Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Quick easy and clean. Nice comfy bed

Brad from Bendigo, Australia
30 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I just love staying in this hotel.

Jill from Melbourne, Australia
28 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We last stayed at Alto in January 2006, just after the hotel opened,(which was the last time we visited Melbourne). The convenience of location to transport is a big plus, also the safety for older people to walk around the area of a night. The reception staff very friendly and willing to help with "tourist" questions. The room clean and sufficient for our needs.

Guest From from Canberra. A.c.t., Australia
26 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were incredibly helpful and intuitive.

Hannah from Hobart, Australia
26 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Front desk staff was very kind to allow us to use the massage chairs on arrival early in the morning. Breakfast staff was sometimes not so fast and occupied by discussing personal matters.

Niclas from Umeň, Sweden
26 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our request for an early check in. Thank you.

Jenny from Canberra, Australia
25 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Arno from Newcastle, Australia
25 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable

Brent from Hobart, Australia
24 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I've stayed at Alto approx 15 nights - this was my 3rd or 4th time. Up to expectations, except I was surprised and annoyed to find that a few guests were apparently not welcome to meet in my room after 10pm. This is an extraordinary limitation for an upmarket hotel costing around $200 per night!

Jason from Melbourne, Australia
23 September 2012

Our policy of restricting visitors a night is to respect that most of our guests want a quiet nights rest. Having visitors come and go from rooms can cause a disturbance in some situations.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved that you had eco-friendly rooms, with wind power, low energy bulbs, dispensers for soaps, and no takeaway cups etc. But especially the recycling bin - first hotel I have ever stayed in which had one - about time! Umbrella in room also came in handy.

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
22 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

list of booking types did not include us - business travellers

Paul from Sydney, Australia
21 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We appreciated our luggage being held at the hotel until later in the day of departure to save us dragging it around the city before we caught our train home. We find the Alto a convenient stop over both before and after flying in/out from overseas, this breaks up what could be a very tedious/tiring journey for us. A very convenient hotel for a few days stay in the City due to its close proximity to Southern Cross Station. We always enjoy our stay at The Alto.

Ian from Bairtnsdale, Australia
21 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed it very much

Robert from Hobart, Australia
20 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The best hotel in Melbourne

Peter from Wellington, New Zealand
20 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was unable to get my Mac to connect to hotel wifi while staying. It didn't prevent me from working, but it did present a minor inconvenience. Perhaps retesting wifi against a number of devices would be useful.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
18 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are always looked after, the staff are fantastic, Andrew always goes out of his way to make us welcome. We always recommend staying with you to all our friends in Darwin.

Carol from Darwin, Australia
17 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

a little bit noisy - other guests late at night in corridor and slamming doors

Susan from Wgv, Australia
17 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at Alto for our last three visits to Melbourne and would never contemplate staying anywhere else.

John from Brisbane, Australia
17 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff (as usual) were exceptional, particularly as there was a SES crisis at the time. Staff spared the time to let me look over the heritage room (401) - enjoyed that. Breakfast was very enjoyable with ample variety. Jan (my spouse) loves this hotel - happy wife = happy life.

Anthony from Hobart, Australia
14 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Jacqueline from Morwell, Australia
13 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice people, nice room, but no draw space and bathroom sink was positioned in a very awkward place so basically could not wash face or do teeth without water over the floor.

Peter from Wellington, New Zealand
13 September 2012

This particualr room is designed for accesibility for peope with mobility issues. There are limits to what can be placed in these rooms to make them practical & safe for people with mobility issues. Intend reviewing the disign of this room to make improvements where possible.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Blink and you miss it from the outside, but very nice apartment in a pretty good location. Liked the greener energy touches, too.

Maria from London, Australia
13 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The service staff were wonderful,friendly and helpful.

Barb from Melbourne, Australia
12 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great weekend. Friendly staff, great facilities and close to everything. The weather could have been better but we can't penalise you for that! To be able to get a 3 Bedroom/3 Bathroom unit was a surprise and perfect for our requirements (we are a group that met on Trafalgar Tour of Europe in 2006 and each year we get together for a "reunion"). Thank you to the team at the Alto.

Peter from Kuranda Qld 4881, Australia
12 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

For us it supplies all our needs. It has become our home in Melbourne and we recommend to all who ask. Convenient for footy at Ethiad or MCG, tram at door, close to CBD. Staff always friendly, love that breakfast is cooked fresh for you,

Gail from Armadale, Australia
11 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

On this particular occasion, we were very pleased with our experience. Front reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, and clean, and well appointed. One comment though: despite double glazing, the motors of the external units of the air con/s are quite noisy (the noise travels up from these), and on this night you could also quite clearly hear the 'thump thump thumping' of a nearby pub or club until at least 3am; and also a garbage truck picked up bottles early Friday morning (approx 5am) which was very noisy. Not much you can do about this I know but just letting you know - it is quite disturbing and unfortunate.

Kathryn from Bonnet Hill, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We keep coming back on our Melbourne visits because we have only had good experiences.

Ken from Sydney, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good hotel. Room was great. enjoyed the complimentary coffee - unusual to find in australia!

David from Perth, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Well appointed and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good position and quiet. I think your sustainability initiatives are fantastic.

Darin from Bright, Australia
10 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very comfortable and enjoyable experience.

LEON from Traralgon, Australia
09 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

sustainable accommodation!

Lars from Sydney, Australia
08 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Pretty good. A pity you don't have ABC news channel,on TV or ABC Radio national on the radio. The bathroom scales are pretty dodgy (ie loose battery, then when connected gave me a totally flattering but inaccurate weight

Joanna from Sydney, Australia
07 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nothing to complain. Services was professional and friendly. Really liked the reading room, free coffee and apples, and the fact that the bedroom door stayed opened when you are struggling to bring/take out the heavy bags on wheels. Appreciated the free wi-fi.

Teresa from Sydney, Australia
06 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, we enjoyed our stay and our room was terrific.

Barbara from Melbourne, Australia
05 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was an amazing stay really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was unbelievable.

Kacey from Sydney, Australia
05 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff are warm and friendly. Kitchen facilities are well equipped and location is perfect!

Catherine from Melbourne, Australia
04 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great thanks

Barry from Darwin, Australia
03 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very happy with service from reception staff and overall comfort and cleanliness of our room. Sadly one of your breakfast room staff (Saturday morning) curt and inattentive. I also found my vegetarian room service meal to be almost inedible. Therefore found front of house staff and the hotel wonderful -catering side (except for quality brrakfast) a let down. Thanks, Allyson

Allyson from Brisbane, Australia
03 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a pleasant stay. My room was a bit dark (1st floor), that is why the comfort was rated "only" good...

Michael from Vienna, Austria
03 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very friendly and helpful staff,the unit was spotless and easy to use,great location for work and recreation .outside noise at night was a problem and phone calls from other rooms at 2-3 am wanting the main desk not appreciated.Otherwise a great stay.

Neil from Melbourne, Australia
03 September 2012

We have identified an issue with our phone system that was forwarding some calls to a different extension. This has been rectified.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We'll be back

Johanna from Geelong, Australia
02 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I loved the new bed and doona. And the room looks more modern with the TV on the wall enabling better access to the desk and powerpoints for working. And the new towel racks in the bathroom are stylish and functional. Breakfast was great and Front desk staff impeccable as usual. I applaud your continuous improvement and attention to detail. best wishes Paul

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
30 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my 3rd stay at the Alto and i will be coming back on the 26th October. Everytime my experience at the Alto has been excellent and i will always recommend the Alto to my friends and family.

CHARLES from Perth, Australia
29 August 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

IT WAS A VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel IN WHICH I WOULD STAY AGAIN IF AND ONLY IF I WAS 100% GUARANTEED A ROOM THAT WAS NOT ON THE TRAM SIDE OF THE BUILDING. I DID REQUEST A QUIET ROOM BUT THIS WAS OVERLOOKED AND WE WERE GIVEN 301 WHICH WAS VERY NOISY BECAUSE OF THE TRAMS. THE hotel WAS FULLY BOOKED SO NOTHING COULD BE DONE ABOUT IT. I THINK MORE ATTENTION TO SPECIAL REQUESTS NEED TO BE LOOKED AT WHILST ALLOCATING ROOMS.LOVE LOVE LOVE THE COFFEE MACHINE AN EXCELLENT IDEA.

Rachelle from 6019, Australia
28 August 2012

We do take notice of guests request and do our best to meet all of the desires we receive. One of the advantages of our location is proximity to transport and other amenities however with this proximity there is a drawback of some noise may be noticed in the very few rooms facing Bourke Street from trams crossing the changeover point in the tracks. We have double glazed the windows to reduce any disturbance and have recently written to Yarra Trams requesting a speed limit be placed on this section of track as speed appears to have an effect on the disturbance.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at Alto several times before and always find it to be good value and comfortable.

Carolyn from Colac, Australia
28 August 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT