Alto Hotel On Bourke

2695 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The staff at the check-in counter was very, very helpful and we loved staying at your hotel. There was one minor negative issue, and that was some noise from the neighbouring room sometimes during the night - it sounded like some young people had a get-together there and made a lot of talking. But not a real problem - our overall impression was that everything was perfect and we will definitely use your hotel again next time we come back to Melbourne.

Jan from Copenhagen, Denmark
24 February 2011

For your convenience, reception is open 24hours a day to assist you with any issues that may arise during your stay.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great hotel good location

Rachel from Home Hill, Australia
22 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was great - very close to transport. Love that it is 100% wind powered. Didn't like the soap products in the bathroom. Great to get The Age. Fantastic that the wi-fi was free.

Natalie from Auckland, New Zealand
22 February 2011

The Guest Amenities we are currently providing are from the 'Pure Essense' Range. These are supplied in dispensors in each bathroom, to reduce the little bottles and left over products contributing to landfill, which is inline with our Environmental Policy.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice and clean hotel - location was very good to Spenser St station, however a walk away from a lot of the good restaurants to the East of the CBD. We found the bed a bit uncomfortable - sagged in the middle. The breakfast package was a good start to the morning and thankfully served until 9.30 to accommodate people like us who had a sleep in! All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rowena from Perth, Australia
22 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

v.good

Esther from Melbourne, Australia
21 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A great location. Quiet and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. We were disappointed to find that the upstairs bedrooms and bathrooms were serviced but the downstairs bedroom and bathroom weren't. Wasn't a problem but would have been nice.

Elaine from Ashburton, New Zealand
20 February 2011

We endeavour to keep high standards at our hotel especially with cleaning. We also provide 24 hour reception for our guests during their stay.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

good

Ruth from Newcastle, Australia
17 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable and easy to access.

Emma from Melbourne, Australia
17 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed the total experience of our stay at the Alto - from the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of our room, the service, the inclusive breakfast, to the added extras - tea, coffee, fruit available all day to guests. We would highly recommend the Alto to our friends and look forward to a return visit. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

David from Sunshine Coast, Australia
15 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with our stay at the hotel. The view from the first floor room was not good but we were not there to look out of the window. Breakfast on 2 of the 3 mornings was good, on the 3rd morning the bacon was a bit fatty with not much meat. However the food and the buffet was good.

Arthur from Sydney, Australia
15 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was easy even with small kids!

Liis from Kouvola, Finland
13 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our visit, the staff were all very friendly, the meals were great. Only one problem and that was I thought I had booked a room with no stairs, and my husband & his Uncle both use walking sticks but we manage to survive them. That was the only disappointment as I thought I had booked a two bed apartment with out stairs.

Guest From from Melbourne, Australia
10 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed in one of the Studio Rooms. As our flight arrived early morning, the reception staff were very helpful in getting us into our room at 12.30pm, we decied to go to the zoo to fill in time, staff gave us all the information we needed in where to by tram tickets and what number etc.. the Alto is a two minute walk from Southern Cross Station and trams stop not far from the from door.The room layout is spacious and exceptionaly comfortable. We were in Melbourne for a workshop, often returning late - fortunatley Alto has a wonderful dinner menue to choose from - well presented, delicous and great value (do not miss the desserts). In the mornings it was such a delight to be greated by the friendly and professional staff at Breakfast time, there is something for everyone on the menue. We would highly reccomend the Alto and look forward to staying again on our future trips to Melbourne.

Russell from Darwin, Australia
09 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I loved having a room with real windows I could open and the view of the trees on Bourke St. I found the staff among the nicest of any hotel I've ever stayed at, particularly the room staff and other employees one would encounter in the lift. I also appreciated the modern bathroom with its spa bath and beautiful non-slip tiles. The kitchen was a bit disappointing but I guess most people come to shop and dine out.

Eve from Brisbane, Australia
08 February 2011

Our 1 & 2 beroom apartments have a full galley style kitchen completed by a range of cutlery, crockery & utnesils. The kitchens have an oven, cooktop (hob), microware, refrigerator & dishwasher.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great, no problems

Tim from Brisbane, Australia
07 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very satisfactory

Guest From from Brisbane, Australia
07 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I was extremely impressed by the friendliness of the staff. They went out of their way to help. I had a meal in the restaurant and the steak was superb. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel couldn't have been more convenient for my purpose.

Susan from Perth, Australia
05 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable experience, staff very friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay again.

Debbie from Perth, Australia
05 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I love the Alto! It's my home away from home while in Melbourne ! This was my second stay and I will be back. Have told all my friends and business associates about you. I'm always made to feel welcome; sincerely , not perfunctorily like at other hotels. I like the 'green' (ie, enegy saving) aspect of your hotel also. The food is also delicious and of a high standard. Thank you! As I ran out of time and did not complete the feedback card. Room 304 toilet half -flush button does not work. Thank you.

Wendy from Sydney, Australia
04 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Everything was excellent....location, amenities, staff etc. No complaints. My 5 yo and I had a very nice time, thanks.

Brett from Canberra, Australia
03 February 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent base for our purposes

Guest From from Sydney, Australia
30 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wonderful small hotel-excellent staff and amenities. Loved the eco!!

Karen from Dallas, United States
29 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice place to stay. Impressed with the hotel.

Hayley from Melbourne, Australia
28 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We enjoyed our stay immensely, staff at front desk were very helpful. Thanks for the upgrade= this was an added bonus. Would definately stay again and have recommended to our friends

Jim, from Melbourne, Australia
26 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great to be near the tram line to get around, although trams made quite a racket and we were in a front room on 2nd floor. Tram noise was due to the change over track between the two directions. Despite this we enjoyed our time in Melbourne and tram noise is outside the Alto Hotels scope to change, plus it was noted that windows were triple glazed, so an effort had been made to minimise.

Cameron from Perth, Australia
24 January 2011

All of our 1 bed room spa apartments are located at the front of the hotel overlooking a tree lined Bourke Street. As noted these rooms are triple glazed to minimise external noise.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Small rooms but great place with top notch services (i.e. breakfast was great, free coffee is not bad for machine, massage chairs were fun, front desk was full of good info). On top of that I felt good staying somewhere with high environmental conciousness and no sacrifice to comfort and convenience.

Cesar from Brisbane, Australia
19 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel provided excellent service on many levels and is wonderfully positioned in central Melbourne. We felt we got excellent value for money without compromising on service and comfort and would certainly (and have already) recommend it to others. The room in which we stayed was compact but there was sufficient space for the three of us (which included two adults and a baby sleeping in a cot) and the room was amazingly quiet which we greatly appreciated. We also appreciated the commitment to environmentally sustainable practices. Overall, a great hotel.

Melissa from Sydney, Australia
19 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a loverly time in Melbourne and the accommodation was great.

Guest From from Newcastle, Australia
18 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very helpful staff. very clean comfortable bed

Howard from Pontville, Australia
15 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good, the house keeping staff were excellent, front of house staff (desk and kitchen) were a bit more mixed in the quality of service, but good in general. Breakfast was adequate although not great, and quite slow. Rooms were a little smaller than I had expected, but still good value.

Nicholas from Wellington, New Zealand
14 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was very enjoyable despite the weather. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The bed was A1 and the window soundproofing was also. The bathroom was first class.

Tim from Melbourne, Australia
14 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The Alto is our hotel of choice whenever visiting Melbourne because of its excellent location, professional, friendly and always helpful staff across all areas, quality dining options and well appointed rooms and apartments. The Alto's commitment to ecotourism and established green credentials are another incentive to stay. We regularly sing your praises to work colleagues and friends looking for superior value accommodation in Melbourne. A peaceful haven and retreat in the midst of a vibrant cosmopolitan city - a hidden gem! As repeat guests, we value the personal touch accorded to us on each visit.

Paul from Brisbane, Australia
11 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

lovely boutique hotel - comfortable, well appointed, good location, good information available about local tourism, charming touches that were very welcome, like complimentary apples, carry bags, papers and coffee

Lee from Melbourne, Australia
10 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were very happy with our Alto experience. We were disappointed that there were no Bar facilities. We found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating and will certainly be recommending the hotel to friends.

Marg from Melbourne, Australia
08 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a wonderful time. Lauren at the front desk was especially helpful.

Melanie from Ringwood Melbourne, Australia
07 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great vacation in the city. The best location.

Gali from Sydney, Australia
03 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Homely Personal Eco-friendly Independent Perfect Location Boutique Funky ... Quiet Reading Room ... Relaxation Room ... did not have time to explore that one ... hotel appeals to OS seasoned travellers; local country folk; young singles & couples ... Not really a kids venue ... Lift quick and clean ... Good showers [Essential for AUS clients] ... Wish they had reciprocal arrangements with similar hotels OS. 24 hour coffee machine makes surprisingly fair to good coffee .. Smokers garden out back ... Excellent television reception ... Quiet rooms ... You can open the windows ...

George from Oaklands Nsw, Australia
02 January 2011

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent service from reception. Check us in (6 people) on our early flight and printed boarding passes. Even prepared breakfast and brought it to our rooms the night before, since we left hotel at 4 am. Great location next to the Airport Bus station. Delicious breakfast freshly made. The rooms are ok. Unfortunately there is no view from the window since there is another building very close. Therefore there is little natural daylight in the rooms. Lack of view/daylight is the only negative thing about the hotel.

Trond from Beijing, China
23 December 2010

Being a 4 storey boutique hotel in a large city does limit available views. Most rooms overlook Langs Lane adjacent to the hotel. The lane is narrower in one section with only some rooms along this section.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with the Alto. I stay there whenever I am in Melbourne.

Mike from Castlemaine, Australia
18 December 2010

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Even though the room was a little small it was quiet for a central location and good value. I'd certainly stay again when going to Melb. CBD.

Alan from Mt. Gambier, Australia
09 December 2010

You may like to try a Studio for your next stay as they are larger and include a kitchenette.
 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60