Alto Hotel On Bourke

2724 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

staff were welcoming, cheerful and helpful.lounge are restaurant area is great, intimate and relaxed.the bed could have been more comfortable but I am fussy! we will return. thank you

Catherine from Launceston, Australia
22 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Good. Great location and comfortable stay

Allan from Auckland, New Zealand
21 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We have always enjoyed our various stays at the Alto. It is a very comfortable, clean and friendly place. The food is also excellent and reasonably priced. We have noticed a bit of noise outside early in the morning - not your fault we think. We love your coffee machine and cosy dining area. My husband also loves the apples. Thank you so much for the complimentary chocolates - a lovely surprise. We thoroughly endorse the Alto's efforts to operate sustainably.

Charlesworth, from Hobart, Australia
20 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable room and friendly staff

ALLISON from Melbourne, Australia
20 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good

Rosalind from Melbourne, Australia
17 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Like other reviewers said, a good dinner closeby is difficult to find. On one rainy evening we found the chef left before stated closing time.

EDWIN from Winnipeg, Canada
16 June 2012

For times when our kitchen is closed a menu of meals and drinks is availeble for deliver form a nearby service. Mail Exchange Bar 4 buildings down the street offer a restaurant and bar snack menu. For convienience we have placed an umberella in each room with more available form reception if needed.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As i was ill and could not make the trip i cannot say. However in the past i have been quite happy with my choice.

Dennis from Melbourne, Australia
15 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Wish the shower has more water pressure.

Wengyie from Sydney, Australia
14 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Love staying at the Alto. The staff are always friendly & helpful. This is the 5th time that I've stayed at the Alto, this time with my husband. We had a 3 night package which included breakfast, which was very nice. First time that I'd used the coffee machine, which was much appreciated after a long day. Love the location of the hotel, so close to everything and even my hard to please husband was impressed.

Sheree from Mount Barker, Australia
14 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience

Meredith from Wollongong, Australia
13 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A very pleasant stay.Room was noisy so would consider this on a future stay however maybe this is city life!!! Sounded like we were next door to the recycling depot... we did have our window open. Would probably choose a bigger room next time if they are available. Lovely breakfast. Enjoy places that include a generous breakfast.

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
13 June 2012

While our opening windows offer fresh air and allow passive cooling or heating of the room they will let in the noises of a big city. The double glazing leave most of those noises outside.
 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good - a bit of street noise but that was fine given the fabulous location right in the middle of the city. I ordered a soup (room service) and it was delivered without the bread roll, but the staff were all lovely and went out of their way to help me out.

Lauren from Bendigo, Australia
13 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rooms were very clean & comfortable and excellent breakfast included. Liked the eco aspects of the hotel.

John from Sydney, Australia
12 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It suited my needs.

Craig from Melbourne, Australia
12 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was clean & quiet (except for air-con) and we liked the eco measures. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was superb! We would definitely stay here again. Jenny & Robert

Robert from Bendigo, Australia
12 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very enjoyable and fun filled 4 days. Thanks for reminding me about my bag. The fruit and coffee are a great personal touch.

Ian from Adelaide, Australia
11 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our stay was fantastic - from check in until check out. I have and will continue to recommend your hotel to family and friends

Barbara from Townsville, Australia
09 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Nice, comfortable, clean and perfect location for getting around

Laura from Sydney, Australia
08 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Pleasantly surprised. A great find in Melbourne.

Cynthia from Sydney, Australia
06 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant stay great location

Leanne from Murray Bridge, Australia
05 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed stay - would stay again

Clare from Christchurch, New Zealand
05 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

My room was perfect, thankyou for upgrading me, loved the restaurant, food was amazing, and being a smoker, I really didn't feel like a leper when out there....

Kym from Brisbane, Australia
05 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Always greeted with a smile, helpful about internet & quick service.

Kylie from Melbourne, Australia
04 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a very pleasant stay. Staff were helpful and polite and breakfast was great.

Elizabeth from Melbourne, Australia
04 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location and very quiet considering proximity to train station. Staff very helpful and resourceful - nothing was too much trouble. Rooms a trifle compact and more comfortable chairs in room lounge would be nice!

Gary from Canberra, Australia
04 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good breakfast and room.

Jani from Espoo, Finland
04 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was outstanding. The food was good. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was very congenial and I would certainly recommend it to others.

S. from Brisbane, Australia
03 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great hotel, happy to come back and stay again

James from Hobart, Australia
31 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overall this is a great hotel to stay at

Jackie from Sydney, Australia
31 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I stay at the Alto when on Work Business because of its close location to Southern Cross Station. Its just a 2 min walk from station, Trams right out the front lovely breakfasts and excellent pillows.

Mary from Melbourne, Australia
31 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Thank you:)

Janelle from Melbourne, Australia
31 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Apart from the steep, narrow staircase and trying to get large luggage up and down and the terrible washing machine that even the staff couldn't operate when we had problems, it was a pleasant stay.

Lisa from Mixture, New Zealand
30 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable and welcoming.

ALLISON from Melbourne, Australia
30 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great 4 night stay in the heart of Melbourne. Breakfast was great, room was very comfortable.

Helen from Rockhampton, Australia
29 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

When travelling to Melbourne we would never consider staying anywhere else other than the Alto - location, service and cleanliness is second to none.

John from Brisbane, Australia
29 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our overall experience at the Alto was excellent, the only small negative was the air conditioner in our room was temperamental. It switched on and off and didn't warm the room up enough. Staff were very helpful when we requested assistance. The complimentary coffee, fruit etc was much enjoyed. Overall a very enjoyable experience and we will happily recommend staying at the Alto to friends.

Joe from Ingham, Australia
28 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had an enjoyable experience. Great rooms, good breakfast menu, and fantastic location.

Dan from Melbourne, Australia
28 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We were a bunch of 9 travellers together. Checkin was fast, rooms were tidy and comfortable. Room facilities such as washing/dryer all in good working order. Location was in the western part of CBD, which makes for slightly more walking, but being located just at the tram stop on Bourke St is convenient. Excellent value.

Gilbert from Singapore, Singapore
27 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I very much enjoyed my stay. Unlike most large hotels, this felt like it had been designed by people who stay in hotels. The room was not large but was well designed, had everything that was needed and included often overlooked features such as excellent lighting and cutlery, crockery etc for in-room meals. The free wireless internet and access to a coffee machine at all hours were also greatly appreciated.

Neil from Melbourne, Australia
25 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We found the location to our satisfaction, booking in and out (Reception) easy, A -Lounge staff not so welcoming, but breakfast suited our needs. If we visit Melbourne again we would consider staying at Alto on Bourke.

Alan from Orange, Nsw, Australia
24 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The location was good. A bit noisy for our liking

Murray from Perth, Australia
24 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We stayed at Alto with the first half of our stay being business, and the second half, holiday. It is wonderfully convenient for the city and the SkyBus. We were able to catch trams right outside, had shopping and food on our doorstep and a major transport hub a stones throw away. We liked the room - although not the view of the wall - but we weren't in the hotel during the day. Loved the reading room, and the free WiFi and coffee. Parking is available at night, right outside so long as you are away promptly in the morning, so that is another benefit. I couldn't remember what package I had booked, and we did ask about breakfast at check-in, and were told we hadn't booked that. On check-out we were told we did have breakfasts included, so had not been able to make use of that for 5 out of the 6 mornings, which was a bit of a disappointment. The staff, for the most part throughout the hotel, restaurant and room staff, were absolutely excellent. Friendly and helpful. We would stay here again, and have already recommended it to colleagues. While our room was half the size of the RACV hotel rooms, it was also half the price, and the thing that encouraged me to make the booking was the free WiFi.

Jo from Auckland, New Zealand
24 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second stay at Alto, and I don't see any reason to try anywhere else when I visit Melbourne. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I especially like the ability to drop bags off before and after check-in/check-out, 24 hr reception and the complementary coffee machine. Thankyou Alto.

Kirstie from Perth, Australia
22 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This time around I had a very short stay, only checking in at 10:30/11pm and checking out at 9am. I had a fundraiser breakfast to attend at the RACV City Club just two blocks up, so I knew the location would be perfect. The big shower was great, and the bed was so comfortable, I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow! It would be nice if the parking was slightly closer and/or undercover, but otherwise, I am always very happy to stay at Alto.

Natalie from Melbourne, Australia
22 May 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good thanks

Belinda from Hobart, Australia
22 May 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61     NEXT