Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Pleasant.

Scott from Sydney, Australia
23 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The location was very convenient to the Skybus and trams and the 7-eleven round the corner for tickets. All staff were polite and professional. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and modern. The cleaning crew forgot to leave us a floor mat one time but the concierge personally delivered a replacement within 30 minutes of me asking, exactly as he promised. Room was quiet as I had requested.

Sook from Sydney, Australia
21 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay and were very thankful about the upgrade to the very spacious Appartment. I might be back in May for a conference. Thanks.

Anika from Darlinghurst, Australia
20 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant

Paul from Wentworth Falls, Australia
19 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very satisfiying

John from Perth, Australia
19 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Best hotel experience we have ever had. We will be staying here again next time we visit Melbourne.

Deborah from Melbourne, Australia
14 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a lovely stay at the hotel the staff were pleasant and helpful and the food was just divine :) Thank you

Shayle from 4680, Australia
14 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Prompt check in and check out. Very convenient location. Minimum wait times for the lift.

Chris from Rural Victoria, Australia
12 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was very happy with my stay

Daniel from North Sydney, Australia
09 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a nice stay here. The room could have been a bit bigger, but that didn't really matter especially when considering that it's pretty good value. Only minor thing was that whilst the bed was comfortable it was a double and a single bed pushed together to make a 'king'.

Shane from Ballarat, Australia
07 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I felt very comfortable here as a solo traveller, and found the service from all was friendly and helpful without being fawning. Very welcoming feel to the A lounge. I ate there for the majority of my stay, and found the food to be excellent too. I would choose to stay here again, rather than a bigger more impersonal hotel.

Joanna from Brisbane, Australia
05 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable stay. The staff where always helpful. The hotel is very clean and the room suited the business needs for the three of us. Breakfast at the restaurant was very well priced and provides good value for money. As a first time stayer in Melbourne, I felt the location was good and I would certainly stay again and will recommend our company consider using the Alto on Bourke where possible when visiting Melbourne in the future. One of our party is returning to Melbourne next week and told me he will consider staying at the Alto on Bourke as his first preference, dependent on the availability of single rooms over the period of his stay. Booking was easy on the internet and I was glad the website prompted me to consider parking and the reasons for doing so. It was my first time to Melbourne and being made clearly aware of the lack of parking and ability to book it was a great help.

Aaron from Auckland, New Zealand
04 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Particularly impressed with your efforts to be environmentally sensitive and pro-active. Keep that up - its a great differentiator for us.,

Nicole from Perth, Australia
04 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It's everything I want from a place to stay whilst I am doing business in Melbourne. Convenient: Close to Southern Cross Station to catch the Skybus to and from the airport. Safe and clean - important as a female guest. Environmentally outstanding - aligned with my values and corporate commitment. Friendly - staff are second to none; efficient, informative, warm and accommodating.

Nicolette from Sydney, Australia
03 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

the first night I spent in the room 201 was next to the street and was rather noisy with the tram passing by all evenng/night long. The food at the restaurant was well served and presented but quality of the ingrdients was very average.

Pascal from Christchurch, New Zealand
03 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We would have loved to have had the downstairs dining area open a little later as we came down right before 9pm and were told we couldn't be served as they were closing. However, loved the apartment and hotel.

Aienne from Sydney, Australia
02 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thought the Alto was a great hotel, and a pleasant experience

David from Sydney, Australia
02 March 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely time at the hotel, it was in a great location and everyone there was very nice and helpful. We had a spa apartment on the top floor which was perfectly suited for 2 people. We especially loved the spa. The only thing we found was that there was no DVD player in the room, even though it was specified. We were a bit disappointed at that as we had brought a couple of movies to watch. If it was anywhere in the room we couldn't find it! Apart from that it was great. I'd stay again.

Emily from Melbourne, Australia
01 March 2011

We are trialling some new LED TV's in some rooms and have found that they are not compatible with our existing DVD player. We hope to have this resolved soon.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel provided a great introduction to Melbourne. The staff were very friendly, and it was good that we were allowed to check in early after a long flight. The room was comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed the breakfasts and the supply of coffee.

Stuart from Martley, Worcester, United Kingdom
28 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, good value as well

Daniel from London, United Kingdom
26 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Generally everything was very good. Staff on reception always very helpful and cheerful. Had to ask for housekeeping to replenish a couple of things which they had forgotten, but that's not a big issue. Thank you.

Chris from Melbourne, Australia
25 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Terrific - we loved it. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Thank you! Nice to be able to recycle. The chef who did breakfast on Sunday morning (and the weekday nights, I believe, though we didn't eat any dinners there) was really terrific - his cooking was delicious.

Sawako from Melbourne, Australia
24 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff at the check-in counter was very, very helpful and we loved staying at your hotel. There was one minor negative issue, and that was some noise from the neighbouring room sometimes during the night - it sounded like some young people had a get-together there and made a lot of talking. But not a real problem - our overall impression was that everything was perfect and we will definitely use your hotel again next time we come back to Melbourne.

Jan from Copenhagen, Denmark
24 February 2011

For your convenience, reception is open 24hours a day to assist you with any issues that may arise during your stay.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel good location

Rachel from Home Hill, Australia
22 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great - very close to transport. Love that it is 100% wind powered. Didn't like the soap products in the bathroom. Great to get The Age. Fantastic that the wi-fi was free.

Natalie from Auckland, New Zealand
22 February 2011

The Guest Amenities we are currently providing are from the 'Pure Essense' Range. These are supplied in dispensors in each bathroom, to reduce the little bottles and left over products contributing to landfill, which is inline with our Environmental Policy.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice and clean hotel - location was very good to Spenser St station, however a walk away from a lot of the good restaurants to the East of the CBD. We found the bed a bit uncomfortable - sagged in the middle. The breakfast package was a good start to the morning and thankfully served until 9.30 to accommodate people like us who had a sleep in! All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rowena from Perth, Australia
22 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

v.good

Esther from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A great location. Quiet and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. We were disappointed to find that the upstairs bedrooms and bathrooms were serviced but the downstairs bedroom and bathroom weren't. Wasn't a problem but would have been nice.

Elaine from Ashburton, New Zealand
20 February 2011

We endeavour to keep high standards at our hotel especially with cleaning. We also provide 24 hour reception for our guests during their stay.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Ruth from Newcastle, Australia
17 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable and easy to access.

Emma from Melbourne, Australia
17 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed the total experience of our stay at the Alto - from the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of our room, the service, the inclusive breakfast, to the added extras - tea, coffee, fruit available all day to guests. We would highly recommend the Alto to our friends and look forward to a return visit. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

David from Sunshine Coast, Australia
15 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with our stay at the hotel. The view from the first floor room was not good but we were not there to look out of the window. Breakfast on 2 of the 3 mornings was good, on the 3rd morning the bacon was a bit fatty with not much meat. However the food and the buffet was good.

Arthur from Sydney, Australia
15 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was easy even with small kids!

Liis from Kouvola, Finland
13 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our visit, the staff were all very friendly, the meals were great. Only one problem and that was I thought I had booked a room with no stairs, and my husband & his Uncle both use walking sticks but we manage to survive them. That was the only disappointment as I thought I had booked a two bed apartment with out stairs.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
10 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed in one of the Studio Rooms. As our flight arrived early morning, the reception staff were very helpful in getting us into our room at 12.30pm, we decied to go to the zoo to fill in time, staff gave us all the information we needed in where to by tram tickets and what number etc.. the Alto is a two minute walk from Southern Cross Station and trams stop not far from the from door.The room layout is spacious and exceptionaly comfortable. We were in Melbourne for a workshop, often returning late - fortunatley Alto has a wonderful dinner menue to choose from - well presented, delicous and great value (do not miss the desserts). In the mornings it was such a delight to be greated by the friendly and professional staff at Breakfast time, there is something for everyone on the menue. We would highly reccomend the Alto and look forward to staying again on our future trips to Melbourne.

Russell from Darwin, Australia
09 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I loved having a room with real windows I could open and the view of the trees on Bourke St. I found the staff among the nicest of any hotel I've ever stayed at, particularly the room staff and other employees one would encounter in the lift. I also appreciated the modern bathroom with its spa bath and beautiful non-slip tiles. The kitchen was a bit disappointing but I guess most people come to shop and dine out.

Eve from Brisbane, Australia
08 February 2011

Our 1 & 2 beroom apartments have a full galley style kitchen completed by a range of cutlery, crockery & utnesils. The kitchens have an oven, cooktop (hob), microware, refrigerator & dishwasher.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, no problems

Tim from Brisbane, Australia
07 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfactory

Guest From from Brisbane, Australia
07 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was extremely impressed by the friendliness of the staff. They went out of their way to help. I had a meal in the restaurant and the steak was superb. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel couldn't have been more convenient for my purpose.

Susan from Perth, Australia
05 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable experience, staff very friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay again.

Debbie from Perth, Australia
05 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love the Alto! It's my home away from home while in Melbourne ! This was my second stay and I will be back. Have told all my friends and business associates about you. I'm always made to feel welcome; sincerely , not perfunctorily like at other hotels. I like the 'green' (ie, enegy saving) aspect of your hotel also. The food is also delicious and of a high standard. Thank you! As I ran out of time and did not complete the feedback card. Room 304 toilet half -flush button does not work. Thank you.

Wendy from Sydney, Australia
04 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was excellent....location, amenities, staff etc. No complaints. My 5 yo and I had a very nice time, thanks.

Brett from Canberra, Australia
03 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent base for our purposes

Guest From from Sydney, Australia
30 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful small hotel-excellent staff and amenities. Loved the eco!!

Karen from Dallas, United States
29 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice place to stay. Impressed with the hotel.

Hayley from Melbourne, Australia
28 January 2011

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT