Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

entirely pleasant. convenient location. front line staff were largely very good. my family enjoyed ourselves.

Glenn from Singapore, Singapore
12 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fabulous location, great value for money. I would recommend it to others.

Vicki from Sydney, Australia
12 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a great stay and would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.

Charmaine from Adelaide, Australia
11 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great service, great food. The kids loved the hot chocolates!

Lee from Melbourne, Australia
11 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfy beds, near sky bus for airport transport and walking distance to all necessities. Love the hot chocolate machine and the relaxation room :)

Emma from Rockingham, Australia
11 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good location and very clean. Friendly service and would like to give an excellent rating.

Maggie from Sydney, Australia
11 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Truly wonderful! Will be back.

Renae from Melbourne, Australia
11 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great facilities, friendly staff

Karen from Melbourne, Australia
10 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a good choice and a comfortable stay.

OMAR from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
10 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was a lovely hotel and the bed was sooooo comfortable

Jeanette from Melbourne, Australia
10 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great place to stay, very clean room and serviced daily. Fantastic shower, and very warm beds. Coffee machine, relaxation room, library and apples were a welcomed surprise.

Murray from Brisbane, Australia
10 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Mostly excellent and great breakfasts. Very conveniently located etc. we did have a problem with the air con which we found impossible to turn down. It was far too warm at night and the doona was far too warm. We didn't mention this at the time as we tended to forget about it during the day. We really like your hotel otherwise and have stayed there previously.

Elaine from Sydney, Australia
10 July 2013

Please note that while we do our best to ensure no problem arises, if an issue is not reported, we cannot take action to fix it.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very positive and rewarding stay, good location, pleasant staff. I appreciated the sustainability and environmental initiatives that you have invested in.

Marianne from Melbourne, Australia
09 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic - loved the coffee machine and the lounge area - very relaxing and welcoming, made meeting friends very easy and convenient.

Pamela from Melbourne, Australia
09 July 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Absolutely first class. So glad I discovered your amazingly homely and friendly hotel

Barbara from Perth, Australia
29 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean quiet comfortable. Petit Queen a bit small :-) for me. Staff saved my liife more than once - really firendly and helpful. I'd come again just for them. Apples a lovely extra, thank you.

Gretchen from Dunedin, New Zealand
28 June 2013

Our petite rooms are petite and better suited for a short stay. Studio Queen or Studio King offer more space for a longer stay. We like helping guests, glad we can help in a small way or something more dramatic if required.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, modern decor, intimate. Staff demonstrated pride in their place of employment. Did not disappoint.

David from Perth, Australia
28 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Room very comfortable. Staff helpful.Ideal spot if you are going to Etihad stadium and so close to the Skybus!

Lee-Anne from Adelaide, Australia
26 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Super helpful staff that went out of their way to help us have a great stay - I'll be recommending Alto to friends and family.

Janet from Sydney, Australia
24 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Air-conditioning not working. Staff did not offer compensation :( E.g. free breakfast.

Peta from Qld, Australia
24 June 2013

Dear Peta, thank you for your feedback. When the problem was reported a technician went to the room and changed the setting on the remote for the air conditioning unit from cooling to heating.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleased with our rooms as we had a couple from interstate with us. Love the intimacy of the dining room.

Furzer from Melbourne, Sydney, Australia
24 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything about my stay was fantastic, except that in room 401 I found it difficult to sleep due to the unfamiliar noise of the trams just outside the window.

Olivia from Sydney, Australia
24 June 2013

Tram tracks are due for repair. Yarra Trams advise work is scheduled for July / August.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Nicola from Wellington, New Zealand
24 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't get the internet service to work but a staff member came up to the room and worked on it with me for quite awhile. Good value and great location.

JOHN from San Francisco, United States
24 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my 2nd time and again all went well. Two things, every night while I was there at 4am there was a lot of noise from someone walking either down the exit stairs or above me - it was quite loud and disruptive. But not much you can do! On the last day my bathroom sink was not cleaned but these are small things - overall the stay was excellent as always and housekeeping do an exceptional job. It was just a small oversight.

Wendy from Sydney, Australia
23 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good place to stay but found apartment very noisy despite the double glazing, would not stay in this room type again.

Kaye from Launceston, Australia
22 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional staff helped to make my stay perfect. I cannot think of a single way you could improve your hotel, it was sensational in every way. I'll definitely be back!

Margot from Cairns, Australia
22 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always a great stay. We always come back.

Simon from Cairns, Australia
20 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

There was a small error when my room, which I had already settled into, seemed to have been allocated to another person who actually managed to enter my room using a key issued to them. HOWEVER, I do not consider this a major issue and I was extremely impressed with the prompt and professional action by the staff to rectify the situation.

Patrick from Canberra, Australia
20 June 2013

Prompt and professional we always try to be. But we certainly made a mix up there. Should not happen and the team members that were involved are chasten for their inattention.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Delighted to stay at Alto Hotel On Bourke given the accessibility to Southern Cross station just minutes away. Room was pleasant with comfortable beds and free apples!

Mohammad from Melbourne, Australia
20 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, helpful staff, great location. Clean and quiet rooms.

Nicholas from Wellington, New Zealand
20 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good clean hotel with excellent staff. Would recommend to anyone.

Guest From from Truro, United Kingdom
19 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Clean, comfortable very convenient location. So far, favorite place to stay in Melbourne.

Gail from Melbourne, Australia
18 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic!

Ahnes from Vancouver, Canada
18 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I have stayed there a few times and will continue to stay. Close to Spencer St Station, SkyBus and walking distance to most things. The staff are great and it all works fine for me!

Russell from Hobart, Australia
17 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

loved it!

Fiona from Wagga, Australia
17 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our first time staying here and can easy day we will be back! Such a great hotel, good location.. Rooms are spacious and the hotel has fantastic facilities!! Charlie at front desk was a fantastic help! Breakfast cooker by chef on Saturday 15/6/13 was by far the best we had during our whole stay!

Sophie from Newcastle, Australia
16 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent facilities and location. Staff were all very helpful. Love that the Alto is environmentally aware. Will be back next year. Free Wifi was fantastic.

Julie from Ravenshoe, Australia
16 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great o be by the airport bus terminal and the station. Vey good staff, friendly & helpful. Very quiet. Everything in the room was great, thank you.

Gretchen from Dunedin, New Zealand
16 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very helpful and friendly and came up with solutions to minor issues I had

Joseph from Brisbane, Australia
15 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

breakfast on sat morning took forever, but other mornings ok, this is the only complaint I have ever had. People were sitting to long before being served, then took ages to get meal, but only sat, sun and mon were fine. and all mornings were as busy.

Carol from Darwin, Australia
12 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My second stay at the Alto - brought my daughter with me this time - pleased to say she will make this her number one choice to stay in Melbourne. A big thank you for the box of chocolates - it was a lovely surprise.

Kerrie from Adelaide, Australia
12 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We needed to leave the car parked until 4pm and store our luggage until this time. The staff accommodated us with no hesitation which we very much appreciated. We'll definately be back - we've pretty much decided to book a room for New Years Eve to enjoy the fireworks and excellent location!

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
11 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is the 3rd time this year that I've stayed at the Alto & every time I realise anew why I don't want to stay anywhere else. The staff are great, the location perfect & free coffee & hot chocolate is much appreciated after a night at the footy. See you again next year.

Sheree from Mount Barker, Australia
09 June 2013

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From our first day to our last we loved our stay at the Alto. We walked everywhere or took the tram, the Alto is so well positioned in the heart of Melbourne. We were so impressed that we will definitely be back when we visit Melbourne again early next year! Thanks to all the friendly staff, you were all so welcoming and helpful.

Mike from Australind, Australia
09 June 2013

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60     NEXT