured that our stay was wonderful. Thank you

Jessica from Sydney, Australia
20 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto on three occasions now and will be back for sure.

Aileen from Townsville, Australia
20 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

perfect just what i required

Vicki from Adelaide, Australia
20 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I'm a repeat customer and I will be back again when the need arises. I have no complaints. I also admire the Eco stuff.

Anthony from Sydney, Australia
18 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable, although we were given a room with a disabled bathroom. I think upon booking maybe you should ask the customer if in need of this type of room. The male receptionest didn't seem to understand that we didn't really want this type of bathroom. In saying that your other staff were extemely helpful.

Carolyn from Lake Macquarie, Australia
16 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a wonderful stay - the upgrade was fantastic and much appreciated. Loved the relaxation room and massage chairs and the coffee machine was well used. Great location and great staff - would definitely stay again.

Janet from Christchurch, New Zealand
15 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely stay, thank you

Sharon from Melbourne, Australia
15 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good clean motel

Greg from Armidale, Australia
15 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable stay, especially liked having kids in a separate room and really felt the eco stand you guys have taken is worthwhile and influential on my booking with you. Was a bit expensive - but then we found the whole of Australia very very expensive this time around.

John from Huddersfield, United Kingdom
15 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel, lovely staff, nice and quiet. LOVE your environmental focus.

Kirsten from Perth, Australia
14 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a pleasure. Warm personal greeting, great location. A welcome change from big chain hotels.

Steve from Sydney, Australia
14 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

had a great time loved it!

James from Brisbane, Australia
13 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable-would stay again

Gerard from Auckland, New Zealand
11 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with this hotel - had everything I was looking for. Receptionist was very friendly when I arrived, and hotel had a good atmosphere. Room was excellent. Well done.

Seth from Adelaide, Australia
11 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Mum raved about the receptionist- Lauren I think she said her name was- the only negative was loss of hot water on Tuesday morning so no shower- but that didn't worry her too much- the water was back for that night

Cathie from Melbourne, Australia
11 November 2011

Thank you for your review. The hotel water issues has us puzzled. On the report of hotel water issues we immediately checked the room and found that all was working correctly. We did not have any other issues throughtout the hotel which is supplied via the same water system.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. It was great to have access to the resturant /dining room on sunday night.Thank you

Lucy from Melbourne, Australia
09 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. Staff were lovely and friendly and location was great.

Katie from Brisbane, Australia
09 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were excited we had been upgraded to a spa suite! Room was very pleasant, bathroom was excellent with all we required. There was a bit of noise from the street as our room was on Bourke Street side and with windows open. Other than that was really good.

Tania from Melbourne, Australia
07 November 2011

We are glad you liked the upgrade. All of our rooms have windows that can be opend for fresh air, however they will let noise of the city if left open. Once both sections are closed the city noises are left behind.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very helpful and friendly staff, great location and green credentials! I will recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Elissa from Perth, Australia
02 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a very nice stay in Melbourne. The staff are exceedingly helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Our one bedroom Apt was fine. The only negative was the minimalist decor--there was no space to store things in the bathroom (no undersink counter) or in the bedroom (no dresser) which meant we had to leave everything in the suitcases for our entire stay.

Brian from Melbourne, Australia
01 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent - loved it.

Joe from Regina, Canada
01 November 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was very cosy, homely and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

Mary from Brisbane, Australia
31 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff and the rooms are contemporary and clean. Excellent place to stay in the city. Such a great location.

Nicole from Wodonga, Australia
30 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great

Webb from Launceston, Australia
30 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Sensational, very friendly and comfortable, lovely decor, quiet, central, excellent restuarant, great having self-serve coffee available, wonderful breakfast and dinner menu.

Ian from Hobart, Australia
27 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had Great experience and its close to every thing.

Emily from Sydney, Australia
27 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the free internet and the guest laundry. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Larry from Everett, United States
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Apart from the key not working necessitating a few trips back to reception, the stay was excellent.

Jean from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good

Kevin from Taupo, New Zealand
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed. Staff very helpful. Pippa on front desk a real delight. Nothing was too much trouble and she has a lovely nature. The gentleman in the lounge was also a lovely man

Bowerman from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a pleasure. I know I will be looked after and the staff are wonderful

Guest From from Launceston, Australia
25 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were exceptionally helpful, professional and friendly.Staying at the Alto was perfect. We enjoyed the apples provided at the entrance to the restaurant for breakfast as we had an early flight to catch. Thank you Deborah.

Harrison from Melbourne, Australia
24 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Surprisingly pleasant, the room was much nicer than i anticipated. The free WiFi was a very unexpected bonus.

Trevor from Sydney, Australia
23 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

best hotel in Melbourne!

Pauline from Melbourne, Australia
23 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Sarah from Gerringong, Australia
23 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always look forward to staying at the Alto on Bourke. The reception staff are very helpful. It is wonderful to be able to open the window to get some outside air. Thank you for your attention to these sort of details. :-)

Claire from Melbourne, Australia
21 October 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic place to stay - would definitely stay again. The room was wonderful and large. The massage chairs and coffee machine were fabulous. Thank you for a perfect experience.

Cari from Melbourne, Australia
20 October 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT