Alto Hotel On Bourke

2776 reviews from guests stayed at Alto Hotel On Bourke


Rating 9 out of 10
636 Bourke St melbourne cbd,  victoria, australia 3000
Overall Rating 9/10
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very nice overall. Room was clean, well presented and had a great selection of Foxtel channels. Location is second to none, but still quiet enough at night. Breakfast food was also very good.

James from Sydney, Australia
13 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent

Thomas from Melbourne, Australia
13 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

It’s such a lovely and quirky hotel. The lounge with games ands lollies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate and books and the amazing relaxation room were such unusual and lovely touches. My room (101) was a bit noisy with the trams outside, and you could hear people outside the room very clearly, but it wasn’t too bad. I loved the beautiful and comfortable chair in the room and the bed was very soft (apparently you can buy them for your own home!). The staff were all lovely and the location so near the Skybus and Etihad Stafium was perfect for me. I’ll definitely be back.

Caroline from Canberra, Australia
13 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Noisy but everything else was fine

Greg from Melbourne, Australia
09 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. All the staff were accommodating and friendly. I like the fact that the reception is manned at all times. The facilities were great and the room was very clean. The hotel is in a good location near the train station/Skybus terminal. I would definitely stay here again.

Michelle from Brisbane, Australia
09 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location, very good staff, liked the candy bar, and the game room.

Heath from Chilton, United States
02 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Our stay in Melbourne couldn't have been better thanks to the Alto. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and very helpful. We booked a 2 bedroom unit at the Alto.The unit was roomy and had all we required. Clean, modern and well equipped. The hotel is located in a good area close to everything, trains, trams, buses, taxis etc. Its an easy walk to the center of the business area but as trams are free in the city area it easy to go most places quickly. We arrived early in Melbourne and the staff stored our bags for us so we could enjoy the day with out worrying about them. When we arrived back at the hotel in the late afternoon our bags were in our room all ready for us.On the day we checked out our flight was late in the afternoon so again the staff stored our bags for us until we were ready to go to the airport. Throughout our stay the staff were at all times helpful, very pleasant to deal with and so friendly. Breakfast was good but it can be a bit busy depending time. Very happy with our stay. If we go back to Melbourne in the future we will definitely stay at The Alto.

Gary from Sydney, Australia
01 March 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great. Good location and great service.

Daniel from Newcastle, Australia
22 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good location. Great staff and comfortable rooms.

Douglas from Cambridge, Canada
12 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staying at the Alto was like staying at home but with staff who went out of their way to take care of you. We have never felt more welcomed and the energy emitted a genuine warmth of care and kindness. Thank you to all the wonderful staff and a special thank you to Gary who is a true gentleman.

Jenny from Brisbane, Australia
11 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Really enjoy the convenience of the location. Our favourite treat is the coffee machine, which makes really tasty coffee any time of the night.

Leonie from Mornington, Australia
05 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very enjoyable

Peter from Lavington, Australia
05 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We loved the thought put into recycling and saving waste (eg no small bottles of shampoo) - great for the environment. The apples were a nice touch, staff very helpful

Skye from Adelaide, Australia
03 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very impressed.. Room was excellent, staff welcoming, polite & helpful. Will be back again soon.

Michael from Burnie, Australia
01 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent. I have stayed here many times and I always enjoy my stay. We we given a free upgrade this trip, so that was terrific! Staff are always warm, welcoming and helpful.

Melina from Yolla, Australia
01 February 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

From the moment I walked in the door, Brad was absolutely amazing. I had a terrible start to the day but I left the initial interaction smiling. He was extremely accommodating and very helpful. The room was lovely and great value for money in a central location close to everything.

Christine from Melbourne, Australia
29 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Enjoyed staying at Alto. Made to feel welcome and the happy hour was an excellent feature. Reception staff were excellent. Our entry cards failed a couple of times and on 1 day the room was not serviced until I mentioned it to reception. That was the only glitch we experienced.

Donald from Brisbane, Australia
29 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable, big room

Wei-Che from Chiayi, Taiwan
27 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fantastic stay. Exceedingly comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast package outstanding value. Free drink, coffee, apples and candy bar is awesome and using the dining room as a recreation and reading space is brilliant

Donna from Townsville, Australia
20 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Great from check-in to check-out. Staff at breakfast were particularly nice and very cheerful. Great start to each day:)

Philip from Brisbane, Australia
16 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I really enjoyed my stay. Room was comfortable and it was great having some kitchen facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. The lady who was in reception the evening I arrived (10 Jan) was very welcoming and personable. Breakfasts were substantial with many choices. I enjoyed reading about the history of the building. Tram stop outside very convenient. Great to be able to open window. My only complaint is aesthetic- the room (311) could have had a bit of brightening up, it looked a bit tired and dreary with the dingy carpet colour, dark furniture. The colourful cushions and bed spread at least gave a bit of a lift. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Inge from Perth, Australia
13 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was our 4th stay in 6 months. Our daughter lives in CBD very close to Alto so this is the perfect location for us. The staff and service is exceptional. We very much like the Cafe’ for breakfast. They offer a few parking spots on property which is convent. The wifi could be better. There are no gym facilities but they are partnered with a hotel very close to use their gym. Their rates are very good.

Deborah, from Vancouver, Canada
11 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable stay, lovely, welcoming staff both at front desk and breakfast. Loved the little extra touches - free coffee, tea, chocolate and sweets!

Jane from Melbourne, Australia
10 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

First time staying in Alto Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. hotel was very clean and staff so friendly. Had breakfast every morning and lots of yummy things on offer. Very convenient as home base while exploring Melbourne. Tram just across the road and so is Southern Cross station. Lots of restaurants nearby which was handy. We'll definitely stay at Alto Hotel next time we're in Melbourne cbd.

Jojie from Gold Coast, Australia
08 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very welcoming and comfortable, with great location. Really appreciated the relaxation room and coffee on offer

Jenny from Geelong, Australia
02 January 2018

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Simply terrific. Great location and the beds are so comfy.

Graeme from Canberra, Australia
27 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Very comfortable hotel. Warm, friendly and very centrally located. Easy walking distance to trains and trams. Appreciated being able to store our bags for the day before departing Melbourne. The apartment had everything we needed. Loved the soaps and shampoos. The drinks with the manager each weekday afternoon and the complementary lollies in the communal lounge were a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

Liz from Melbourne, Australia
27 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff. It's a great place to get to all the tourist sites in and around the city. Nice to have a bit of space with the kitchen and lounge area so we could stay up after the kids had gone to bed.

Melanie from Melbourne, Australia
26 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

I've always had a great experience at Alto Hotel On Bourke.

Jennifer from Mount Helen, Australia
10 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Loved the hotel

Phillippa from Melbourne, Australia
09 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Staff were very friendly and the location was fantastic. Have already recommended to friends & family.

Cathy from Adelaide, Australia
07 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This is a place I would recommend without hesitation and will use again when I have to go to Melbourne. Best I have stayed in.

Jennie from Perth, Australia
05 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent experience overall. Especially appreciated the staff and service. Everyone was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I plan to stay here in the future.

Joshua from Sydney, Australia
02 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Comfortable and relaxing.

Nick from Alvor, Portugal
01 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Fabulous little hotel; very convenient to my work, with friendly staff, great ameneties and a nice vibe.

Anew from Melbourne, Australia
01 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

This was my second time staying at here and i highly recommend it. The staff are all friendly and the rooms are beautiful. As i usually am only in Melbourne for concerts i find the location to be perfect for me as it is a nice balance between distance to bourke st mall and the convention centre.

Leeza from Sydney, Australia
01 December 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

we always enjoy staying here as it's a convenient location, neat and tidy and the staff are very helpful and kind.

Katherine from Adelaide, Australia
22 November 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Good, clean close to everything comfortable bed

Jackie from Melbourne, Australia
21 November 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Hi I really enjoyed my stay at the Alto thanks.

Kristina from Melbourne, Australia
03 November 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

As usual, a pleasant stay at convenient location.

Debra from Hobart, Australia
02 November 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

very helpful and friendly front desk; liked the local gym and wine reception

Joseph from Melbourne, Australia
28 October 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

We had a lovely couple of days at the Alto and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Lorraine from Melbourne, Australia
26 October 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Have stayed here many times, always happy with the service. I love the happy hour with drinks and nibbles it is a really nice touch.

Lisa from Sydney, Australia
23 October 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Location was absolutely fantastic, very clean, and the focus on renewables and sustainability was a definite plus. Would definitely stay again when visiting Melbourne inner city.

Shannon from Darwin, Australia
20 October 2017

 
Overall Rating
Cleanliness
Service
Staff
Location
Comfort
Value for money

Excellent stay. The room was very comfortable and in a great location. Staff were fantastic. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely be staying again.

Kerry from Melbourne, Australia
20 October 2017

 
   PREVIOUS     1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15    16    17    18    19    20    21    22    23    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    33    34    35    36    37    38    39    40    41    42    43    44    45    46    47    48    49    50    51    52    53    54    55    56    57    58    59    60    61    62     NEXT