Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A lot of noise from the alley next door all night the first night. Room had either a leak or a seepage problem in the bathroom which i reported on check out. Otherwise everything was good

Richard from Brisbne, Australia
09 September 2014

Thank you for reporting the maintenance issue that has been repaired. Our central city location may on occasion have the hustle and bustle of the city feel a little too close. Reception is open 24 hours a day for any requests. They will do their utmost to find a solution at the time.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

really enjoyed a clean and quiet stay in the middle of the city. Very happy

Yuliya from Melbourne, Australia
09 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant great location

Peter from Christchurch I, New Zealand
08 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location, staff and service.

Jennifer from Geraldton Wa, Australia
05 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice staff. Room was clean and comfortable.

Philippa from Perth, Australia
02 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very clean, great service will definately be back :)

Nathan from Hobart, Australia
02 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed the attention to detail re the decor - loved the photographs. Parking was a slight nuisance with roadworks outside and no drop off zone.

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
02 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very happy

Stephanie from Burnie, Australia
01 September 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, roomy place to stay. Very friendly staff. Only issue was the tram noise during the night.

Lynn from Jersey, United Kingdom
31 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great Location Room service would have been great Fire in the Restaurant was wonderful

Judith from Launceston, Australia
30 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a hotel, and the clock radio was set correct. Nice.

Alex from Hobart, Australia
30 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed only for two nights because of our own schedule. During that period of time, there was not one moment of negative feeling about the hotel. Everything was up to our expectation. There was then two big positive feelings about the hotel after our stay.We checked out, leaving the luggages at concierge to be picked up a few hours later before going to the airport . When we returned, we were told of the things they found in our room which we have inadvertently left. While this might be a good indicator of a good hotel,the way that they have kept things found was well appreciated. We felt that this put them in an excellent category.

Kai from Hong Kong, Hong Kong
30 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love this hotel

Jan from Perth, Australia
29 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfy beds!

Laura from Melbourne, Australia
29 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and friendly

Michael from Wellington, New Zealand
28 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great

Sue from Eumundi, Australia
27 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very easy and comfortable place to stay.

Ruth from Melbourne, Australia
27 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good hotel for the price and location in CBD. Helpful staff and decent food. Bit of a closed down area after working hours but very convenient for meetings etc.

Elizabeth from New York, United States
24 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the free gift to the crisp, fresh sheets, the foxtel, free wifi and the little touches like the phone chargers in the room, the Alto goes the extra mile. But the best part is your staff who smile and go out of their way to make my stay special, like Chef making me a meal that suited my dietary requirements which was delicious.

Jenny from Adelaide, Australia
22 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the second time we've stayed at Alto on Bourke. We love the location which is perfect if you are attending a sporting event at Etihad Stadium. The Skybus from the airport to Spencer Street Station is less than a five minute walk away. The hotel itself is small and friendly. We had a two bedroom apartment with a fold out bed for five of us. The rooms and the bathrooms are small, but adequate and overall I think it's good clue for money. I would definitely recommend and will stay here again.

Shauna from Perth, Australia
21 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very happy with hotel, coffee machine excellent

Deborah from Perth, Australia
19 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stay at Alto a few times now and the service and staff are excellent, friendly and very helpful. I stayed between 14/8-17/8 and the young ladies serving the breakfast were very lovely and polite. didn't get their names, credit to your hotel.

MARGARET from Sa, Australia
19 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great stay. the beds and pillows were amazing - so comfortable

Susan from Mawson Act, Australia
18 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice clean room and good for a short stay in Melbourne.

Kim from Melbourne, Australia
16 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent staff (all shifts), were helpful with all of our requests. location was 1/2 block from train depot, many restaurants walking distance

Lee from Melbourne, Australia
15 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay

Catherine from Sydney, Australia
14 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful, just what we were after for a girls weekend away. Close to everything that we needed.

Corinne from Auckland, New Zealand
13 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great! Like the green features, energy use etc and the acknowledgement of country and the book exchange and reading in front of the fire.

Margaret from Melbourne, Australia
13 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very good

Kerry from Perth, Australia
12 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved your hotel! A little noisy at night with traffic but not too bad. Majority of staff lovely and friendly. Our room card stopped working and this was quickly fixed by the lady at reception - but without an apology! Only minor slight, the rest of our experience was fab.

Joanna from Geraldton, Australia
12 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at the Alto twice on overnight stops in Melbourne and love it. It has everything we need, very comfortable and is environmentally aware which is important to us.

Kirsten from Perth, Australia
11 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As on previous occasions, the staff at Alto Hotel On Bourke are very pleasant, helpful and courteous. The facilities are excellent and the food is of the highest standard.

Wilhelmus from Adelaide, Australia
07 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable room and bed. Friendly service

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
07 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable with a fantastic location, great breakfast good linen and bath towels. Will definitely stay again.

Leo from Sydney, Australia
06 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our third time with Alto. Really enjoyed our stay. Upgrade to 2-bedroom loft was great.

Vicki from West Lafayette, United States
05 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My room was ideal for a solo traveller. It was clean and well-kept. My only suggestion would be that the quality of the restaurant (food, not service) could be improved slightly. The prices were reasonable, but the food itself slightly disappointing. Thanks.

Jane from Sunshine Coast, Australia
05 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Arrived late in the evening and was given Room 101. As we have stayed at the Alto before and had expectations, this room did not measure up. It was noisy (trams and street noise) and drab. We requested to be moved to another room and the front desk staff accommodated us. The second room was great and was at the level of what we had previously experienced. If we were not moved, the stay would have been quite negative. We will, however, gladly stay at the Alto when we are next in Melbourne.

Dale from Auckland, New Zealand
05 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great staff who were helpful and friendly. Great food for breakfast each day. Good amenities in the room. Although our one negative was the noise from other hotel guests.

Leah from Melbourne, Australia
03 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Way better than I expected Rooms are small and limited natural light, but you compensate with some other great features

Jan from Perth, Australia
03 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed.

Mary from Perth, Australia
02 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay. We'd recommend Alto Melbourne any time.

Christian from Melbourne, Australia
02 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great little spot. Loved the "green" effort, but would have appreciated a bar of soap for the shower. No other complaints. Thanks to Andrew for the early chaeck-in!!

Nathalie from Vancouver, Canada
02 August 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location and facilities

Fiona from Levin, New Zealand
31 July 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic

Stephen from Perth, Australia
30 July 2014

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Come every year and enjoy our stay

Margaret from Broken Hill, Australia
30 July 2014

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT