Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really good

Rachel from South Hobart, Australia
20 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I would really like to say how wonderful all the staff are, but especially Gemma .

Caroline from Perth, Australia
18 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Only stayed a short time. I appreciated that my flight was delayed leaving Melb. the staff allowed me to stay and watch telly and to use the massage room. Much appreciated as this rejunvenated me and was able to go out and continue to shop!

Deborah from Adelaide, Australia
18 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, great bed and pillow

Jennifer from Brisbane, Australia
18 November 2013

Glad you liked the beds. We have have had so many comments like yours that we have arrange with our bed supplier to be able to take order for the same designed bed with or without the deep pillow top mattress in any size you like. Delivery available to anywhere in Australia.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant

Ed from Auckland, New Zealand
18 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable and the perfect location for my needs this visit.

Belinda from Brisbane, Australia
16 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic as per usual. Everyone at the Alto is always helpful and as always the room was wonderful. We have stayed here several times.

Ebony from Wodonga, Australia
12 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved upgrade to 3 bedroom apartment. Loved location. Loved Melbourne. All good.

Chris from Streaky Bay, Australia
11 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A good locatiion for my visit. Staff friendly and the free wifi much appreciated.

Melinda from Sydney, Australia
11 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good location, clean, enjoyed the breakfasts, good service

Sally from Perth, Australia
10 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The experience was excellent. We'd never stayed at that end of town before and would again now that we stayed at Alto. The only slight negative (and it wasn't) was that one of the waitresses in the hotel restaurant was not very friendly. Other than that, it was simply great!

Slavica from Melbourne, Australia
08 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a great experience, except I stayed there to have a break from being woken up overnight by my 2 1/2 year old (who was at home with his dad), but was then rudely woken up by a loud bang outside my bedroom in the early hours of the morning, followed by lots of loud footsteps. It may have been a guest but it seems more likely to have been one of your staff members at that time of morning on a Sunday.

Martina from Melbourne, Australia
05 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant experience from end to end. Great to see a property so well maintained and with such attention to detail. Staff were great. Terrific value.

Michael from Camden, Australia
04 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable for all the family members, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is great, so central and we shall tell our friends all about Alto.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
02 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. My booking was made for me (by a company), and on arrival we realised they had not updated my booking to include my two children. The hotel staff were very accommodating, and sorted it out no fuss. What could have been very stressful was not. They were very professional and helpful. Room was perfect, and breakfast lovely. Thank you!

Sonia from Sydney, Australia
02 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ideal location. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely rebooking for our next visit.

Karen from Hobart, Australia
02 November 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Ticks all the boxes. Found the hotel on trip advisor two or so years ago and have stayed with you five or six times. Only problem I have had is that often have an issue with internet access on an IPAD and this was a big issue this time, but when I mentioned it there was already a workmen looking at it and it was fixed after that. It's still an issue that it logs you out after each use even if you hit the "remember password' button and its a pain to keep having to re-enter the password etc but that's a small issue. Some of the rooms have very little natural light which would be difficult for longer stays.

Guest From from Singapore, Singapore
01 November 2013

We are currently upgrading WiFi network which will resolved log out and back on issues.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A place to look forward to returning after a day walking around a cold and wet Melbourne and have a hot chocolate as soon as you get inside.

Paul from Gold Coast, Australia
31 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff wonderful, location perfect, room very nice for weekend away

John from Sydney, Australia
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The hotel gave us exactly what we needed for a 6 day stay in Melbourne

Guest From from Auckland, New Zealand
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, really wonderful front desk team, as well as other staff I bumped into. Nice stay and the extra $40 for the front room is worth it.

Greg from Brisbane, Australia
30 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My second stay - and as enjoyable as the first time.

Mark from Wellington, New Zealand
28 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I initially booked the spa apartment and then changed it to a one bedroom apartment after being advised that the spa apartment was not in line with my request to be at the back of the hotel and away from the lift. Thank you to the staff member who alerted me via email when I booked. The change to another room made my stay very pleasant. The location is a bit out of the way for some things but the bonus was being so close to the station with my luggage and just being able to walk over when I felt like it to catch the bus back to the airport rather than waiting for a shuttle.

Claire from Sydney, Australia
28 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, so central and easy to reach. Good kitchen, comfortable beds.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne. The service was excellent and staff were very professional and friendly. It really was a pleasure to stay at the Alto.

Samantha from Brisbane, Australia
26 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay

Margaret from Brisbane, Australia
23 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great location

Lyn from Adelaide, Australia
23 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Comfy beds! Thanks for the bike storage as well!

Sarah from Orange, Australia
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great - fitted our needs well

Rhys from Auckland, New Zealand
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very pleasant thankyou. Lovely linen and spotless

Philippa from Brisbane, Australia
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location (next to the main station and between the City and the Docklands), very friendly and helpful staff, nice / big / clean rooms.

Monika from Zurich, Switzerland
22 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Happy with everything - except the radio. I do like to listen to the radio and inevitably it is very difficult to do in hotel accommodation. I really liked the book swap, the apples, honey on the roof etc.

Marcelle from Brisbane, Australia
21 October 2013

In additional to the bedside iPod /iPhone players and charger that also plays FM radio has an alarm function our new LED HD televisions have some radio channels as well with excellent reception.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great stay

Hayley from Morrinsville, New Zealand
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel. Ticks all the boxes.

David from Perth, Australia
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Problem with air conditioning received personal attention from the manager which pleased us very much.Not completely fixed but not for want of trying.Otherwise enjoyed our stay immensely (as always).

Gerard from Auckland, New Zealand
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love the Alto. Small enough to be cosy and friendly but still very professional. We would always choose to stay at the Alto when visiting Melbourne. We honeymooned with you in 2008 and were excited to return this year. A bonus this year was the lovely breakfast. Well done on all your environmentally touches too. See you next time we head for lovely Melbourne.

Susan from Dunedin, New Zealand
20 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very well run and welcoming hotel. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms. The rooms have everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. The room with a kitchenette is ideal. There is a good choice for breakfast which is very efficiently served.

Guest From from Doncaster, United Kingdom
18 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great friendly staff - it was a pleasure staying at Alto On Bourke

Craig from Perth, Australia
16 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyable, good location. Suited us perfectly.

Elizabeth from Hobart, Australia
16 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A comfortable hotel where you get what you pay for. The Bed & Brekkie deal was great & brekkie was awesome! Best of all, a really comfy bed.

Megan from Melbourne, Australia
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love Alto and have been guests twice now. We love the eco emphasis in the running of the hotel, its location and ambiance. The staff are friendly and helpful too. This last stay getting internet access was frustrating at times. Other than that, very enjoyable.

Jayne from Christchurch, New Zealand
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. Service was fabulous and to be commended. Loved the eco philosophy. The only very minor issue we had was rectified promptly and more than compensated for. Husband was a little bothered by the street noise on Saturday night but that is locational, and hardly something you can control. You will definitely be the first on my list when we next visit Melbourne.

Pippin from Perth, Australia
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

fantastic...

Paul from Melbourne, Australia
15 October 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a good find. Very friendly staff, good room - v small but I knew that when I booked it. Breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced.

Best from Melbourne, Australia
14 October 2013

Our staff enjoy getting feedback about their service, thank you. Breakfast is an important meal and we realise that guests expect not to be overcharged for breakfast. As you say the petite rooms are just that compact but with all the amenities you need.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very welcoming staff THANKYOU! It's lovely to have my children treated with warmth & shown around. Well done Alto staff. Love the library & your beds & pillows are very comforting after a long day exploring Melbourne. We'll be back for sure :-)

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
12 October 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT