Alto Hotel On Bourke

2724 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very friendly staff. Room relatively small.

Tim from Sydney, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Once again very good apart from noisy people above our romm.

Jan from Perth, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable, great location, helpful staff as minimal visits to Melbourne. Cosy not intimidating ambience as solo traveller. Will stay again. Thank you. B Shepherd

SHEPHERD from Noosa, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed a wonderful first time stay at this hotel and will return again.Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Joanne from Adelaide, Australia
28 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had such a wonderful time! Location was amazing! In the heart of the CBD and yet somehow, still quiet. We loved Melbourne, partly because of the fact that we knew we had a wonderful place to go back to each night. The price was fantastic. I'm also so comforted by your eco-friendly attitudes - it was obvious that you go to great lengths to reduce environmental impact. I'm so impressed and I'll definitely be back!

Thalia from Sydney, Australia
27 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Could not fault the hotel. Special praise to Andrew on reception when we arrived at 7am for getting us into our room at 10am (well before check in at 2pm) for a much needed sleep.

Nick from Perth, Australia
26 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I am a regular - says it all. Accommodation is good but quality of staff is key. Free wi fi, continuous coffee and fruit add excellent touches.

Gregory from Adelaide, Australia
24 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant, loved the location.

Neil from Melbourne, Australia
24 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved it. We especially liked the fire and reading nook, with the exchange book library! Loved that breakfast was included, and also really appreciated the options of gluten free bread and cereal, thank you so much. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

Jamie from Brisbane, Australia
23 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Overnight stay after all night flight traveling home from overseas trip. Check in was prior to midday and fortunately the room was available. The Alto a very convenient 5 minute walk from the Skybus (airport bus) terminal at Southern Cross Station. There is a tram stop almost directly out the front of the hotel. hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Having stayed at the Alto previously I can recommend the breakfast. The room a very comfortable with kitchen facilities, satellite TV and free WiFi. All in all a hidden treat.

David from Christchurch, New Zealand
23 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very clean hotel

Michael from Sydney, Australia
22 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Biggest suprise....staff appeared happy.....you don't see much of that these days. Some lovely touches....apples in the foyer and internet access included in the price..... lending library....great idea. Although the room was small......we were out most of the time....so it wasn't an issue for us. The Alto has struck a niche market.......perfect for people travelling on their own....it feels safe and secure. Have passed on our experiences at Alto to family & friends...... thank you for making our stay in Melbourne a memorable one. You will see us again for sure. Deb & David

Deborah from Tasmania, Australia
21 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

comfortable and convenient for our purpose

Robin from Melbourne, Australia
21 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great experience, will continue to recommend to friends & other persons

Elizabeth from Sydney, Australia
20 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good - would come again.

Suseela from Sydney, Australia
19 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

A couple of problems initially but rectified quickly and to my satisfaction

Margaret from Launceston, Australia
15 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As always, Alto Hotel was wonderful. Unfortunately I made an error in the date of my booking however Husain (I may have spelt the name wrong) eased my concern by moving my pre paid booking and upgrading me for no extra charge. I am so grateful for his customer service. I will continue to recommend the Alto Hotel to my friends in Canberra. Please keep up your wonderful environmental initiatives that make the Alto so unique, and a pleasure to stay in.

Josephine from Melbourne, Australia
14 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The second time I've stayed and will again. The staff, including the room servicers, were unfailingly welcoming and professional. Also the little touches, like the apples and enviro shopping bags, were appreciated as they enriched the ambience, rather than appearing token as can elsewhere. Finally, as an experienced female solo traveller, it is so very appreciated to be treated as a valued customer, which you definitely receive in too few places.

Maria from Blue Mountains, Australia
14 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I found Alto Hotel very cosy and featured the room's delightful deco features. The room was appointed thoughtfully, with facilities I found highly useful such as wifi, iPod dock and umbrella, which I hadn't realised I'd need so much until I got to Melbourne and which greatly improved my stay. The information about Alto's green initiatives in the booklet was very impressive and personally have made Alto my first choice for when I return to Melbourne. Proximity to the Skybus also improved my stay. My thanks and compliments to the staff and management.

Sheridan from Perth, Australia
13 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

great localtion

Paul from Perth, Australia
12 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a great time on our weekend. I'm sure we will return

Kay from Blue Mountains, Australia
11 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Had a very enjoyable stay - the only downside being the small size of the breakfast room - although staff warned us there was a big group in we seemed to manage to arrive at breakfast at the same time as them.

Anew from Hobart, Australia
11 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very pleasant place to stay.

Garry from Mollymook, Nsw, Australia
09 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely rooms. Great service and location. Private secure parking was a definite plus. Loved the library room with books/mags and fireplace. Will stay again!

Mary from Torquay, Australia
06 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It was an enjoyable and overall comfortable stay. Thank you again. Best Regards, Sofya

Sofya from Sydney, Australia
05 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic. Loved the free fruit and beverages. Used the gym and it was excellent.

Natalie from Gold Coast, Australia
03 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent location, courteous friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Brett from Shoal Bay, Australia
03 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We love staying at Alto, and recommend it to all our friends. Your cooked breakfasts are amazing!

Georgia from Geelong, Australia
02 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Lovely reception staff. Comfortable and clean apartments. The only negative for us was that the breakfast staff seemed somewhat disinterested and on the morning of our departure the chef/cook was sneezing and sniffling away whilst making our breakfast. If we did stay in the future we probably wouldn't be eating in again

Nerida from Townsville, Australia
02 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Was very happy that it was conveniently close to southern cross station and tram stop, staff was very friendly and professional on arrival, was very impressed that the room was extremely clean and tidy. The relaxation room was an added bonus to our experience. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back!

Luciana from Sydney, Australia
02 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very Pleasant and Enjoyable, I particularly like the access to the local gym - an excellent facility

Tracy from Melbourne, Australia
02 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

The stay was pleasant and quiet. The room was clean and tidy. Would stay again.

John from Iluka Wa, Australia
01 July 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very relaxing and I felt very welcome.

Nicole from Wodonga, Australia
29 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

excellent

Jenny from Melbourne, Australia
29 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very happy with my stay. Especially like the 'eco friendliness' of the hotel

Kasey from Perth, Australia
27 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very tasty breakfast.

Jeneane from Wodonga, Australia
27 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent experience. Only issue was street noise on Saturday night and the tram noise. These were not major issues.

Don from Figtree Nsw, Australia
27 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very good boutique hotel close to all ammenities. One of the few places that will cook your breakfast fresh instead of helping yourself to warm leftovers. will stay there again.

Garry from Adelaide, Australia
26 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Convenient, comfortable, quiet, loved the friendly atmosphere and hanging out in the reading nook of the lounge. The massage chairs were an added extra which were a hit with us. Thanks very much.

Cara from Sydney, Australia
26 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent customer service - enjoyable stay!

Kathryn from Melbourne, Australia
25 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

many gluten free food available. excellent customer service.

Zoran from Perth, Australia
25 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I would like to thank the staff for their assistance to my wife and the extended check out they provided so I could get back from hospital on the Sat. morning before we flew back to Hobart.

Dennis from Hobart, Australia
25 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

An excellent stay, only thing that at the time of arrival checkin was slow.

Vanessa from Tas, Australia
24 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable experience. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was a touch small but comfortable.

Michael from Melbourne, Australia
22 June 2012

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is my 2nd stay at the Alto for business and once again I found it convenient and comfortable. I love the free internet. I particularly like the fact that you are doing the right thing by the environment as I work for Planet Ark.

Chris from Sydney, Australia
22 June 2012

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61     NEXT