Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

Sue from East Kurrajong Nsw, Australia
09 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

What a Wonderful, comfortable place to stay. Very welcoming, and fantastic staff. The little extra things like the apples, coffee machine and relaxation room make all the difference. We will be back for sure. Thanks

Jacqui from Auckland, New Zealand
09 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were all really helpful, cheerful and interested. I usually prefer to stay in a more central CBD location, but if staying near Spencer Station I would definitely consider staying at the Alto.

Pamela from Melbourne, Australia
08 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first stay at Alto, thought we would discover our own city. It was a shame about the weather, not your fault. Great location, with tram stop nearly outside. Very impress with the quietness and cleanliness of this hotel. Last year we stayed at the Windsor hotel only wish we stayed at the Alto, 110% much better. we will put our comments on trip advisors also about our stay. Keep up the great work :)

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
08 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

well appointed. Good value. Free wifi a plus.

Kaye from Melbourne, Australia
08 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a great experience. I have stayed here with my family during a short holiday. Very warm and friendly.

Alex from Brisbane, Australia
08 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were always helpful. We liked the small touches like the apples in the foyer and coffee/tea and newspapers available in the lounge. The location couldn't have been better - this is why we chose to stay here again. We will be back.

Jan from Bundaberg, Australia
08 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our experience was very pleasant. The staff were lovely and helpful and we found the little things like a coffee machine and apples really helped make our stay that much better.

Renee from Iluka, Australia
07 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great stay. Nice and central location with a clean and well maintained room. We found the staff friendly and professional. Will be back again.

Bronwyn from Mayfield, Australia
06 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The whole ambience of the hotel & staff was very, very good, enjoyed our stay & intend to book again next year, would have no hestation recommending to friends etc

Ann from Perth, Australia
05 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great small hotel. Convenient location and very comfortable. Would recommend to others and decided to revisit with my wife.

Stephen from Sydney, Australia
05 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Greg from Adelaide, Australia
05 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Free apples, free newspaper, wonderful breakfast, attractive room, great service, terrific value

Warwick from Melbourne, Australia
03 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Brilliant, however the room service could occur sooner in the day than later in the day. It's kind of inconvenient when travelling with young children.

Rob from Sydney, Australia
03 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location, nice breakfast, good amenities

SHARON from Brisbane, Australia
03 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Pleasant and excellent experience thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were extremely friendly great service

Melissa from Melbourne, Australia
02 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Could not fault the hotel - great service, clean, good location and yummy breakfasts. Would definately stay here again. Highly recommended.

Sarina from Perth, Australia
02 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everyone very helpful and pleasant. Friendly service, felt good to be helping with the environment. The hotel's green credentials seemed impeccable.

Peter from Port Pirie, Australia
02 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed at the Alto on numerous occasions primarily due to its location, and find it comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay at the Alto again.

Jim from Adelaide, Australia
02 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good hotel, plenty of room

Matthew from Perth, Australia
02 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Carolyn from Sydney, Australia
01 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great for a short stay close to everything. Loft room although small had everything you need.

Lee from Melbourne, Australia
01 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The bed I slept in was amazingly soft, what kind of underlay was used? I swear it was like sleeping on a cloud! I liked all the little touches like the apples in the lobby, the relaxation room and the option to use the local gym.

Kristen from Perth, Australia
01 October 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Quick easy and clean. Nice comfy bed

Brad from Bendigo, Australia
30 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I just love staying in this hotel.

Jill from Melbourne, Australia
28 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We last stayed at Alto in January 2006, just after the hotel opened,(which was the last time we visited Melbourne). The convenience of location to transport is a big plus, also the safety for older people to walk around the area of a night. The reception staff very friendly and willing to help with "tourist" questions. The room clean and sufficient for our needs.

Guest From from Canberra. A.c.t., Australia
26 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff were incredibly helpful and intuitive.

Hannah from Hobart, Australia
26 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Front desk staff was very kind to allow us to use the massage chairs on arrival early in the morning. Breakfast staff was sometimes not so fast and occupied by discussing personal matters.

Niclas from Umeň, Sweden
26 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our request for an early check in. Thank you.

Jenny from Canberra, Australia
25 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Arno from Newcastle, Australia
25 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable

Brent from Hobart, Australia
24 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I've stayed at Alto approx 15 nights - this was my 3rd or 4th time. Up to expectations, except I was surprised and annoyed to find that a few guests were apparently not welcome to meet in my room after 10pm. This is an extraordinary limitation for an upmarket hotel costing around $200 per night!

Jason from Melbourne, Australia
23 September 2012

Our policy of restricting visitors a night is to respect that most of our guests want a quiet nights rest. Having visitors come and go from rooms can cause a disturbance in some situations.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved that you had eco-friendly rooms, with wind power, low energy bulbs, dispensers for soaps, and no takeaway cups etc. But especially the recycling bin - first hotel I have ever stayed in which had one - about time! Umbrella in room also came in handy.

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
22 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

list of booking types did not include us - business travellers

Paul from Sydney, Australia
21 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We appreciated our luggage being held at the hotel until later in the day of departure to save us dragging it around the city before we caught our train home. We find the Alto a convenient stop over both before and after flying in/out from overseas, this breaks up what could be a very tedious/tiring journey for us. A very convenient hotel for a few days stay in the City due to its close proximity to Southern Cross Station. We always enjoy our stay at The Alto.

Ian from Bairtnsdale, Australia
21 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed it very much

Robert from Hobart, Australia
20 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The best hotel in Melbourne

Peter from Wellington, New Zealand
20 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was unable to get my Mac to connect to hotel wifi while staying. It didn't prevent me from working, but it did present a minor inconvenience. Perhaps retesting wifi against a number of devices would be useful.

Stephen from Melbourne, Australia
18 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We are always looked after, the staff are fantastic, Andrew always goes out of his way to make us welcome. We always recommend staying with you to all our friends in Darwin.

Carol from Darwin, Australia
17 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

a little bit noisy - other guests late at night in corridor and slamming doors

Susan from Wgv, Australia
17 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have stayed at Alto for our last three visits to Melbourne and would never contemplate staying anywhere else.

John from Brisbane, Australia
17 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff (as usual) were exceptional, particularly as there was a SES crisis at the time. Staff spared the time to let me look over the heritage room (401) - enjoyed that. Breakfast was very enjoyable with ample variety. Jan (my spouse) loves this hotel - happy wife = happy life.

Anthony from Hobart, Australia
14 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

Jacqueline from Morwell, Australia
13 September 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice people, nice room, but no draw space and bathroom sink was positioned in a very awkward place so basically could not wash face or do teeth without water over the floor.

Peter from Wellington, New Zealand
13 September 2012

This particualr room is designed for accesibility for peope with mobility issues. There are limits to what can be placed in these rooms to make them practical & safe for people with mobility issues. Intend reviewing the disign of this room to make improvements where possible.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Blink and you miss it from the outside, but very nice apartment in a pretty good location. Liked the greener energy touches, too.

Maria from London, Australia
13 September 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT