Alto Hotel On Bourke

2672 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't get the internet service to work but a staff member came up to the room and worked on it with me for quite awhile. Good value and great location.

JOHN from San Francisco, United States
24 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my 2nd time and again all went well. Two things, every night while I was there at 4am there was a lot of noise from someone walking either down the exit stairs or above me - it was quite loud and disruptive. But not much you can do! On the last day my bathroom sink was not cleaned but these are small things - overall the stay was excellent as always and housekeeping do an exceptional job. It was just a small oversight.

Wendy from Sydney, Australia
23 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good place to stay but found apartment very noisy despite the double glazing, would not stay in this room type again.

Kaye from Launceston, Australia
22 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional staff helped to make my stay perfect. I cannot think of a single way you could improve your hotel, it was sensational in every way. I'll definitely be back!

Margot from Cairns, Australia
22 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a great stay. We always come back.

Simon from Cairns, Australia
20 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

There was a small error when my room, which I had already settled into, seemed to have been allocated to another person who actually managed to enter my room using a key issued to them. HOWEVER, I do not consider this a major issue and I was extremely impressed with the prompt and professional action by the staff to rectify the situation.

Patrick from Canberra, Australia
20 June 2013

Prompt and professional we always try to be. But we certainly made a mix up there. Should not happen and the team members that were involved are chasten for their inattention.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Delighted to stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke given the accessibility to Southern Cross station just minutes away. Room was pleasant with comfortable beds and free apples!

Mohammad from Melbourne, Australia
20 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, helpful staff, great location. Clean and quiet rooms.

Nicholas from Wellington, New Zealand
20 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good clean hotel with excellent staff. Would recommend to anyone.

Guest From from Truro, United Kingdom
19 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, comfortable very convenient location. So far, favorite place to stay in Melbourne.

Gail from Melbourne, Australia
18 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic!

Ahnes from Vancouver, Canada
18 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed there a few times and will continue to stay. Close to Spencer St Station, SkyBus and walking distance to most things. The staff are great and it all works fine for me!

Russell from Hobart, Australia
17 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

loved it!

Fiona from Wagga, Australia
17 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first time staying here and can easy day we will be back! Such a great hotel, good location.. Rooms are spacious and the hotel has fantastic facilities!! Charlie at front desk was a fantastic help! Breakfast cooker by chef on Saturday 15/6/13 was by far the best we had during our whole stay!

Sophie from Newcastle, Australia
16 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent facilities and location. Staff were all very helpful. Love that the Alto is environmentally aware. Will be back next year. Free Wifi was fantastic.

Julie from Ravenshoe, Australia
16 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great o be by the airport bus terminal and the station. Vey good staff, friendly & helpful. Very quiet. Everything in the room was great, thank you.

Gretchen from Dunedin, New Zealand
16 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very helpful and friendly and came up with solutions to minor issues I had

Joseph from Brisbane, Australia
15 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

breakfast on sat morning took forever, but other mornings ok, this is the only complaint I have ever had. People were sitting to long before being served, then took ages to get meal, but only sat, sun and mon were fine. and all mornings were as busy.

Carol from Darwin, Australia
12 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My second stay at the Alto - brought my daughter with me this time - pleased to say she will make this her number one choice to stay in Melbourne. A big thank you for the box of chocolates - it was a lovely surprise.

Kerrie from Adelaide, Australia
12 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We needed to leave the car parked until 4pm and store our luggage until this time. The staff accommodated us with no hesitation which we very much appreciated. We'll definately be back - we've pretty much decided to book a room for New Years Eve to enjoy the fireworks and excellent location!

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
11 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the 3rd time this year that I've stayed at the Alto & every time I realise anew why I don't want to stay anywhere else. The staff are great, the location perfect & free coffee & hot chocolate is much appreciated after a night at the footy. See you again next year.

Sheree from Mount Barker, Australia
09 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From our first day to our last we loved our stay at the Alto. We walked everywhere or took the tram, the Alto is so well positioned in the heart of Melbourne. We were so impressed that we will definitely be back when we visit Melbourne again early next year! Thanks to all the friendly staff, you were all so welcoming and helpful.

Mike from Australind, Australia
09 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

exceeded expectations!

Joan from Melbourne Australia, United States
07 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant experience. Our second visit and felt valued guests. We love your environmental credentials- there should be more hotels like yours. We will use your hotel again.

Ruth from Carluke, United Kingdom
07 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our second stay at Alto (first stay in 2008) - we love the location.

Sophia from Sydney, Australia
06 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good. A last minute meeting schedule change for me meant it would be difficult to check out on time. A short extension was possible with no fuss.

Michael from Sydney, Australia
06 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All aspects were excellent

Julie from Perth, Australia
05 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

First time guest and I was very impressed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in. I will be back for sure!

Luisa from Inverloch, Australia
05 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Suited our needs well, close to city and trams. Accommodated a large group very comfortably

Jacqui from Melbourne, Australia
05 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Perfect location, very comfortable, great food, good environmental credentials. Good value..

Avril from Melbourne, Australia
04 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I always stay at Alto when in Melbourne, feels like home and very secure and just the right place for me

Daphne from Melbourne, Australia
04 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The location is very good for seeing CBD attractions.

Patricia from Edmonton, Canada
03 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The 2 storey stylish apartment suited our needs perfectly. We appreciated being able to occupy the room on arrival at 11.30am after advising you earlier. It made life so much easier. The complimentary champagne to celebrate the forthcoming wedding was a wonderful gesture. The wedding photographer used the room,lounge and hallway to take many pre-wedding photos as he found it to be excellent for location. Car parking was close by and the location for transport excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful and considerate. Being able to buy a MyKi pass there made that issue so much easier for "out of towners". It helped to make us enjoy our daughter's wedding so much more.

Richard from Coffs Harbour, Australia
03 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our time here, good staff, good room,and good food.

John from Adelaide, Australia
02 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Another excellent experience at the Alto.

Bradley from Perth, Australia
01 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Well situated hotel with easy access to everything Melbourne has to offer. We found the Alto to be clean, safe, with a friendly staff. Also the breakfast was delicious and a great start to each day. We highly recommend the Alto to anyone.

Susan from San Francisco, United States
01 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the moment we walked in the door, until our departure, the staff was very accommodating and helpful. Being so close to Southern Cross made the location very convenient. Everything from the lobby, the restaurant, the hallways, and our room was always clean. The atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing. Being first time international travelers we did not know really what to expect- The staff at Alto made us feel safe and comfortable our entire visit. We were fortunate enough to stay in a two bedroom apartment so we had plenty of room to stretch out. There was a good variety of fresh food on the breakfast buffet and everything we ordered was delicious!! I would be completely confident in recommending this hotel to anyone!!

Anita from Melbourne, Australia
01 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

hotel location was perfect for holiday sightseeing. Laundry, coffee, and wifi availability made our stay very convenient. The star was helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Thanks for the hospitality :)

Doug from Melbourne, Australia
31 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good

William from Sydney, Australia
30 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

stayed there 5 weeks ago and said I would return in which we did. planning to come back late june but you don't have rooms available

Robert from Perth, Australia
29 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

nice

Karl from Baraboo, United States
29 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with the hotel. Will definately come back and recommend to family and friends.

Nicole from Adelaide, Australia
28 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This hotel is well located. I did find it very warm, particularly in the Dining Room. The staff were all wonderful.

Tanya from Perth, Australia
27 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely hotel. Thank you

Louise from Adelaide, Australia
27 May 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall a good stay with very helpfull staff, good breakfast. The only issue was a very strong musty smell in the room, it smelt like wet carpet however the carpet was dry and did not smell. I reported it to staff on two occassions however I did not receive a response. Still overall a good stay!

Peter from Melbourne, Australia
27 May 2013

Issue was investigated a solution applied while guest was out. We did not leave a note about our action as we believed solution applied had fixed the cause.
 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT